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SUBJECT: Juvenile Law: Appellate Procedure (adopt Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.406; 

amend Cal. Rules of Court, rules 8.404, 8.412, 8.416, 8.450, 8.452, and 8.456; 
revise forms JV-820 and JV-822) (Action Required)1                                          

 
Issue Statement 
In 2004, the Judicial Council adopted the Appellate Rules Project Task Force’s proposed 
technical revisions to the California Rules of Court relating to juvenile proceedings in the 
Courts of Appeal. During the public comment period for these technical revisions, and 
during the Spring 2005 regular cycle, many commentators suggested substantive changes 
to these rules. The proposed revisions to the juvenile appellate rules and forms address 
these comments and would clarify procedures and timelines for juvenile appeals.  
 
Recommendation 
The Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee recommends that the Judicial 
Council, effective January 1, 2007: 

1. Amend rule 8.404 to (a) include dispositional findings and orders in the normal 
appellate record, (b) include tribes as persons who may apply to the superior court 
for addition to the normal record, (c) replace the cross-reference to rule 31.1(c)–

                                              
1 At the June 30, 2006, meeting, the Judicial Council approved the reorganization and renumbering of the California 
Rules of Court and Standards of Judicial Administration, effective January 1, 2007. Under the reorganization, the 
rules that were numbered 37 et seq. have been renumbered as rules 8.400 et seq., and new format conventions have 
been adopted. Hence, the rule amendments are shown throughout this proposal using the new rule numbers that will 
become effective January 1, 2007. The rules in this proposal were renumbered as follows: rule 8.404 is former rule 
37.1; rule 8.412 is former rule 37.3; rule 8.416 is former rule 37.4; rule 8.450 is former rule 38; rule 8.452 is former 
rule 38.1. Rules 8.406 is a proposed new rule. 
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(d)2 that explains the procedure for applying for addition to the normal record, 
with the text of these procedures from rule 31.1(c)–(d); 

2. Adopt rule 8.406 to add a procedure for creating a record when more than one 
appeal is taken from the same judgment or related order; 

3. Amend rule 8.412 to exclude dependency appeals in Orange, Imperial, and San 
Diego Counties and appeals from the termination of parental rights from the 30-
day extension of time provided for late briefs in other dependency appeals;  

4. Amend rule 8.416 to add a 15-day extension of time if an appellant or respondent 
fails to file a brief in dependency appeals in Orange, Imperial, and San Diego 
Counties and appeals from the termination of parental rights; 

5. Amend rule 8.450 to (a) include time requirements for filing a notice of intent 
based on the method of service and place of address, and (b) deem timely a notice 
of intent mailed or delivered to custodial officials for mailing within the time 
provided for filing the notice of intent; 

6. Amend rules 8.452 and 8.456 to provide counsel 7 days to request augmentation if 
the record for a writ petition to review an order setting a hearing under Welfare 
and Institutions Code section 366.26 or an order designating or denying a specific 
placement under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.28 exceeds 300 pages; 

7. Revise form JV-820 to (a) explain the time requirements for filing a notice of 
intent, (b) explain that a notice of intent mailed or delivered to custodial officials 
for mailing within the time provided for filing the notice of intent will be deemed 
timely, (c) clarify that a child’s attorney may sign the notice of intent, (d) explain 
what will happen at the hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code section 
366.26, and (e) explain how to challenge the court’s decision; and 

8. Revise form JV-822 to (a) explain the time requirements for filing a notice of 
intent, (b) clarify that a child’s attorney may sign the notice of intent, and (c) 
explain how to challenge the court’s decision. 

 
The text of the rules is attached at pages 16–22; forms JV-820 and JV-822 are attached at 
pages 23–26. 
 

Rationale for Recommendation 
Rule 8.404 
Amending rule 8.404 will create a more complete normal record on dependency appeals 
and will clarify the process of applying for additions to the normal record. Currently, the 
normal record in juvenile appeals does not include the court’s findings and orders from a 
disposition hearing. These findings and orders provide the foundation for most 
subsequent actions in the case.   
 
Rule 8.406 
Adopting rule 8.406 will create a process for preparing the appellate record when more 
than one appeal is taken from the same judgment or related order. The juvenile appellate 
rules do not currently include a procedure for multiple appeals even though it is common 

                                              
2 Effective January 1, 2007, this will be rule 8.325. 
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in dependency appeals for more than one appeal to be taken from the same judgment or 
order. 
 
Rule 8.412 
Amending rule 8.412 will correct a cross-referencing error made in prior cycles that 
inadvertently created at 30-day grace period when appellate briefs for appeals in Orange, 
Imperial, and San Diego Counties and briefs for appeals from termination of parental 
rights were not timely. This error has created statewide discrepancies in the time for 
filing briefs for these appeals.  
 
Rule 8.416 
Amending rule 8.416 will clarify the extension of time provided when counsel fails to file 
a brief for an appeal in Orange, Imperial, and San Diego Counties or a brief for an appeal 
from termination of parental rights by (a) eliminating the 30-day grace period 
inadvertently created in prior cycles that has inconsistently applied throughout the state, 
(b) by creating a 15-day grace period that balances the requirements that juvenile appeals 
be handled expeditiously with the need for uniform appellate practices throughout the 
state.  
 
Rule 8.450 
Amending rule 8.450 will clarify the timelines for persons filing a notice of intent by (a) 
specifying the time for filing based on how the notice was provided and where it was 
mailed to, and (b) specifying how to determine if a notice of intent mailed from a 
custodial institution is timely. These notices are frequently filed by pro per parties who 
are often parents or family members who live outside of California or who are 
institutionalized. The proposed changes to this rule, together with the proposed changes 
to the accompanying form, Form 820, will succinctly explain the time for filing for all 
persons who may file a notice of intent.   
 
Rule 8.452 
Amending rule 8.452 will allow for more complete records of orders setting a hearing 
under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.26 by providing appellate counsel 7 
days after receiving the record to request augmentation of a record that exceeds 300 
pages. 
 
Rule 8.456 
Amending rule 8.456 will allow for more complete records of orders granting or denying 
a specific placement request under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.28 by 
providing appellate counsel 7 days after receiving the record to request augmentation of a 
record that exceeds 300 pages.  
 
Form JV-820 
Revising form JV-820 will explain the timeline and procedures for filing a notice of 
intent to file a writ petition from orders setting a hearing under Welfare and Institutions 
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Code section 366.36 with language and a format that will be more accessible to pro per 
clients who frequently use this process and form. 
 
Form JV-822 
Revising form JV-822 will explain the timeline and procedures for filing a writ petition 
from orders granting or denying a specific placement under Welfare and Institutions 
Code section 366.28 with language and a format that will be most accessible to pro per 
clients who frequently use this process and form. 
 
Alternative Actions Considered 
The proposed amendments and revisions are necessary to facilitate the expedited juvenile 
appeals process and to bring the juvenile appellate forms into compliance with their 
respective rules of court. No alternative actions were considered, but in response to 
concerns raised by a number of commentators several parts of the initial proposal have 
been withdrawn. Specifically, the committee eliminated proposed addition to rule 8.400, 
which would have a) provided a procedure for abandonment and stipulation to abandon 
an appeal, b) required appellate counsel for a child to determine whether a motion to 
dismiss the appeal is in the child’s best interest and c) allowed a guardian or child not 
represented on appeal to seek approval of a compromise on the appeal; and the committee 
removed from its proposal the proposed addition to rule 8.404, which would have 
eliminated the trial court’s discretion to consider an application for addition to the normal 
record filed after the proposed time for filing. 
 
Comments From Interested Parties 
Twenty-four individuals and organizations submitted comments on this proposal. Of 
these, 8 commentators supported adoption of the proposal as circulated. The remaining 
sixteen commentators expressed concerns about the proposal, either disagreeing with 
certain amendments or suggesting modification.  
 
The commentators raised the most concern and provided the most suggested changes 
about (a) the proposed elimination of the trial court’s discretion to consider an application 
for addition to the normal record filed after the proposed time for filing, (b) the proposed 
addition of a procedure for a guardian or child not represented on appeal to seek approval 
of a compromise on the appeal, (c) the proposed addition of a procedure for abandonment 
and stipulation to abandon an appeal and (d) the proposed requirement that would limit 
an appellate counsel for a child’s ability to request a dismissal of the appeal to 
circumstances when the appellate counsel found the dismissal to be in the child’s best 
interest. In response to these comments, the committee withdrew from this proposal new 
rule 8.402, which would have provided a procedure for abandonment of, and stipulation 
to abandon and compromise on, an appeal; the addition to rule 8.404, which would have 
eliminated the trial court’s discretion to consider an application for addition to the normal 
record filed after the proposed time for filing; withdrew rule 8.400(h)(3), which would 
have allowed a guardian or child not represented on appeal to seek approval of a 
compromise on the appeal; and withdrew the requirement in rule 8.400(h)(2), which 
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would have required appellate counsel for a child to determine a motion to dismiss the 
appeal is in the child’s best interest. 
 
The comments are attached at pages 27–66. 
 
Implementation Requirements and Costs 
Implementation of the forms revisions will incur standard reproduction costs, but 
clarification of the issues addressed in the proposed changes will ultimately eliminate 
uncertainty and thus reduce costs.  
 
Attachments 
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455 Golden Gate Avenue 
San Francisco, California 94102-3688 

 
Report 

 
TO:  Members of the Judicial Council 
 
FROM: Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee 
  Hon. Jerilyn L. Borack and Hon. Susan D. Huguenor, Cochairs 
  Ms. Jennifer Walter, Supervising Attorney, 415-865-7687,  
    jennifer.walter@jud.ca.gov 
  Ms. Chantal M. Sampogna, Attorney, 415-865-7729,  
    chantal.sampogna@jud.ca.gov 
 
DATE:  September 12, 2006 
 
SUBJECT: Juvenile Law: Appellate Procedure (adopt Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.406; 

amend Cal. Rules of Court, rules 8.404, 8.412, 8.416, 8.450, 8.452, and  
 8.456; revise forms JV-820 and JV-822) (Action Required)3                        
 
Issue Statement 
In 2004, the Judicial Council adopted the Appellate Rules Project Task Force’s proposed 
technical revisions to the California Rules of Court relating to juvenile proceedings in the 
Courts of Appeal. During the public comment period for these technical revisions, and 
during the Spring 2005 regular cycle, many commentators suggested substantive changes 
to these rules. The proposed revisions to the juvenile appellate rules and forms address 
these comments and would clarify procedures and timelines for juvenile appeals.  
 
Rationale for Recommendation 
Rule 8.404–Adding a court’s disposition findings and orders to the normal record on 
appeal and providing a procedure for application for addition to the normal record.   
Amending rule 8.404 will create a more complete normal record on dependency appeals, 
will clarify the process of applying for additions to the normal record, and will create a 
process for  preparing the appellate record when more than one appeal is taken from the 
same judgment or related order. Currently, the normal record in juvenile appeals does not 
include the court’s findings and orders from a disposition hearing. These findings and 

                                              
3 At the June 30, 2006, meeting, the Judicial Council approved the reorganization and renumbering of the California 
Rules of Court and Standards of Judicial Administration, effective January 1, 2007. Under the reorganization, the 
rules that were numbered 37 et seq. have been renumbered as rules 8.400 et seq., and new format conventions have 
been adopted. Hence, the rule amendments are shown throughout this proposal using the new rule numbers that will 
become effective January 1, 2007. The rules in this proposal were renumbered as follows: rule 8.404 is former rule 
37.1; rule 8.412 is former rule 37.3; rule 8.416 is former rule 37.4; rule 8.450 is former rule 38; rule 8.452 is former 
rule 38.1. Rule 8.406 is a proposed new rule. 



 7

orders provide the foundation for most subsequent actions in the case and are required for 
a complete appellate record.  
 
Currently, rule 8.404 directs a party applying for addition to the normal record to follow 
the procedures in rule 8.324. This rule requires an appellant to file the application with 
the notice of appeal or as soon thereafter as possible and explains that the application will 
be treated as denied if filed after the record is sent to the reviewing court. Comments 
were received in prior rule cycles stating the juvenile appellate rules should be amended 
to decrease delay. Eliminating the cross reference to, and including the procedure for, 
applying for addition to the normal record will make this rule self contained, a goal of 
recent juvenile law rule revisions.  
 
Rule 8.406–Providing a procedure for creating the record for multiple appeals 
The juvenile appellate rules do not currently include a procedure for multiple appeals 
even though it is common in dependency appeals for more than one appeal to be taken 
from the same judgment or order. During prior rule cycles, appellate attorneys 
commented that juvenile appellate rules do not include the rule 10(a)4 provisions for 
multiple and later appeals and suggested they be incorporated into the juvenile appellate 
rules because many of these cases span many years and often include multiple and later 
appeals. 
 
Rule 8.412–Excluding juvenile appeals in Imperial, Orange and San Diego Counties and 
juvenile appeals on termination of parental right from the 30-day grace period allowed 
on late briefs on all other juvenile appeals. 
Amending rule 8.412 will correct a cross-referencing error5 made in prior rule 
amendments that inadvertently created at 30-day grace period for untimely briefs for 
appeals in Orange, Imperial, and San Diego Counties and briefs for appeals from 
termination of parental rights6. Meanwhile, rule 8.416 was initially drafted to provide no 
extension of time for late briefs on these appeals. The lack of certainty caused by this 
cross-referencing error has created statewide discrepancies in the time for filing briefs for 
these appeals. This change, together with the amendment of rule 8.416, is intended to 
harmonize the rules and clarify the grace period for these specific appellate briefs. 

                                              
4 Effective January 1, 2007, this will be rule 8.147. 
5 In 2002, the text of former rule 17(c), which provided that in criminal appeals the grace period after failing to file a 
brief is 30 days, was moved to rule 37, then subsequently moved into former rule 37.3(b)(5). Prior to these changes, 
rule 39.1A cross-referenced former rule 37 regarding brief format requirements. Due to the movement of the former 
rule 17(c) language and due to the former rule 39.1A cross-reference, these rule amendments inadvertently created a 
30-day grace period to the time for filing appeals from termination of parental rights and appeals in Orange, 
Imperial, and San Diego Counties. This inadvertent change was affirmatively incorporated into the juvenile 
appellate rules in 2005 when rule former 39.1A was renumbered and amended. The amendment deleted the cross-
reference and added the 30-day grace period language to the rule itself. 
6 This rule was developed and extended as a pilot program for Orange, Imperial, and San Diego Counties. The rule 
sets forth an expedited appeal process and, among other things, does not provide a grace period for untimely briefs 
filed in any dependency appeal these counties. The cross-referencing error noted above mistakenly provided a 30-
day grace period in these juvenile dependency appeals.  
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Rule 8.416–Providing a 15-day grace period to juvenile appeals in Imperial, Orange, 
and San Diego Counties and to juvenile appeals of termination of parental rights. 
Amending rule 8.416 will clarify the extension of time provided when counsel fails to file 
a brief for an appeal in Orange, Imperial, and San Diego Counties or a brief for an appeal 
from termination of parental rights by (a) eliminating the 30-day grace period 
inadvertently created in prior rule cycles, and (b) by creating a 15-day grace period. This 
shorter, 15-day grace period balances the requirement that juvenile appeals be handled 
expeditiously because of the need for permanency for the children involved with the need 
for uniform appellate practices throughout the State. Since 2002, appellate practitioners 
have had a 30-day grace period within which they can file untimely briefs on appeals 
from termination of parental rights and the briefs will be considered timely. Since 2005, 
this extension of time has also been available on appeals in Imperial, Orange, and San 
Diego Counties. This 30-day grace period was not intentional but it resulted in the 
California appellate courts following different timelines for the filing of briefs for these 
appeals, and has resulted in different consequences if these briefs are not timely filed. The 
rule 8.416 proposed 15-day grace period balances the courts’ need to have consistent 
statewide timelines, to protect appellants’ rights, and to decide the appeal within 250 days 
of the filing of the notice of appeal. 
 
