
Session B— Special Distributions 
Steps by Step Instructions, Resources, and Case Studies  

 

1 
 

In this session we will 1) gather information specific to case study 1 from the Uniform Bail and 
Penalty Schedules, the Crosswalk, Guidelines, and the FAQs; and 2) review the distribution 
calculation in corresponding worksheet. A similar process will be applied to perform and test 
distribution for case studies 2, 3, and 4.  
  
Step 1: Gather information about the citation (from the case management system/case file):  

• Violation type (infraction or misdemeanor) 
• Violation date and conviction date 
• Disposition on each count (e.g., conviction, traffic school) 
• Prior violations 
• Arresting agency: 

 If applicable, determine city/county percentage split, under Penal Code1463.002  
• Base fine amount $___: 

 Refer to the 2021 Uniform Bail & Penalty Schedules UB&PS  
• Code section(s) violated 

 Research statute in the California Legislative Information Leg. Info website.  
 Search authorized distributions in the State Controller’s Office Guidelines  

(Rev. 31).   

Step 2.  Obtain current authorized amount by county BOS resolutions for applicable local 
penalties.  
  

 Government Code 76100 – LCCF: $___ 
 Government Code 76101 – LCJF: $___ 
 Government Code 76104 – EMS: $___ 
 Government Code 76104.5 – DNA ID: $___ 
 Government Code 76102 – Auto Fingerprint: $___ 
   Government Code 76000.5 EMS Additional Penalty: $___ 

 
Step 3: Determine other case and/or court specific factors and obtain current authorized 
amount. Confirm local and case specific fee amounts as they can and do vary from county to 
county. As an example, these base fine reductions specific to a DUI case: 

 
 Penal Code section 1463.14 (a) – DUI Lab Special Account ($50.00) 
 Penal Code section 1463.16 - DUI Program Special Account (BOS: $50.00) 
 Penal Code section 1463.18 - DUI Indemnity Allocation ($20.00) 

 
Note: The following resources should be saved to desktop for easy and immediate access: 
-- Case Studies and Distribution Worksheets: http://www.courts.ca.gov/revenue-distribution.htm 
-- Uniform Bail & Penalty Schedules: https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/UBPS-2021-Final.pdf 
-- Guidelines (Revision 31): https://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Local/guidelines_rev_31.pdf 
-- California Legislative Information: http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtm 
-- Questions: revenuedistribution@jud.ca.gov and LocalGovPolicy@sco.ca.gov 

  

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=1463.002.&lawCode=PEN
https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/UBPS-2021-Final.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtml
https://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Local/guidelines_rev_31.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/revenue-distribution.htm
https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/UBPS-2021-Final.pdf
https://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Local/guidelines_rev_31.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtm
mailto:revenuedistribution@jud.ca.gov
mailto:LocalGovPolicy@sco.ca.gov
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Case Information. To the extent available, substitute accordingly with local court/county information. 
• Violation Date: 9/12/2020 
• Disposition Date: 11/5/2020 
• Arresting Agency – Folsom Police Department 
 See Penal Code 1463.002 for % split between City and Sacramento County   

• Violation Type – Misdemeanor 
• Disposition – Bail Forfeiture 
• Violation – Vehicle Code 23152 (a, b) Driving Under Influence of Alcohol  
  Research Guidelines for applicable distributions authorized for VC 23152 (a, b) violations. 

• Base fine amount:  $___     
 See 2021 Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedules UB&PS  

Base reductions: 
• PC 1463.14 (a)— DUI Lab Test, Special Account (up to $50) 
• PC 1463.16— DUI Alcohol Programs, Special Account (up to $50)  
• PC 1463.18— DUI Indemnity Allocation of $20 

 
Local Penalties. To the extent available, substitute accordingly with amount authorized by Board of 
Supervisors. 

• Government Code 76100 – LCCF: $1.00 
• Government Code 76101 – LCJF: $1.00 
• Government Code 76104 – EMS: $1.50 
• Government Code 76104.5 – DNA ID: $ .50 
• Government Code 76102 – Auto Fingerprint: $ 1.00 
• Government Code 76000.5 – EMS Additional Penalty: $2.00 

    
Other local court/county or case specific fees and assessments. To the extent available, substitute 
accordingly with local information (otherwise use maximum authorized amount.)   

