

JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF CALIFORNIA

455 Golden Gate Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102-3688 Tel 415-865-4200 TDD 415-865-4272 Fax 415-865-4205 www.courts.ca.gov

FACT SHEET

April 2018

Distributions: A Legislative Update

As of the date of this document, the following six bills are being tracked by the Judicial Council for their potential impacts on revenue collections and distributions. Please see the additional resources link at the end of this document to track changes in these and other pieces of legislation currently being considered by the California Legislature.

- AB 2226 (Patterson)
- AB 2260 (Ting)
- AB 2544 (Lackey)
- SB 1005 (Atkins)
- SB 1132 (Hill)
- SB 1232 (Bradford)

AB 2226 (Patterson)

This bill would add the willful infliction of corporal injury upon a spouse, cohabitant, or other specified victim to the crimes for which restitution for related home security costs is authorized. This bill would also increase the maximum reimbursement by the board for residential security from \$1000 to \$5000. As a result of the increased class of persons eligible for this form of restitution and the increased dollar value of such restitution, this bill could have an impact on the amount of revenue collected and distributed by the courts and county revenue officers. It passed from Assembly Public Safety with a unanimous vote on April $3^{\rm rd}$. Note: By expanding the authorization for the use of moneys in the continuously appropriated Restitution Fund, this bill would make an appropriation, which requires a 2/3 vote for passage.

AB 2260 (Ting)

This bill would create a six-year amnesty from, to launch January 1, 2019 and terminate December 31, 2024. In all other respects it would follow the parameters of the 18-montyh amnesty program that ended March 31, 2017. This bill has been double referred, to both Assembly Transportation and Assembly Public Safety. To date, it has not been scheduled for a hearing in either committee. It is worth noting

that the bill would have to be heard by both committees on or before April 27th. There is some doubt that it will be able to make this deadline without a rule waiver.

AB 2544 (Lackey)

This bill would permit the processing agency of a parking violation citation the option to collect the unpaid penalties along with the vehicle registration through the California Department of Motor Vehicles, but only after providing a payment plan to indigent persons, and would make that option applicable to all unpaid parking penalties, regardless of the date on which the ticket was issued. Although this bill deals with parking violations, parking violations do have some required statewide distributions which makes the bill important to track. This bill passed from Assembly Transportation on a near-unanimous vote on April 3rd.

SB 1005 (Atkins)

This bill would authorize "expenses incurred in relocating," as described, to include a pet deposit and additional rent required if the victim has a pet. The bill would also require the Victim Compensation Board to be named as the recipient of funds upon expiration of the victim's rental agreement if a pet deposit is required for relocation. As a result of this bill's expansion of the amount of money that could be required for victim relation costs under the restitution fund, it could have an impact on the amount of revenue collected and distributed by the courts and county revenue officers. It passed from Assembly Public Safety with a unanimous vote on April 2nd. Note: By expanding the authorization for the use of moneys in the continuously appropriated Restitution Fund, this bill would make an appropriation, which requires a 2/3 vote for passage.

SB 1132 (Hill)

Like AB 493 last year (and other previous bills), SB 1132 would, beginning July 1, 2019, make the violation for failure to come to a complete stop prior to a right turn, or a left turn from a one-way street onto a one-way street, punishable by a fine of \$35. Depending on law enforcement officers cite current violations of this class, there could be a reduction in revenue collected and thus distributed if the base fine charged is reduced from \$100 to \$35. The bill passed out of Senate transportation and Housing on a near-unanimous vote on April 3rd.

SB 1232 (Bradford)

This bill would require an application for compensation to be filed within 3 years after the victim attains 21, instead of 18, years of age, except as specified. As a result of this bill's expansion of the amount of money that could be required for victim relation costs under the restitution fund, it could have an impact on the amount of

revenue collected and distributed by the courts and county revenue officers. It passed from Senate Public Safety with a unanimous vote on April 10th. Note: By expanding the authorization for the use of moneys in the continuously appropriated Restitution Fund, this bill would make an appropriation, which requires a 2/3 vote for passage.

Contact:

Andi Liebenbaum, Attorney Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council of California 916-323-3121|andi.liebenbaum@jud.ca.gov

Additional resources:

Legislative research site: http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/

JCC Annual Legislative Tracking: http://www.courts.ca.gov/4121.htm