To conform to the proposed changes in these rules, the committee recommends removing 
the 2005 advisory committee comment for rule 8.416 that applied the rule 8.412(d) 30-
day grace period to termination of parental rights appeals and all appeals in Orange, 
Imperial, and San Diego Counties. The new advisory committee comment would explain 
the above proposed revisions to rules 8.412 and 8.416. 
 
Rule 8.450–Regarding an order setting a hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code 
section 366.26–clarifying the postmark date, specifying the time for filing notice of intent, 
and  clarifying timely filing from a custodial institution  
Amending rule 8.450 will clarify the timelines for persons filing a notice of intent by (a) 
specifying the time for filing based on how the notice was provided and where it was 
mailed, and (b) specifying how to determine if a notice of intent mailed from a custodial 
institution was timely filed. These notices are frequently filed by pro per parties who are 
often parents or family members who live outside of California or who are 
institutionalized. The timeline adopts the approach of California Civil Procedure Code 
section 1013(a)—which gives additional time to complete an act if notice was mailed 
outside of California or outside of the country—addressing when service of notice is 
complete, the time to act in response to such notice, and the time by which the notice of 
intent must be filed. The amendment would provide that time is extended depending on 
the method of service and place of address. In Spring 2005, the Council revised the notice 
section of form JV-820 to clarify notice of intent timelines and to allow petitioners 
additional time, as allowed in the California Civil Procedure Code section 1013, for filing 
form JV-820 if the notice of hearing was received by mail. However, because rule 
8.450(e)(5) was not amended accordingly, an unintended conflict arose between the rule 
and the form. This proposed change would apply the changes previously approved for 
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form JV-820 to both form JV-820 and rule 8.450(e)(5), making the form and rule 
consistent and providing clear timelines in all circumstances for all petitioners receiving 
notice. 
 
Rule 8.452–Regarding an order setting a hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code 
section 366.26–Providing appellate counsel 7 days to request augmentation of a record 
more than 300 pages 
Amending rule 8.452 will allow for more complete records of orders setting a hearing 
under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.26 by providing appellate counsel 7 
days after receiving the record to request augmentation of a record that exceeds 300 
pages. This proposed change addresses concerns of appellate counsel that the current 
provision of 5 days is not enough time to review a record longer than 300 pages and 
determine if augmentation is necessary.  
 
Rule 8.456–Regarding an order granting or denying a specific placement under Welfare 
and Institutions Codes section 366.28– providing appellate counsel 7 days to request 
augmentation of a record more than 300 pages 
Amending rule 8.456 will allow for more complete records of orders granting or denying 
a specific placement request under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.28 by 
providing appellate counsel 7 days after receiving the record to request augmentation of a 
record that exceeds 300 pages. This proposed change addresses concerns of appellate 
counsel that the current provision of 5 days is not enough time to review a record longer 
than 300 pages and determine if augmentation is necessary.  
 
Form JV-820– Regarding an order setting a hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code 
section 366.26–explaining the time for filing and procedure for filing a notice of intent 
and clarifying that an attorney for a child who is a minor parent may sign the notice of 
intent 
Revising form JV-820 will explain the timeline and procedures for filing a notice of 
intent to file a writ petition from orders setting a hearing under Welfare and Institutions 
Code section 366.26. The form is being revised to conform to the proposed changes in 
rule 8.450. The committee recommends revising both forms JV-820 and JV-822 to 
simplify the forms for petitioners. During the Spring 2005 comment cycle, and during the 
drafting period of this proposal, comments were received from practitioners, juvenile law 
judicial officers, and committee members requesting the notice section on these forms be 
simplified for petitioners because the petitioners, whether represented or not, are required 
to personally sign the form. The proposed revisions to forms JV-820 and JV-822 would 
clarify the timeline for filing these forms. The revisions to form JV–820 will also add a box 
indicating that an attorney for a child client can sign the notice of intent.  
 
Form JV-822–Regarding a hearing granting or denying a specific placement under 
Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.28– explaining the time for filing, and 
procedure for filing, a notice of intent and clarifying that an attorney for a child who is a 
minor parent may sign the notice of intent 
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Revising form JV-822 will explain the timeline and procedures for filing a writ petition 
from orders granting or denying a specific placement under Welfare and Institutions 
Code section 366.28. Because this form responds to a different statute (Welfare and 
Institutions Code section 366.28) than does Form JV-820 (Welfare and Institutions Code 
section 366.26), the notice requirements are different. There is no requirement for the 
clerk to give either oral notice at the hearing or mailed notice of an order granting or 
denying a post-termination placement under Welfare and Institutions Code section 
366.28—presumably because parents are no longer involved as their rights have already 
been terminated—therefore the time for filing a notice of intent is also different than that 
in Form JV-820. The language and format used are accessible to pro per clients who 
frequently use this process and form. The revisions to form JV–822 will also add a box 
indicating that an attorney for a child client can sign the notice of intent.  

 
Alternative Actions Considered 
The proposed amendments and revisions are necessary to facilitate the expedited juvenile 
appeals process and to bring the juvenile appellate forms into compliance with the 
corresponding rules of court. No alternative actions were considered, but in response to 
concern by a number of commentators several parts of the initial proposal have been 
removed. Specifically, the committee eliminated proposed addition to rule 8.400, which 
would have a) provided a procedure for abandonment and stipulation to abandon an 
appeal, b) required appellate counsel for a child to determine whether a motion to dismiss 
the appeal is in the child’s best interest and c) allowed a guardian or child not represented 
on appeal to seek approval of a compromise on the appeal; and the committee removed 
from its proposal the proposed addition to rule 8.404, which would have eliminated the 
trial court’s discretion to consider an application for addition to the normal record filed 
after the proposed time for filing. 
 
Comments From Interested Parties 
The invitation to comment on the proposal was circulated from April 24, 2006, through 
June 23, 2006, to the standard mailing list for family and juvenile law proposals, as well 
as the regular rules and forms mailing list. This distribution list includes judges, court 
administrators, attorneys, social workers, probation officers, mediators, and other family 
and juvenile law professionals. Twenty-four individuals and organizations submitted 
comments on this proposal. Of these, 8 commentators supported adoption of the proposal 
as circulated. The remaining sixteen commentators expressed concerns about the 
proposal, either disagreeing with certain amendments or suggesting modification. 
 
Appropriate changes have been made to address the vast majority of comments, which 
suggested minor grammatical or technical changes to improve clarity and accuracy. 
Several commentators suggested substantive changes to the committee’s proposed 
amendments. These suggestions and the committee’s responses are summarized below. 
  
Rule 8.400–Juvenile Appeals Generally, Abandonment, Dismissal, and Compromise 
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As circulated for comment, rule 8.400(h) addressed abandonment, voluntary dismissal 
and compromise of juvenile appeals. After consideration of proposed rule 8.400(h) and 
the many comments received, the committee decided to withdraw the entire rule for 
further review of its potential effect on the discretion of the court, the role of counsel, and 
the prompt determination of juvenile appeals. As explained below and in the comment 
chart, the committee will incorporate many of the suggested changes into future proposed 
amendments to juvenile appellate rules. For consistency with other appellate rules, the 
committee will propose separating out proposed subdivision (h) into a separate rule, 
proposed rule 8.402.  
 
Subdivision (h)(1), addressing abandonment before the record is filed, received technical 
comments and appropriate changes have been noted for future proposals. Commentators 
raised significant concerns about subdivision (h)(2) and subdivision (h)(3)—addressing, 
respectively, abandonment and dismissal after the record is filed and abandonment and 
dismissal by counsel for a child in a dependency proceeding—specifically regarding the 
role of counsel for a child and the jurisdiction of the appellate and trial courts on juvenile 
appeals to determine the best interest of a child. 
 
Rule 8.400(h)(2) addressed a request or stipulation to dismiss an appeal after the record is 
filed in the Court of Appeal. It closely followed the language of rule 20, but additional 
language was provided to address the holding of the California Supreme Court in In re 
Josiah Z. (2005) 36 Cal.4th 664, 680-681. As circulated for public comment, the 
language proposed read “If the request for dismissal is filed by the appellate counsel for a 
child, the dismissal must be authorized by the child or the child’s CAPTA guardian ad 
litem and must be based on appellate counsel’s assessment of the child's best interest.” In 
response to this language, commentators noted that children in the dependency system 
are often of an age where their views are entitled to be considered, that the proposed 
language fails to account for the circumstances when the appellate counsel may be bound 
by a competent child’s wishes regardless of the counsel’s assessment of best interest, and 
stated that the holding in In re Josiah Z. did not limit an appellate counsel for a child’s 
ability to move to dismiss an appeal to the counsel’s determination regarding the child’s 
best interest. Initially, the committee addressed these concerns by amending subdivision 
(h)(2) to read “If the request or stipulation for dismissal is filed by the appellate counsel 
for a child the dismissal must be authorized by the child or the child’s CAPTA guardian 
ad litem.” As the CAPTA guardian ad litem rule only applies to dependency cases, 
commentators also suggested this paragraph be limited to apply only to dependency 
appeals. The committee will incorporate these suggestions into future proposed 
amendments to juvenile appellate rules.  
 
As circulated for public comment, subdivision (h)(3) stated “if a guardian or child who is 
a party to the proceeding but not represented on appeal seeks approval of a proposed 
compromise of a pending appeal, the Court of Appeal may, before ruling on the 
compromise, direct the trial court to determine whether the compromise is in the best 
interest of the child and to report is findings.” Commentators suggested deleting this 
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paragraph because the term “compromise” was vague and because this procedure may 
cause delay. Additional concerns were raised regarding the potential conflict this 
paragraph might create with the jurisdiction of the Court of Appeal. Commentators stated 
the Court of Appeal has jurisdiction over the appeal and if the guardian or child do not 
agree with the compromise or stipulation he or she could file a brief rather than have it 
sent back to juvenile court for approval. Commentators also suggested that the proposed 
amendments circumvent the Supreme Court’s holding in In re Zeth S. (2003) 31 Cal.4th 
396, 405, by permitting a party who has not timely appealed to seek and obtain a change 
in the judgment or order from the reviewing court. Based on these concerns, and because 
a party represented on the appeal may present the compromise to the Court of Appeal, the 
committee has decided to withdraw the proposal regarding compromise of juvenile 
appeals. The committee will not consider including compromise of juvenile appeals in 
future proposals unless additional comments are received that warrant such consideration.  
 
Rule 8.404–Normal Record 
As circulated for comment, rule 8.404 modified the procedure for applying for addition to 
the normal record by requiring that the appellant file any such application with the notice 
of appeal, thereby eliminating the option to file it “as soon thereafter as possible,” and by 
requiring the respondent to file an application within five days of appellant’s notice of 
appeal. Commentators raised concerns that this attempt to decrease delay in preparing the 
record would actually create more delay because appellate counsel would subsequently 
need to file more requests for augmentation. Commentators noted that removing the 
provision allowing the application to be filed “as soon thereafter as possible” removed 
the trial court’s discretion to consider applications filed after the notice of appeal. Based 
on these comments, the committee decided against any change in the time for applying 
for additions to the record in the trial court, but simply agreed to recommend replacing 
the cross-reference to rule 8.324 (c)–(d) with the actual language from that rule.  
 
Rule 8.406—Multiple Appeals 
As circulated for comment, rule 8.404(g)(2) added procedures for preparing the record on 
multiple and later appeals. With regard to later appeals, the proposed rule would have 
allowed parties to incorporate parts of a record in a prior appeal in the same case by 
specifying those parts in the notice of appeal. Commentators suggested deleting the 
provision for later appeals. They noted that the provisions for later appeals are not 
workable in the dependency appeals process. While later appeals do occur in these cases, 
generally the appellate attorney does not have access to the prior record as the attorney is 
not the same attorney that handled the prior appeal. In the cases where the attorney is the 
same attorney that handled the prior appeal, the attorneys generally mail the record to the 
client and to not have access to the record. Comments from the Appellate Advisory 
committee also noted that the courts often file the records in storage and do not have 
ready access to these records. Based on these comments, the committee has decided to 
withdraw the provision for later appeals. For consistency with other appellate rules, the 
committee decided to break out subdivision (g), regarding multiple appeals, into a 
separate rule, now proposed rule 8.406. 
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Rules 8.454 and 8.456–Writ Petitions under Welfare and Institutions Code Section 
366.28 to Review an Order Designating or Denying a Specific Placement  
Commentators suggested adding a requirement to rule 8.454 or rule 8.456 that would 
require courts, after deciding to grant or deny a specific placement, to advise parties that 
they must file a writ petition to seek review of the court’s findings and orders and to 
preserve any right to appeal issues decided. Commentators noted that Welfare and 
Institutions Code section 366.26(l)(3)(A) 7 requires the court give this advisement orally, 
and the clerk to give notice by mail, after a court sets a hearing under Welfare and 
Institutions Code section 366.26 to consider termination of parental rights and that the 
consequences for not filing a writ in both situations is the same.  
 
The committee declined to add this suggested notice requirement. This notice and 
advisement are not required by Welfare & Institutions Code section 366.28, the statute 
controlling hearings for a specific placement request. Adding this advisement would 
imply that after a section 366.28 decision, a clerk also must comply with the written 
notice requirements of section 366.26(1)(3)(A). The parties to a section 366.26 hearing 
are not similarly situated to the parties of a section 366.28 hearing and therefore are not 
necessarily entitled to such notice. The writ petition to be filed after the setting of the 
section 366.26 hearing is the parties’ only means to prevent termination of parental rights 
and preserve the constitutionally protected parent-child relationship. The section 366.28 
writ petition is filed after termination of parental rights and seeks review of a denial of a 
specified placement. Adding the advisement to section 366.28 hearings would expand the 
rights of the parties at these hearings beyond those rights provided by the statute.  
 
Other Comments 
Two commentators noted there are a number of changes to rules 8.412, 8.416, 8.450, 
8.452, and 8.456 that apply to termination of parental rights under Welfare & Institutions 
Code section 366.26. These commentators stated there has been a great deal of confusion 
about the application of these termination of parental rights rules to delinquency cases 
and suggest clarification of whether these rules apply to delinquency cases. The 
committee declined to add such clarification. The changes that apply to the rules 
regarding termination of parental rights under Welfare & Institutions Code section 366.26 
do not alter any previous requirement that delinquency courts follow a parallel track 
traditionally taken by the dependency courts in conducting permanency planning for a 
child. 
 
