Symbol Key

Siskiyou County

> File papers

-~ Serve papers

Judge - Court hearing

Things to DO

Places to BE Small Claims Court

Small Claims Court is a court to resolve claims for $5,000 or less without an attorney.
The rules are simple and the hearings are informal.

Things To Consider Before Filing a Small Claims Court Case: Is Small Claims Court Right For Me?

: Small Claims Court is for:
You may talk to an attorney about your case but attorneys are not ¢ There are two exceptions: : o
allowed to represent you in Small Claims Court. You will be speak- <& If the Defendant owns real property in California. ¢ Claims for up to $5,000. If your claim is worth more than §5,000, you can
ing for yourself at the hearing. <& 1If the Defendant owned and operated a vehicle file in Small Claims Court only if you are willing to ask for $5,000 or less.
You should be familiar with the law that applies to your case. involved in an accident in California. ¢ A broken agreement, contract, or personal injury cases.
Not all disagreements can be heard in Small Claims Court. You may ¢ Ifyou are the Plaintiff (the person suing), and you lose your case, ¢ Cases where the legal time limit has not run out (Statute of Limitations).
need to file in Superior Court. you do not have the right to appeal. . :
If mote than one person owes you for the same claim, they must be ¢ For further information go to: Small Claims Court is not for:
sued together for a claim of no more than $5,000. <& www.courtinfo.ca.gov, ¢ Claims for more than $5,000.
Make sure you have the correct name of the person or business that <& Siskiyou County Public Law Library, or ¢ Eviction cases.
you believe is tesponsible for your claim. & www.dca.ca.gov. ¢ Divorce or family law matters.
In most cases, the person you are suing must be served in California.

DEMAND Preparing Your Claim  (You can get the small claims court forms from the Court Clerk or at www.courtinfo.ca.gov.)
FOR PAYMENT

After making a demand for payment and the debt is still not paid, you may oy, @il need to pay a fee when the PlaisifPs Claim (SC-100) is filed. If you cannot afford

You may be able to avoid Small Claims Court. o . . .
) : tile a Plaintiff’s Claim and Order to Go to Court (SC-100). By filing the claim .
I - I ’ the f k the Court Clerk about a fee w: .
Before you file your claim, you must ask for l‘;‘ you will be the Plaintiff in the case. The Defendant is the person you are © e, you may ast the Lourt Licrs about a fee walver

suing. Do the following:

¢ Make sure you have the correct name and spelling of the person or business you are suing.
/ ¢ Till out the Plaintiff’s Claim (§C-100) by either typing it or printing it in black ink.

File the Plaintiff’s Claim (SC-100) with the Court Clerk. The Court Clerk will give you
copies of the filed documents.
¢ Have each Defendant served with a copy of the Plaintiff’s Claim (SC-100).

payment (called a “demand”). You can do this in
writing, in person, or by phone. If the debt is
not paid, you can file a claim in
Small Claims Court.

i i If he Def h i le to fil
Serving Your Claim Service form that shows how and when the Defendant was served. ¢ Ifyouare the Defendant (the person being sued), you may be able to file

oo st s o leve o oy @ dhe AT The Proof of Service must then be filed with the Court Clerk. ;ﬁfﬁi’?ﬁz . gﬁ’s " C{’”‘ifgf: v fr/ ‘Z’z Z Toﬁlfnlif:nCT‘iZOS;ZIZfoSW
Claim (SC-100) served or delivered to each If the Defendant will voluntarily accept service through the mail by * s filed in th J b Y J he Pl .Y E (S YS Fora Ve Sl
x Defendant you are suing. signing a receipt, the Court Clerk can do this for a fee. Ask the 18 E mn fe sarge case f?ln Hll)uSt de S?rée[ on the hmiz o (el h 9 Odu a 1 )
A ! ¢ A copy can be personally given to the Defendant by a law Court Clerk for more information. ¢ hvenii yor oo I.lgt 11(;'(1 (yj” b yquds © appeer on the ;ourt' e fote
officer (Sheriff), process server, or a person over the age of 18 ¢ There are strict time limits for serving the papers on both Plaintiff e Jlordigo yout i, 1l yon dio el eipjpeas, 2 fodimimon. iy e Snisied £gist you.

. r . . . . * here ar ict time limits for ing th s on laintiff an fendant.
who is not a Plaintiff or a Defendant in the case. and Defendant. See www.courtinfo.ca.cov for more information. There are S,tr ct ume tsto sefv gt ¢ papers on both Plaintiff and Defendant. See
www.courtinfo.ca.gov for more information.

