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   JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF CALIFORNIA 
ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF THE COURTS 

455 Golden Gate Avenue 
San Francisco, California 94102-3688 

 
Report  

  
TO:  Members of the Judicial Council 
 
FROM: Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee 
  Hon. Mary Ann Grilli and Hon. Susan D. Huguenor, Co-chairs 
  Melissa Ardaiz, Research Attorney, 415-865-7567 
  George Ferrick, Supervising Court Services Analyst, 415-865-7639 
 
DATE: September 7, 2004 
 
SUBJECT: Child Custody: Education, Training, and Experience Standards for 

Evaluators (amend Cal. Rules of Court, rule 5.225; adopt form FL-325; 
revise form FL-326) (Action Required)                                                          

 
Issue Statement 
Since rule 5.225 of the California Rules of Court took effect on January 1, 2000, a 
number of child custody evaluators, family court services officials, and family law 
attorneys have contacted the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) to express 
concerns regarding implementation of the rule’s requirements, often citing current 
budgetary constraints. In response to these concerns, the Family and Juvenile Law 
Advisory Committee has identified structural changes that would provide greater 
clarification and flexibility. The proposed changes, including the use of separate 
declaration forms depending on the type of evaluator involved, would assist child custody 
evaluators in both complying with the rule’s requirements and establishing a record of 
compliance.  
 
Recommendation 
The Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee recommends that the Judicial 
Council, effective January 1, 2005, amend rule 5.225 of the California Rules of Court; 
adopt form FL-325, Declaration of Court-Connected Child Custody Evaluator Regarding 
Qualifications; and revise form FL-326, Declaration of Private Child Custody Evaluator 
Regarding Qualifications, to clarify the education, training, and experience requirements 
and certification procedures for court-appointed child custody evaluators.  
 
The texts of the proposed rule and forms are attached at pages 7–13. 
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Rationale for Recommendation 
The committee recommends the following amendments to rule 5.225 to promote 
flexibility in compliance and accommodate current budgetary constraints.  
 
First, the committee recommends eliminating language in subdivision (e) allowing 
evaluators to complete up to 10 hours of education and training through self-study 
because the term “self-study” is vague and confusing. “Self-study” does not clearly 
indicate the type of training that qualifies within the meaning of the term. The proposed 
revision still requires evaluators to complete 40 hours of initial education and training 
through an eligible provider. The AOC must approve all education and training programs 
to ensure that the appropriate content is included in the training.  

Second, the committee recommends elimination of the requirement in current subdivision 
(j)(1) that an alternative evaluator must possess a master’s or doctoral degree. Under 
Family Code section 3110.5(d), if no licensed or court-connected evaluators are 
available, the parties may stipulate to the appointment of an alternative evaluator, subject 
to court approval. There is no legislative requirement that the alternative evaluator 
possess a master’s or doctoral degree. Rather, current rule 5.225(j) imposes the 
requirement that alternative evaluators both possess a master’s or doctoral degree and 
complete the education, training, and experience requirements of the rule. The committee 
recommends eliminating the master’s or doctoral degree requirement, but clarifying that 
the parties have the ability to stipulate to the appointment of an alternative evaluator with 
a master’s or doctoral degree if such an evaluator is available, subject to court approval. 
Alternative evaluators would still be required, at a minimum, to complete the education, 
training, and experience requirements of this rule to qualify for appointment. This change 
would assist counties with limited pools of qualified evaluators. 

The committee also recommended amending the experience requirements in subdivision 
(f). However, the committee has since concluded that further discussion on this issue is 
needed. To adequately address concerns that were raised during and subsequent to the 
public comment period, the committee intends to amend and circulate this portion of the 
rule in a future RUPRO cycle.  

The committee further recommends making grammatical and organizational changes to 
improve the rule’s structure and language and clarify certain issues. 

First, subdivision (i), which concerns training and experience requirements for court-
connected evaluators beginning practice, would be relettered (g) so that it is positioned 
logically after the education, training, and experience requirements of subdivisions (e) 
and (f).  

Second, current subdivision (i) would be amended to clarify the training and experience 
requirements for court-connected evaluators who are beginning practice. The current 
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wording is unclear both to whom it applies and what it requires. The proposed amended 
title is “Court-connected evaluators.” Other proposed amendments would clarify that the 
subdivision is intended to apply to evaluators beginning practice and specifically identify 
each criterion that evaluators must meet to conduct evaluations. 

Third, current subdivisions (j) and (k) would be combined into one subdivision, (j), to 
improve the rule’s organization. Current subdivision (k), which concerns licensing 
requirements, would become proposed subdivision (j)(1). Current subdivision (j), which 
governs appointment when no licensed or court-connected evaluators are available, 
would become proposed subdivision (j)(2). 

Fourth, the committee proposes to clarify the process in subdivision (l) (formerly (m)) for 
submitting declarations of compliance with the applicable education, training, and 
experience requirements, including separate forms for court-connected and private 
evaluators. The process itself would not change significantly: court-connected evaluators 
would have to file annually with family court services, while private evaluators would 
have to file within 10 days after notification of each appointment and before any work on 
each child custody evaluation had begun. However, subdivision (l) would address the 
filing process for court-connected and private evaluators separately, and court-connected 
evaluators would be instructed to file by a certain date each year.  

The committee further recommends adopting form FL-325 and revising form FL-326 to 
reflect the distinctions between the two types of child custody evaluators in these 
proceedings: the private evaluator and the court-connected evaluator. Current form FL-
326, Declaration of Child Custody Evaluator Regarding Qualifications, applies to both 
court-connected and private evaluators. The committee recommends applying this form 
solely to private evaluators, entitling it Declaration of Private Child Custody Evaluator 
Regarding Qualifications. The caption at the top would request the evaluator’s name and 
contact information instead of an attorney or a party to the action, as it currently requests. 
It would also distinguish between private evaluators currently in compliance with the rule 
and those who qualify as alternative evaluators under rule 5.225(j)(2). The form should 
be filed in the court file for each case to which the private evaluator is appointed.  