Several commentators also made suggestions for additional substantive changes to these 
rules, including: elimination of the automatic grace periods for all dependency appeals 
statewide; shortening the time for filing the notice of appeal from 60 days to 30 days; 
increasing the time for filing the notice of intent for persons living outside the United 

                                              
7 Welf. & Inst. Code section 366.26(l)(3)(A) requires the court to orally notify the parties present, and the clerk to 
notify the parties not present by first class mail, that the court has set a section 366.26 hearing and that the parties 
must file a petition for writ to preserve any issues for appeal. 
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States from 20 days to 30 days; and reexamining the provision preventing counsel from 
signing the notice of intent except for good cause. Because these suggestions were not 
part of the proposal previously circulated for public comment, the committee will 
consider them for inclusion in the Spring 2007 cycle. 
 
A chart summarizing comments is attached at pages 27–66. 
 
Implementation Requirements and Costs 
Implementation of the forms revisions will incur standard reproduction costs, but 
clarification of the issues addressed in the proposed changes will ultimately eliminate 
uncertainty and thus reduce costs.  
 
Recommendation 
The Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee recommends that the Judicial 
Council, effective January 1, 2007: 

1. Amend rule 8.404 to (a) include dispositional findings and orders in the normal 
appellate record, (b) include tribes as persons who may apply to the superior court 
for addition to the normal record, and (c) replace the cross-reference to rule 
31.1(c)–(d)8 that explains the procedure for applying for addition to the normal 
record, with the text of these procedures from rule 31.1(c)–(d) to the body of rule 
8.404. 

2. Adopt rule 8.406 to add a procedure for creating a record when more than one 
appeal is taken from the same judgment or related order. 

3. Amend rule 8.412 to exclude dependency appeals in Orange, Imperial, and San 
Diego Counties and appeals from the termination of parental rights from the 30-
day extension of time provided for late briefs in other dependency appeals.  

4. Amend rule 8.416 to add a 15-day extension of time if an appellant or respondent 
fail to file a brief in dependency appeals in Orange, Imperial, and San Diego 
Counties and appeals from the termination of parental rights. 

5. Amend rule 8.450 to (a) include time requirements for filing a notice of intent 
based on the method of service and place of address, and (b) deem timely a notice 
of intent mailed or delivered to custodial officials for mailing within the time 
provided for filing the notice of intent. 

6. Amend rules 8.452 and 8.456 to provide counsel 7 days to request augmentation if 
the record for a writ petition to review an order setting a hearing under Welfare 
and Institutions Code section 366.26 or an order designating or denying a specific 
placement under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.28 exceeds 300 pages. 

7. Revise form JV-820 to (a) explain the time requirements for filing a notice of 
intent, (b) explain that a notice of intent mailed or delivered to custodial officials 
for mailing within the time provided for filing the notice of intent will be deemed 
timely, (c) clarify that a child’s attorney may sign the notice of intent, (d) explain 
what will happen at the hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code section 
366.26, and (e) explain how to challenge the court’s decision . 

                                              
8 Effective January 1, 2007, this will be rule 8.325. 
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8. Revise form JV-822 to (a) explain the time requirements for filing a notice of 
intent, (b) clarify that a child’s attorney may sign the notice of intent, and (c) 
explain how to challenge the court’s decision. 

 
The text of the rules is attached at pages 16–22; forms JV-820 and JV-822 are attached at 
pages 23–26. 

 
Attachments 



Rules 8.404, 8.412, 8.416, 8.450, 8.452, and 8.456 are amended, and rule 8.406 is 
adopted effective January 1, 2007, to read:1 
 

1 These recommended amendments have been made to the version of this rule adopted by the Judicial 
Council at its June 30, 2006, business meeting and reflect the text that will be in effect on January 1, 2007. 
Any amendments adopted as part of this proposal will be incorporated into the text of the rule that goes into 
effect on January 1, 2007. 16 

 

Rule 8.404. Record on appeal 1 
 2 
(a) Normal record: clerk’s transcript  3 
 4 

The clerk’s transcript must contain: 5 
 6 

(1)–(4) *** 7 
 8 

(5) The jurisdictional and dispositional findings and orders; 9 
 10 

(6)–(11) *** 11 
 12 
(b) ***  13 
 14 
(c) Application in superior court for addition to normal record 15 
 16 

(1) Any party or tribe may apply to the superior court for inclusion in the 17 
record of any of the following items: 18 

 19 
(A) *** 20 

 21 
(B) In the reporter’s transcript: the any oral proceedings. on any 22 

prehearing motions. 23 
 24 

(2) The application and order are governed by rule 8.324(c)–(d). An 25 
application for additional record must describe the material to be 26 
included and explain how it may be useful in the appeal. 27 

 28 
(3) The application must be filed in the superior court with the notice of 29 

appeal or as soon thereafter as possible, and will be treated as denied if 30 
it is filed after the record is sent to the reviewing court. 31 

 32 
(4) The clerk must immediately present the application to the trial judge.  33 
 34 
(5) Within five days after the application if filed, the judge must order that 35 

the record include as much of the additional material as the judge finds 36 
proper to fully present the points raised by the applicant. Denial of the 37 
application does not preclude a motion in the reviewing court for 38 
augmentation under rule 8.155.  39 

 40 



 

 17 

(6) If the judge does not rule on the application within the time prescribed 1 
by (5), the requested material–other than exhibits–must be included in 2 
the clerk’s transcript or the reporter’s transcript without a court order. 3 

 4 
(7) The clerk must immediately notify the reporter if additions to the 5 

reporter’s transcript are required under (5) or (6).  6 
 7 
(d)–(f) *** 8 
 9 
 10 
Rule 8.406.  Record in multiple appeals in the same case   11 
 12 
If more than one appeal is taken from the same judgment or related order, only one 13 
appellate record need be prepared, which must be filed within the time allowed for 14 
filing the record in the latest appeal. 15 
 16 
Rule 8.412. Briefs by parties and amici curiae 17 
 18 
(a) *** 19 
 20 
(b) Time to file 21 
 22 

(1) Except in cases governed by rule 8.416(e), the appellant must serve and 23 
file the appellant’s opening brief within 40 days after the record is filed 24 
in the reviewing court. 25 

 26 
(2) The respondent must serve and file the respondent’s brief within 30 27 

days after the appellant’s opening brief is filed. 28 
 29 

(3) The appellant must serve and file any reply brief within 20 days after 30 
the respondent’s brief is filed. 31 

 32 
(4) In dependency cases in which the minor child is not an appellant but 33 

has appellate counsel, the minor child must serve and file any brief 34 
within 10 days after the respondent’s brief is filed. 35 

 36 
(c) *** 37 
 38 
(d)   Failure to file a brief 39 
 40 

(1) Except in dependency appeals in Orange, Imperial, and San Diego 41 
Counties, and in appeals from the termination of parental rights, if a 42 
party fails to timely file an appellant’s opening brief or a respondent’s 43 
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brief the reviewing court clerk must promptly notify the party’s 1 
counsel, or if not represented, the party, by mail that the brief must be 2 
filed within 30 days after the notice is mailed, and that failure to 3 
comply may result in one of the following sanctions:  4 

 5 
(A) If the brief is an appellant’s opening brief: 6 

 7 
(i)  If the appellant is the county, the court will dismiss the 8 

appeal; 9 
 10 

(ii) If the appellant is other than the county and is represented 11 
by appointed counsel on appeal, the court will relieve that 12 
appointed counsel and appoint new counsel; 13 

 14 
(iii)  If the appellant is other than the county and is not 15 

represented by appointed counsel, the court will dismiss the 16 
appeal. 17 

 18 
(B) If the brief is a respondent’s brief, the court will decide the appeal 19 

on the record, the opening brief, and any oral argument by the 20 
appellant. 21 

 22 
(2) If a party fails to comply with a notice under (1), the court may impose 23 

the sanction specified in the notice.  24 
 25 

(3) Within the period specified in the notice under (1), a party may apply to 26 
the presiding justice for an extension of that period for good cause. If 27 
an extension is granted beyond the 30-day period and the brief is not 28 
filed within the extended period, the court may impose the sanction 29 
under (2) without further notice.  30 

 31 
(d)(e) *** 32 
 33 
 34 
Rule 8.416. Appeals from all terminations of parental rights; dependency 35 

appeals in Orange, Imperial, and San Diego Counties 36 
 37 
(a)–(f) *** 38 
 39 
(g) Failure to file a brief 40 
 41 
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Rule 8.412 applies if a party fails to timely file an appellant’s opening brief 1 
or a respondent’s brief, but the period specified in the notice required by that 2 
rule must be 15 days. 3 

 4 
(g)(h) *** 5 
 6 

Advisory Committee Comment  7 
 8 
Subdivision (g). Effective January 1, 2007, revised rule 8.416 incorporates a new subdivision (g) 9 
to address a failure to timely file a brief in all termination of parental rights cases and in 10 
dependency appeals in Orange, Imperial, and San Diego Counties. Under the new subdivision,  11 
appellants would not have the full 30-day grace period given in rule 8.412(d) in which to file a 12 
late brief, but instead would have the standard 15-day grace period that is given in civil cases. 13 
The intent of this revision is to balance the need to determine the appeal within 250 days with the 14 
need to protect appellants’ rights in this most serious of appeals. 15 
 16 
 17 
Subdivision (g)(h). Subdivision (g)(h)(1) recognizes certain reviewing courts’ practice of 18 
requiring counsel to file any request for oral argument within a time period other than 15 days 19 
after the appellant’s reply brief is filed or due to be filed. It is not a substantive change. The 20 
reviewing court is still expected to determine the appeal “within 250 days after the notice of 21 
appeal is filed.” (Id., subd. 8.416(e).) 22 
 23 
Rule 8.450. Notice of intent to file writ petition to review order setting hearing 24 

under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.26  25 
 26 
(a)–(d) *** 27 
 28 
(e) Notice of intent 29 
 30 

(1)–(2) *** 31 
 32 

(3) The notice must be signed by the party intending to file the petition or, 33 
if filed on behalf of the a minor child, by the attorney of record for the 34 
minor child. The reviewing court may waive this requirement for good 35 
cause on the basis of a declaration by the attorney of record explaining 36 
why the party could not sign the notice. 37 

 38 
(4) The notice must be filed within 7 days after the date of the order setting 39 

the hearing or, if the order was made by a referee not acting as a 40 
temporary judge, within 7 days after the referee’s order becomes final 41 
under rule 5.540(c). The date of the order setting the hearing is the date 42 
on which the court states the order on the record orally, or issues an 43 
order in writing, whichever occurs first. The notice of intent must be 44 
filed according to the following timeline requirements: 45 



 

 20 

 1 
(A) If the party was present at the hearing when the court ordered a 2 

hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.26, the 3 
notice of intent must be filed within 7 days after the date of the 4 
order setting the hearing. 5 

 6 
(5)(B) If the party was notified of the order setting the hearing only 7 

by mail, the notice of intent must be filed within 12 days after the 8 
date the clerk mailed the notification.  9 

 10 
(C) If the party was notified of the order setting the hearing by mail, 11 

and the notice was mailed to an address outside California but 12 
within the United States, the notice of intent must be filed within 13 
17 days after the date the clerk mailed the notification. 14 

 15 
(D) If the party was notified of the order setting the hearing by mail, 16 

and the notice was mailed to an address outside the United States, 17 
the notice of intent must be filed within 27 days after the date the 18 
clerk mailed the notification. 19 

 20 
(E) If the order was made by a referee not acting as a temporary 21 

judge, the party has an additional 10 days to file the notice of 22 
intent as provided in rule 5.540(c). 23 

 24 
(5) If the superior court clerk receives a notice of intent by mail from a 25 

party in a custodial institution after the time specified in (4) has expired 26 
but the envelope containing the notice of intent shows that it was 27 
mailed or delivered to custodial officials for mailing within the time 28 
specified in (4), the notice is deemed timely. The clerk must retain in 29 
the case file the envelope in which the notice was received.  30 

 31 
(f)–(i) ***  32 
 33 
Rule 8.452. Writ petition to review order setting hearing under Welfare and 34 

Institutions Code section 366.26 and rule 5.600 35 
 36 
(a)–(e) *** 37 
 38 
(f) Augmenting or correcting the record in the reviewing court 39 
 40 

(1) Except as provided in (2) and (3), rule 8.155 governs any augmentation 41 
or correction of the record. 42 

 43 



 

 21 

(2) The petitioner must serve and file any request for augmentation or 1 
correction within 5 days—or, if the record exceeds 300 pages, within 7 2 
days; or, if the record exceeds 600 pages, within 10 days—after 3 
receiving the record. A respondent must serve and file any such request 4 
within 5 days after the petition is filed or an order to show cause has 5 
issued, whichever is later. 6 

 7 
(3) An order augmenting or correcting the record may grant no more than 8 

15 days for compliance. The clerk and the reporter must give the order 9 
the highest priority. 10 

 11 
(4) The clerk must certify and send any supplemental transcripts as 12 

required by rule 8.450(h). If the augmentation or correction is ordered, 13 
the time to file any petition or response is extended by the number of 14 
additional days granted to augment or correct the record. 15 

 16 
(g)–(i) *** 17 
 18 
Rule 8.456. Writ petition under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.28 19 

and rule 5.600 to review order designating or denying specific 20 
placement of a dependent child after termination of parental rights 21 

 22 
(a)–(e) *** 23 
 24 
(f) Augmenting or correcting the record in the reviewing court 25 
 26 

(1) Except as provided in (2) and (3), rule 8.155 governs augmentation or 27 
correction of the record. 28 

 29 
(2) The petitioner must serve and file any request for augmentation or 30 

correction within 5 days—or, if the record exceeds 300 pages, within 7 31 
days; or, if the record exceeds 600 pages, within 10 days—after 32 
receiving the record. A respondent must serve and file any such request 33 
within 5 days after the petition is filed or an order to show cause has 34 
issued, whichever is later. 35 

 36 
(3) An order augmenting or correcting the record may grant no more than 37 

15 days for compliance. The clerk and the reporter must give the order 38 
the highest priority. 39 

 40 
(4) The clerk must certify and send any supplemental transcripts as 41 

required by rule 8.454(i). If the augmentation or correction is ordered, 42 
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the time to file any petition or response is extended by the number of 1 
additional days granted to augment or correct the record. 2 

 3 
(g)–(j)  *** 4 
 5 



NOTICE OF INTENT TO FILE WRIT PETITION 
AND REQUEST FOR RECORD TO REVIEW ORDER SETTING A HEARING 

UNDER WELFARE AND INSTITUTIONS CODE Section 366.26
(California Rules of Court, Rule 8.450)

JV-820
FOR COURT USE ONLYATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY (Name, State Bar number, and address):

FAX NO. (Optional):TELEPHONE NO.:

E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional):

ATTORNEY FOR (Name):

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

BRANCH NAME:

CASE NAME:

CASE NUMBER:

1.   Petitioner's name:

2.   Petitioner's address:

3.   Petitioner's phone number:

4.   Petitioner is
parent (name):a.
guardianb.
county welfare agencyc.
childd.
other (state relationship to child or interest in the case):e.

the juvenile court made an order setting a hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code6.   a.   On (date):
section 366.26.  Petitioner intends to file a writ petition to challenge the findings and orders made by the court on that date and 
requests that the clerk assemble the record.

  b.   List all known dates of the hearing that resulted in the order:

7.   The hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.26 is set for (date, if known):

Date:

PETITIONER CHILD'S ATTORNEY)(SIGNATURE OF(TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.450
Form Adopted for Optional Use 

Judicial Council of California
JV-820 [Rev. January 1, 2007] www.courtinfo.ca.gov

Welfare and Institutions Code, § 366.26; 
Page 1 of 2
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DRAFT 16
10/19/06 mc
Not approved  
by the Judicial Council

5.   Child's name:                                                                         Child's date of birth:   

The Notice of Intent to File Writ Petition must be signed by the person intending to file the writ petition, or, if it is to be 
filed on behalf of the child, by the child's attorney of record. See the back of this form for more information.

