CHAPTER 7
WHAT YOU CAN DO AFTER THE
COURT FILES ITS OPINION

After an opinion has been issued, there are a number of steps you
can take asking the Court of Appeal and/or the Supreme Court to
reexamine the case. This chapter discusses some of those options,
including, how to file a Petition for Rehearing at the Court of Appeal
and a Petition for Review in the Supreme Court of California. In
addition, this chapter explains how the issuance of a remittitur marks
the end of an appeal.

Petition for Rehearing

After the opinion in the appeal is filed, a party may file a Petition
for Rehearing (See Petition for Rehearing) in the Court of Appeal. (CRC,
rule 8.268.) The petition for rehearing provides the party that has “lost”
at the Court of Appeal with an opportunity to point out any factual
errors, misstatements, or omissions that the Court of Appeal may have
made in their opinion. There is an automatic right to rehearing if the
Court of Appeal makes a decision based on an issue that was not
proposed or briefed by any party. (Government Code section 68081.)
One does not need to petition for rehearing in the Court of Appeal
before seeking review in the Supreme Court. However, as a policy, the
Supreme Court accepts the statement of facts and issues as set out in
the Court of Appeal opinion unless any alleged omission or
misstatement of fact was brought to the Court of Appeal’s attention by a
petition for rehearing. (CRC, rule 8.500(c)(2).)

The Petition for Rehearing must be served and filed within 15
days of the filing of the opinion, the order for publication or the
modification of the opinion if it changes the judgment. No opposition to
the petition may be filed unless requested by the court. If the Court
does not rule on a petition for rehearing it will be deemed denied “by
operation of law” (that is, automatically without any order of any kind

from the court). (CRC, rule 8.268(b) and (c).)
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The petition should not merely repeat information and argument
that was covered by the appeal. Instead, it should focus on specific
errors or contradictions in the opinion.

Normally the court does not consider points or issues being raised
for the first time on rehearing, with two exceptions: when you are
arguing the superior court or the Court of Appeal did not have the
power (jurisdiction) to handle the case, or when the Court of Appeal, in
an exercise of its discretion, agrees to consider new materials (such as a
new case) that were not included earlier.

Generally, the petition for rehearing should be directed at errors
in the opinion: a major misstatement of fact, an error of law, major law
or facts that were left out, and/or an important argument that was not
included.

The petition for rehearing must be bound with orange covers. The
original and four copies should be filed with the Court of Appeal
(CRC, rule 8.44(b)) along with Proof of Service on all parties
(CRC, rule 8.25(a)); one copy should go to the superior court (CRC, rule
8.212(c)(1)), and one electronic or four paper copies to the Supreme
Court. (CRC, rule 8.212(c)(2).) The Court of Appeal has jurisdiction
(power to make rulings in the case) for 30 days from the date the
opinion was filed or a request for publication was granted or an
opinion was modified that changed the judgment. (CRC, rules 8.264(b)
and 8.268(b).)

Review in the California Supreme Court

The Court of Appeal’s decision becomes final 30 days after
the filing of its opinion or the grant of publication or modification of
the opinion with a change in judgment. A modification stating it
does not change the judgment does not add time to the usual 30 days
from filing of the opinion. (CRC, rule 8.264(c)(2).) A petition for
review in the California Supreme Court must be filed within 10
days after the decision becomes final. The first day starts with the
31st day. Thus, if the Court of Appeal’s decision becomes final on a
Friday, then Saturday and Sunday are days 1 and 2 of this 10-day
period during which the petition for review must be filed. (CRC, rule
8.500(e).)
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At the beginning of the petition you should start with a brief
statement of the issues to be presented, with an explanation why this
case 1s one the Supreme Court should take for review. (CRC, rule
8.504(b).) If produced on a computer, the petition may not exceed 8,400
words or 30 pages if typewritten and must contain a certificate of
compliance. The maximum length does not include exhibits and the
copy of the Court of Appeal opinion that must be included. (CRC, rule
8.504(b)-(e).) Petitions for Review should have white covers, while
Answer to Petitions for Review should have blue covers. An original and
13 paper copies or 8 paper copies and one electronic copy must be filed
in the Supreme Court. (CRC, rules 8.40 (b)(1) and 8.44(a).) A proof of
service must be attached to the original and all copies showing service
on the division of the Court of Appeal which decided the case, all
parties, and the trial judge.

An answer 1s not required unless the party opposing review wants
to add an issue. An answer should be filed within 20 days after the
petition is filed. (CRC, rules 8.500(a)(2), (e)(4) and (f).)