The committee also recommends clarifying that form FL-326 is mandatory, not optional. 
As currently written, rule 5.225(m) and form FL-326 are inconsistent: subdivision (m) 
requires child custody evaluators to file form FL-326 with the court, but form FL-326 
declares itself to be an “optional” form. The Judicial Council therefore needs to “adopt” 
form FL-326 for “mandatory” use to make the form consistent with the provisions of the 
rule. Current rule 5.225(m) has required all evaluators to file form FL-326 since January 
1, 2004. 

Proposed new form FL-325 follows essentially the same format as form FL-326. 
However, the proposed title would be Declaration of Court-Connected Child Custody 
Evaluator Regarding Qualifications, and there would be no caption for case-specific 
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information because court-connected evaluators, unlike private evaluators, are not 
required to file a form in the court file of each case to which they are appointed. Rather, 
they would file the form annually with the local family court services office or 
administrator. The form would also distinguish between court-connected evaluators who 
have fully complied with rule 5.225 and those who qualify for appointment under the 
alternative means described in proposed subdivision (g). Subdivision (g) is not applicable 
to private evaluators.  

Alternative Actions Considered 
No alternative actions were considered. The proposed amendments are necessary to 
clarify the legal and procedural requirements of rule 5.225 and to provide flexibility in 
compliance.  
 
Comments From Interested Parties 
The invitation to comment on the proposal was circulated from April 5 through June 4, 
2004, to the standard mailing list for family and juvenile law proposals, as well as the 
regular rules and forms mailing list. This distribution includes judges, court adminis-
trators, attorneys, social workers, probation officers, mediators, and other family and 
juvenile law professionals, such as family court services’ directors, managers, 
supervisors, and staff.  
 
The comments are summarized in the attached chart at pages 14–24. There were a total of 
19 commentators. Eighteen of the 19 either agreed with the proposed rule or agreed if 
modifications were made. Several commentators praised the clarity and flexibility 
provided by the proposed amendments. One commentator did not agree with the 
proposed changes. The following subdivisions received the most significant comments. 
 
Subdivision (e) 
One commentator stated that eliminating the provision allowing 10 hours of self-study 
would be impractical because of current budgetary constraints. She asserted that distance 
learning is available only during normal work hours and that current understaffing 
restricts participation. The committee proposes elimination of this alternative because the 
term “self-study” is vague and promotes confusion. However, the committee agrees that 
greater flexibility is needed to accommodate current budgetary constraints. The 
committee therefore recommends expanding the permissible means of training to include 
distance learning, such as broadcast instruction, online study, or alternative learning 
methods implemented by an “eligible” education and training provider as defined in 
subdivision (m). Offering these means promotes flexibility in compliance and should 
provide staff with the opportunity to study without traveling or taking time off from 
work.  
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Subdivision (f) 
One commentator disagreed with changing the number of evaluations necessary to satisfy 
the experience requirements from six to three, citing a serious gap between rudimentary 
knowledge and professional expertise and the need for continued professional 
consultation. The committee agrees that further discussion is needed on this issue. To 
adequately address concerns that were raised during and subsequent to the public 
comment period, the committee intends to circulate a proposed amended subdivision (f) 
in a future RUPRO cycle.  

Subdivision (j) 
Three commentators disagreed with subdivision (j)(1). Two of those commentators 
disagreed with the licensing requirement for evaluators. Family Code section 
3110.5(c)(1)–(5), however, requires evaluators to be either licensed as a physician, 
psychologist, marriage and family therapist, or clinical social worker or court-connected, 
effective January 1, 2005. Subdivision (j)(1), therefore, reflects the mandate of the 
Legislature. If the evaluator is neither licensed nor court-connected, he or she must 
qualify under the alternative evaluator criteria described in subdivision (j)(2) to be 
appointed. It is not within the Judicial Council’s purview to alter legislative requirements.  
 
The third commentator asserted that the complexities of psychotherapy make it essential 
for all evaluators, whether court-connected or private, to possess a master’s degree and 
license. However, as stated above, the Legislature does not require court-connected 
evaluators to have a license or a master’s degree under Family Code section 3110.5(c). 
Rule 5.225(j)(1) simply reiterates distinctions created by the Legislature. 
 
Two commentators disagreed with proposed subdivision (j)(2), asserting that it provides 
an exception to counties lacking evaluators with a professional degree and opens the door 
to people lacking adequate professional qualifications. Current rule 5.225(j) requires any 
alternative evaluator to both possess a master’s or doctoral degree and satisfy the 
education, training, and experience requirements of the rule. Family Code section 
3110.5(d), however, does not mandate that alternative evaluators possess a professional 
degree. Rather, it allows the parties, subject to court approval, to stipulate to the 
appointment of an evaluator in the event that no licensed or court-connected evaluators 
are available. As proposed, rule 5.225(j)(2) would reference Family Code section 
3110.5(d) and require that any alternative evaluator appointed must, at a minimum, have 
satisfied the education, training, and experience requirements of rule 5.225. This 
language would preserve flexibility in those counties where only limited pools of 
potential qualified evaluators are available. It would also allow parties to stipulate to the 
appointment of an alternative evaluator with a master’s degree if an evaluator with that 
level of education were available, subject to court approval. 
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Subdivision (l) 
Three commentators thought the process for filing form FL-326 was unrealistic, 
cumbersome, and restrictive. Subdivision (l)(1)(B) requires private evaluators to file form 
FL-326 within 10 days after notification of each appointment and before any work on 
each child custody evaluation has begun. Two commentators suggested that private 
evaluators, like court-connected evaluators, should only be required to file annually. 
There were also proposals to amend this subdivision to allow evaluators to attach form 
FL-326 to the evaluation once it was completed or to permit courts to develop local rules 
on proper procedure.  
 