NOTICE OF INTENT TO FILE WRIT PETITION AND REQUEST
 FOR RECORD TO REVIEW ORDER SETTING A HEARING 

UNDER WELFARE AND INSTITUTIONS CODE Section 366.26
(California Rules of Court, Rule 8.450)

The juvenile court has decided it will make a permanent plan for this child which may result in the
termination of your parental rights and adoption of the child. If you want an appeals court to review the 
juvenile court's decision, you must first tell the juvenile court by filing a Notice of Intent. You may use this 
form as your Notice of Intent. In most cases, you have only 7 days from the court's decision to file a Notice
of Intent. Please see page 2 for your specific deadline for filing this form.

NOTICE

PLEASE READ THE BACK OF THIS FORM FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION AND DEADLINES



WHAT WILL HAPPEN AT THE HEARING TO MAKE A PERMANENT PLAN? 
• The court may order the termination of parental rights and adoption of the child. 
• The court may order a legal guardianship for the child. 
• The court may order a permanent plan of placement of the child with a fit and willing relative. 
• The court may order a permanent plan of placement of the child in a foster home. 
The above options are listed in the normal order of preference, because the main goal is to give the child 
a stable and permanent living situation. 

SEE WELF. & INST. CODE, § 366.26 FOR MORE INFORMATION 
 

HOW DO I CHALLENGE THE COURT’S DECISION TO SET A HEARING TO MAKE  
A PERMANENT PLAN? 

• File this Notice of Intent to File Writ Petition and Request for Record in the juvenile court within the 
time specified below in the next box. This will let the court know you intend to file a writ petition, and 
the court will prepare the record. 

• You will be notified after the record is filed in the Court of Appeal, and you will get copies of the 
record. You have 10 days after the record is filed in the Court of Appeal to file and serve your 
writ petition. 

• You may use the optional Judicial Council form JV-825 to complete your writ petition, or, if you have 
an attorney, your attorney can write the writ petition for you. 

• After you file a writ petition in the Court of Appeal, you must send copies of the petition to all of the 
parties in the case, to the child’s CASA volunteer, to the child’s present caregiver, and to any de 
facto parent who has standing to participate in the juvenile court proceedings. With your writ petition, 
you must file a Proof of Service confirming you have sent a copy of the petition to these people. 

              SEE WELF. & INST. CODE, § 366.26 (l); CAL. RULES OF COURT, RULES 8.450–8.452 
 

WHEN DO I HAVE TO FILE MY NOTICE OF INTENT TO FILE WRIT PETITION AND 
REQUEST FOR RECORD? 

• If you were present when the court set the hearing to make a permanent plan, you must file the 
Notice of Intent within 7 days from the date the court set the hearing.  

• If you were not present in court but were given notice by mail of the court’s decision to set a hearing 
to make a permanent plan and you live in California, you must file the Notice of Intent within 12 days 
from the date the clerk mailed the notification. 

• If you were not present in court but were given notice by mail of the court’s decision to set a hearing 
to make a permanent plan and you live in a state other than California, you must file the Notice of 
Intent within 17 days from the date the clerk mailed the notification. 

• If you were not present in court but were given notice by mail of the court’s decision to set a hearing 
to make a permanent plan and you live outside the United States, you must file the Notice of Intent 
within 27 days from the date the clerk mailed the notification. 

• If you are a party in a custodial institution you must give the Notice of Intent to custodial officials for 
mailing within the time specified in this box. 

SEE CAL. RULES OF COURT, RULES 8.450, 5.540(c)  
• If the order setting the hearing was made by a referee not acting as a temporary judge, you have an 

additional 10 days to file the Notice of Intent. 
              SEE WELF. & INST. CODE, §§ 248-252; CAL. RULES OF COURT, RULE 5.538 and rule 5.540 

 
SIGNATURE ON NOTICE OF INTENT 

• Must be signed by the person who intends to file the writ petition, or 
• If petition will be filed on behalf of a child, by the child’s attorney, or 
• The reviewing court may waive this requirement for good cause on the basis of a declaration by the 

attorney of record explaining why the party could not sign the notice. (Cal. Rules of Court, rule 
8.450(e)(3).) 
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NOTICE OF INTENT TO FILE WRIT PETITION AND REQUEST
 FOR RECORD TO REVIEW ORDER SETTING A HEARING 

UNDER WELFARE AND INSTITUTIONS CODE Section 366.26
(California Rules of Court, Rule 8.450)



JV-822
FOR COURT USE ONLYATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY (Name, State Bar number, and address):

FAX NO. (Optional):TELEPHONE NO.:

E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional):

ATTORNEY FOR (Name):

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

BRANCH NAME:

CASE NAME:

NOTICE OF INTENT TO FILE WRIT PETITION AND REQUEST FOR RECORD 
TO REVIEW ORDER DESIGNATING OR DENYING SPECIFIC PLACEMENT 
OF A DEPENDENT CHILD AFTER TERMINATION OF PARENTAL RIGHTS

(California Rules of Court, Rule 8.454)

CASE NUMBER:

1.  Petitioner's name:

2.  Petitioner's address:

3.  Petitioner's phone number:

4.  Petitioner is
child's caretaker (specify dates in your care):a.
childb.
county welfare departmentc.
legal guardiand.

the juvenile court terminated parental rights under Welfare and Institutions Code6.  a.  On (date):
  section 366.26. 

 b.  On (date):     
that the dependent child is to reside in, be retained in, or be removed from a specific placement. Petitioner intends to file a writ 
petition to challenge the specific placement order or the denial of a specific placement request made by the court on that date 
and requests that the clerk assemble the record.

Date:

PETITIONER CHILD'S ATTORNEY)(SIGNATURE OF(TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.454;
Form Adopted for Optional Use 

Judicial Council of California
JV-822 [Rev. January 1, 2007]

Page 1 of 2

www.courtinfo.ca.gov

Welfare and Institutions Code, § 366.28

the court made a specific placement order or denied a specific placement request 

Draft 17
10/19/06 mc
Not approved by the
Judicial Council
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The Notice of Intent to File Writ Petition must be signed by the person intending to file the writ petition, or, if it is to be 
filed on behalf of the child, by the child's attorney of record. See the back of this form for more information.

5.   Child's name:                                                                         Child's date of birth:   

other (state relationship to child or interest in the case):e.

The juvenile court has ordered or denied a specific placement for this child. If you want an appeals court to 
review the juvenile court's decision, you must first tell the juvenile court by filing a Notice of Intent. You may use
this form as your Notice of Intent. In most cases, you have only 7 days from the court's placement decision to file
a Notice of Intent. Please see page 2 for your specific deadline for filing this form.

NOTICE

PLEASE READ THE BACK OF THIS FORM FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION AND DEADLINES

NOTICE OF INTENT TO FILE WRIT PETITION AND REQUEST FOR
RECORD TO REVIEW ORDER DESIGNATING OR DENYING 
SPECIFIC PLACEMENT OF A DEPENDENT CHILD AFTER 

TERMINATION OF PARENTAL RIGHTS
(California Rules of Court, Rule 8.454)



JV-822
HOW DO I CHALLENGE THE COURT’S PLACEMENT DECISION AFTER TERMINATION OF  

PARENTAL RIGHTS? 
• File this Notice of Intent to File Writ Petition and Request for Record in the juvenile court within the 

time listed below in the next box. This will let the court know you intend to file a writ petition, and the 
court will prepare the record. 

• You will be notified after the record is filed in the Court of Appeal, and you will get a copy of the record. 
You have 10 days after the record is filed in the Court of Appeal to file and serve your writ 
petition. 

• You may use the optional Judicial Council form JV-825 to complete your writ petition, or, if you have 
an attorney, your attorney can write the writ petition for you. 

• After you file a writ petition in the Court of Appeal you must send a copy of the petition to all of the 
parties in the case, to the child’s CASA volunteer, to the child’s present caregiver, and to any de facto 
parent who has standing to participate in the juvenile court proceedings. 

SEE CAL. RULES OF COURT, RULES 8.454–8.456  
 

WHEN DO I HAVE TO FILE MY NOTICE OF INTENT TO FILE WRIT PETITION AND REQUEST FOR 
RECORD? 

• If you were present when the court granted or denied the specified placement, you must file the Notice 
of Intent within 7 days from the date the court granted or denied the specified placement. 

• If you were not present in court but were given notice by mail of the court’s decision to grant or deny 
the specified placement, you must file the Notice of Intent within 12 days from the date the clerk 
mailed the notification.  

• If the order granting or denying the specific placement was made by a referee not acting as a 
temporary judge, you must file the Notice of Intent within 17 days from the date the court set the 
hearing.  

 
SIGNATURE ON NOTICE OF INTENT 

• Must be signed by the person who intends to file the writ petition, or 
• If petition will be filed on behalf of a child, by the child’s attorney, or 
• The reviewing court may waive this requirement for good cause on the basis of a declaration by the 

attorney of record explaining why the party could not sign the notice. (Cal. Rules of Court, rule 
8.450(e)(3).)  
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NOTICE OF INTENT TO FILE WRIT PETITION AND REQUEST FOR
RECORD TO REVIEW ORDER DESIGNATING OR DENYING 
SPECIFIC PLACEMENT OF A DEPENDENT CHILD AFTER 

TERMINATION OF PARENTAL RIGHTS
(California Rules of Court, Rule 8.454)



SPR06-33 
Juvenile Law: Appellate Procedure (adopt Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.406; amend rules 8.404 [formerly rule 37.1], 8.412 [formerly rule 

37.3], 8.416 [formerly rule 37.4], 8.450 [formerly rule 38], 8.452 [formerly rule 38.1], and 8.456 [formerly rule 38.3]; revise forms JV-820 and 
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GENERAL POSISITIONS AND COMMENTS 
 
 List of All Commentators and Their Overall Positions on the Proposal 
 
 Commentator Position Comment 

on behalf 
of group? 

Please see comment excerpts and summaries 
under specific topic headings below  

Please see committee responses 
under specific topic headings 
below 

1 Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc. 

AM Y   

2 Ms. Sandy Almansa 
Supervising Legal Clerk II 
Stanislaus Superior Court 

A Y   

3 Ms. Grace Andres 
Program Manager 
Solano Superior Court 

A N   

4 Hon. Roger W. Boren 
Administrative Presiding Justice 
Court of Appeal, Second Appellate 
District 

AM N   

5 California Appellate Project, Los 
Angeles 

AM Y   

6 Ms. Janice Y. Fukai 
Law Offices of the Los Angeles 
County 
Alternate Public Defender 

AM Y   

7 Ms. Janet Garcia 
Planning and Research Unit 
Los Angeles Superior Court 

A Y   

8 Mr. David Gutknecht 
Principal Management Analyst 
Riverside County Superior Court 

A Y   

9 Ms. Carole Greeley 
Attorney at Law 

AM Y   
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Bay Area Dependency Chapter of 
California Appellate Defense Counsel 

10 Mr. Michael P. Judge 
Public Defender of Los Angeles 
County 

AM Y   

11 Ms. Cheryl Kanatzar  
Deputy Executive Officer 
Ventura County Superior Court 

AM Y   

12 Ms. Tressa Kentner 
Court Executive Officer 
San Bernardino County Superior Court 

A N   

13 Mr. Nelson Lu 
Deputy Public Defender  
San Joaquin County Public Defender 

A N   

14 Ms. Joan McCoy 
Court Appointed Special Advocate 
CASA of Fresno and Madera Counties 

A N   

15 Ms. Debra Meyers 
Chief of Staff Counsel Services 
San Bernardino County Superior Court 

A N   

16 Mr. James M. Owens 
Assistant County Counsel 
Los Angeles Office of the County 
Counsel–Dependency Division 

AM N   

17 Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County 

AM Y   

18 Ms. Kathryn Schlepphorst 
Family Law Section Executive 
Committee 

AM Y   

19 Mr. Gary Seiser 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of County Counsel San Diego 
County, Juvenile Dependency 

AM Y   
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Division 
20 Jan Sherwood 

Attorney at Law 
AM N   

21 Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 

AM Y   

22 Mr. Howard K. Watkins 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of Fresno County Counsel 

AM N   

23 The State Bar of California’s 
Committee on Appellate Courts 

AM Y   

24 Ms. Diane Wasznicky 
Liaison  
Family Law Section  Executive 
Committee to Family and Juvenile 
Law Advisory Committee 
Family Law Section of the Sate Bar 
Executive Committee 

AM Y   

 
GENERAL COMMENTS ABOUT THE PROPOSAL 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Sandy Almansa 
Supervising Legal Clerk II 
Stanislaus Superior Court  

General A No specific comment. No response required. 

Ms. Grace Andres 
Program Manager 
Solano Superior Court 

General A No specific comment. No response required. 

Ms. Janet Garcia 
Planning and Research Unit 
Los Angeles Superior Court 

General A No specific comment. No response required. 

Mr. David Gutknecht 
Principal Management Analyst 

General A No specific comment. No response required. 
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Riverside County Superior Court 
Ms. Tressa Kentner 
Court Executive Officer 
San Bernardino County Superior Court 

General A No specific comment. No response required. 

Mr. Nelson Lu 
Deputy Public Defender  
San Joaquin County Public Defender 

General A No specific comment. No response required. 

Ms. Joan McCoy 
Court Appointed Special Advocate 
CASA of Fresno and Madera Counties 

General A No specific comment. No response required. 

Ms. Debra Meyers 
Chief of Staff Counsel Services 
San Bernardino County Superior Court 

General A No specific comment. No response required. 

 
COMMENTS ABOUT SPECIFIC RULES AND FORMS 
 
 Rule 8.400(h)(1) (formerly rule 37)–Appeals in juvenile cases generally, time to appeal 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Mr. Gary Seiser 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of County Counsel San Diego 
County, Juvenile Dependency 
Division 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(1) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

AM Change time for filing dependency notice of 
appeal from 60 days to 30 days. 
 

This suggested change did not 
circulate for comment and therefore 
the committee declines to 
incorporate the suggestion. The 
committee will consider adding this 
suggestion to the Spring 2007 
cycle. 