If the Supreme Court grants review, it may put off action while
awaiting disposition of another case, or specify issues that are to be
briefed. (CRC, rules 8.512(d)(2) and 8.516(a).) Within 30 days the
petitioner must file an opening brief or the same brief it filed in the
Court of Appeal. The opposing party then has 30 days to file an answer
or a copy of the brief filed in the Court of Appeal. A reply brief, if filed,
is due within 20 days. (CRC, rule 8.520.)

The Second District Court of Appeal does not accept Supreme
Court filings. Filings must be made directly with the California
Supreme Court at 350 McAllister St., San Francisco, CA, 94102. For
further information concerning the California Supreme Court, call (415)
865-7000 or go to their website at
www.courts.ca.gov/supremecourt.

Review by the California Supreme Court is extremely rare. Unlike
the Court of Appeal, the Supreme Court is not required to hear all
cases filed before it. The review process allows the Supreme Court to
choose the cases it wants to hear. Generally, the granting of review is
limited to cases that present issues that have never come before the
courts before (issues of first impression), or that have an effect on large
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portion of the California population, or that have conflicting opinions in
the various Courts of Appeal throughout the state. While it is possible
that the Supreme Court will choose to review your case if you apply for
review, you should not expect that they will hear it. Only about 5% or
fewer of petitions for review are granted each year.8

The Remittitur

The remittitur signals the end of the case. It is a document that
says the review of the case i1s final and transfers the power of the
reviewing courts (Court of Appeal and Supreme Court) back to the
superior court so the superior court can follow up on what, if anything,

still needs to be done to carry out the decision made by the reviewing
courts. (CRC, rule 8.272.)

If no petition for review i1s filed in the Supreme Court, the
remittitur is issued 61 days after the filing of the opinion in the Court
of Appeal (unless a request for publication was granted or there was a
modification of the opinion resulting in a change in the judgment, in
which cases the time is more than 61 days). At that time, the
case becomes “final” in the reviewing courts. (CRC, rules 8.264(b)
and 8.272(b).)

If the opinion said you were entitled to costs on appeal, you must
file a memorandum of costs in the superior court within 40 days of the
mailing of a copy of the remittitur. (CRC, rule 8.278(c).) Among other
things, this memorandum lists all the costs you are asking the court
reimburse.

8 The Supreme Court of California, “Internal Operating Practices and Procedures of the
California Supreme Court,” 2007.
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PROOF OF SERVICE (COURT OF APPEAL)

Each document you prepare must be served on all counsel and self-
represented parties in your case before filing in the Court of Appeal.

A Proof of Service form is available online in PDF format and may be filled out
electronically for free at www.courts.ca.gov/2dca. Click Forms & Local Rules, then
click Proof of Service (2DCA-15).

All documents must be served on all attorneys of record and any self-
represented parties. If the document is a brief, you must also serve one copy
on the Superior Court and the California Supreme Court. If the document
is a petition, you must serve a copy on any public officer or agency
required to be served by CRC rule 8.29.

The document must be served by mail, email or hand-delivered (personal
service) by someone who is over the age of 18, not a party to the appeal, and a
resident of the county where the service occurred. The person doing the service
must complete the Proof of Service and attach a copy to each copy of the document.
Before filing the document with the court, the person doing the service must mail,
email or personally deliver a copy of the document to each person listed on the Proof
of Service. The original document cannot be filed with the court until
service has been completed. After service is complete, the original signed Proof
of Service should be attached to the original document and sent to the court for
filing.

Filling in the form:

In the first box, enter the Case Name, Court of Appeal Case Number and
Superior Court Case Number.

Section 2.
Check either the residence or business box and enter the address of the
person who is serving the document.

Section 3.
Enter the name of the document being served. For example, Appellant’s
Opening Brief.
Check box a, bor ¢

Enter the date the document was served

Proof of Service
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Subsection (1)

Enter the name of the person served. If they are an attorney and represent
a party, enter the name of the party they represent.

Enter the address or email address where the document was sent

Make sure all parties being served are listed.

Section 4.

Enter the City and State where the document was served. Check the box if a
second page is used to list people served.

At the bottom, enter the date, type or print the name of the person doing the
service and have them sign the form.

If additional addresses are on page 2, enter the case name and case numbers at
the top.

An original Proof of Service must be attached to every
original document filed with the court. A copy of the
Proof of Service must be attached to every document
served on all counsel and self-represented parties.

