

JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF CALIFORNIA • ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF THE COURTS Office of Communications, 455 Golden Gate Ave., San Francisco, CA 94102-3688 California Courts Infoline 800-900-5980 • www.courts.ca.gov

NEWS RELEASE OC 23-11 Contact: Philip R. Carrizosa, 415-865-8044 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 29, 2011

Chief Justice Names Strategic Evaluation Committee Members

Committee will conduct in-depth review of AOC

SAN FRANCISCO–Chief Justice Tani Cantil-Sakauye today named the members of the Strategic Evaluation Committee to conduct an in-depth review of the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) and its organizational structure to promote transparency, accountability, efficiency in providing services to the courts.

"AOC staff members have performed admirably in a difficult and rapidly changing environment in recent years," the Chief Justice said in announcing the initiative. "However, severe budget constraints and shifting priorities make it necessary to review all aspects of the AOC to help reset goals and focus on core services to the courts."

The new committee will make findings and recommendations to improve the efficiency of the AOC to the Judicial Council via the Council's Advisory Committee on Financial Accountability and Efficiency.

The committee is comprised of retired and sitting justices and judges and others from outside the branch. Representatives from the trial courts come from large courts such as Los Angeles, medium-sized courts such as Merced and small courts, such as El Dorado.

Named to head the 14-member committee is retired Administrative Presiding Justice Arthur Scotland of the Third Appellate District Court of Appeal in Sacramento. Justice Scotland retired from the appeal court late last year and is very familiar with the operations of the AOC, having served on the Judicial Council from 1994 to 1999.

In addition to the committee members, the Chief Justice named four advisory members who have served in the executive branch of California government or administered a state court system. A complete list of members is attached.

###

The Judicial Council is the policymaking body of the California courts, the largest court system in the nation. Under the leadership of the Chief Justice and in accordance with the California Constitution, the council is responsible for ensuring the consistent, independent, impartial, and accessible administration of justice. The Administrative Office of the Courts carries out the official actions of the council and promotes leadership and excellence in court administration.

Strategic Evaluation Committee (SEC)

As of March 2011

Hon. Arthur Scotland (Retired), Chair

Administrative Presiding Justice of the Court of Appeal, Third Appellate District

Hon. Verna A. Adams Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of Marin

Hon. Angela M. Bradstreet Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of San Francisco

Hon. Judith Chirlin (Retired) Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of Los Angeles

Hon. Ronald M. Christianson Assistant Presiding Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of San Bernardino

Hon. Sherrill A. Ellsworth Presiding Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of Riverside

Hon. Ramona Joyce Garrett Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of Solano

Hon. Suzanne N. Kingsbury Presiding Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of El Dorado

Hon. Brian L. McCabe Presiding Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of Merced

Hon. William A. MacLaughlin Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of Los Angeles

Hon. William Pangman (Retired) Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of Sierra

Hon. Donald Shaver (Retired) Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of Stanislaus Hon. Richard K. Sueyoshi Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of Sacramento

Hon. Charles D. Wachob Assistant Presiding Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of Placer

ADVISORY MEMBERS

Mr. David Caffrey (Retired) Cabinet Secretary, Deukmejian Administration Deputy Chief of Staff, Wilson Administration

Ms. Diane Cummins (Retired)

Chief Fiscal Policy Advisor to Senate Pro Tem Chief Deputy Director of Finance, Wilson Administration

Ms. Mary C. McQueen President, National Center for State Courts

Mr. James Tilton (Retired) Secretary, California Department of Corrections

AOC LEAD COMMITTEE STAFF

Ms. Jody Patel, Liaison to Chair and SEC Regional Administrative Director Northern/Central Regional Office Administrative Office of the Courts

AOC STAFF TO THE COMMITTEE

Ms. Sheila Calabro Regional Administrative Director Southern Regional Office Administrative Office of the Courts

Ms. Christine Patton Regional Administrative Director Bay Area/Northern Coastal Regional Office Administrative Office of the Courts