 
 Rule 8.400(h)(1) (formerly rule 37)–Appeals in juvenile cases generally, abandonment 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Cheryl Kanatzar  
Deputy Executive Officer 

Rule 
8.400(h)(1) 

AM Amend the third sentence to read: “The 
superior court clerk must promptly notify the 

After consideration of proposed rule 
8.400(h) and the many comments it 
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Ventura County Superior Court 
 
 

(formerly 
rule 37) 

 

Court of Appeal, the court reporter, and the 
parties of the abandonment or stipulation.” 

received, the committee decided to 
withdraw the entire rule for further 
review of its potential effect on the 
discretion of the court, the role of 
counsel, and the prompt 
determination of juvenile appeals. 
The committee will incorporate this 
suggestion into future proposed 
amendments to juvenile appellate 
rules and break out subdivision (h) 
into a separate rule, proposed rule 
8.402. 

 
 Rule 8.400(h)(2) (formerly rule 37)–Appeals in juvenile cases generally, stipulation to dismiss and its application to dependency 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This requirement should not apply to 
delinquency cases. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

After consideration of proposed 
rule 8.400(h) and the many 
comments it received, the 
committee has decided to withdraw 
the entire rule for further review of 
its potential effect on the discretion 
of the court, the role of counsel, 
and the prompt determination of 
juvenile appeals. The committee 
will incorporate this suggestion 
into future proposed amendments 
to juvenile appellate rules and 
break out subdivision (h) into a 
separate rule, proposed rule 8.402. 
Specifically, the committee will 
clarify that rule 8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly rule 37) is limited to 
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Ms. Janice Y. Fukai 
Law Offices of the Los Angeles 
County 
Alternate Public Defender 
 
Mr. Michael P. Judge 
Public Defender of Los Angeles 
County 
 
 
Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
Rule 

8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
Rule 

8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Similar comment as above. 
 
 
 
 
Similar comment as above. 
 
 
 
 
Similar comment as above. 

dependency cases because rule 
5.662 (formerly rule 1448), the 
CAPTA guardian ad litem rule, 
applies exclusively to dependency 
cases.  
 
Same response as above.  
 
 
 
 
Same response as above.  
 
 
 
 
Same response as above.  

 
 Rule 8.400(h)(2) (formerly rule 37)–Appeals in juvenile cases generally, stipulation to dismiss and In re Josiah Z. (2005) 36 Cal.4th 664 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Fails to allow for the fact that appellate counsel 
may be bound by a competent minor’s wishes, 
regardless of counsel’s assessment of best 
interest. In re Josiah Z. held that appellate 
counsel has the authority to seek dismissal 
based on the minor’s best interest with the 
consent of the minor or, if the minor is 
incapable of giving consent, the CAPTA 
guardian ad litem. It did not address the 

After further consideration of 
proposed rule 8.400(h) and the 
many comments it received, the 
committee decided to withdraw the 
entire rule for further review of its 
potential effect on the discretion of 
the court, the role of counsel, and 
the prompt determination of 
juvenile appeals. The committee 



SPR06-33 
Juvenile Law: Appellate Procedure (adopt Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.406; amend rules 8.404 [formerly rule 37.1], 8.412 [formerly rule 

37.3], 8.416 [formerly rule 37.4], 8.450 [formerly rule 38], 8.452 [formerly rule 38.1], and 8.456 [formerly rule 38.3]; revise forms JV-820 and 
JV-822) 

 

Catalog1  A = Agree; AM = Agree only if modified; N = Do not agree. 33  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Hon. Roger W. Boren 
Administrative Presiding Justice 
Court of Appeal, Second Appellate 
District 
 
 
 
 
Ms. Janice Y. Fukai 
Law Offices of the Los Angeles 
County 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 

question whether counsel must conclude the 
dismissal is in the minor’s best interests before 
seeking it when a competent minor 
affirmatively wants to dismiss. Even in the 
dependency context, counsel must accept the 
decision of a competent minor of sufficient age 
to seek dismissal of his or her own appeal. 
Amend to delete this language that sets out 
substantive requirements for counsel’s exercise 
of authority. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Amend to read “In 2005, the California 
Supreme Court held that appellate counsel has 
the power to seek dismissal of a child’s 
dependency appeal based on the child’s best 
interest if authorized by the child or the child’s 
CAPTA guardian ad litem. In re Josiah Z. 
(2005) 36 Cal.4th 664, 675-676, 680-681 
 
Amend to conform to In re Josiah Z. 
 
 

will incorporate this suggestion into 
future proposed amendments to 
juvenile appellate rules and break 
out subdivision (h) into a separate 
rule, proposed rule 8.402. 
Specifically, the committee will 
modify this language for a future 
proposal to read “If the request or 
stipulation for dismissal is filed by 
the appellate counsel for a child in a 
dependency proceeding, the 
dismissal must be authorized by the 
child or the child’s CAPTA 
guardian ad litem. On receipt of a 
request or stipulation to dismiss, the 
Court of Appeal may dismiss the 
appeal and direct immediate 
issuance of the remittitur. The Court 
of Appeal clerk must promptly 
notify the superior court and all 
parties and attorneys of the 
dismissal.”  
 
Same response as above.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Same response as above.  
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Alternate Public Defender 
 
Mr. Michael P. Judge 
Public Defender of Los Angeles 
County 
 
 
Mr. Gary Seiser 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of County Counsel San Diego 
County, Juvenile Dependency 
Division 
 
 
Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The State Bar of California’s 
Committee on Appellate Courts 

rule 37) 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
Rule 

8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
Rule 

8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 

 
 
Amend to conform to In re Josiah Z. 
 
 
 
 
Second sentence should be rewritten: “Any 
request for dismissal filed by the appellate 
counsel for a child or stipulation for dismissal 
signed by the appellate counsel for a child must 
be authorized by the child’s CAPTA guardian 
ad litem based on the child’s best interest.” 
 
The “best interest” language is not apropos. In 
addition, children in the dependency system are 
of an age where their views are entitled to be 
considered. In re Josiah Z. (2005) 36 Cal.4th 
664 did not say an appellate counsel’s 
determination regarding the child’s best interest 
was the only basis for appellate counsel to 
move to dismiss. The rule should be amended 
to read: “If the request for dismissal is filed by 
the appellate counsel for a child, the dismissal 
must be authorized by the child or the child’s 
CAPTA guardian ad litem.” 
 
The citation to In re Josiah Z. should be 
changed to “(2005) 36 Cal.4th 664, 675-676, 
680-681. 

 
 
Same response as above.  
 
 
 
 
Same response as above.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
Same response as above.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Same response as above.  
 
 

 
 Rule 8.400(h)(2) (formerly rule 37)–Appeals in juvenile cases generally, stipulation to dismiss General 
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Commentator Issue or 
provision 

Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Mr. Gary Seiser 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of County Counsel San Diego 
County, Juvenile Dependency 
Division 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mr. Gary Seiser 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of County Counsel San Diego 
County, Juvenile Dependency 
Division 
 
Mr. Gary Seiser 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of County Counsel San Diego 
County, Juvenile Dependency 
Division 
 
 
 
Mr. Gary Seiser 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of County Counsel San Diego 

Rule 
8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 

Change first sentence to read: “After the record 
is filed in the Court of Appeal, the appellant 
may serve and file in that court a request to 
dismiss the appeal, and any party may serve and 
file a stipulation to dismiss the appeal.” 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Add new second sentence: “Any stipulation for 
dismissal must indicate why the stipulation for 
dismissal meets the requirements of section 128, 
subdivision (a)(8) of the Code of Civil 
Procedure.” 
 
Now fourth sentence should be amended to 
read: “On receipt of a request for dismissal, or 
of a stipulation for dismissal meeting the 
requirements of section 128, subdivision (a)(8) 
of the Code of Civil Procedure the Court of 
Appeal may dismiss the appeal and direct 
immediate issuance of the remittitur.”  
 
In Advisory Committee’s comment add: “The 
Court of Appeal applies the criteria set forth in 
section 128, subdivision (a)(8) of the Code of 

After consideration of proposed 
rule 8.400(h) and the many 
comments it received, the 
committee decided to withdraw the 
entire rule for further review of its 
potential effect on the discretion of 
the court, the role of counsel, and 
the prompt determination of 
juvenile appeals. The committee 
will incorporate this suggestion 
into future proposed amendments 
to juvenile appellate rules and 
break out subdivision (h) into a 
separate rule, proposed rule 8.402. 
 
The committee has withdrawn the 
rule for the reasons stated above.  
 
 
 
 
Same response as above.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Same response as above.  
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County, Juvenile Dependency 
Division 
 
Jan Sherwood 
Attorney at Law 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The State Bar of California’s 
Committee on Appellate Courts 

rule 37) 
 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
 
 

 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 

Civil Procedure on a case-by-case basis. (In Re 
Rashad H. (2000) 78 Cal.App.4th 376, 382).” 
 
The proposed amendments should state how, if 
at all, California Civil Procedure Code section 
128(a)(8) applies to the provisions regarding 
compromise and stipulation to dismiss. The 
language “affirmatively seeking dismissal” is 
not clear. The rule is not clear if it applies only 
to motions to dismiss based on abandonment or 
settlement or if it applies to all motions to 
dismiss an appeal.  
 
The proposed amendments create a procedure 
for abandoning, voluntarily dismissing, or 
approving a compromise on a juvenile appeal. 
Subdivision (h)(1) refers to the filing of an 
“abandonment” of the appeal, whereas 
subdivision (h)(2) refers to a stipulation or 
request to “dismiss” the appeal. An Advisory 
Committee Comment to rule 30.2 (new rule 
8.312) notes that “an appellant may dismiss an 
appeal by filing an abandonment of it” where as 
the term “dismiss” is generally reserved “for the 
discretionary act of a reviewing court in 
response to an abandonment filed in that court. . 
. . “ To be consistent with rule 30.3 (new rule 
8.316), the reference to a stipulation or request 
to “dismiss the appeal in the proposed 
amendments to rule 37 (new rule 8.400) should 
be modified to refer to a request or stipulation 
to “abandon” the appeal. 

 
 
 
Same response as above.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Same response as above.  
 

 
 Rule 8.400(h)(3) (formerly rule 37)–Appeals in juvenile cases generally, compromise 
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Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

California Appellate Project, Los 
Angeles 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mr. James M. Owens 
Assistant County Counsel 
Los Angeles Office of the County 
Counsel–Dependency Division 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(3) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(3) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

N 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Disagree: The proposed compromise 
circumvents In re Zeth S. (2003) 31 Cal.4th 
396, 405 by permitting a party below who has 
not timely appealed to seek and obtain in the 
reviewing court a change in the judgment or 
order timely appealed by other parties. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Amend by deleting this paragraph. If the 
guardian, or child who is a party and not 
represented, seeks approval of a proposed 
compromise of a pending appeal, this paragraph 
allows the Court of Appeal, before ruling on the 
compromise, to direct the trial court to 
determine whether the compromise is in the 
best interest of the child and to report its 
findings. The commentator suggests deleting 
this paragraph because the commentator 
believes the proposed change will cause delay, 

After consideration of proposed rule 
8.400(h) and the many comments it 
received, the committee decided to 
withdraw the entire rule for further 
review of its potential effect on the 
discretion of the court, the role of 
counsel, and the prompt 
determination of juvenile appeals. 
The committee will incorporate this 
suggestion into future proposed 
amendments to juvenile appellate 
rules and break out subdivision (h) 
into a separate rule, proposed rule 
8.402. Specifically, the committee 
will not propose a procedure for 
compromise on appeal unless future 
comments warrant consideration of 
such a procedure.  
 
Same response as above. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



SPR06-33 
Juvenile Law: Appellate Procedure (adopt Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.406; amend rules 8.404 [formerly rule 37.1], 8.412 [formerly rule 

37.3], 8.416 [formerly rule 37.4], 8.450 [formerly rule 38], 8.452 [formerly rule 38.1], and 8.456 [formerly rule 38.3]; revise forms JV-820 and 
JV-822) 

 

Catalog1  A = Agree; AM = Agree only if modified; N = Do not agree. 38  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Ms. Kathryn Schlepphorst 
Family Law Section Executive 
Committee 
 
 
Ms. Diane Wasznicky 
Liason  
Family Law Section  Executive 
Committee to Family and Juvenile 
Law Advisory Committee 
Family Law Section of the Sate Bar 
Executive Committee 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.400(h)(3) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 
Rule 

8.400(h)(3) 
(formerly 
rule 37) 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 

and because the Court of Appeal has 
jurisdiction over the matter and if the guardian 
or child do not agree with the compromise or 
stipulation they can file a brief rather than have 
it sent back to juvenile court for approval. 
“Compromise” is vague.  
 
Similar comment as above.  
 
 
 
 
Similar comment as above. 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Same response as above. 
 
 
 
 
Same response as above. 

 
 Rule 8.404(a) (formerly rule 37.1)–Record on appeal, clerk’s transcript 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 
 
Ms. Janice Y. Fukai 
Law Offices of the Los Angeles 
County 
Alternate Public Defender 
 

Rule 
8.404(a) 
(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

 
Rule 

8.404(a) 
(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

 

AM 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 

Agree with proposed amendments. 
 
 
 
 
Agree with proposed amendments. 
 
 
 
 

No response required. 
 
 
 
 
No response required. 
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Mr. Michael P. Judge 
Public Defender of Los Angeles 
County 

Rule 
8.404(a) 
(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

 

AM Agree with proposed amendments. 
 
 

No response required. 
 
 

 
 Rule 8.404(c)–Record on appeal, clerk’s transcript 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Hon. Roger W. Boren 
Administrative Presiding Justice 
Court of Appeal, Second Appellate 
District 
 
 
 
 
 
Ms. Janice Y. Fukai 

Rule 
8.404(c) 
(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.404(c) 
(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

 
 
 
 
 

Rule 

N 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 

Disagree. The proposed requirement would be 
workable in many cases, but the court should 
have discretion to entertain later motions. 
Sometimes the notice of appeal is filed in a 
rush, the client may file in pro per, or the need 
for additional record is not immediately 
apparent. The amendment would probably 
increase delay. If the additional record is 
necessary for the appeal, appellate counsel will 
have to request it as an augmentation. The 
augmentation will delay the proceedings more 
than an application for addition to the normal 
record.  
 
Amend to read: “The application and order are 
governed by rule 8.324 (c)–(d) (formerly rule 
31.1) except that the application by appellant 
must be filed in the superior court at the same 
time as the notice of appeal or it will be 
deemed denied. Application by any other party 
or tribe must be filed within 5 days of notice of 
appellant’s notice of appeal.” 

 
Delete last portion of proposed changes to first 

The Committee agrees to withdraw 
the proposed amendment. The 
Committee will also delete the cross 
reference to rule 31.1 (c)–(d) (new 
rule 8.324) and will add the 
language of rule 31.1(c)–(d) (new 
rule 8.324) into the text of the rule.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to withdraw 
the proposed amendment. The 
Committee will also delete the cross 
reference to rule 31.1 (c)–(d) (new 
rule 8.324) and will add the 
language of rule 31.1(c)–(d) (new 
rule 8.324) into the text of the rule.  
 
 
The Committee agrees to withdraw 
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Law Offices of the Los Angeles 
County 
Alternate Public Defender 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mr. Michael P. Judge 
Public Defender of Los Angeles 
County 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County  
 
 
 
 
 
 
Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 
 
The State Bar of California’s 
Committee on Appellate Courts 

8.404(c) 
(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.404(c) 
(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.404(c) 
(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

 
 
 
 

 
Rule 

8.404(c) 
(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

 
Rule 

8.404(c) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Y 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 

sentence “or it will be deemed denied.” 
Unacceptable because the application would be 
denied even if it was justified. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Delete the last portion of the proposed changes 
to the first sentence “or it will be deemed 
denied.” Unacceptable because the application 
would be denied even if it was justified. 
 
