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Issue Statement  
Rule 4.104 provides criteria for the eligibility of defendants with traffic violations to 
attend traffic violator school. This proposal will resolve issues with the current rule, 
which (1) has criteria that are inconsistent with statutory provisions that exclude 
commercial violations from eligibility for traffic violator school; (2) requires that a 
12-hour traffic violator program be licensed to qualify for a judicial officer’s order of 
a dismissal for completion, when there is no statute that authorizes licensing of  
12-hour programs; (3) does not incorporate common law decisions holding that a 
defendant who is otherwise eligible to attend traffic violator school is not made 
ineligible by entering a plea other than guilty or by exercising his or her right to trial; 
and (4) contains outdated statutory references to code sections.  
 
Recommendation  
The Traffic Advisory Committee recommends that, to conform to California 
common law and statutes, the Judicial Council, effective January 1, 2007, amend rule 
4.104 of the California Rules of Court to clarify procedures and eligibility criteria for 
attending traffic violator school. 
 
The text of amended rule 4.104 is at pages 5–7 and a comment chart with responses 
to proposed changes is at pages 8–10.  
 
                                                           
1 At its June 30, 2006, meeting, the Judicial Council approved the reorganization and renumbering of the California Rules of Court and 
Standards of Judicial Administration, effective January 1, 2007. Under the reorganization, rule 851 has been renumbered as rule 4.104, and 
new format conventions have been adopted. Hence, the proposed amendments to rule 851 are shown throughout this proposal as 
amendments to rule 4.104, which will become effective January 1, 2007. 
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Rationale for Recommendation 
The proposed amendments to rule 4.104 of the California Rules of Court would 
clarify eligibility criteria to attend traffic violator school. First, the rule would be 
amended to be consistent with statutory provisions regarding negligent operator 
points for offenses requiring a commercial driver’s license, certificate, or 
endorsement as specified in Vehicle Code section 12810.5(b)(2). Second, the rule 
would be amended to provide that a judicial officer may dismiss a violation within 
18 months of an offense dismissed for completion of traffic violator school only if 
the defendant completes a 12-hour traffic violator program provided by a licensed 
traffic violator school. Third, a new paragraph would be added to subdivision (c) to 
provide that a defendant is not made ineligible to attend traffic violator school simply 
because he or she pleaded no contest or exercised his or her right to trial. Lastly, the 
rule would be amended to update and add references to code sections that authorize 
court orders to attend traffic violator school. 
 
First, the committee recommends amending rule 4.104(b)(2)(A) to modify the 
criteria regarding negligent operator points for offenses requiring a commercial 
driver’s license, certificate, or endorsement. It would be amended to clarify that a 
clerk may not authorize traffic violator school attendance for a violation by a driver 
who is required to have a commercial driver’s license, certificate, or endorsement for 
operation of a vehicle and is assessed negligent operator points as specified in 
Vehicle Code section 12810.5(b)(2).  
 
Currently, rule 4.104(b) lists offenses for which a court clerk is not authorized to 
grant a request to attend traffic violator school as pretrial diversion by making a 
request to a court clerk. Several provisions in subdivision (b) address traffic 
violations involving commercial vehicles and drivers. Rule 4.104(b)(2)(A) currently 
prohibits a clerk from authorizing traffic violator school attendance for specified 
violations that are assessed more than one and one-half points or more under section 
12810.5(b)(2) and have been committed in circumstances requiring a commercial 
driver’s license, certificate, or endorsement. Under the current rule, a clerk may 
authorize attendance for violations under section 12810.5(b)(2) that are assessed one 
and one-half points, which is the minimum amount under the statute’s provisions.  
 
To clarify that eligibility for such offenses may be considered by a judicial officer 
but not a clerk, rule 4.104(b)(2)(A) would be amended to provide that a clerk is not 
authorized to grant a request to attend traffic violator school for violations assessed 
one and one-half points or more under Vehicle Code section 12810.5(b)(2). Because 
all offenses under section 12810.5(b)(2) are assessed at least one and one-half points, 
a clerk would not be authorized to permit traffic violator school attendance, where a 
driver is operating a vehicle in circumstances under section 12810.5(b)(2) that 
require a commercial driver’s license, certificate, or endorsement.  
 
