Rule 8.625. Certifying the record in pre-1997 trials
This rule governs the process of certifying the record in any appeal from a judgment of death imposed after a trial that began before January 1, 1997.
(b) Sending the transcripts to counsel for review
(1)When the clerk and the reporter certify that their respective transcripts are correct, the clerk must promptly send a copy of each transcript to each defendant's trial counsel, to the Attorney General, to the district attorney, to the California Appellate Project in San Francisco, and to the Habeas Corpus Resource Center, noting the sending date on the originals.
(2)The copies of the reporter's transcript sent to the California Appellate Project and the Habeas Corpus Resource Center must be computer-readable copies complying with the requirements of rule 8.144(a)(4) and any additional requirements prescribed by the Supreme Court, and must be further labeled to show the date it was made.
(3)When the clerk is notified of the appointment or retention of each defendant's appellate counsel, the clerk must promptly send that counsel copies of the clerk's transcript and the reporter's transcript, noting the sending date on the originals. The clerk must notify the Supreme Court, the Attorney General, and each defendant's appellate counsel in writing of the date the transcripts were sent to appellate counsel.
(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2017.)
(c) Correcting, augmenting, and certifying the record
(1)Within 90 days after the clerk delivers the transcripts to each defendant's appellate counsel, any party may serve and file a request for correction or augmentation of the record. Any request for extension of time must be served and filed in the Supreme Court no later than five days before the 90-day period expires.
(2)If no party files a timely request for correction or augmentation, the clerk must certify on the original transcripts that no party objected to the accuracy or completeness of the record within the time allowed by law.
(3)Within 10 days after any party files a timely request for correction or augmentation, the clerk must deliver the request and the transcripts to the trial judge.
(4)Within 60 days after receiving a request and transcripts under (3), the judge must order the reporter, clerk, or party to make any necessary corrections or do any act necessary to complete the record, fixing the time for performance. If any portion of the oral proceedings cannot be transcribed, the judge may order preparation of a settled statement under rule 8.346.
(5)The clerk must promptly send a copy of any order under (4) to the parties and to the Supreme Court, but any request for extension of time to comply with the order must be addressed to the trial judge.
(6)The original transcripts must be corrected or augmented to reflect all corrections or augmentations ordered. The clerk must promptly send copies of all corrected or augmented pages to the parties.
(7)The judge must allow the parties a reasonable time to review the corrections or augmentations. If no party objects to the corrections or augmentations as prepared, the judge must certify that the record is complete and accurate. If any party objects, the judge must resolve the objections before certifying the record.
(8)If the record is not certified within 90 days after the clerk sends the transcripts to appellate counsel under (b)(2), the judge must monitor preparation of the record to expedite certification and report the status of the record monthly to the Supreme Court.
(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2007.)
(d) Sending the certified record
When the clerk certifies that no party objected to the record or the judge certifies that the record is complete and accurate, the clerk must promptly send:
(1)To the Supreme Court: the original record, including the original certification by the trial judge.
(2)To each defendant's appellate counsel, the Attorney General, and the California Appellate Project in San Francisco: a copy of the order certifying the record.
(3)To the Governor: the copies of the transcripts required by Penal Code section 1218, with copies of any corrected or augmented pages inserted.
(e) Subsequent trial court orders; omissions
(1)If, after the record is certified, the trial court amends or recalls the judgment or makes any other order in the case, including an order affecting the sentence, the clerk must promptly certify and send a copy of the amended abstract of judgment or other order-as an augmentation of the record-to the persons and entities listed in (d).
(2)If, after the record is certified, the superior court clerk or the reporter learns that the record omits a document or transcript that any rule or court order requires to be included, the clerk must promptly copy and certify the document or the reporter must promptly prepare and certify the transcript. Without the need for further court order, the clerk must send the document or transcript-as an augmentation of the record-to the persons and entities listed in (d).
Rule 8.625 amended effective January 1, 2017; adopted as rule 35.3 effective January 1, 2004; previously amended and renumbered as rule 8.625 effective January 1, 2007.