 
 
 
 
Amend first sentence to add “the” between “as” 
and “notice”. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Agree with proposed changes.  
 
 
 
 
Amend the second sentence of paragraph (2) of 
subdivision (c) to read: “Application by any 

the proposed amendment. The 
Committee will also delete the cross 
reference to rule 31.1 (c)–(d) (new 
rule 8.324) and will add the 
language of rule 31.1(c)–(d) (new 
rule 8.324) into the text of the rule.  
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to withdraw 
the proposed amendment. The 
Committee will also delete the cross 
reference to rule 31.1 (c)–(d) (new 
rule 8.324) and will add the 
language of rule 31.1(c)–(d) (new 
rule 8.324) into the text of the rule.  
 
 
The Committee agrees to withdraw 
the proposed amendment. The 
Committee will also delete the cross 
reference to rule 31.1 (c)–(d) (new 
rule 8.324) and will add the 
language of rule 31.1(c)–(d) (new 
rule 8.324) into the text of the rule.  
 
 
No response required. 
 
 
 
 
The Committee is withdrawing the 
proposed amendment. 



SPR06-33 
Juvenile Law: Appellate Procedure (adopt Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.406; amend rules 8.404 [formerly rule 37.1], 8.412 [formerly rule 

37.3], 8.416 [formerly rule 37.4], 8.450 [formerly rule 38], 8.452 [formerly rule 38.1], and 8.456 [formerly rule 38.3]; revise forms JV-820 and 
JV-822) 

 

Catalog1  A = Agree; AM = Agree only if modified; N = Do not agree. 41  

 
 

(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

 

 
 
 

other party or tribe must be filed within 5 days 
of the notice of appeal.” The word “the” should 
be inserted before “notice of appeal.” 

 
 
 

 
 Rule 8.404(g)(1) (formerly rule 37.1)–Record on appeal, multiple appeals 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Ms. Janice Y. Fukai 
Law Offices of the Los Angeles 
County 
Alternate Public Defender 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.404(g)(1) 
(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.404(g)(1) 
(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Counterintuitive to limit the number of copies 
of the record since multiple appeals indicates 
more parties will need a copy of the record. No 
suggestion.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Amend to eliminate the potential delay created 
by the timeline requirement. As written, the 
proposed 8.404(g)(1) (formerly rule 37.1) 
allows one appellate record to be prepared 
which must be filed within the time allowed for 
filing the record in the latest appeal. The 
commentator notes this will cause delays, for 
example, if multiple petitions are sustained and 
these delays contravene the Legislature’s intent 
to handle juvenile matter expeditiously.  

The Committee declines to 
incorporate the suggestion. When 
more than one appeal is taken from 
the same judgment or related order, 
the proposed language allows one 
appellate record to be prepared. The 
proposed language does not limit 
the number of copies of this 
appellate record. For consistency 
with other appellate rules, the 
Committee decided to break out 
subdivision (g), regarding multiple 
appeals, into a separate rule, now 
proposed rule 8.406. 
  
 
The Committee declines to 
incorporate the suggestion. While 
the timeline may cause an initial 
delay, the purpose of its proposed 
language is to create one complete 
record which will streamline and 
clarify the process. For consistency 
with other appellate rules, the 
Committee decided to break out 
subdivision (g), regarding multiple 
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Mr. Michael P. Judge 
Public Defender of Los Angeles 
County 

 
 
 

Rule 
8.404(g)(1) 
(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

 

 
 
 

AM 
 

 
 
 
Similar comment as above.  

appeals, into a separate rule, now 
proposed rule 8.406. 
 
Same response as above.  

 
 Rule 8.404(g)(2) (formerly rule 37.1)–Record on appeal, later appeals 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 

Rule 
8.404(g)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.404(g)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 

The incorporating by reference portion is 
unclear. If this is another way of requesting 
additional record it is unnecessary and 
confusing to create an alternative when the rule 
8.404(c) (formerly rule 37.1) process already 
exists. If this is meant to exclude prior records 
from the new transcript altogether, this would 
work only if all appellate counsel and the court 
have possession of the prior records. This may 
not be the case if the prior records may have 
been put in storage or sent to the client or if 
counsel changed. Suggestion: clarify and 
consider Ct. App. Second Dist., Local Rules, 
rule 1 (new rule 8.100), Contents of Reporter’s 
and Clerk’s Transcripts in Criminal and 
Juvenile Appeals. 
 
This creates a problem for counsel who have 
returned the record to the client at the 
conclusion of the earlier appeal because the 
party will not have access to the portions of the 

The Committee agrees to modify 
and will withdraw the proposed 
amendment. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to modify 
and will withdraw the proposed 
amendment. 
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California Appellate Project, Los 
Angeles 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.404(g)(2) 
(formerly 
rule 37.1) 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 

record incorporated by reference. An attorney 
appointed on the later appeal may not be the 
same appellate counsel on the earlier appeal. 
Obtaining the record from predecessor counsel 
will take time. Some parties join the case at 
later stages in the proceedings and would not 
have access to the entire record. Change the  
language from “may incorporate by reference” 
to “deemed to be part of the record.” There is 
no statutory authority addressing how an 
appellate record can be incorporated by 
reference. 
 
Amend to include language similar to former 
rule 11(b) (new rule 8.150) 2001: “If there has 
been a prior appeal in the same action or 
proceedings, and any portions of the record 
therein are desired for use in the second appeal, 
these need not be copied or included in the 
subsequent record unless the reviewing court so 
orders.” Amend to specify that the record for a 
subsequent appeal should begin after the 
proceedings challenged on the first appeal. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to modify 
and will withdraw the proposed 
amendment. 
 

 
 Rule 8.412(b)(5) (formerly rule 37.3)–Briefs by parties and amici curiae, time to file 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc. 
 
 
The State Bar of California’s 

Rule 
8.412(b)(5) 
(formerly 
rule 37.3) 

 
Rule 

AM 
 
 
 
 

AM 

Agree with most of rule.  
 
 
 
 
Amend opening sentence to read: “Except in 

No response required. 
 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to 
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Committee on Appellate Courts 8.412(b)(5) 
(formerly 
rule 37.3) 

 

dependency appeals in Orange, Imperial, and 
San Diego Counties, and in appeals from the 
termination of parental rights . . .” 

incorporate the suggestion. For 
consistency with other appellate 
rules, the Committee decided to 
give this section its own subdivision 
and expand it to be more 
comprehensive. It now appears at 
rule 8.412(d). 
 
 

 
 
 Rule 8.416 (formerly rule 37.4)–Appeals from all terminations of parental rights; dependency appeals in Orange, Imperial, and San Diego 
Counties 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc. 
 
 
 
 
 
Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 
 
 
 
Hon. Roger W. Boren 
Administrative Presiding Justice 
Court of Appeal, Second Appellate 

Rule 8.416 
(formerly 
rule 37.4) 

Reference to 
“Defendant” 

 
 
 

Rule 8.416 
(formerly 
rule 37.4) 

Reference to 
“Defendant” 

 
 

Rule 8.416 
(formerly 
rule 37.4) 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 

“After notifying defendant” is not clear. 
“Defendant” is not applicable, and this implies 
a second notice will be sent out but this is not 
clear.  
 
 
 
 
Agree with 8.416(g)(1) (formerly rule 37.4) 
except for (iii). Amend to read: “(iii) If the 
appellant is other than the county and is not 
represented by appointed counsel, the court will 
dismiss the appeal.” The proposed language 
implies a second notice will be sent. 
 
Similar comment as above. 
 
 

Agree to delete “after notifying 
defendant” as it is repetitive and 
“defendant” is not applicable in this 
context. However, the Committee 
incorporated that change into rule 
8.412(d), and now cross-references 
rule 8.412 in rule 8.416. 
 
Same response as above. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Same response as above. 
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District 
 
 
Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County 
 
 
 
The State Bar of California’s 
Committee on Appellate Courts 
 
 
 
 
Ms. Carole Greeley 
Attorney at Law 
Bay Area Dependency Chapter of 
California Appellate Defense Counsel 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County 
 
 
 
Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 

Reference to 
“Defendant” 

 
Rule 8.416 
(formerly 
rule 37.4) 

Reference to 
“Defendant” 

 
Rule 8.416 
(formerly 
rule 37.4) 

Reference to 
“Defendant” 

 
Rule 8.416 
(formerly 
rule 37.4) 
General 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 8.416 
(formerly 
rule 37.4) 
General 

 
 

Rule 8.416 
(formerly 

 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 

 
 
 
Similar comment as above. 
 
 
 
 
 
Similar comment as above. 
 
 
 
 
 
In paragraph (1) of subdivision (g) amend to 
read: “If a party fails to timely file an 
appellant’s opening brief or a respondent’s 
brief in a termination of parental rights case, the 
reviewing court clerk must promptly notify the 
party’s counsel, or if not  represented, the party, 
by mail that the brief must be filed within 15 
days after the notice is mailed, and that failure 
to comply will result in one of the following 
sanctions:” 
 
To more closely track the language of rule 17 
(new rule 8.220), In paragraph (3) of 
subdivision (g) amend to change “under (1) 
without further notice” to “under (2) without 
further notice”. 
 
In the advisory comment, change two uses of 
“subsection” to “subdivision”. 

 
 
 
Same response as above. 
 
 
 
 
 
Same response as above. 
 
 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to modify. 
The Committee, in accordance with 
a concurrent proposal, will change 
“will” to “may.”  However, the 
Committee incorporated that change 
into rule 8.412(d), and now cross-
references rule 8.412 in rule 8.416. 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to modify. 
However, the Committee 
incorporated that change into rule 
8.412(d), and now cross-references 
rule 8.412 in rule 8.416. 
 
The Committee agrees to modify. 
However, the Committee 
incorporated that change into rule 
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Superior Court of San Diego County 
 
 
 
 
Mr. Gary Seiser 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of County Counsel San Diego 
County, Juvenile Dependency 
Division 
 
 
Mr. Gary Seiser 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of County Counsel San Diego 
County, Juvenile Dependency 
Division 
 
 
 
 
 
Mr. Gary Seiser 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of County Counsel San Diego 
County, Juvenile Dependency 
Division 
 
 
 
 
 
The State Bar of California’s 
Committee on Appellate Courts 

rule 37.4) 
General 

 
 
 

Rule 8.416 
(formerly 
rule 37.4) 
General 

 
 
 

Rule 8.416 
(formerly 
rule 37.4) 
General 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 8.416 
(formerly 
rule 37.4) 
General 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 8.416 
(formerly 

 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 

 
 
 
 
 
Make rule 8.416 (formerly rule 37.4) applicable 
to all dependency appeals. 
 
 
 
 
 
Eliminate automatic grace periods for all 
dependency appeals statewide. The rules 
allowing the Court to grant extensions of time 
and to relieve defaults other than late notices of 
appeals adequately addresses the issue of late 
briefs. An automatic grace period for late briefs 
is neither necessary nor appropriate. 
 
 
 
Amend last sentence to read: “If an extension is 
granted beyond the initial 15-day period and the 
brief is not filed within the extended period, the 
court may impose the sanction under (1) without 
further notice.” 
 
 
 
 
 
Amend paragraph 1 of subdivision (g) to read: 
“If a party fails to timely file an appellant’s 

8.412(d), and now cross-references 
rule 8.412 in rule 8.416. 
 
 
The Committee declines to 
incorporate this suggestion. The 
Committee will consider adding this 
suggestion to the Spring 2007 
cycle. 
 
 
The Committee declines to 
incorporate the suggestion. The 
Committee’s proposed language in 
rules 8.412 (formerly rule 37.3) 
and 8.416 (formerly rule 37.4) 
balance the needs of the court to 
determine the appeal expeditiously 
and its need to protect appellants’ 
rights.  

 
The Committee agrees to modify 
the sentence but the Committee will 
be changing the current reference to 
paragraph (1) to a reference to 
paragraph (2). However, the 
Committee incorporated that change 
into rule 8.412(d), and now cross-
references rule 8.412 in rule 8.416. 
 
The Committee agrees to modify 
this paragraph to read: “If a party 
fails to timely file an appellant’s 
opening brief or a respondent’s 
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rule 37.4) 
General 

 

opening brief or a respondent’s brief in a 
dependency appeal in Orange, Imperial, and San 
Diego County, or in an appeal from a 
termination of parental rights . . . “ 

brief the reviewing court clerk must 
. . .” The current language of 
subdivision (a) clearly limits the 
application of the rule to  
dependency appeals in Orange, 
Imperial, and San Diego Counties, 
and in appeals from the termination 
of parental rights. However, the 
Committee incorporated that change 
into rule 8.412(d), and now cross-
references rule 8.412 in rule 8.416. 

 
 
 Rule 8.450(e)(3) (formerly rule 38)–Notice of intent to file writ petition to review order setting hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code 
section 366.26, notice of intent 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 

Rule 
8.450(e)(3) 
(formerly 
rule 38) 

AM Agree with changes.  
 

No response required. 
 

 
 Rule 8.450(e)(4)(A)–Notice of intent to file writ petition to review order setting hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.26, party 
present at hearing 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc. 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.450(e)(4)

(A) 
(formerly 
rule 38) 

 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 

Citing Janice J. v. Superior Court (1997) 55 
Cal.App.4th 690, Guillermo G. v. Superior 
Court (1995) 33 Cal.App.4th 1168, Code of 
Civ. Proc. § 283, People v. Bouchard (1957) 49 
Cal.2d 438, 440, People v. Brych (1988) 203 
Cal.App.3d 1068, 1076, and United States of 

The Committee will take this 
comment into consideration during 
the next rule cycle. This comment 
suggests substantive changes that 
would require presentation to the 
public during a comment period.  
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Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 

 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.450(e)(4)

(A) 
(formerly 
rule 38) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.450(e)(4) 

(A) 
(formerly 
rule 38) 

 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 

Mexico v. Rask (1930) 109 Cal.App.497, 500-
402, commentator suggests reexamining the 
provision which prevents counsel from signing 
the notice of intent except for good cause. 
 
Delete “or was represented by counsel at the 
hearing.” This language is inconsistent with the 
rest of the rule. If the party was personally 
absent, notice will be sent by mail. (Rules 
5.715(d)(3)(H) (formerly rule 1461), 
5.720(c)(10) (formerly rule 1462); Welf. & 
Inst. Code § 294(a).) When counsel was present 
but the party was notified by mail, the rule as 
proposed would leave doubt as to whether 
8.450(e)(4)(A) (formerly rule 38) or one of the 
mailing subdivisions would apply and thus 
whether the time would be 7, 12, 17, or 20 
days. As long as the party must sign the notice 
of intent personally, rule 8.450(e)(3) (formerly 
rule 38) is appropriate to set the deadline 
according to the party’s own presence or 
absence.  
 