The committee recommends continuing to require private evaluators to file form FL-326 
within 10 days after notification of each appointment and before any work on each 
evaluation has begun. This process has been in effect since the rule’s adoption, on 
January 1, 2000. While it may seem more efficient for an evaluator to file the form upon 
completing the evaluation, the purpose of the filing requirements is to establish, prior to 
conducting evaluations, whether the evaluator has complied with all of the applicable 
education, training, and experience specified in rule 5.225. Allowing evaluators to submit 
declarations of compliance subsequent to the evaluation defeats this purpose and may 
create situations in which an unqualified evaluator is conducting evaluations without the 
knowledge of either the court or the parties. Further, it is not the responsibility of a court 
agency to keep a file regarding the qualifications of those who are privately employed.  
 
Implementation Requirements and Costs 
The proposed amendments should not result in additional costs other than the cost of 
producing forms FL-325 and FL-326. The flexibility provided by the alternative means of 
training should result in cost savings.  
 
Attachments
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Rule 5.225 of the California Rules of Court is amended, effective January 1, 2005, 
to read: 

Rule 5.225. Education, experience, and training, and experience standards for 1 
court-appointed child custody investigators and evaluators 2 

(a)–(c) ***  3 
  4 

(d)    [Requirements for evaluators’ qualifications: education, 5 
experience, and training, and experience] Persons appointed as child 6 
custody evaluators must: 7 

 8 
(1)   Effective January 1, 2004, Complete a total of 40 hours of initial 9 

education and training and education as described in subdivision 10 
(e);. At least 20 of the 40 hours of education and training required 11 
by this rule must be completed by January 1, 2003;  12 

 13 
(2) ***  14 
 15 
(3)  Fulfill the experience requirements described in subdivision (f); 16 

and 17 
 18 
 (4)   Meet the continuing education, experience, and training, and 19 

experience requirements described in subdivision (g) (h). 20 
 21 

(e)    [Education and training requirements] Only education and training 22 
acquired after January 1, 2000, that meets the requirements for training 23 
and education from providers described in subdivision (n) (m) meets the 24 
requirements of this rule. Ten of the hours required by this rule may be 25 
earned through self-study that is supervised by a training provider who 26 
meets the requirements described in subdivision (n). Serving as the 27 
instructor in a course meeting the requirements described in subdivision 28 
(n) (m) in one or more of the subjects listed in paragraphs (1) through 29 
(21) below can be substituted for completion of the requisite number of 30 
hours specified in subdivision (d) on an hour-per-hour basis, but each 31 
subject taught may be counted only once. The hours required by this 32 
rule must include, but are not limited to, all of the following subjects: 33 
 34 
(1)–(21) ***  35 
 36 

(f) ***  37 
 38 
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(g)    [Court-connected evaluators] Court-connected evaluators who do not 1 
meet the education and training requirements in (d) and (e) may conduct 2 
child custody evaluations:  3 

 4 
(1)    If they have completed 20 of the 40 hours of initial education and 5 

training required by (d); 6 
 7 
(2)    If they complete the additional 20 hours of education and training 8 

required by (d) within 12 months of beginning practice as a child 9 
custody evaluator; 10 

 11 
(3)    If they comply with the experience requirements in (f); and 12 

 13 
(4)    If, during the period in which the evaluator does not meet the 14 

requirements of the rule, he or she is supervised by a court-15 
connected evaluator who has complied with the education, 16 
training, and experience requirements of this rule.  17 

 18 
(g) (h)    [Continuing education and training] Effective January 1, 2004, 19 

After completing the initial 40 hours of training, persons appointed as 20 
child custody evaluators must annually attend complete 8 hours of 21 
update training covering subjects described in subdivision (e) after 22 
completing the initial 40 hours of training. This requirement is in 23 
addition to the annual 4 hours of domestic violence update training 24 
described in rule 5.230. 25 

 26 
(h) (i)    [Ongoing clinical consultation] When conducting evaluations, 27 

persons appointed as child custody evaluators should, where 28 
appropriate, seek guidance from professionals who meet the 29 
requirements of this rule.  30 

 31 
(i)    [Court employees] Effective January 1, 2004, court-connected 32 

evaluators may conduct evaluations if they have already completed at 33 
least 20 hours of the training required in subdivision (d) of this rule and 34 
meet all of the qualifications established by this rule within 12 months 35 
after completing the 20-hour requirement. During the period in which a 36 
court-connected evaluator does not yet meet the requirements of this 37 
rule, a court-connected professional who meets the requirements of the 38 
rule must supervise the court-connected evaluator's work.  39 

 40 
 (j)    [Alternative appointment criteria] If the court appoints a child 41 

custody evaluator under Family Code section 3110.5(d), the court must 42 
require that the evaluator:  43 



 

 9

 1 
(1)   Possess a master's or doctoral degree in psychology, social work, 2 

marriage and family counseling, or another behavioral science 3 
substantially related to working with families; and 4 

 5 
(2)   Have completed the education, experience, and training 6 

requirements in subdivisions (e) and (g) of this rule. 7 
 8 

(k)    [Licensing requirements] On or after January 1, 2005, persons 9 
appointed as child custody evaluators must meet the criteria set forth in 10 
Family Code section 3110.5(c)(1)-(5). 11 

 12 
(j)    [Appointment criteria]  13 
 14 

(1)    On or after January 1, 2005, persons appointed as child custody 15 
evaluators must meet the criteria set forth in Family Code section 16 
3110.5(c)(1)–(5). 17 