For example, the amended rule would prohibit a clerk from granting traffic violator 
school attendance to a driver without a commercial driver’s license endorsement who 
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is cited for hauling hazardous material in a noncommercial vehicle when a 
commercial driver’s license endorsement is required. This change would improve 
consistency with restrictions in rule 4.104(b)(2)(H) and (I), which currently prohibit 
a clerk from authorizing traffic violator school attendance for violations in a 
commercial vehicle, as defined in Vehicle Code section 15210(b), and by drivers 
with a class A, class B, or commercial class C driver’s license.  
 
Second, the committee recommends amending rule 4.104(c)(2) to clarify that a 
judicial officer may dismiss an offense that occurred within 18 months of a prior 
offense that was dismissed for completion of traffic violator school only if the 
defendant completes a 12-hour traffic violator program provided by a licensed traffic 
violator school. Most traffic defendants attend 8-hour traffic violator programs. The 
12-hour programs are authorized in limited circumstances when a defendant has 
obtained a previous dismissal for completion of traffic violator school. The current 
rule incorrectly states that a 12-hour program must be licensed for a judicial officer 
to order a dismissal. There are no current statutory provisions that require licensing 
of 12-hour traffic violator programs, but licensed traffic violator schools offer 12-
hour programs. The amended rule would allow judicial officers to order attendance 
of a 12-hour program at a licensed traffic violator school. 
 
Third, the committee recommends adding paragraph (3) to subdivision (c) to clarify 
that a plea other than guilty or a request for a trial does not make a defendant, if later 
convicted, ineligible to attend traffic violator school. Courts may not arbitrarily 
refuse to consider a request to attend traffic violator school because a defendant 
exercises his or her right to trial by electing to plead not guilty (People v. Schindler 
(1993) 20 Cal.App.4th 431, 433), requests traffic violator school after trial (People v. 
Wozniak (1987) 197 Cal.App.3d Supp. 43, 44), or chooses to plea no contest or offer 
an explanation before making a request for traffic violator school (People v. Enochs 
(1976) 62 Cal.App.3d Supp. 42, 44).  
 
In light of these cases, rule 4.104(c) would be amended to require that the request 
must be considered based on the specific circumstances of the case. This provision 
would not permit a court to have a policy or practice that denies traffic violator 
school attendance because a defendant pleads other than guilty or requests a trial. 
The amendment would also expressly recognize that a court is not required to state 
on the record a reason for granting or denying a request to attend traffic violator 
school. (Schindler, supra, at p. 433.)   
 
Lastly, the committee recommends amending rule 4.104(b)(1), 4.104(c)(1), and 
4.104(c)(2) to update and add references to Vehicle Code sections 41501 and 42005, 
which authorize court orders to attend traffic violator school.  
 
Alternative Actions Considered 
No alternative actions were considered.  Amendment of rule 4.104 will assist court 
clerks and judicial officers by providing criteria from current statutes and recent 
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California cases for allowing attendance and exercising judicial discretion regarding 
court-ordered traffic violator school.   
 
Comments From Interested Parties 
Proposed rule 4.104 was circulated for statewide comment as rule 851. Of the 
responses received, 11 of 13 comments agreed with the proposed changes, while 2 
comments suggested minor changes. All comments are listed in the attached chart, 
along with the committee’s responses. The discussion above addresses the two 
suggestions submitted in the comments, as explained in the comment chart. 
 
Implementation Requirements and Costs 
No implementation costs are expected.  
 
 
Attachments 



Rule 4.104 of the California Rules of Court would be amended, effective January 1, 2007, 
to read:1

 
Rule 4.104. Procedures and eligibility criteria for attending traffic violator school  1 

2 
3 
4 
5 
6 
7 
8 
9 

10 
11 
12 
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(a) Purpose  

 
 The purpose of this rule is to establish uniform statewide procedures and criteria for 
eligibility to attend traffic violator school. 
 

(b) Authority of a court clerk to grant pretrial diversion 
  
(1) Eligible offenses 

 
Except as provided in (2), a court clerk is authorized to grant a request to attend 
traffic violator school when a defendant with a valid driver’s license requests to 
attend an 8-hour traffic violator school as pretrial diversion under Vehicle Code 
sections 41501(b)(a) and 42005 for any infraction under divisions 11 and 12 
(rules of the road and equipment violations) of the Vehicle Code if the violation 
is reportable to the Department of Motor Vehicles. 