Different rules apply when a party was absent 
from the hearing but was represented by 
counsel. Amend to read: “(e)(4) This 
subdivision applies except as otherwise 
provided. The date of the order setting the 
hearing is the date on which the court states the 
order on the record orally, or issues an order in 
writing, whichever occurs first. The notice of 
intent must be filed according to the following 
time line requirements: (A) If the party was 
present at the hearing when the court ordered a 

 
 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to delete “or 
was represented by counsel at the 
hearing.”  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Agree to modify language. Agree to 
delete “or was represented by 
counsel at the hearing.” The 
Committee will also be deleting 
“This subdivision applies except as 
otherwise provided” because the 
subdivision is clearly limited to 
timelines for filing a Notice of 
Intent when the court has set a 
hearing under Section 366.36. 
Additionally, to further clarify the 
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hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code 
section 366.26, the notice of intent must be 
filed within 7 days after the date of the order 
setting the hearing.” 

filing timelines, the Committee will 
be adding the language “the date the 
clerk mailed the notification is the 
postmark date appearing on the 
envelope” from the proposed 
revisions to JV-820 to paragraph (4) 
of subdivision (E).  

 
 Rule 8.450(e)(4)(B) (formerly rule 38)–Notice of intent to file writ petition to review order setting hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code 
section 366.26, referee not acting as a temporary judge 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County 

Rule 
8.450(e)(4) 

(B) 
(formerly 
rule 38) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.450(e)(4) 

(B) 
(formerly 
rule 38) 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 

Clarify. No suggestion. Proposed language is 
unclear as it implies the referee acting as a 
temporary judge sent the notice. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Change the time provided from “12 days” to “7 
days” unless the intention was to change the 
time from “7” to “12” days. 
 

The Committee agrees to clarify 
this subparagraph. This 
subparagraph will read: “If the 
order was made by a referee not 
acting as a temporary judge, the 
party has an additional 10 days to 
file the notice of intent as provided 
in rule 5.540(c).” (formerly rule 
1417) To further clarify paragraph 
(4), the order of the subparagraphs 
will be reorganized. This 
subparagraph will now be 
subparagraph (E). 
 
The Committee agrees to clarify 
this subparagraph. This 
subparagraph will read: “If the 
order was made by a referee not 
acting as a temporary judge, the 
party has an additional 10 days to 
file the notice of intent as provided 
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in rule 5.540(c).” (formerly rule 
1417) If the order was made by a 
referee not acting as a temporary 
judge, the party has the amount of 
time afforded to them according to 
how they received notice of the 
court’s order plus the additional 10 
days required for the referee’s order 
to become final. To further clarify 
paragraph (4), the order of the 
subparagraphs will be reorganized. 
This subparagraph will now be 
subparagraph (E). 

 
 Rule 8.450(e)(4)(D) (formerly rule 38)–Notice of intent to file writ petition to review order setting hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code 
section 366.26, address outside California and within the United States 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 
 
 
 
 
The State Bar of California’s 
Committee on Appellate Courts 
 

Rule 
8.450(e)(4)
(D) 
(formerly 
rule 38) 

 
 
 

Rule 
8.450(e)(4) 

(D) 
(formerly 
rule 38) 

 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 

Confusing. Amend to read: “If the party was 
notified of the order setting the hearing by mail, 
and the place of mailing the notice of intent or 
the place of address is outside California, the 
notice of intent must be filed within 17 days 
after the date the clerk mailed the notification.”  
 
Amend to read: “If the party was notified of the 
order setting the hearing by mail, and notice 
was mailed to an address outside the State of 
California but within the United States, the 
notice of intent must be filed within 17 days 
after the date the clerk mailed the notification. 
If the superior court clerk receives a notice of 
intent by mail from a self represented party in a 

The Committee agrees to modify. 
To further clarify paragraph (4), the 
order of the subparagraphs will be 
reorganized. This subparagraph will 
now be subparagraph (C). 
 
 
 
The Committee is amending to 
delete the “self represented” 
requirement. The Committee agrees 
to amend to clarify the place of 
mailing is always within California. 
The Committee is amending to add 
“but within the United States.” In 
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custodial institution or from a self represented 
party who resides outside the State of 
California but within the United States after this 
period has expired but the envelope containing 
the notice of intent shows that it was mailed or 
delivered to custodial officials for mailing 
within the 17 days after the date the clerk 
mailed the notification of the order setting the 
hearing, the notice is deemed timely. The clerk 
must retain in the case file the envelope in 
which notice was received.”  

response to other comments, the 
Committee is amending the prison 
delivery rule language in the 
proposed paragraph 5 by deleting 
its application to parties residing 
outside California and the United 
States. Therefore, the Committee 
declines to incorporate that 
language into this subparagraph. 

 
 Rule 8.450(e)(4)(E) (formerly rule 38)–Notice of intent to file writ petition to review order setting hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code 
section 366.26, outside of the United States 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The State Bar of California’s 
Committee on Appellate Courts 
 

Rule 
8.450(e)(4)

(E) 
(formerly 
rule 38) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.450(e)(4) 

(E) 
(formerly 
rule 38) 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 

20 days has proven to be inadequate time for 
parties residing outside North America. Amend 
to read: “If the party was notified of the order 
setting the hearing by mail and the place of 
mailing or the place of address is outside of 
California, the notice of intent must be filed 
within 30 days after the date the clerk mailed 
the notification.” Suggest change 20 days to 30 
days to account for mailing to persons in the 
Middle East or other geographical locations 
where mail is unreliable. 
 
Amend to read: “If the party was notified of the 
order setting the hearing by mail, and the notice 
was mailed to an address outside the United 
States, the notice of intent must be filed within 
27 days after the date the clerk mailed the 

The Committee declines to modify 
the time provided for persons 
residing outside North America to 
file the notice of intent. The 
Committee will consider adding this 
suggestion to the Spring 2007 
cycle. 
 
 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to amend to 
clarify the place of mailing is 
always within California. The 
Committee agrees to amend to read 
“27” days. In response to other 



SPR06-33 
Juvenile Law: Appellate Procedure (adopt Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.406; amend rules 8.404 [formerly rule 37.1], 8.412 [formerly rule 

37.3], 8.416 [formerly rule 37.4], 8.450 [formerly rule 38], 8.452 [formerly rule 38.1], and 8.456 [formerly rule 38.3]; revise forms JV-820 and 
JV-822) 

 

Catalog1  A = Agree; AM = Agree only if modified; N = Do not agree. 52  

 notification. If the superior court clerk receives 
a notice of intent by mail from a self 
represented party in a custodial institution or 
from a self represented party who resides 
outside the United States after this period has 
expired but the envelope containing the notice 
of intent shows that it was mailed or delivered 
to custodial officials for mailing within 27 days 
after the date the clerk mailed the notification 
of the order setting the hearing, the notice is 
deemed timely. The clerk must retain in the 
case file the envelope in which the notice was 
received.  

comments, the Committee is 
amending the prison delivery rule 
language in the proposed paragraph 
5 by deleting its application to 
parties residing outside California 
and the United States. Therefore, 
the Committee declines to 
incorporate that language into this 
subparagraph. 

 
 Rule 8.450(e)(5) (formerly rule 38)–Notice of intent to file writ petition to review order setting hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code 
section 366.26, prison delivery rule 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.450(e)(5) 
(formerly 
rule 38) 

Persons in 
custodial 

institutions 
and 

persons 
residing 

inside and 
outside the 

United 
States 

 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Address limiting mail filing to persons 
described in subdivision (D) and excluding 
those in (E) (outside the U.S.) and those coming 
under other subdivisions. Allowance is already 
made for differences in geographical location.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Agree to clarify that the proposed 
changes to rule 8.450(e)(5) 
(formerly rule 38) apply to parties 
in custodial institutions in 
California, outside of California, 
and outside the United States. The 
new language will read: If the 
superior court clerk receives a 
notice of intent by mail from a party 
in a custodial institution after the 
time in (4) has expired but the 
envelope containing the notice of 
intent shows that it was mailed or 
delivered to custodial officials for 
mailing within the time specified in 
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Ms. Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc. 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.450(e)(5) 
(formerly 
rule 38) 

Persons in 
custodial 

institutions 
and 

persons 
residing 

inside and 
outside the 

United 
States 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 
8.450(e)(5) 
(formerly 
rule 38) 
“self-

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Unfair for persons who live within California 
but may live further away than someone living 
in, for example, Tijuana. Suggest the “mailbox” 
rule apply equally to persons within the state of 
California. Amend to read: “If, after the period 
specified in (4) has expired, the superior court 
clerk receives a notice of intent mailed by a 
party but the envelope containing the notice of 
intent shows that is was mailed, or delivered to 
custodial officials for mailing, within the time 
provided, the notice is deemed timely. The 
clerk must retain in the case file the envelope in 
which the notice was received.” If these 
changes are adopted, corresponding changes 
must be made to respective forms. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Remove “self-represented” qualifier to “party 
in a custodial institution”. The prison mailing 
rule applies to a party mailing the notice from 
within an institution whether or not the party 
has an attorney.  
 

(4) after the date the clerk mailed 
the notification of the order setting 
the hearing, the notice is deemed 
timely. The clerk must retain in the 
case file the envelope in which the 
notice was received. 
 
Agree to clarify that the proposed 
changes to rule 8.450(e)(5) 
(formerly rule 38) apply to parties 
in custodial institutions in 
California, outside of California, 
and outside the United States. The 
new language will read: If the 
superior court clerk receives a 
notice of intent by mail from a party 
in a custodial institution after the 
time in (4) has expired but the 
envelope containing the notice of 
intent shows that it was mailed or 
delivered to custodial officials for 
mailing within the time specified in 
(4) after the date the clerk mailed 
the notification of the order setting 
the hearing, the notice is deemed 
timely. The clerk must retain in the 
case file the envelope in which the 
notice was received. 
 
Agree to delete “self represented” 
as it refers to a party who resides in 
a custodial institution.  
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Ms. Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 
 
 
 
 
Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County  

represented
” qualifier 

 
Rule 

8.450(e)(5) 
(formerly 
rule 38) 
“self-

represented
” qualifier 

 
Rule 

8.450(e)(5) 
(formerly 
rule 38) 
“self-

represented
” qualifier 

 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 

 
 
Similar comment. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Similar Comment. 

 
 
 
Agree to delete “self represented” 
as it refers to a party who resides in 
a custodial institution.  
 
 
 
 
 
Agree to delete “self represented” 
as it refers to a party who resides in 
a custodial institution.  
 

 
 Rule 8.452(f) (formerly rule 38.1)–Writ petition to review order setting hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.26 and rule 5.600  
(formerly rule 1438) 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc. 

Rule 
8.452(f) 

(formerly 
rule 38.1) 

AM Agree with proposed changes. No response required. 

 
 Rule 8.454  (formerly rule 38.2)–Notice of intent to file writ petition under Welfare and Institutions Code Section 366.28 to review order 
designating specific placement of a dependent child after termination of parental rights 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 
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Mr. Gary Seiser 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of County Counsel San Diego 
County, Juvenile Dependency 
Division 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rule 8.454 
(formerly 
rule 38.2) 

AM Amend title to read: “Notice of Intent to File 
Writ Petition Under Welfare and Institutions 
Code Section 366.28 to Review Order 
Designating or Denying Specific Placement of a 
Dependent Child After Termination of Parental 
Rights.” 
 
 
 
 
 

The Committee agrees to modify 
the title to this rule though this rule 
was not out for comment in this 
cycle. The Committee considers 
this a technical change which, if 
not made, would cause confusion 
and would create inconsistencies 
between the rules governing writ 
petitions filed in response to a 
court’s order granting or denying a 
specified placement. 

 
 Rule 8.456 (formerly rule 38.3)–Writ petition under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.28 and rule 1436.5 (new rule 5.600) to review order 
designating specific placement of a dependent child after termination of parental rights 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 
Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County  
 
 
Mr. Gary Seiser 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of County Counsel San Diego 
County, Juvenile Dependency 
Division 
 

Rule 8.456 
(formerly 
rule 38.3) 

 
Rule 8.456 
(formerly 
rule 38.3) 

 
 

Rule 8.456 
(formerly 
rule 38.3) 

AM 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 

AM 

Agree with proposed changes. 
 
 
 
Delete title reference to rule 5.600 (formerly 
rule 1436.5) because rule 5.600 (formerly rule 
1436.5) does not appear to apply to writ 
petitions under Welf. & Inst. Code § 366.28. 
 
Amend title to read: “Writ petition under 
Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.28 
and rule 5.600 (formerly rule 1436.5) to review 
order designating or denying specific placement 
of a dependent child after termination of 
parental rights.” 

No response required. 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to modify. 
 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to modify. 
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 Rules 8.412 (formerly rule 37.3), 8.416 (formerly rule 37.4), Advisory Committee Comment to rule 8.412 (formerly rule 37.3), 8.450 (formerly 
rule 38), 8.452 (formerly rule 38.1), and 8.456 (formerly rule 38.3) generally  
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Janice Y. Fukai 
Law Offices of the Los Angeles 
County 
Alternate Public Defender 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mr. Michael P. Judge 
Public Defender of Los Angeles 
County 

Rules 
8.412 

(formerly 
rule 37.3), 

8.416 
(formerly 
rule 37.4), 
Comment 

to rule 
8.412 

(formerly 
rule 37.3), 

8.450 
(formerly 
rule 38), 

8.452 
(formerly 
rule 38.1), 
and 8.456 
(formerly 
rule 38.3) 
generally 

 
Same as 
above 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 

Amend to clarify if they apply to delinquency 
cases pursuant to Welf. & Inst. Code § 726, et 
seq. There are a number of changes which 
apply to termination of parental rights under 
Welf. & Inst. Code § 366.26. There is a great 
deal of confusion abut the application of these 
rules to delinquency proceedings, which now 
require the delinquency courts to follow a 
parallel track to that traditionally taken by the 
dependency courts in conducting permanency 
planning. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Similar comment as above.  

These rules apply in delinquency 
cases to the extent that the court 
conducts permanency planning for a 
child. The proposed changes apply 
to termination of parental rights 
under Welf. & Inst. Code § 366.26 
and do not alter any previous 
requirement that delinquency courts 
follow a parallel track traditionally 
taken by dependency courts. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Same response as above. 

 



SPR06-33 
Juvenile Law: Appellate Procedure (adopt Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.406; amend rules 8.404 [formerly rule 37.1], 8.412 [formerly rule 

37.3], 8.416 [formerly rule 37.4], 8.450 [formerly rule 38], 8.452 [formerly rule 38.1], and 8.456 [formerly rule 38.3]; revise forms JV-820 and 
JV-822) 

 

Catalog1  A = Agree; AM = Agree only if modified; N = Do not agree. 57  

 Rule 8.452 (formerly rule 38.1)–Writ petition to review order setting hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.26 and rule 
5.600(formerly rule 1436.5)/8.456(formerly rule 38.3) Writ petition under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.28 and rule 5.600 (formerly rule 
1436.5) to review order designating specific placement of a dependent child after termination of parental rights 
 
California Appellate Project, Los 
Angeles 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
California Appellate Project, Los 
Angeles 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rules 8.452 
(formerly 
rule 38.1), 

8.456 
(formerly 
rule 38.3) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rules 8.452 
(formerly 
rule 38.1), 

8.456 
(formerly 
rule 38.3) 

 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Amend both rules to clarify that any request for 
an additional record must be filed as a motion 
to augment in the reviewing court and that 
requests to correct the writ record will not be 
accepted by the juvenile court. The current 
language is confusing to counsel and clerks 
who are accustomed to correctly applying rule 
8.155 (formerly rule 12) to augment the record 
on appeal and rule 8.340 (b) (formerly rule 
32.1) to correct the record on appeal. Trial 
counsel mistakenly submit requests to correct 
the writ record to the juvenile court. The 
juvenile court clerks are uncertain whether to 
process the correction request or to direct 
counsel to file the request in the reviewing 
court. The appellate clerks are also uncertain 
where a request for correction of a writ record 
is to be filed. See rule 2 (new rule 8.104) of the 
Court of Appeal Local Rules, Second District. 
 
