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DATE: October 25, 2004 
 
SUBJECT: Small Claims: Proof of Service of Claim and Order (Code Civ. Proc., 

§ 116.340) (Action Required)       
 
Issue Statement 
A uniform statewide procedure requiring small claims plaintiffs to file proof of service of 
the claim several days before the hearing would help courts manage their small claims 
trial calendars and avoid confusion for parties who file small claims actions in multiple 
courts around the state. 
 
Recommendation 
The Policy Coordination and Liaison Committee and the Civil and Small Claims 
Advisory Committee recommend that the Judicial Council sponsor legislation to require 
that proof of service of a small claim and notice of hearing be filed with the small claims 
court at least five days before the hearing. 
 
The text of the proposed legislation is attached at pages 3–4. 
 
Rationale for Recommendation 
Some courts have established a local policy requiring small claims plaintiffs to file proof 
of service of the claim several days before the hearing.  This helps the court manage its



 trial calendar and prepare for cases that will, in fact, go to trial.  Because the small 
claims defendant does not file a responsive pleading but instead is directed to appear in 
court on the date of trial, small claims courts do not have any other method to determine 
which of the scheduled cases may actually go to trial. 
 
The committee circulated an invitation to comment on proposed legislation that would 
require a small claims plaintiff to file proof of service with the small claims court at least 
three days before the hearing. 
 
Alternative Actions Considered 
Although the procedure could be left unchanged, parties may be misled by small claims 
proof of service filing requirements that differ from court to court. 
 
Comments From Interested Parties  
Three comments were received on the issue of time for Filing Proof of Service.  Two of 
these — one on behalf of several court managers — suggested that proof of service 
should be filed sooner than three days before the hearing.  One of the commentators 
proposed at least seven days before the hearing, and the other proposed at least five.  The 
committee changed the recommended deadline to five days before the hearing.  A five-
day filing requirement would mesh with the committee’s other legislative proposal — 
that the hearing date be scheduled 20 to 70 days after service of the claim.  For an in-
county defendant, the claim must be served at least 15 days before the hearing.  Five days 
would be added for filing proof of service with the court, which would bring to 20 the 
total number of days from service to hearing. 
 
A chart of the comments and the committee’s responses is attached at pages 5–6.  
Comments related to a withdrawn proposal have been deleted. 
 
Implementation Requirements and Costs 
The Judicial Council form Proof of Service (Small Claims) (form SC-104) would 
continue to be filed and would not need to be amended should the proposed legislation be 
enacted.  However, the Judicial Council small claims form SC-150, Information for the 
Small Claims Plaintiff, and the California Courts Online Self-Help Center would be 
updated to reflect the revised statute.  Other publications, including the California Judges’ 
Benchbook Small Claims Court and Consumer Law, would also be updated. 
 
Attachments 
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Code of Civil Procedure section 116.340 would be amended to read: 
 
§ 116.340 1 
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(a) Service of the claim and order on the defendant may be 

made by any one of the following methods: 
 
(1) The clerk may cause a copy of the claim and order to be mailed 

to the defendant by any form of mail providing for a return receipt. 
 
(2) The plaintiff may cause a copy of the claim and order to be 

delivered to the defendant in person. 
 
(3) The plaintiff may cause service of a copy of the claim and 

order to be made by substituted service as provided in subdivision 
(a) or (b) of Section 415.20 without the need to attempt personal 
service on the defendant.  For these purposes, substituted service as 
provided in subdivision (b) of Section 415.20 may be made at the 
office of the sheriff or marshal who shall deliver a copy of the 
claim and order to any person authorized by the defendant to receive 
service, as provided in Section 416.90, who is at least 18 years of 
age, and thereafter mailing a copy of the claim and order to the 
defendant’s usual mailing address. 

 
(4) The clerk may cause a copy of the claim to be mailed, the order to be 

issued, and a copy of the order to be mailed as provided in subdivision (b) 
of Section 116.330. 

 
(b) Proof of service of the claim and order must be filed with the small claims court at 27 

least five days before the hearing.28 
29  

(b) (c)  Service of the claim and order on the defendant shall be 30 
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completed at least 15 days before the hearing date if the defendant 
resides within the county in which the action is filed, or at least 
20 days before the hearing date if the defendant resides outside the 
county in which the action is filed. 