‘ ? : \ ¢ The person who serves the Defendant must complete a Proof of Information For The Defendant

. : ¢ Make a list of the things you want to tell the Judge that are a form that you fill out and take to the Court Clerk. After the
Getting Ready For The Heari ng important to your casf. Juce Court Clerk issues the subpoena, you will then serve the wit- The Plaintiff and Defendant can
Both the Plaintiff and the Defendant need to get ready for the ¢ Practice saying what you want to tell the Judge. ness. This subpoena orders the witness to be at the hearing. agree to settle the case before the hearing.
hearing. Most cases take only 5-15 minutes, so you must be # Make a detailed list of the amounts of money you believe are ¢ You may talk to an attorney even though the attorney cannot | {If you reach an agreement, Plaintiff must
organized. You should: owed to you. represent you in court. file a Reguest for Dismissal with the Court
¢ Organize the papers that prove your case (for example, ¢ Be prepared to answer questions from the other side. ¢ For more information go to: Clerk. This will cancel the court
contracts, receipts, cancelled checks, and/or photographs). ¢ If you have witnesses to testify on your behalf, make sure they < www.courtinfo.ca.gov
¢ Make enough copies for the Judge and each Plaintiff or know the date, time and location of the hearing. <& Siskiyou County Public Law Library
Defendant. Bring the originals and copies with you to court ¢ If a witness does not agree to go to court, you can ask the <& www.dca.ca.gov, or Your case number
on the hearing date. Court Clerk for a subpoena before the hearing. A subpoena is <& Siskiyou County Self Help Clinic (Facilitator) Notes

What The Plaintiff Must Do * What The Defendant Must Do *
Be ready to talk about the claim in detail, but be brief and to the point. Be ready to talk about the claim in detail, but be brief and to the point.
Have enough copies of all papers you plan to use for the Judge and the other side. Have enough copies of all papers you plan to use for the Judge and the other side.
Be prepared to answer questions from the Judge or from the Defendant. Be prepared to answer questions from the Judge or from the Plaintiff.
It is up to you to prove your claim to the Judge. If you have filed a claim against the Plaintiff, it is up to you to prove your claim to the Judge.

[ ]

What To Expect In The Courtroom: The Hearing: testify about the claim and his/her witnesses will testify.
¢ Be on time and dress propetly. When your case is called, go to the tables at the front of the The Judge may ask questions of the Plaintiff, Defendant and
Make sure you and your witnesses know when and where the hearing is going to be held. Small couttroom. Wlmess§s. . ‘
Claims hearings are held in open court. This means other people may be there. If you are going to testify, you will take an oath. Be polite. Do ¢ The lenuff and Defendant may ask questions of each other
If you do not speak English, you may bring a friend or relative to translate for you. The court not interrupt. Do not repeat yourself. and of the wtnesses. . o
does not provide interpreters. The Judge will listen to both sides. The Plaintiff will testify first ¢ The J udge will make a de.c151or.1 on the claim cither at the
Be Prepared, as small claims cases usually take between five (5) and fifteen (15) minutes. and have his/her witnesses testify. Then the Defendant will hearing or at a later date in writing,

Your Court Date The Court Hearing

* The Court Decides Your Case A the end of the hearing, the Judge may make Notice Of Entry Of Judgment
a decision. Or the Judge may decide later and send you the decision in writing. The decision of the Judge is called the “judgment.” The Notice of Entry of [udgment is the document that the Court

. - . a= . - Clerk prepares telling the parties the judgment has been
Decision In Favor Of The Plaintiff: Decision In Favor Of The Defendant: e e e s ot the
The Defendant may appeal. If the Defendant does not appeal, the Plaintiff The Plaintiff cannot appeal the decision. Notice of Entyy of Judgment is mailed to the parties is the date
may proceed to collect on the judgment. The Plaintiff may file a Reguest 7o If there is a Defendant’s Claim decided against the Plaintiff, the Plaintiff may that is used to timely file additional documents if one of the

Correct if he/she feels there is a clerical error in the judgment. appeal that judgment, patties is asking the Judge’s decision to be reconsidered.

If You Want A Judgment Reviewed There are two ways to ask that a judgment be reviewed: Collecting A Small Claims Judgment

Request To Correct Or If there is no appeal from a small claims judgment, the Plaintiff or the
Vacate Judgment: Defendant (on a Defendant’s Clain) can take steps to enforce or collect the
judgment.

Notice Of Appeal:
If you want to have a new hearing, you can appeal the
judgment by filing a Notice of Appeal. If you believe there has been a clerical error in the ) . '
The Defendant may appeal a decision on a Plazntiff’s Claim judgment, you may file a Reguest to Correct or Vacate ¢ Youmust do this for your.self; the. court will HOOt collect it for you.
and the Plaintiff may appeal on a Defendant’s Claim. Judgment. ¢ Judgments that are not paid earn interest of 10% per year.
At the new hearing, attorneys will be allowed. Either the Plaintiff or Defendant may file this request. ¢ If the Judge decided in your favor, you are now called the Judgment

L . Creditort.
; This will notb h .
The No{m o Appeal must be filed 30. days from the date that W | OF 8 niew heating The party owing the debt is called the Judgment Debtor.
the Notice of Entry of Judgment was mailed. The Judge will review your request. .
: . L ) You can have an attorney help you collect a judgment even though you
Forms are available from the Court Clerk. There are ﬁhl’lg fees and additional costs to be pald. I d h he hear Th d
There are filing fees and additional costs to be paid. For mote information, go to: courtinfo.cagov, were not allowed to have an attorney at the hearing. e procedures

. . . Siskiyou County Public Law Library, or for debt collection require specific court forms and court procedures.
For more information, 80 t0: WWW .courtinfo.ca.gov, d ’ For more information, go to: www.courtinfo.ca.gov, Siskiyou County
Siskiyou County Public Law Library, or WWW.CCA.CA.ZOV.