Amend to add a provision that requires the 
Welfare and Institutions Code § 
366.26(l)(3)(A) advisement regarding 
requirement of filing a petition for  
extraordinary writ to preserve any right to 
appeal the issues decided. 

 
 
 
 

The Committee declines to 
incorporate the suggestion. Rule 
8.452(f)(1) (formerly rule 38.1) 
and rule 8.456(f)(1) (formerly rule 
38.3) clearly state that rule 8.155 
(formerly rule 12) governs any 
augmentation or correction of the 
record. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Committee declines to add the 
suggested language. Welf. & Inst. 
Code § 366.26 (l)(3)(A) requires 
the court to give oral notice to the 
parties present, or the clerk to give 
written notice to the parties not 
present, of the court’s decision to 
set a section 366.26 hearing and of 
the requirement that parties must 
file a writ petition to preserve any 
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right to appeal on the issues 
decided by the court. This notice 
and advisement are not required by 
section 366.28. Adding the section 
366.26(l)(3)(A) advisement 
requirement may imply the clerk 
also has this written notice 
requirement following section 
366.28 decisions. Neither the oral 
advisement, nor the written notice, 
are supported by law. In addition, 
the parties to a section 366.26 
hearing are not similarly situated to 
the parties of a section 366.28 
hearing and therefore do not 
necessarily require such notice. 
The writ petition to be filed after 
the setting of the section 366.26 
hearing is the parties’ only 
possibility to prevent termination 
of parental rights and preserve the 
constitutionally protected 
parent/child relationship. The 
section 366.28 writ petition is filed 
after termination of parental rights 
and seeks review of a denial of a 
specified placement. The 
Committee declines to incorporate 
suggested changes to rule 8.454 
(formerly rule 38.2) because it is 
not proposing amendments to this 
rule in this proposal and such 
proposed amendments would 
require circulation for public 
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Mr. James M. Owens 
Assistant County Counsel 
Los Angeles Office of the County 
Counsel–Dependency Division 
 
 
 
Ms. Kathryn Schlepphorst 
Family Law Section Executive 
Committee 
 
 
 
 
Ms. Diane Wasznicky 
Liason  
Family Law Section  Executive 
Committee to Family and Juvenile 
Law Advisory Committee 
Family Law Section of the Sate Bar 
Executive Committee 

 
 

Rules 8.452 
(formerly 
rule 38.1), 

8.456 
(formerly 
rule 38.3) 

 
Rules 8.452 
(formerly 
rule 38.1), 

8.456 
(formerly 
rule 38.3) 

 
Rules 8.452 
(formerly 
rule 38.1), 

8.456 
(formerly 
rule 38.3) 

 

 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 

 
 
Similar comment as above. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Similar comment as above. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Similar comment as above. 
 
 

comment. 
 
Same response as above. 
 
 
 
 
 
Same response as above. 
 
 
 
 
 
Same response as above. 
 
 

 
 Form JV-800–Notice of Appeal  
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

California Appellate Project, Los 
Angeles 
 

JV-800 AM Delete number 6(c) on form JV-800. Number 
6(c) provides appellant a box to indicate the 
appellant is appealing a decisions granting or 
denying a specified placement. However, to 
preserve such a decision for appeal, appellant 
must first file a petition for writ. Number 6(c) is 

The Committee agrees to revise the 
form as suggested. This amendment 
will occur in a companion proposal 
addressing technical changes to 
juvenile rules. 
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confusing because it does not inform appellant 
of the requirement to first file a writ petition. 
Number 6(c) may also confuse appellant 
because JV-800 does not currently have an 
option on the form to indicate appellant is 
appealing a court’s decision to set the matter for 
a Welf. & Inst. Code § 366.26 hearing. In such 
cases, appellant must also file a writ petition to 
preserve issues for appeal. Because both court 
orders require appellant to first file a writ 
petition, the JV-800 form should be revised to 
delete number 6(c).  

 
 Form JV-820–Notice of Intent to File Writ Record and Request for Record 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc 
 

JV-820 
Notice box 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

JV-820 
Notice box 

 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 

The notice box on page 1 does not cover the 
rule 8.450(e)(4)(B) or (5) (formerly rule 38) 
situations – decisions by a referee and prison 
mailing. Petitioners in such situations would 
have to choose among inapplicable alternatives 
and could be misled.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The notice box on page 1. Amend to read: “The 
juvenile court has decided it will make a 
permanent plan for this child which may result 
in the termination of your parental rights and 

The Committee agrees to 
incorporate language addressing 
these two situations. The 
Committee will also amend the title 
of the form to read “Notice of Intent 
to file writ petition and request for 
record to review order setting a 
hearing under Welfare and 
Institutions Code section 366.26” 
The Committee will also revise 
number 6 by deleting 
“extraordinary.” 
 
The Committee agrees to 
incorporate the suggestion.  
 
 



SPR06-33 
Juvenile Law: Appellate Procedure (adopt Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.406; amend rules 8.404 [formerly rule 37.1], 8.412 [formerly rule 

37.3], 8.416 [formerly rule 37.4], 8.450 [formerly rule 38], 8.452 [formerly rule 38.1], and 8.456 [formerly rule 38.3]; revise forms JV-820 and 
JV-822) 

 

Catalog1  A = Agree; AM = Agree only if modified; N = Do not agree. 61  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 
Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 
Ms. Carmela F. Simoncini  
Appellate Court Committee of the San 
Diego County Bar Association 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

JV-820 
Notice box 

 
 

JV-820 
Page 2 

 
 

JV-820 
Page 2 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 

AM  
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

adoption of the child. If you want an appeals 
court to review the juvenile court’s decisions, 
you must first tell the juvenile court by filing a 
Notice of Intent. You may use this form for 
that. The deadline for filing it is on page 2 of 
this form.  
 
Similar comment as above. 
 
 
 
On the reverse of JV-820 in third box, delete “or 
your attorney” because the party, not the 
attorney, must file the notice of intent. 
 
Revise language making the postmark date 
controlling. Statutory and rule provisions 
governing the clerk’s proof of service of the 
order setting the hearing, the proof of service is 
generally considered the date of mailing. 
Revise to read: “• If you were present when the 
court set the hearing to make a permanent plan, 
you must file the Notice of Intent within 7 days 
from the date the court set the hearing. • If you 
were not present in court but were given notice 
by mail of the court’s decision to set a hearing 
to make a permanent plan and you live in 
California, you must file the Notice of Intent 
within 17 days from the date the clerk mailed 
the notification. • If you were not present in 
court, were given notice by mail of the court’s 
decision to set a hearing to make a permanent 
plan and you live outside the United States, you 
must file the Notice of Intent within 20 days 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to 
incorporate the suggestion. 
 
 
The Committee agrees to 
incorporate the suggestion. 
 
 
The Committee declines to 
incorporate the recommended 
changes regarding the postmark 
date. The Committee agrees to 
modify the language by removing 
“or your attorney.” The Committee 
declines to eliminate the 12 day 
timeline for persons not present at 
the hearing who live in California 
and were notified of the court’s 
order by mail. 
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Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County  
 
 
Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County  
 
 
 
Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County  
 
 
 
 
Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

JV-820 
Page 1 

 
 
 

JV-820 
Page 1 

 
 
 
 

JV-820 
Page 2 

 
 
 
 
 

JV-820 
Page 2 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

from the date the clerk mailed the notification.” 
If the suggestions to rule 8.452(e)(4)(E) 
(formerly rule 38.1) are adopted, a 
corresponding change would be required here 
to provide for 30, instead of 20, days. 
 
Increase area of page allowed for Case Name 
and for Item 5 to include space for multiple 
siblings. 
 
 
Change new box near the bottom of page 1 to: 
“The Notice of Intent to File a Writ Petition 
must be signed by the person . . .” By deleting 
“a” this sentence will match the title of the 
forms as printed in caption and footers. 
 
In the second box on page 2, insert a comma 
after “in the Court of Appeal” and change “a 
copy” to “copies”. Change citation reference 
from Welf. & Inst. Code § 294 to 366.26(l), Cal. 
Rules of Court, rules 8.450–8.452 (formerly 
rules 38–38.1). 
 
In third box on page 3, insert an additional 
bullet point and sentence after the first bulleted 
sentence, i.e.: “If the hearing was set by a 
referee not acting as a temporary judge, you 
must file the Notice of Intent within 7 days after 
the referee’s order becomes final under rule 
5.540(c) (formerly rule 1417).” If the 
Committee intended to change the time period 
from 7 to 12 days, this sentence should be 
changed accordingly.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
The Committee declines to 
incorporate the suggestion. One 
form JV–820 is to be used per child. 
 
The Committee agrees to modify. 
 
 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to modify. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to clarify 
this subparagraph. This 
subparagraph will read: “If the 
order setting the hearing was made 
by a referee not acting as a 
temporary judge, you have an 
additional 10 days to file the notice 
of intent” and the form will 
reference Welf. & Inst. Code 
Sections 248-252 and Cal. Rules of 
Court, rules 5.538 and 5.540 
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Mr. Gary Seiser 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of County Counsel San Diego 
County, Juvenile Dependency 
Division 
 

 
 
 

JV-820 
Page 2 

 
 
 

 
 
 

AM 

 
 
 
Amend the first box at the top of page 2, the 
third and fourth bullet items to reflect that 
placement with a relative or foster home are 
permanent plan options. Amend to read:  
• The court may order a permanent plan of 
placement of the child with a fit and willing 
relative. 
• The court may order a permanent plan of 
placement of the child in a foster home. The 
above options are listed in the court’s order of 
preference of permanent plans, because the 
court’s main goal is to give the child a stable 
and permanent living situation. 

(formerly rules 1416 and 1417).  
 
The Committee agrees to modify. 
 

 
 Form JV-822–Notice of Intent to File Writ Record and Request for Record 
 
Commentator Issue or 

provision 
Position Comment Excerpt or Summary:  Committee Response 

Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Ms. Elaine Alexander 
Executive Director 
Appellate Defenders, Inc. 
 

JV-822 
Page 1 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

JV-822 
Page 2 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 

Notice box on Page 1: In accordance with JV-
820 suggestions, amend to read: “The juvenile 
court has ordered a specific placement for this 
child. If you want an appeals court to review 
the juvenile court’s decisions, you must first 
tell the juvenile court by filing a Notice of 
Intent. You may use this form for that. The 
deadline for filing it is on page 2 of this form. 
 
Top box on page 2:  Amend to read: “. . . or, if 
the decision was made by a referee not acting 
as a temporary judge and the juvenile court 
judge has not ordered a rehearing of the 

The Committee agrees to amend. 
The Committee will also amend the 
title of the form to read “Notice of 
Intent to file writ petition and 
request for record to review order 
designating or denying specific 
placement of a dependent child 
after termination of parental rights” 
 
The Committee agrees to modify to 
include language addressing the 
timelines for filing the Notice of 
Intent if the order was made by a 
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Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County 
 
 
 
Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County 
 
 
Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County 
 
 
 
 
Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County 
 
 
 
Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
JV-822 
Page 2 
 

 
 
 

JV-822 
Page 1 
 
 
 
JV-822 
Page 1 
 

 
 
 
 

JV-822 
Page 1 

 
 
 
 

JV-822 
Page 2 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 

referee’s decision within the 10-day period 
allowed, you must file the Notice of Intent 
within 12 days of the date that the 10-day 
period expired. 
 
Similar comment as above.  
 
 
 
 
 
Increase area of page allowed for Case Name 
and for Item 5 to include space for multiple 
siblings. 
 
 
In item 4, insert a box to check if petitioner is a 
parent or legal guardian. 
 
 
 
 
 
Change new box near the bottom of page 1 to: 
“The Notice of Intent to File a Writ Petition 
must be signed by the person . . .” By deleting 
“a” this sentence will match the title of the 
forms as printed in caption and footers. 

Change first box on page 2 to match text and 
format of second and third boxes on page 2 of 
JV-820. Separate the information into two boxes 
with the titles “How do I challenge the Court’s 
Placement Decision After Termination of 

referee not acting as a judge. 
 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to modify to 
include language addressing the 
timelines for filing the Notice of 
Intent if the order was made by a 
referee not acting as a judge. 
 
The Committee declines to 
incorporate the suggestion. One 
form JV–822 is to be used per child. 
 
The Committee declines to modify 
as suggested. At the time of filing 
the JV-822, parental rights have 
been terminated. The Committee 
agrees to modify to add a box for 
legal guardian.  
 
The Committee agrees to modify.  
 
 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to modify. 
The Committee will add a sentence 
to what is now the second box. 
Agree to modify to the extent 
consistent with the Committee’s 
intent to clarify the time to file the 
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Mr. Mike Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County 
 
 
 
 
 
Mr. Gary Seiser 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of County Counsel San Diego 
County, Juvenile Dependency 
Division 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mr. Howard K. Watkins 
Senior Deputy County Counsel 
Office of Fresno County Counsel 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
JV-822 
Page 2 
 
 
 
 
 
 
JV-822 
Page 1 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
JV-822 
Page 2 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AM 

Parental Rights” and “When Do I Have To  File 
My Notice of Intent to File Writ Petition and 
Request for Record?” If this suggestion is 
accepted, the first bulleted sentence in the first 
box would read “File this Notice of Intent to 
File Writ Petition and Request for Record in the 
juvenile court within the time listed below in the 
next box. This will let the court know you 
intend to file a writ petition, and the court will 
prepare the record.”  
 
Change the citation to Welf. & Inst. Code §294 
to §366.26(l). 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Amend #6(b) to read: “On (date): the court 
made a specific placement order or denied a 
specific placement request that the dependent 
child is to reside in, be retained in, or be 
removed from a specific placement. I intend to 
file a petition for extraordinary writ to challenge 
the specific placement order or the denial of a 
specific placement request made by the court on 
that date and request that the clerk assemble the 
record.” 
 
Revise to include the 12-day time limit to file 
the notice of intent if the notice of intent was 
served by mail. (Cal. Rules of Court, rule 
8.454(e)(5).) (formerly rule 38.2) 

notice of intent if the placement 
decision was made by a referee not 
acting as a temporary judge is 12 
days.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to modify by 
deleting citation to Welf. & Inst. 
Code section 294 but declines to 
incorporate the suggestion because 
Welf. & Inst. Code section 
366.26(l) notice provisions do not 
apply to section 366.28. 
 
The Committee agrees to modify. 
The Committee will also revise by 
deleting “extraordinary.” 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Committee agrees to 
incorporate the suggestion.  
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