 
(c) (d)  Service by the methods described in subdivision (a) shall be 36 
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deemed complete on the date that the defendant signs the mail return 
receipt, on the date of the personal service, as provided in Section 
415.20, or as established by other competent evidence, whichever 
applies to the method of service used. 
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(d) (e)  Service shall be made within this state, except as provided in 1 
subdivisions (e) (f) and (f) (g). 2 

3  
(e) (f)  The owner of record of real property in California who resides 4 

5 
6 
7 
8 

in another state and who has no lawfully designated agent in 
California for service of process may be served by any of the methods 
described in this section if the claim relates to that property. 

 
(f) (g)  A nonresident owner or operator of a motor vehicle involved in 9 
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an accident within this state may be served pursuant to the 
provisions on constructive service in Sections 17450 to 17461, 
inclusive, of the Vehicle Code without regard to whether the 
defendant was a nonresident at the time of the accident or when the 
claim was filed.  Service shall be made by serving both the Director 
of the California Department of Motor Vehicles and the defendant, and 
may be made by any of the methods authorized by this chapter or by 
registered mail as authorized by Section 17454 or 17455 of the 
Vehicle Code. 

 
(g) (h)  If an action is filed against a principal and his or her 20 
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guaranty or surety pursuant to a guarantor or suretyship agreement, a 
reasonable attempt shall be made to complete service on the 
principal.  If service is not completed on the principal, the action 
shall be transferred to the court of appropriate jurisdiction. 
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Small Claims:  Service of Claim and Order 
(amend Code Civ. Proc., §116.340)* 

 

 Commentator     Position Comment
on behalf 
of group? 

Comment Committee Response

1.      
2.      
3.      
4.      
5.      
6. Mr. Stephen V. Love 

Executive Officer 
Superior Court of San Diego 
County 

AM Y The following comments were received from our 
court managers: 
1.  On section number 3 – it is recommended that the 
plaintiff file the proof of service of the claim and 
notice with the court at least seven days before the 
hearing (not three).  With the extra time that is being 
given in the new setting guidelines, there is more 
than enough time for the plaintiff to return the proof 
of service to the court. 

 

   
 
The committee recommends a compromise 
of five days for filing proof of service.  See 
comments 8, 13, and 14.   
 

7.      
8. Ms. Patti Morua-Widdows 

Court Program Manager 
Superior Court of Ventura 
County 

AM N CCP116.340B), Proof of service should be filed 5 
days before the hearing instead of 3. 
 
 

Agree.  See revised proposal.  See also 
comments 13 and 14. 

9.      
10. Sharon Ngim 

Staff Liasion to the Standing 
Committee on the Delivery of 
Legal Services 
San Francisco, California 

A Y We support . . . . . .requiring proof of service with the 
signed receipt to be filed with the court no later than 
the third day before the hearing, . . . . .  

The committee recommends a compromise 
of five days for filing proof of service.  See 
comments 8, 13, and 14.  

Position:  A = Agree; AM = Agree only if modified; N = Do not agree. 
*Only comments addressing the time for filing proof of service have been retained. Comments concerning an unrelated and withdrawn proposal have been deleted. 
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Small Claims:  Service of Claim and Order 
(amend Code Civ. Proc., §116.340)* 

 

 
 Commentator     Position Comment

on behalf 
of group? 

Comment Committee Response

11.      
12. Ms. Tina Rasnow 

SHLA Center Coordinator 
Ventura County Superior 
Court 
Ventura, California 

AM  N I support . . . . . to require proof of service with the 
signed receipt to be filed with the court no later than 
the third day before the hearing, . . . . .  

The committee recommends a compromise 
of five days for filing proof of service.  See 
comments 8, 13, and 14. 

13. Mr. Scott Reep 
Small Claims Advisor 
Contra Costs County Superior 
Court 
Benicia, California 

 N Require filing of POS at least 5 days before the 
hearing. 

Agree.  See revised proposal. 

14. Ms. Susan Sheehan 
Small Claims Advisor 
Sonoma County Legal Aid 
Santa Rosa, California 

AM N Proof of service filed at least 5 days before the 
hearing. 

Agree.  See revised proposal. 

15.      
16.      
17.      

Position:  A = Agree; AM = Agree only if modified; N = Do not agree. 
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