 18 
(2)    If there are no child custody evaluators available locally who meet 19 

the criteria of Family Code section 3110.5(c)(1)–(5), the parties 20 
may, under Family Code section 3110.5(d), stipulate to an 21 
individual who does not meet the criteria described in Family Code 22 
section 3110.5(c)(1)–(5), subject to approval by the court. Any 23 
evaluator chosen must, at a minimum, have complied with the 24 
education, training, and experience requirements in (d), (e), and 25 
(f).  26 

 27 
(l) (k)    [Responsibility of the courts] Each court: 28 
 29 

(1)    On or before January 1, 2004, Must develop local court rules to 30 
implement this rule that: 31 

 32 
(A)–(B) *** 33 

 34 
(2)    Effective January 1, 2004, Must use the Judicial Council form 35 

Order Appointing Child Custody Evaluator (FL-327) to appoint a 36 
private child custody evaluator or a court-connected evaluation 37 
service. Form FL-327 may be supplemented with local court 38 
forms; 39 

 40 
 (3)–(4) *** 41 
 42 
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(m) (l)    [Child custody evaluator] A person appointed as a child custody 1 
evaluator must: 2 
 3 
(1)   Effective January 1, 2004, complete and file with the court Judicial 4 

Council form Declaration of Child Custody Evaluator Regarding 5 
Qualifications (FL-326). This form must be filed no later than 10 6 
court days after receipt of notification of the appointment and 7 
before any work on the child custody evaluation has begun, unless 8 
the person is a court-connected employee who must file annually 9 
with the court Judicial Council form Declaration of Child Custody 10 
Evaluator Regarding Qualifications (FL-326); Submit to the court 11 
a declaration indicating compliance with all applicable education, 12 
training, and experience requirements. 13 
 14 
(A)   Court-connected child custody evaluators practicing as of 15 

January 1 of the given year must submit Judicial Council 16 
form Declaration of Court-Connected Child Custody 17 
Evaluator Regarding Qualifications (FL-325) to the local 18 
family court services office or administrator by January 30 of 19 
that year. Court-connected evaluators beginning practice after 20 
January 1 must file form FL-325 before any work on the first 21 
child custody evaluation has begun and by January 30 of 22 
every year thereafter; and 23 

 24 
(B)   Private child custody evaluators must complete Judicial 25 

Council form Declaration of Private Child Custody 26 
Evaluator Regarding Qualifications (FL-326) and file it with 27 
the clerk’s office no later than 10 days after notification of 28 
each appointment and before any work on each child custody 29 
evaluation has begun;  30 

 31 
(2)–(6) *** 32 

 33 
(n) (m)    [Training and Education and training providers] Eligible 34 

providers may include educational institutions, professional 35 
associations, professional continuing education groups, public or private 36 
for-profit or not-for-profit groups, court-connected groups, and the 37 
Administrative Office of the Courts. Eligible providers must: 38 

 39 
(1)–(3) *** 40 
 41 
(4)   Distribute a certificate of completion to each person who has 42 

attended completed the training. The certificate will must 43 
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document the number of hours of training offered, the number of 1 
hours the person attended completed, the dates of the training, and 2 
the name of the training provider; and 3 

 4 
(5)   Meet the approval requirements described in subdivision (o) (n).  5 
 6 

(o) (n)    [Eligible training] Effective July 1, 2003, Eligible education and 7 
training and education programs must be approved by the 8 
Administrative Director Office of the Courts. Training and Education 9 
and training courses that were taken between January 1, 2000, and July 10 
1, 2003, may be applied toward the requirements of this rule if it they 11 
addresses addressed the subjects listed in subdivision (e), and is were 12 
either certified for continuing education credit by a professional 13 
provider group or offered as part of a related postgraduate degree or 14 
licensing program. 15 



FL-325
FOR COURT  USE ONLY

DECLARATION OF COURT-CONNECTED CHILD CUSTODY 
EVALUATOR REGARDING QUALIFICATIONS

I, (name): , declare that if I appeared in court and were sworn, I would testify
 to the truth of the facts in this declaration.

As of (date): , I am a court-connected child custody evaluator for the above court.

4. I have satisfied all of the education, training, and experience requirements for a court-connected child custody evaluator 
set forth in rule 5.225(d)–(f) of the California Rules of Court; or

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Date:

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME) (SIGNATURE OF DECLARANT)

Page 1 of 1

DECLARATION OF COURT-CONNECTED CHILD CUSTODY 
EVALUATOR REGARDING QUALIFICATIONS

Form Adopted for Mandatory Use 
Judicial Council of California 

FL-325 [New January 1, 2005]

1. 

2. 

3. 

EVALUATOR (Name and address):

TELEPHONE NO.: FAX NO. (Optional):

E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional):

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF

STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

BRANCH NAME:

Draft 14
09/07/04 mc

12

Family Code, §§ 1816, 3110.5
                  Cal. Rules of Court, rules 5.225, 5.230

www.courtinfo.ca.gov

I have satisfied all of the domestic violence training requirements for a court-connected child custody evaluator set forth in 
Family Code sections 1816 and 3110.5 and rule 5.230 of the California Rules of Court; and

(1)  I have completed at least 20 of the 40 hours of initial education and training required by rule 5.225(d);

(4)  I am being supervised by a court-connected child custody evaluator who has complied with all of the applicable 
      education, training, and experience requirements for court-connected child custody evaluators.

(2)  I will complete the additional 20 hours of education and training required by rule 5.225(d) within 12 months of
      the date I began practice as a court-connected child custody evaluator;  

I have not satisfied all of the education, training, and experience requirements for a court-connected child custody 
evaluator set forth in rule 5.225(d)–(f) of the California Rules of Court, but I qualify for appointment under rule 5.225(g) 
because:

(3)  I am in compliance with rule 5.225(f) of the California Rules of Court; and

a.   

b.  