15 
16 
17 
18 
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(2) Ineligible offenses 

 
A court clerk is not authorized to grant a request to attend traffic violator school 
for a misdemeanor or any of the following infractions: 
 
(A) A violation that carries a negligent operator point count of more than one 

point under Vehicle Code section 12810 or more than one and one-half 
points 

25 
or more under Vehicle Code section 12810.5(b)(2); 26 

27 
28 
29 
30 
31 
32 
33 
34 
35 
36 
37 
38 

                                             

 
(B) A violation that occurs within 18 months after the date of a previous 

violation and the defendant either attended or elected to attend a traffic 
violator school for the previous violation (Veh. Code, § 1808.7); 

 
(C) A violation of Vehicle Code section 22406.5 (tank vehicles); 
 
(D) A violation related to alcohol use or possession or drug use or possession; 
 
(E) A violation on which the defendant failed to appear under Vehicle Code 

section 40508(a) unless the failure-to-appear charge has been adjudicated 
and any fine imposed has been paid; 

 
1 These recommended amendments have been made to the version of this rule adopted by the Judicial Council at its June 30, 2006, business 
meeting and reflect the text that will be in effect on January 1, 2007. Any amendments approved as part of this proposal will be incorporated into 
the text of the rule that goes into effect on January 1, 2007. 
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(F) A violation on which the defendant has failed to appear under Penal Code 

section 1214.1 unless the civil monetary assessment has been paid; 
 
(G) A speeding violation in which the speed alleged is more than 25 miles over 

a speed limit as stated in Chapter 7 (commencing with section 22348) of 
Division 11 of the Vehicle Code; 

 
(H) A violation that occurs in a commercial vehicle as defined in Vehicle Code 

section 15210(b); and 
 
(I) A violation by a defendant having a class A, class B, or commercial class 

C driver’s license.  
 

(c) Judicial discretion  
 

(1) A judicial officer may in his or her discretion order attendance at a traffic 
violator school in an individual case for diversion under Vehicle Code section 
41501(a), 41501(b), or 42005(b); sentencing under Vehicle Code section 19 

20 
21 
22 
23 
24 

42005(a); or any other purpose permitted by law. A violation by a defendant 
having a class A, class B, or commercial class C driver’s license or that occurs 
in a commercial vehicle, as defined in Vehicle Code section 15210(b), is not 
eligible for diversion under Vehicle Code sections 41501 or 42005.  

 
25 (2) If a violation occurs within 18 months of a previous violation that was 

dismissed under Vehicle Code section 41501(a), a judicial officer may order a 
continuance and dismissal in consideration for completion of a 

26 
licensed 

program 
27 

at a licensed school for traffic violators as specified in Vehicle Code 
section 41501(a). The program must consist of at least 12 hours of instruction as 
specified in section 41501(a). Under Vehicle Code section 1808.7, a dismissal 
for completion of the 12-hour program under this subdivision is not 
confidential. 

28 
29 
30 
31 
32 
33  
34 (3) A defendant who is otherwise eligible for traffic violator school is not made 
35 ineligible by entering a plea other than guilty or by exercising his or her right to 
36 trial. A traffic violator school request must be considered based on the 
37 individual circumstances of the specific case. The court is not required to state 
38 on the record a reason for granting or denying a traffic violator school request. 
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Advisory Committee Comment 

Subdivision (c)(3). Rule 4.104(c)(3) reflects court rulings in cases where defendants wished to plead not 
guilty and have the court order attendance of traffic violator school if found guilty after trial. A court has 
discretion to grant or not grant traffic violator school. (People v. Schindler (1993) 20 Cal.App.4th 431, 433; 
People v. Levinson (1984) 155 Cal.App.3d Supp. 13, 21.) However, the court may not arbitrarily refuse to 
consider a request for traffic violator school because a defendant pleads not guilty. (Schindler, supra, at p. 
433; People v. Wozniak (1987) 197 Cal.App.3d Supp. 43, 44; People v. Enochs (1976) 62 Cal.App.3d Supp. 
42, 44.) If a judicial officer believes that a defendant’s circumstances indicate that a defendant would 
benefit from attending school, such attendance should be authorized and should not be affected by the order 
in which the plea, explanation, and request for traffic violator school are presented. (Enochs, supra, at p. 
44.)  A court is not required to state its reasons for granting or denying traffic violator school following a 
defendant’s conviction for a traffic violation. (Schindler, supra, at p. 433.)   
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SPR06-38 
Traffic:  Statewide Criteria for Eligibility to Attend Traffic Violator School 

(amend Cal. Rules of Court, rule 4.104 [formerly rule 851]) 
 

 Commentator Positio
n 

Comment 
on behalf of 

group? 

