

JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF CALIFORNIA

455 Golden Gate Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102-3688 Tel 415-865-4200 TDD 415-865-4272 Fax 415-865-4205 www.courts.ca.gov

HON. TANI G. CANTIL-SAKAUYE Chief Justice of California Chair of the Judicial Council

MR. MARTIN HOSHINO Administrative Director, Judicial Council

COURT TECHNOLOGY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

HON. TERENCE L. BRUINIERS Chair

HON. ROBERT B. FREEDMAN Vice-chair

Hon. Jeffrey B. Barton Hon. Joan Buchanan

Hon. Kyle S. Brodie

Mr. Jake Chatters

Mr. Brian Cotta

Hon. Julie R. Culver

Ms. Dorothy Glancy

Hon. Sheila F. Hanson

Hon. Hannah-Beth Jackson

Hon. Samantha P. Jessner

Hon. Louis R. Mauro

Hon. James M. Mize

Mr. Robert Oyung

Mr. Pat Patterson

Hon. Alan G. Perkins

Hon. Peter J. Siggins

Mr. Don Willenburg

Mr. David H. Yamaskai

Hon. Theodore C. Zayner

COMMITTEE STAFF Ms. Jamel Jones Tel 415-865-4629 Fax 415-865-4503 December 3, 2014

David H. Yamasaki Chief Executive Officer Superior Court of California County of Santa Clara 191 N. First Street San Jose, CA 95113

Re: Justice Partner Data Exchange Workstream

Dear David,

As we have discussed, the Court Technology Advisory Committee (CTAC) will sponsor, in cooperation with the Judicial Council Technology Committee (JCTC) and as part of its annual agenda, a collaborative workstream to develop and help implement standardized data exchanges between our various court case management systems (CMS) and our state-level justice partners. Thank you for your willingness to serve as Project Sponsor for this important effort.

The Workstream will examine existing and potential statewide exchanges and interfaces for transfer of data between the courts and our respective state-level justice partners. More specifically, the Workstream will:

- Identify specific justice partners exchanges required and court interface needs;
- Establish standards for, and define where feasible, common exchange(s), consistent with national standards, and secure methods to share those exchanges for courts wishing to implement them;
- Work with CMS vendors to facilitate timely implementation of standardized exchanges where needed, consistent with existing court deployment schedules;
- Develop governance processes to ensure continuing development and maintenance of statewide data exchanges established, and to

maintain on-going communication and cooperation with our justice partners and CMS vendors in this effort.

The business and technical requirement for this project will be driven by direct input from trial courts, justice partners, CMS vendors, and Judicial Council IT staff. With the broad participation of all stakeholders, this effort can realize immediate benefits for courts, vendors, and justice partners. It will provide an opportunity to leverage existing solutions and technology and to implement modern national data exchange and security standards where appropriate.

The "spend-down" requirement imposed for trial court reserve funds has accelerated the purchase and deployment of new CMS, from multiple vendors, in courts across the state. We all recognize that the constricted timelines faced by the courts for implementation of new systems has created some urgency in completion of the work of the workstream. As we agreed, our target for production of at least initial deliverables will be on or before June 1, 2015.

We have also discussed the workstream membership, both inside and outside CTAC. The court IT community membership for the technology track will be:

Mr. Greg Harding Placer County
Ms. Jeanette Vannoy Napa County

Ms. Heather Petit Contra Costa County
Mr. Paras Gupta Monterey County
Mr. Dean Whitfield Tulare County
Mr. Snorri Ogata Los Angeles County
Mr. Alan Crouse San Bernardino County

Mr. Robert Oyung Santa Clara County (CTAC member)

Mr. Curt Stewart Sacramento County

In addition to yourself, the judicial officer/court executive membership for the policy/governance track will be:

Hon. Robert Freedman

Hon. Gary Nadler

Hon. Sheila Hanson

Mr. Jake Chatters

Mr. Pat Patterson

Alameda County (CTAC Vice-Chair)

Sonoma County (JCTC member)

Orange County (CTAC member)

Placer County (CEO/CTAC member)

Ventura County (CIO/CTAC member)

December 3, 2014 Page 3

The Information Technology Office (ITO) has designated Mr. Neil Payne as primary staff support, and Ms. Jamel Jones can provide additional assistance if needed.

If there are additional items that you feel need to be identified within the projected scope of work, or if you believe that additional membership is required for either track, please let me know. If there is any assistance or support that I can provide at any time, please call me. Thanks again for assuming this substantial workload.

Very Truly Yours,

Terence L. Bruiniers Chair, Court Technology Advisory Committee

cc: Hon. James Herman, Chair, Judicial Council Technology Committee
Hon. Robert Freedman, Vice-Chair, Court Technology Advisory Committee
Mr. Mark Dusman, Division Director, Information Technology, Administrative Division