FL-326
FOR COURT USE ONLY

CASE NUMBER:DECLARATION OF PRIVATE CHILD CUSTODY 
EVALUATOR REGARDING QUALIFICATIONS

I, (name): , declare that if I appeared in court and were sworn, I would testify
 to the truth of the facts in this declaration.

On (date): , I was appointed by the court to perform a child custody evaluation in
this matter.

I have satisfied all of the domestic violence training requirements for a private child custody evaluator set forth in Family Code 
sections 1816 and 3110.5 and rule 5.230 of the California Rules of Court; and

I have satisfied all of the education, training, and experience requirements for a private child custody evaluator set forth in rule 
5.225(d)–(f) of the California Rules of Court; and

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Date:

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME) (SIGNATURE OF DECLARANT)

Page 1 of 1

DECLARATION OF PRIVATE CHILD CUSTODY 
EVALUATOR REGARDING QUALIFICATIONS

Family Code, §§ 1816, 3110.5
                  Cal. Rules of Court, rules 5.225, 5.230

Form Adopted for Mandatory Use 
Judicial Council of California 

FL-326 [Rev. January 1, 2005] www.courtinfo.ca.gov

1. 

2. 

3. 

EVALUATOR (Name and address):

TELEPHONE NO.: FAX NO. (Optional):

E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional):

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

BRANCH NAME:

PETITIONER/PLAINTIFF:

RESPONDENT/DEFENDANT:

Draft 12
09/20/04 mc

13

a.

b.

4. 

5. I have satisfied the licensing requirement for a private child custody evaluator set forth in Family Code section 3110.5(c) 
and rule 5.225(j)(1) of the California Rules of Court; or

I have not satisfied the licensing requirement for a private child custody evaluator set forth in Family Code section 
3110.5(c) and rule 5.225(j)(1) of the California Rules of Court, but I am eligible to perform a child custody evaluation in 
this case under Family Code section 3110.5(d) and rule 5.225(j)(2) of the California Rules of Court because:

The court has determined there are no evaluators meeting the criteria of Family Code section 3110.5(c) who are       
willing and available, within a reasonable period of time, to perform child custody evaluations; and

The parties have stipulated to, and the court has approved, having the evaluation done by an individual who does not 
satisfy the licensing criteria set forth in Family Code section 3110.5(c). 

(1)

(2)



SPR04-23 
Child Custody:  Education, Training, and Experience Standards for Evaluators  
(amend Cal. Rules of Court, rule 5.225; adopt form FL-325; revise form FL-326) 

 Commentator Position Comment 
on behalf 
of group? 

Comment Committee Response 

 

Catalog2  Positions:  A = Agree; AM = Agree only if modified; N = Do not agree. 14

1. Dr. Albert French 
Psychiatrist 
Roseville 

AM N 1. Subdivision (d)(1). The requirement that “at least 
20 of the 40 hours of education and training required 
by this rule must be completed by January 1, 2003” 
clearly makes it impossible for any new evaluators to 
be qualified.  
 
 
2. Subdivision (f). This provision will “lock the gate” 
in a manner which protects the existing pool of 730 
evaluators. 
 
3. I suggest that evaluators submit their reports in a 
standard format, using a form, and specify exactly 
what the basis of each recommendation is. 
Evaluations must always use a standard set of 
procedures. 

1. Agree that the date restriction currently 
contained in subdivision (d)(1) is no longer 
necessary. The committee has proposed 
revising this sentence to state that 
evaluators must complete a total of 40 
hours of initial education and training. 
 
2. Because of concerns raised regarding the 
experience requirements, this issue will be 
addressed in a future RUPRO cycle.  
 
3. This rule establishes qualifications and 
training for court-appointed child custody 
evaluators; it does not concern the proper 
procedure or format for submitting 
evaluations or for qualifying evaluators as 
experts.  

2. Ms. Frances Henderson 
Director/Facilitator 
Family Court Services 
 
Written on behalf of 10 
family court services 
directors present at the Bay 
Area Regional Meeting of 
Family Court Services 
Directors 

AM Y 1. Subdivision (e). Training or continuing education 
that qualifies for professional education units and 
also addresses the list of subject matters in 
subdivision (e) should be a permissible means to 
meet the training requirements of this rule. We 
recommend the addition of the following language 
after online study: “Any study for which professional 
continuing educational units can be acquired shall 
satisfy the requirements of this section.”  
 
 
 
 
 
 

1. It is unnecessary to add language 
regarding professional education units in 
subdivision (e) because subdivision (m), 
which outlines the types of providers 
eligible to provide education and training, 
already specifies that evaluators may count 
training obtained from “professional 
continuing education groups” toward 
meeting the education and training 
described in subdivision (e). Any training 
obtained from a professional continuing 
education group must cover at least one of 
the 21 subjects listed in subdivision (e) in 
order to qualify as education and training 
within the meaning of the rule. 



SPR04-23 
Child Custody:  Education, Training, and Experience Standards for Evaluators  
(amend Cal. Rules of Court, rule 5.225; adopt form FL-325; revise form FL-326) 

 Commentator Position Comment 
on behalf 
of group? 

Comment Committee Response 
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2. Subdivision (f)(1). Replace “between January 1, 
2000, and July, 1, 2003” with “within the previous 
four years of the date of performance of said oral 
written or oral report.” This will reflect the 
importance of individuals remaining current in the 
field.  

 
2. Owing to concerns raised regarding the 
experience requirements during and 
subsequent to the public comment period, 
subdivision (f) will be addressed in a future 
RUPRO cycle.  

3. Ms. Mary Hildebrandt 
Child Custody Evaluator/ 
Senior Family Mediator 
 
 

AM N Subdivision (j)(1). I do not agree that child custody 
evaluators should be required to have a license 
effective 2005. Requiring a license may cause 
attorneys to object to a court-appointed evaluator for 
not meeting the standards of practice. They might 
exercise peremptory challenges against those 
evaluators who don’t possess a license, believing that 
a licensed evaluator is more qualified. The license 
requirement complicates the logistical procedures of 
the court and causes work inequities. In addition to 
potentially setting a two-tiered system of court-
connected evaluators, the license requirement causes 
a great disservice to families who would otherwise 
benefit from a highly trained and experienced 
“unlicensed” evaluator.  