Comment Committee Response 

 

1.  

  Positions:  A = Agree; AM = Agree only if modified; N = Do not agree. 8

Hon. Kim Baskett 
Referee 
Superior Court of  Santa Cruz County, 
Santa Cruz 

A N Agree. None. 

2.  Hon. Mark S. Borrell 
Superior Court of Ventura County, 
Ventura 

A Y Agree. None. 

3.  Janet Garcia 
Court Manager  
Planning and Research Unit 
Superior Court of Los Angeles County,  
Los Angeles 

A Y Agree. None. 

4.  Tressa S. Kentner  
Executive Officer  
Superior Court of San Bernardino County, 
San Bernardino 

A N Agree. None. 

5.  Sylvia Lautsch 
Operations Manager 
Superior Court of Marin County,  
San Rafael 

A Y Agree. None. 

6.  Nelson Lu 
Deputy Public Defender 
San Joaquin County Public Defender’s 
Office 
Stockton 

A Y Agree. None. 

7.  Debra Meyers 
Chief of Staff Counsel Services 
Superior Court of San Bernardino County,  
San Bernardino 

A N Agree. None. 
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  Positions:  A = Agree; AM = Agree only if modified; N = Do not agree. 9

8.  Julie M. McCoy 
President 
Orange County Bar Association 
Irvine 

A N Agree. None 

9.  Jill Ramirez 
Program Manager 
Superior Court of Solano County,  
Fairfield   

A Y Agree. None 

10. Michael M. Roddy 
Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego County,  
San Diego 

A Y Agree. None. 

11. Francisco Rodriguez 
Attorney at Law 
Berkley 

AM N Can we please add that a person who 
has attended traffic school in the past 
18 months can go to 12 hour school 
at discretion of the Judge by adding 
the following language in brackets to 
section 4.104(c)(2) (formerly rule 
851(c)(2)): “If a violation occurs 
within 18 months of a previous 
violation” [and the defendant 
previously attended an 8 hour traffic 
school]”, a judicial officer may order 
a continuance and dismissal in 
consideration for completion of a 
licensed program as specified in 
Vehicle Code section 41501(a). 

Agree in part. Vehicle Code section 41501(a) 
does not specify the length of the traffic 
school program attended for a previous 
dismissal. Section 41501(a) also does not 
require that a 12-hour program be licensed, 
only that the program be provided by a 
licensed school for traffic violators. 
Accordingly, the committee recommends 
amendment of rule 4.104(c)(2) (formerly rule 
851(c)(2)) as follows: “If a violation occurs 
within 18 months of a previous violation that 
was dismissed under Vehicle Code section 
41501(a), a judicial officer may order a 
continuance and dismissal in consideration for 
completion of a licensed program at a licensed 
school for traffic violators as specified in 
Vehicle Code section 41501(a). . . .” 

12. Hon. Deborah M. Talmage A N Agree. None. 
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Commissioner 
Superior Court of Santa Barbara County,  
Santa Barbara 

13. Hon. Patricia H. Wong 
Commissioner 
Superior Court of Sacramento County,  
Sacramento 

AM N Suggests amending the first sentence 
of rule 4.104(c)(1) (formerly rule 
851(c)(1)) to state: “A judicial 
officer may in his or her discretion 
order attendance at a traffic violator 
school in an individual case for 
diversion under Vehicle Code 
sections 41501(a) and (b) or 
42005(b), for sentencing under 
Vehicle Code section 42005(a), or 
for any other purpose permitted by 
law.” 

Agree, in part. To improve clarity, the 
committee recommends the following 
amendment: “A judicial officer may in his or 
her discretion order attendance at a traffic 
violator school in an individual case for 
diversion under Vehicle Code section 
41501(a), 41501(b), or 42005(b); sentencing 
under Vehicle Code section 42005(a); or any 
other purpose permitted by law.” 
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