• Penal Code 1463.13 – Alcohol and Drug Assessment (BOS: up to $150) 
• Penal Code 1463.14(b) – DUI Lab Test Penalty (BOS: up to $50) 
• Vehicle Code 1463.45 (a) – Alcohol Abuse Edu and Prevention Penalty (up to $50) 
• Vehicle Code 23649(a) – County Alcohol and Drug Probation Assessment (up to $100) 
• Penal Code 1202.4(b) – State Restitution Fine (min. $150 misd./$300 felony): 
• Penal Code 1202.4(l) – County Collection fee (BOS: up to 10% of Rest. Fine) 
• Vehicle Code 42006 –  Night Court Fee: $1.00 

 
Scenario #2—  

• Add a second traffic infraction violation, same disposition. Vehicle Code 22450 (a), Failure to 
Stop at Stop Sign 
 

WATCH OUT FOR:  Amounts that must be deposited prior to any distributions. 
Any special distribution requirements and ensure that violations are cited on the same incident (citation). 

 
 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=1463.002.&lawCode=PEN
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=23152.&lawCode=VEH
https://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Local/guidelines_rev_31.pdf
https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/UBPS-2021-Final.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=22450.&lawCode=VEH
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Base fine for Count 1: DUI (available in Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedules pg. 49)  

 
 

The Uniform Bail & Penalty Schedules are separated by violation type: infractions and 
misdemeanors. Select the base fine amount from the correct schedule. 
 

 
 
 
Base fine for Count 2: Failure to Stop at Stop Sign (available in UB&PS, pg. 14) 

 
 

The bail amounts in UB&PS calculation is based on maximum county ($7/10) and EMS 
additional penalty ($2/10). Subtotal and Total Amount in UB&PS will reconcile to 
worksheet totals if the local penalties are assessed at maximum amount.  

 
 
 
 

Base fine. Starting point for 
calculating additional 

penalties and surcharges. 

Subtotal includes 
state and local 

penalties.  Total includes Court Operations 
Assessment, Criminal Conviction 
Assessment, and Night Court Fee 

https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/UBPS-2021-Final.pdf
https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/UBPS-2021-Final.pdf
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Arresting Agency:  If the arresting agency is a city, the base fine amount shall be 
subject to distribution according to the following schedule, available in Penal Code 1463.002:  
 

 
 
Note: These percentages represent the county’s share of the base fine. For cities and other 
local agencies not listed, the “County Percentage” is used.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=1463.002.&lawCode=PEN
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Special Distributions Specific to DUI:   
Trial Court Revenue Distribution Guidelines (pg.13-15)  
 

 
 

 
 

 

          All resources provided are tools, not intended to be all inclusive, the codes may 
be modified at any point during the legislative session. Current law ALWAYS 
supersedes any guidance provided. Please, double-check statute(s).     

 

https://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Local/guidelines_rev_31.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/home.xhtml
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Other violation specific fees and assessments: Guidelines pg. 134-140  
 
Penal Code 1463.14(b) – DUI Lab Test Penalty (BOS: up to $50) 

 
Penal Code 1463.13 – Alcohol and Drug Assessment (BOS: up to $150) 

 
 
Penal Code 1463.25 (a) – Alcohol Abuse Edu and Prevention Penalty (up to $50) 

 
 
Vehicle Code 23649(a) – County Alcohol and Drug Probation Assessment (up to $100) 

 
 

https://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Local/guidelines_rev_31.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=1463.14.&lawCode=PEN
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=1463.13.&lawCode=PEN
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=1463.25.&lawCode=PEN
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=23649.&lawCode=VEH
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  Distributions Specific to DUI: California Legislative Information (Leg Info.)  
 

 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=1463.14.&lawCode=PEN
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Count 1: DUI 

Bail forfeiture distribution: 
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Count 2: Failure to Stop at Stop Sign  

Mulitple violation distributon: 

 

 
 



Case Study 2: Speeding  
(Traffic Violator School Disposition) 
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Case Information. To the extent available, substitute accordingly with local court/county information. 

• Violation Date: 12/19/2020
• Disposition Date: 2/5/2021
• Arresting Agency –Citrus Heights Police Department
 See Penal Code 1463.002 for % split between City of Citrus Heights and Sacramento County

• Violation Type –  Infraction
• Disposition – Traffic school
• Violation – Vehicle Code 22349 (a) 16-25 MPH Over 55 MPH Limit
 Research Guidelines for applicable distributions authorized for VC 22349(a) violations.

• Base fine amount:  $___
 See 2021 Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedules UB&PS

Special Distributions: 

• Vehicle Code 42007— Traffic Violator School Fee (TVS)
• Vehicle Code 42007—Base, County
• Vehicle Code 42007 (c)— Base, City (98% of city portion)

Local Penalties. To the extent available, substitute accordingly with amount authorized by Board of 
Supervisors. 