Requiring certain evaluators to possess a 
license is a legislative mandate. Family 
Code section 3110.5(c)(1)–(5) requires 
that, effective January 1, 2005, all child 
custody evaluators appointed under the 
Family Code, section 730 of the Evidence 
Code, or section 2032 of the Code of Civil 
Procedure must be either licensed as a 
physician, psychologist, marriage and 
family therapist, or clinical social worker 
or court-connected and certified as having 
met all the requirements established in this 
rule. Subdivision (j)(1) merely reflects the 
mandate of the Legislature. If the evaluator 
does not possess a license, he or she must 
either be court-connected or qualify under 
the alternative evaluator criteria described 
in subdivision (j)(2) to be appointed.  

4. Ms. Wendy Homer 
Child Custody Mediator/ 
Family Assessment Specialist 
Family Court Services 
Superior Court of Napa 
County 

N N Subdivision (j)(1). It is essential for all evaluators, 
whether court-connected or private, to possess at 
least a master’s degree and a license to practice 
psychotherapy, as well as a minimum of five years’ 
experience as a psychotherapist. An evaluator often 
needs the ability to understand and assess psychiatric 
diagnoses made by other professionals involved with 

The Legislature, in Family Code section 
3110.5(c)(1)–(5), makes a distinction in the 
professional licensure requirements for 
private and court-connected evaluators. 
Section 3110.5(c)(1)–(5) requires that 
evaluators be either licensed as a 
physician, psychologist, marriage and 
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the family members and how they affect decisions 
regarding a parenting plan.  

family therapist, or a clinical social worker 
or court-connected, effective January 1, 
2005. The Legislature does not require 
court-connected evaluators to have a 
license or a master’s degree under the 
terms of the statute. Rule 5.225(j)(1) 
merely reiterates the educational 
requirements and distinctions created by 
the Legislature. 

5. Ms. Kim Hubbard 
President  
Orange County Bar 
Association 
 

A Y The committee’s recommendations for changes in the 
experience requirements and alternative appointment 
criteria for child custody evaluators, for the 
clarification of requirements affecting court-
connected evaluators beginning practice, and for the 
new and revised forms, all seem to be appropriate.  

No response required. 

6. Mr. Scott Jones 
Manager 
Family Mediation Program 
Superior Court of Ventura 
County 

A N Subdivision (j)(2). I’d prefer that the education 
standards be applied equally in all counties without 
exception. Counties without evaluators with a 
master’s level of education are given an exception to 
the education requirements. No time limit is set, 
though one would be appropriate. Nominal fees 
assessed from child custody cases may assist in 
funding educational requirements.  

Subdivision (j)(2) does apply equally in all 
counties and makes no exceptions for 
counties that lack evaluators with a 
master’s level of education. The purpose of 
this subdivision is merely to establish 
minimum requirements in accordance with 
Family Code section 3110.5(d). That 
provision states that, when there are no 
evaluators available who are either 
licensed or court-connected, as described 
in Family Code section 3110.5(c)(1)–(5), 
the parties may stipulate to an individual 
who does not meet the criteria of 
subdivision (c), subject to court approval. 
Rule 5.225(j)(2) supplements Family Code 
section 3110.5(d) by further requiring that 
any alternative evaluator stipulated to by 
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the parties must, at a minimum, have 
satisfied the education, training, and 
experience requirements of the rule in 
order to qualify to conduct evaluations. 
Parties in every county are free, with court 
approval, to appoint evaluators with a 
master’s degree level of education if there 
is an evaluator with that level of education 
available.  

7. Ms. Patricia Kaplan 
Supervisor 
Family and Children’s 
Bureau 
Superior Court of Alameda 
County  

A N No specific comment No response required. 

8. Ms. Alice M. King 
Attorney and Co-president 
Plumas County Bar 
Association 

A N I am glad to see the proposed changes allow for 
flexibility in selecting child custody evaluators. In 
our small county, we would be hard-pressed to find 
an investigator who would meet the requirements as 
currently written. We currently have an investigator 
who possesses great wisdom and experience and 
provides quality work, but who does not meet the 
educational qualifications.  

No response required. 

9. Mr. Stephen V. Love 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego 
County 

A N I feel it is important there be standardized 
requirements for these type of positions. Yet I do not 
feel qualified to evaluate what those requirements 
should be. Currently not a juvenile court issue. 

No response required. 

10. Ms. Adele Myers 
Investigator 
Family Court Services 
Superior Court of Plumas 
County 

A N Subdivision (j)(2). I have been conducting child 
custody evaluations for nearly 15 years in Plumas 
County but do not possess a master’s degree. I do, 
however, have a great deal of empirical knowledge, 
am well respected by colleagues and clients, and 

No response required.  
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would like to be able to continue in my profession. I 
feel the proposed amendment is critical in rural areas, 
such as Plumas County, where the number of 
investigators with a master’s degree is quite limited.  

11. Dr. Shary Nunan 
Psychologist 
Family Resolution Center 
Walnut Creek 

AM N 1.  Subdivision (h). There is too much training in 
domestic violence required. It takes time and 
resources away from evaluators who would be better 
served by becoming educated in other critical areas. I 
would recommend domestic violence training every 
four years, or, at most, every two years.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2.  Subdivision (l)(1)(B): Private evaluators should 
be required to file proof of their fulfillment of the 
training requirements once a year rather than with 
every evaluation.  

