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JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF CALIFORNIA 
ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF THE COURTS 

455 Golden Gate Avenue 
San Francisco, California 94102-3688 

 
Report 

 
TO:  Members of the Judicial Council 
 
FROM: Mary M. Roberts, General Counsel 

 Deborah Brown, Managing Attorney 
 Susan R. Goins, Senior Attorney 
 Office of the General Counsel 

 
DATE: April 3, 2007 
 
SUBJECT: Amendment of Appendix B to the California Rules of Court 

(Informational)                                                                                 
 
 
Issue Statement 
Civil Code section 1714.1(c) requires the Judicial Council to compute, adjust, and 
publish every two years the liability limit of a parent or guardian for the willful 
misconduct of a minor.  The Judicial Council has authorized the Administrative Director 
of the Courts to make the adjustment. 
 
Action Taken 
On March 29, 2007, the Administrative Director of the Courts adjusted the liability limit 
as mandated by Civil Code section 1714.1(c) and as authorized by the Judicial Council.  
The adjusted liability limit is set forth in the California Rules of Court, Appendix B.  
Staff has posted the amended Appendix B on the California Courts Web site and is 
sending the amendment out for publication in the advance sheets of the California 
Official Reports. 
 
This report is for the Judicial Council’s information only.  A copy of amended Appendix 
B to the California Rules of Court, with the adjusted liability limit, is attached as 
Exhibit A. 
 
Rationale for Action Taken 
Civil Code section 1714.1(a) imputes liability, for any act of willful misconduct of a 
minor that results in injury or death to another person or in any injury to the property of 
another, to the parent or guardian having custody and control of the minor.  (See 
Exhibit B.)  Under subdivision (b), a parent or guardian having custody and control of a 
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minor is liable for any act of willful misconduct of the minor that results in the 
defacement of property of another with paint or a similar substance.  Under either 
subdivision (a) or (b), the joint or several liability of the parent or guardian having 
custody or control shall not exceed $25,000 for each tort of the minor, except as provided 
in subdivision (c). 
 
Subdivision (c) requires the Judicial Council to compute, adjust, and publish the 
maximum amount of liability every two years, on or before January 1, 1997, and on or 
before January 1 of each odd numbered year thereafter.1  By Circulating Order 
CO-97-07, the council authorized the Administrative Director of the Courts to make 
future adjustments.  
 
The statutory formula for determining each adjustment is published in Appendix B to the 
California Rules of Court, which gives the adjustments and calculations a permanent 
place for reference.  Based on that formula and based on the 210.5 annual average of the 
2006 California Consumer Price Index, the adjusted liability limit as of January 1, 2007, 
is $34,700.  
 
Attached as Exhibit A is the amended Appendix B to the California Rules of Court.  It 
sets forth the 2007 calculation of the adjusted liability limit, including the formula used 
for the calculation. 
 
Alternative Actions Considered 
The adjustment is required by statute; no alternative actions were considered. 
 
Comments from Interested Parties 
None.  This is a minor substantive change that is unlikely to create controversy, and it 
was not circulated for public comment. 
 
Implementation Requirements and Costs 
No special requirements or costs. 
 
 
Attachments 

                                                 
1 This deadline was not met because the computation must be based on the Consumer Price Index for the previous 
year.  This information was not available from the California Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Labor 
Statistics and Research until February 28.  Staff will consider alternatives for ensuring future timely publication of 
the adjustment, including proposing an amendment to Civil Code section 1714.1(c). 
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Exhibit B 
 
 
Cal Civ Code § 1714.1 (2007) 
 
§ 1714.1.  Civil liability of parents for minor's acts of willful misconduct resulting in death, personal injury, or property 
damage 
 
(a) Any act of willful misconduct of a minor which results in injury or death to another person or in any injury to the 
property of another shall be imputed to the parent or guardian having custody and control of the minor for all purposes 
of civil damages, and the parent or guardian having custody and control shall be jointly and severally liable with the 
minor for any damages resulting from the willful misconduct. 
 Subject to the provisions of subdivision (c), the joint and several liability of the parent or guardian having custody and 
control of a minor under this subdivision shall not exceed twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) for each tort of the 
minor, and in the case of injury to a person, imputed liability shall be further limited to medical, dental and hospital 
expenses incurred by the injured person, not to exceed twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). The liability imposed by 
this section is in addition to any liability now imposed by law. 
 
(b) Any act of willful misconduct of a minor which results in the defacement of property of another with paint or a 
similar substance shall be imputed to the parent or guardian having custody and control of the minor for all purposes of 
civil damages, including court costs, and attorney's fees, to the prevailing party, and the parent or guardian having 
custody and control shall be jointly and severally liable with the minor for any damages resulting from the willful 
misconduct, not to exceed twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000), except as provided in subdivision (c), for each tort 
of the minor. 
 
(c) The amounts listed in subdivisions (a) and (b) shall be adjusted every two years by the Judicial Council to reflect 
any increases in the cost of living in California, as indicated by the annual average of the California Consumer Price 
Index. The Judicial Council shall round this adjusted amount up or down to the nearest hundred dollars. On or before 
January 1, 1997, and on or before January 1 of each odd-numbered year thereafter, the Judicial Council shall compute 
and publish the amounts listed in subdivisions (a) and (b), as adjusted according to this subdivision. 
 
(d) The maximum liability imposed by this section is the maximum liability authorized under this section at the time 
that the act of willful misconduct by a minor was committed. 
 
(e) Nothing in this section shall impose liability on an insurer for a loss caused by the willful act of the insured for 
purposes of Section 533 of the Insurance Code. An insurer shall not be liable for the conduct imputed to a parent or 
guardian by this section for any amount in excess of ten thousand dollars ($10,000). 
 