• Government Code 76100 – LCCF: $1.00
• Government Code 76101 – LCJF: $1.00
• Government Code 76104 – EMS: $1.50
• Government Code 76104.5 – DNA ID: $ .50
• Government Code 76102 – Auto Fingerprint: $ 1.00
• Government Code 76000.5 – EMS Additional Penalty: $2.00

Other local court/county or case specific fees and assessments. To the extent available, substitute 
accordingly with local information (otherwise use maximum authorized amount.)   

• Vehicle Code 11205.2(c) – Additional Court TVS Administrative Fee (up to actual cost): $57.00
• Vehicle Code 11208 (c) – Additional DMV TS Admin. fee, (CCR), Title 13, Section 345.00(g): $3.00
• Vehicle Code 42006 – Night Court fee: $1.00

WATCH OUT FOR:   
What is and is not part of the TVS fee. 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=1463.002.&lawCode=PEN
https://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Local/guidelines_rev_31.pdf
https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/UBPS-2021-Final.pdf
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Case Study 3: 
Red Light Violation— Bail Forfeiture Disposition 
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Case Information. To the extent available, substitute accordingly with local court/county information. 

• Violation Date:  2/10/2021
• Disposition Date: 3/25/2021
• Arresting Agency – City of Elk Grove Police Department, Sacramento County
 See Penal Code 1463.002 for % split between City of Elk Grove and Sacramento County

• Violation – Vehicle Code 21457(a)  Actions Required at Flashing Red Signal
• Research Guidelines for applicable distributions authorized for violations of VC 21457(a).
• Violation Type – Infraction
• Disposition – Bail forfeiture
• Base fine amount: $___
 See 2021 Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedules UB&PS

Special Distributions: 

• PC 1463.11 —30% Red Light Allocation

Local Penalties. To the extent available, substitute accordingly with amount authorized by Board of Supervisors. 
• Government Code 76100 – LCCF: $1.00
• Government Code 76101 – LCJF: $1.00
• Government Code 76104 – EMS: $1.50
• Government Code 76104.5 – DNA ID: $ .50
• Government Code 76102 – Auto Fingerprint: $ 1.00
• Government Code 76000.5 – EMS Additional Penalty: $ 2.00

Other local court/county or case specific fees and assessments. To the extent available, substitute accordingly 
with local information.   

• Vehicle Code 42006 – Night Court fee: $1.00

WATCH OUT FOR:         
What is and is not part of the first 30% of the bail forfeiture. 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=1463.002.&lawCode=PEN
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=21457.&lawCode=VEH
https://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Local/guidelines_rev_31.pdf
https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/UBPS-2021-Final.pdf
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Case Study 4: 
Red Light Violation—Traffic Violator School Disposition 
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Case Information. To the extent available, substitute accordingly with local court/county information. 

• Violation Date: 2/23/2021
• Disposition Date: 4/6/2021
• Arresting Agency –Sacramento County Sheriff Department
 See Penal Code 1463.002 for % split between City and Sacramento County

• Violation – Vehicle Code 21453(a), (c)  "Red" Signal–Vehicular Responsibilities
• Research Guidelines for applicable distributions authorized for violations of VC 21453(a),(c).
• Violation Type – Infraction
• Disposition – Traffic School
• Base fine amount: $___
 See 2021 Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedules UB&PS

Special Distributions: 

• Vehicle Code 42007— TVS Fee (remaining balance: Total fine minus Pre-TVS)
• Vehicle Code 42007.3— 30% Red Light Allocation

Local Penalties. To the extent available, substitute accordingly with amount authorized by Board of Supervisors. 
• Government Code 76100 – LCCF: $1.00
• Government Code 76101 – LCJF: $1.00
• Government Code 76104 – EMS: $1.50
• Government Code 76104.5 – DNA ID: $ .50
• Government Code 76102 – Auto Fingerprint: $ 1.00
• Government Code 76000.5 – EMS Additional Penalty: $ 2.00

Other local court/county or case specific fees and assessments. To the extent available, substitute accordingly 
with local information.   

• Vehicle Code 11205.2(c) – Additional Court TVS Administrative Fee (up to actual cost): $57.00
• Vehicle Code 11208 (c) – Additional DMV TS Admin. fee, (CCR), Title 13, Section 345.00(g): $3.00
• Vehicle Code 42006 –  Night Court fee: $1.00

WATCH OUT FOR:         
What is and is not part of the TVS fee. 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=1463.002.&lawCode=PEN
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=21453.&lawCode=VEH
https://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Local/guidelines_rev_31.pdf
https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/UBPS-2021-Final.pdf
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