1. It is not possible to use this proposal as a 
means of amending the domestic violence 
requirements because the amount of 
domestic violence training required is 
imposed under the provisions of rule 
5.230, not rule 5.225. Rule 5.230(d) 
requires evaluators to complete 16 hours of 
advanced domestic violence training and 4 
hours of domestic violence training 
annually thereafter. The four hours of 
annual domestic violence training specified 
in rule 5.225(h) is simply a reiteration of 
what is required in rule 5.230(d). It was 
included in rule 5.225 so that all training 
requirements relevant to child custody 
evaluators would be grouped together in 
one rule. Proposed amendments to the 
domestic violence training requirements, 
therefore, would have to be directed to the 
provisions of rule 5.230. 
 
2. Private evaluators are required to file a 
declaration of qualifications (FL-326) 
before beginning work on each evaluation 
because the form needs to be placed in the 
court file for the case to which the private 
evaluator was appointed. Court-connected 
evaluators file annually because those 
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records are housed in family court services 
and are readily accessible to the court if 
necessary. Private evaluators, however, 
have no general court-based office or 
administrator who maintains files on their 
behalf.  

12. Dr. Zena D. Polly 
Private Psychology Practice 
Irvine 

A N No specific comment No response required. 

13. Mr. Michael Powell 
Supervisor 
Family Court Services 
Superior Court of San Luis 
Obispo County 

A N Proposal provides appropriate clarity to training and 
documentation of training. Would not have 
significant impact on our current process or budget. 

No response required.  

14. Dr. Gary Rick 
Licensed Psychologist 
Ventura 

AM N Subdivision (l)(1)(B). Requiring private evaluators to 
file form FL-326 within ten days after notification of 
each appointment and before commencing the 
evaluation is unrealistic and cumbersome. Due to 
time and resource issues affecting court staff, it can 
take weeks after filing form FL-326 for the clerk’s 
office to send it back stamped. I suggest either that 
(1) private evaluators have a procedure similar to that 
of court-connected evaluators in which the private 
evaluator sends in the form only once a year (court-
connected and private evaluator forms could be kept 
in separate files), (2) there be a provision allowing 
the development of local court rules concerning how 
this form should be filed, or (3) form FL-326 be a 
sworn statement that has to be attached to the 
evaluation at the time it is submitted to the court.  

Private evaluators are required to file a 
declaration of qualifications (FL-326) 
before work on each evaluation because 
the form needs to be placed in the court file 
for the case to which the private evaluator 
was appointed. Court-connected evaluators 
file annually because those records are 
housed in family court services and are 
readily accessible to the court if necessary. 
Private evaluators, however, have no 
general court based office or administrator 
who maintains files on their behalf. In 
addition, allowing evaluators to submit 
declarations of proof subsequent to the 
evaluation may create situations in which 
an unqualified evaluator is conducting 
evaluations without the knowledge of those 
involved. It is also important to note that 



SPR04-23 
Child Custody:  Education, Training, and Experience Standards for Evaluators  
(amend Cal. Rules of Court, rule 5.225; adopt form FL-325; revise form FL-326) 

 Commentator Position Comment 
on behalf 
of group? 

Comment Committee Response 

 

Catalog2  Positions:  A = Agree; AM = Agree only if modified; N = Do not agree. 20

the evaluator need only file within 10 
days—he or she doesn’t have to wait for 
the stamped copy to be returned by the 
court. 

15. Mr. Joseph Roberson 
Northridge 

A N As a person educated in a counseling field I have 
been left in shock at the lack of skill I have seen 
exhibited by some mediators. It has often become 
obvious to me that the mediators lacked an insight 
into their own prejudices and biases. I also found it 
shocking that several of the mediators informed me 
that they had not done a comprehensive review of the 
case file to get any background information on the 
case. In what field can someone exhibit wisdom and 
understanding without reviewing the circumstances 
of the situation? 

No response required. 

16. Ms. Martha Rosenberg 
Director 
Family and Investigative 
Court Services 
Superior Court of Contra 
Costa County 

AM N As funding is significantly restricted for the courts at 
this time, it seems foolhardy to eliminate the 
provision allowing for 10 hours of self-study. 
Actually, the amount of allowable self-study hours 
should be increased. Not only is funding a problem, 
but current understaffing restricts the amount of time 
staff can be away from their jobs to attend distance or 
broadcast learning that is only available during 
normal work hours. Self-study allows staff to 
accumulate hours on their own time as desired. One 
means of self-study should be audiotapes of various 
workshops sponsored and distributed by CFCC.  

The committee recommends eliminating 
the term “self-study” owing to confusion 
surrounding its interpretation. However, 
because current budgetary constraints 
demand flexibility in compliance, the 
committee recommends expanding the 
means of obtaining training to include 
distance learning in addition to in-person 
instruction. Learning methods such as 
audiotapes and videotapes may be a means 
of fulfilling the training requirements if 
they are forms of study approved by the 
training and education providers identified 
in subdivision (m) of the rule. The option 
of distance learning should enable staff to 
complete training without having to travel 
or take time off from work. There is no 
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indication that distance learning is 
available only during normal work hours.  
 
In addition, the effect of eliminating the 10 
hours of self-study currently allowed by 
the rule would be to increase the flexibility 
in complying with the rule. Because there 
is no time restriction, evaluators can 
complete the entire 40 hours of required 
training through any combination of in-
person instruction and/or distance learning 
they choose.   

17. Dr. Daniel J. Rybicki 
Clinical and Forensic 
Psychologist 
ForenPsych Services 
Agoura Hills 

A N 1. Subdivision (f)(2). While lowering the required 
number of evaluations from 6 to 3 to satisfy the 
experience requirements is likely to assist with 
qualifying more evaluators to serve, there is a serious 
gap between rudimentary knowledge and 
professional expertise in this complex area. The 
standard should not be changed. Rather, we should 
highlight the importance of continued professional 
consultation, supervision, and due diligence to 
practice in areas where one has suitable training and 
experience. 
 