Public Law Library, or www.dca.ca.gov.
www.dca.ca.gov. =

i

K '. J
DN S <

NSNS

A‘I& = Hat? S i AN AN AN AN ARSI A

2-2-05 Small Claims 17X2... A Friday, April 15, 2005 16:21
page 1 NA4 Composite



]

QUI[QPII‘IB SIY3 JO Isn Ay} uvodn paseq ased mok JO Jmsar o3

2-2-05 Small Claims 17X2...

page 2

&

Explanation of terms used in the Small Claims process

Appeal: A new hearing to have a judgment reviewed. Also called a Trial De Novo.

Certified Mail: A way to send documents to the other party through the United States mail so that he/she
must sign to receive the mail. The sender will get back a form showing when and who signed for the mail.

Defendant: The Defendant is the person or business that the Plaintiff has sued.

Judge: The Judge is the court officer who will be hearing and deciding your case. The term “Judge” may also
refer to a judicial officer, commissioner or a temporary judge (judge pro tem).

Judgment: The decision of the Judge. Also called the “decision” or the “court order.” It states the amount
that the judgment debtor owes to the judgment creditor or the action to be taken. The judgment may also include
other terms such as the date when payment must be made.

Jud gment Creditor: The judgment creditor is the person in whose favor a judgment has been made.
Jud gment De btor: The judgment debtor is the person against whom the judgment has been made.

Party / Parties: The person or business actually named in a court case is called a “party” to the case. This
would include a Plaintiff or Defendant, Claimant or Cross-Claimant.
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Plaintiff: The Plintiff is the person who files the claim.

Proof Of Service: The Proof of Service (§C-104) is a form that shows when the other party was served the
papers. The Proof of Service must be completed by the person serving court papers on a party, stating that
service was properly made.

Request For Dismissal: This is a form filed with the court if a settlement or agreement is made
between the parties before the hearing is held. The dismissal will cancel the scheduled hearing and stop the
proceeding.

Statute Of Limitations: A certain time allowed by a statute for bringing litigation.

Serve / Service: The giving of formal notice to the Defendant that a claim has been filed against him/
her. Some papers must be personally delivered and others may be served by mail. The act of giving the papers
to the other party is called “service” or “serving.” This must be done by someone who is not a party to the
case and who is at least 18 years of age.

Su bpoena: An official order for a person to appear in court. The person may also be ordered to bring
documents.

This educational brochure was created because the public requested more information about
court processes, and it reflects the ideas and suggestions of people throughout Siskiyou County.

Superior Court sincerely appreciates the public’s help
in developing this visual-storytelling brochure.

This is a general guide through the
Small Claims Court

process.

Please be aware that your case may be different.

You may get the necessary forms from the Court Clerk in the Civil Division of the Superior Court.
This is where the forms are filed.

Civil Division Hours: Telephone Hours:

Monday thru Friday Monday thru Friday

8:00 AM to 4:00 PM 8:00 AM to 3:00 PM

311 Fourth Street & (530) 842-8082 or 842-8238
Yreka, CA 96097 @888-854-2000 (toll free)

¢ Seck information and assistance filling out forms at the Self-Help Clinic (Court Facilitator),
500 N. Main Street, Yreka, CA. Call for clinic schedule & (530) 842-8380, or 842-0157.

Find further information and court forms at the Siskiyou County Public Law Library,
in the Courthouse: 311 Fourth Street, Yreka, CA.

Judicial Council forms are available on the Internet at www.courtinfo.ca.gov.

Superior Court of California, County of Siskiyou locations:

Main Courthouse: (Civil, Criminal, and Juvenile Divisions) 311 Fourth Street, Yreka, CA 96097.
@ (530) 842-8082 or 888-854-2000 (toll free)

Family Law Branch: 510 N. Main Street, Yreka, CA 96097. @& (530) 842-8082

Family Court Services: (Mediation) 500 N. Main Street, Yreka, CA 96097. & (530) 842-0192
Facilitator: (Self-Help Clinic) 500 N. Main Street, Yreka, CA 96097. & (530) 842-0157

Weed Branch: (Traffic Division) 550 Main Street, Weed, CA 96094. & (530) 938-2483

Dorris Branch: 324 N. Pine Street, PO Box 828, Dorris, CA 96023. & (530) 397-3161

Happy Camp Branch: 28 Fourth Street, Happy Camp, CA 96039. @& (530) 493-2327

Internet address: www.siskivou.courts.ca.gov.

Please Note: Conrt Clerks cannot give legal adpice.
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