
What is “child custody”?
There are two types.
• Physical custody: Whom the child lives with
• Legal custody:  Who makes important decisions 

regarding the child’s health care, education, and 
welfare

What is “domestic violence”?
It means to hit, kick, scare, throw things, pull hair, 
push, follow, harass, sexually assault, or threaten to 
do any of these things. It also includes other actions 
that make someone afraid of being hurt. Domestic 
violence can be spoken, written, or physical.

How does the judge decide if there is 
domestic violence in my case?
The judge will treat your case as a domestic violence 
case if, in the last 5 years,
• A parent was convicted of domestic violence 

against the other parent or
• Any court has decided that one parent committed 

domestic violence against the other parent or the 
children

Otherwise, the judge will decide based on all the 
evidence in your case. The judge cannot decide 
based only on the conclusions or recommendations 
of Family Court Services staff or a child custody 
evaluator.

What if the judge decides there is 
domestic violence in my case?
If a court decides there is domestic violence (now or 
in the past 5 years) against a parent or the children, 
the judge must follow special rules to decide custody 
of the children.

Usually, the judge cannot give custody to the person cannot give custody to the person cannot
who committed domestic violence. But the judge 
can give that person visitation.

Domestic Violence and Child Custody

Are there exceptions?
Yes. The judge can give custody to the person who 
committed the domestic violence. To do so, the 
judge must consider whether:
• It is best for the child
• The person has:
   – Completed a 52-week batterer’s program
   – Not committed any other domestic violence
• The person has obeyed court orders to:
   – Complete an alcohol or drug abuse program or 

a parenting class
   – Follow all terms of probation or parole or a 

protective or restraining order

This law applies to any person seeking custody, not 
only a parent. To read the law, see California Family 
Code section 3044 (attached). Other laws also apply.

Need Help?
For more information, contact:

California Courts Online Self-Help Center: www.courtinfo.ca.gov/selfhelp/
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If you are involved in a family law case involving children and there has been
domestic violence, here is important information about a law that affects you.

 



(a) Upon a finding by the court that a party seeking 
cus to dy of a child has perpetrated domestic violence 
against the other party seeking custody of the child 
or against the child or the child’s siblings within the 
pre vi ous five years, there is a rebuttable presumption 
that an award of sole or joint physical or legal cus to dy 
of a child to a person who has perpetrated domestic 
violence is detrimental to the best interest of the child, 
pursuant to Section 3011. This pre sump tion may only 
be rebutted by a preponderance of the evidence.

(b) In determining whether the presumption set forth 
in subdivision (a) has been overcome, the court shall 
con sid er all of the following factors:

   (1) Whether the perpetrator of do mes tic vi o lence 
has demonstrated that giving sole or joint physical 
or legal custody of a child to the per pe tra tor is in 
the best in ter est of the child. In de ter min ing the best 
in ter est of the child, the pref er ence for frequent and 
continuing contact with both parents, as set forth 
in subdivision (b) of Section 3020, or with the non -
cus to di al parent, as set forth in paragraph (1) of 
subdivision (a) of Section 3040, may not be used to 
rebut the presumption, in whole or in part.

   (2) Whether the perpetrator has suc cess ful ly com-
 plet ed a batterer’s treatment pro gram that meets 
the criteria outlined in subdivision (c) of Sec tion 
1203.097 of the Penal Code.

   (3) Whether the perpetrator has suc cess ful ly com-
 plet ed a program of alcohol or drug abuse coun-
 sel ing if the court determines that coun sel ing is 
appropriate.

   (4) Whether the perpetrator has suc cess ful ly com-
 plet ed a parenting class if the court determines the 
class to be appropriate.

   (5) Whether the perpetrator is on pro ba tion or 
 pa role, and whether he or she has com plied with 
the terms and conditions of probation or parole.

   (6) Whether the perpetrator is re strained by a pro-
 tec tive order or restraining order, and whether he or 
she has complied with its terms and con di tions.

   (7) Whether the perpetrator of do mes tic vi o lence has 
committed any further acts of domestic vi o lence.

(c) For purposes of this section, a person has “per pe -
trat ed domestic violence” when he or she is found by 
the court to have intentionally or recklessly caused or 
attempted to cause bodily injury, or sexual assault, or 
to have placed a person in reasonable ap pre hen sion 
of imminent serious bodily injury to that person or to 
another, or to have en gaged in any be hav ior involv-
ing, but not limited to, threat en ing, striking, harassing, 
destroying personal prop er ty or disturbing the peace of 
another, for which a court may issue an ex parte order 
pursuant to Section 6320 to protect the other party 
seeking custody of the child or to protect the child and 
the child’s siblings.

(d) (1) For purposes of this section, the re quire ment of 
a finding by the court shall be sat is fied by, among 
other things, and not limited to, evidence that a party 
seeking custody has been convicted with in the pre-
 vi ous five years, after a trial or a plea of guilty or no 
contest, of any crime against the other party that 
comes within the definition of domestic vi o lence 
con tained in Section 6211 and of abuse contained 
in Section 6203, in clud ing, but not lim it ed to, a 
crime described in subdivision (e) of Section 243 
of, or Sec tion 261, 262, 273.5, 422, or 646.9 of, 
the Penal Code.

   (2) The requirement of a finding by the court shall 
also be satisfied if any court, whether that court 
hears or has heard the child custody pro ceed ings 
or not, has made a finding pursuant to subdivision 
(a) based on conduct occurring within the previous 
five years.

(e) When a court makes a finding that a party has per-
 pe trat ed domestic violence, the court may not base its 
findings solely on conclusions reached by a child cus-
tody evaluator or on the recommendation of the Family 
Court Services staff, but shall consider any relevant, 
admissible evidence submitted by the par ties.

(f) In any custody or restraining order pro ceed ing in 
which a party has alleged that the other party has per-
 pe trat ed do mes tic violence in ac cor dance with the 
terms of this section, the court shall inform the par ties 
of the existence of this section and shall give them a 
copy of this section prior to any custody mediation in 
the case.
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