2. Subdivision (l)(1)(B). There should be some 
leeway regarding the requirement that private 
evaluators submit form FL-326 within 10 days of 
appointment. Perhaps the evaluator, if he or she is on 
the county listing, could submit the certification form 
at the conclusion of the process when the report is 
submitted. 
 

1. In order to adequately address concerns 
that were raised regarding the experience 
requirements outlined in subdivision (f), 
the committee will amend and circulate 
this portion of the rule in a future RUPRO 
cycle. It is agreed that further discussion is 
needed on this issue. 
 
 
 
 
 
2. The intent of the filing deadlines is to 
ensure that evaluators have met the 
education, training, and experience 
requirements prior to their beginning work 
on an evaluation. Allowing evaluators to 
submit declarations of proof when the 
report is submitted defeats the purpose. It 
may also create situations in which an 



SPR04-23 
Child Custody:  Education, Training, and Experience Standards for Evaluators  
(amend Cal. Rules of Court, rule 5.225; adopt form FL-325; revise form FL-326) 

 Commentator Position Comment 
on behalf 
of group? 

Comment Committee Response 

 

Catalog2  Positions:  A = Agree; AM = Agree only if modified; N = Do not agree. 22

 
 
 
 
3. Subdivision (j)(2). Eliminating the requirement 
that evaluators possess a master’s or doctoral degree 
opens the door for people without adequate training, 
experience, or professional qualifications to conduct 
evaluations. This increases the risk for serious errors 
and poor data for the court. There are already a high 
number of people with degrees and the requisite 
training who are brought before the ethics committee, 
the licensing board, or even malpractice litigation. To 
allow persons with even less formal education to 
undertake these tasks is to risk even greater 
challenges. Perhaps we need greater clarification of 
the term “well qualified to perform evaluations.”  

unqualified evaluator is conducting 
evaluations without the knowledge of those 
involved.  
 
3. The purpose of this subdivision is 
merely to establish minimum requirements 
in accordance with Family Code section 
3110.5(d). That provision states that, when 
no evaluators who are either licensed or 
court-connected, as described in Family 
Code section 3110.5(c)(1)–(5), are 
available, the parties may stipulate to an 
individual who does not meet the criteria 
of subdivision (c), subject to court 
approval. Rule 5.225(j)(2) supplements 
Family Code section 3110.5(d) by further 
requiring that any alternative evaluator 
stipulated to by the parties must, at a 
minimum, have satisfied the education, 
training, and experience requirements of 
the rule in order to qualify to conduct 
evaluations. Parties in every county are 
free, with court approval, to appoint 
evaluators with a master’s degree level of 
education if there is an evaluator with that 
level of education available. 

18. Ms. Barbara Sanchez Smart 
Child Custody Evaluator 
Superior Court of Los 
Angeles County 

AM N 1. Subdivision (j)(1). I am opposed to the provision 
requiring that child custody evaluators possess a 
license effective January 1, 2005. The current 
education requirement for mediators and child 
custody evaluators is a master’s degree in the social 
sciences or related fields. Requiring child custody 

1. Requiring certain evaluators to possess a 
license is a legislative mandate. Family 
Code section 3110.5(c)(1)–(5) requires 
that, effective January 1, 2005, all child 
custody evaluators appointed under the 
Family Code, Section 730 of the Evidence 
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evaluators to have a license creates inequities on a 
statewide basis, imposes substantial costs to the state, 
court and taxpayers, reduces the pool of bilingual 
resources since many bilingual evaluators only have 
a master’s degree, and limits consumer choices to 
only licensed private evaluators. It also creates a 
discrepancy between the level of education required 
of mediators and evaluators even though many 
mediators and evaluators perform both functions 
within the context of their court. There needs to be a 
grandfather clause or waiver for evaluators who 
don’t have a license, but who have a certain number 
of years of experience which qualifies them to 
conduct evaluations.  
 
2. I agree with the yearly training requirements and 
appreciate that the AOC provides a forum to receive 
that training, although training has shortened due to 
budget cuts.  

Code, or Section 2032 of the Code of Civil 
Procedure must either be licensed as a 
physician, psychologist, marriage and 
family therapist, or clinical social worker 
or court-connected and certified as having 
met all the requirements established in this 
rule. Subdivision (j)(1) merely reflects the 
mandate of the Legislature. If the evaluator 
does not possess a license, he or she must 
either be court-connected or qualify under 
the alternative evaluator criteria described 
in subdivision (j)(2) to be appointed.  
 
 
 
2. No response required. 

19. Dr. Philip Stahl 
Psychologist  
Danville 

A N Subdivision (h). I’d also like to see changes in the 
annual domestic violence update training required—
training every other year should meet the needs of 
the public.  

It is not possible to use this proposal as a 
means of amending the domestic violence 
requirements because the amount of 
domestic violence training required is 
imposed under the provisions of rule 
5.230, not rule 5.225. Rule 5.230(d) 
requires evaluators to complete 16 hours of 
advanced domestic violence training and 4 
hours of domestic violence training 
annually thereafter. The 4 hours of annual 
domestic violence training specified in rule 
5.225(h) is simply a reiteration of what is 
required in rule 5.230(d). It was included 



SPR04-23 
Child Custody:  Education, Training, and Experience Standards for Evaluators  
(amend Cal. Rules of Court, rule 5.225; adopt form FL-325; revise form FL-326) 

 Commentator Position Comment 
on behalf 
of group? 

Comment Committee Response 

 

Catalog2  Positions:  A = Agree; AM = Agree only if modified; N = Do not agree. 24

in rule 5.225 so that all training 
requirements relevant to child custody 
evaluators would be grouped together in 
one rule. Proposed amendments to the 
domestic violence training requirements, 
therefore, would have to be directed to the 
provisions of rule 5.230. 

 