Proof of Service
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PROOF OF SERVICE (Court of Appeal)
Mail, Electronic Service or Personal Service

Case Name:
Court of Appeal Case Number:

Superior Court Case Number:

1. Atthe time of service | was at least 18 years of age and not a party to this legal action.

2. My D residence D business address is (specify):

My electronic service address is:

3. I mailed, electronically served or personally delivered a copy of the
as indicated below (complete either a, b or c):

a. D Mail. | mailed a copy of the document identified above as follows:

b. D Electronic service. | electronically served a copy of the document identified above as follows:

C. D Personal delivery. | personally delivered a copy of the document identified above as follows:

Date mailed, electronically served or personally served:

(1) Name of Person served:

On behalf of (name or names of parties represented, if person served is an attorney):

(a) Address:

(b) E-Mail Address:

(2) Name of Person served:

On behalf of (name or names of parties represented, if person served is an attorney):

(@) Address:

(b) E-Mail Address:

(3) Name of Person served:
On behalf of (name or names of parties represented, if person served is an attorney):

(@) Address:

(b) E-Mail Address:
4. | am aresident of or employed in the county where the mailing occurred. The document was served from
(city and state):

D Additional persons served are listed on the attached page (See page 3).

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Date:

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME OF PERSON COMPLETING THIS FORM) (SIGNATURE OF PERSON COMPLETING THIS FORM)
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Case Name:
Court of Appeal Case Number:
Superior Court Case Number:

(4) Name of Person served:

On behalf of (name or names of parties represented, if person served is an attorney):

(@) Address:

(b) E-Mail Address:

(5) Name of Person served:
On behalf of (name or names of parties represented, if person served is an attorney):

(a) Address:

(b) E-Mail Address:

(6) Name of Person served:

On behalf of (name or names of parties represented, if person served is an attorney):

(a) Address:

(b) E-Mail Address:

(7) Name of Person served:

On behalf of (name or names of parties represented, if person served is an attorney):

(@) Address:

(b) E-Mail Address:

(8) Name of Person served:

On behalf of (name or names of parties represented, if person served is an attorney):

(a) Address:

(b) E-Mail Address:
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PETITION FOR REHEARING

After the opinion has been filed in your case, or a request for publication
granted or modification of opinion changing judgment, you have 15 days to ask
the Court of Appeal for a rehearing. You ask for a rehearing if you feel that the
opinion misstates the facts, has an error of law, has a significant omission in the
facts or law or failed to consider an important argument. There is an automatic
right to rehearing if the Court of Appeal makes a decision based on an issue that

was not proposed or briefed by any party. (Government Code section 68081.)

Color Cover: Orange

File: Original plus 3 copies (provide an extra copy to be file-stamped for your
file) and one electronic copy (see Local Rule 7 and Appendix 7) with
the Court of Appeal.

Serve: California Supreme Court
Superior Court
All parties

Petition for Rehearing
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(Court of Appeal case number)

COURT OF APPEAL, SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT
DIVISION
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

(Plaintiff's name from lower court caption), (Court of Appeal case number)
Plaintiff and (Appellant or Respondent), (Superior Court No.
V.

(Defendant’s name from lower court caption),

Defendant and (Appellant or
Respondent).

Appeal from the Superior Court of (county) County
Honorable (Superior Court Judge’s name), Judge

PETITION FOR REHEARING

(Your Name)

(Your Address)

(City, State and ZIP)
(Your Telephone Number)
Self-Represented

Petition for Rehearing





(Court of Appeal case number)

COURT OF APPEAL, SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT
DIVISION
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

(Plaintiff’s name from lower court caption), (Court of Appeal case number)

Plaintiff and (Appellant or Respondent), (Superior Court No.

(Defendant’s name from lower court caption),

Defendant and (Appellant or
Respondent).

(Appellant or Respondent), (enter your name), seeks rehearing of the court’s
opinion in the above case filed on (date opinion was filed). The rehearing is

necessary because (explain why you think there should be a rehearing).

(arguments in support of your reason why there should be a rehearing)

Petition for Rehearing





CONCLUSION

Petitioner requests that rehearing be granted and that the court (affirm,

reverse or modify) the judgment.

Dated: Respectfully Submitted,

Signature

Type or Print Name

Petition for Rehearing





CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE

Pursuant to rule 8.204(c) of the California Rules of Court, I hereby certify
that this brief contains words, including footnotes. In making this

certification, I have relied on the word count of the computer program used to

prepare the brief.

By

(Your Signature)

An original Proof of Service must be attached to every
original document filed with the court. A copy of the
Proof of Service must be attached to every document
served on all counsel and self-represented parties.
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