EPO-002	LAW ENFORCEMENT CASE NUMBER:
1. RESTRAINED PERSON (insert name):	Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.
Address:	look dampe date here when ferm to med.
Gender: M F Nonbinary Ht.: Wt.: Hair color:	
Eye color: Race: Age: Date of birth:	
2. TO THE RESTRAINED PERSON	
(Also see important Warnings and Information on page 2): You are required to surrender all firearms, ammunition, and magazines that you	
own or possess in accordance with Section 18120 of the Penal Code and you	
may not have in your custody or control, own, purchase, possess, or receive, or	
attempt to purchase or receive, any firearm, ammunition, or magazine while this	
order is in effect. However a more permanent gun violence restraining order may be obtained from the court. You may seek the advice of an attorney as to any matter	
connected with the order. The attorney should be consulted promptly so that the	Fill in court name and street address:
attorney may assist you in any matter connected with the order.	Superior Court of California, County of
If you have any firearms (guns), firearm parts (receivers, frames, and any item	
that may be used as or easily turned into a receiver or frame), ammunition, or	
magazines, you MUST IMMEDIATELY SURRENDER (GIVE) THEM if asked by a police officer. If a police officer does not ask you to surrender the items, within 24 hours	
of getting this order, you must take them to a police station or a licensed gun dealer to	1
sell or store them and must file a receipt with the court proving that this has been done.	
You have 48 hours to file a receipt with the court shown to the right. If you do not file	Court fills in case number when form is filed.
a receipt within 48 hours you have violated this order and can go to jail.	Case Number:
3. This order will last until: Time INSERT DATE OF 21st CALENDAR DAY (DO NOT COUNT DAY THE ORDER IS GRANTED)	
4. Court Hearing A court hearing will be set within 21 days.A court hearing will take place at the court above on: Date:	Time/Dept:
You must attend the court hearing if you do not want this restraining order against	
remotely (check your court's website for instructions). At the hearing, the judge car 5. Reasonable grounds for the issuance of this order exist, and a Gun Violence Emergency the Restrained Person poses an immediate danger of causing personal injury to themse owning, purchasing, possessing, or receiving any firearms, firearm parts, ammunition, or	y Protective Order (1) is necessary because If or to another by having custody or control, r magazines; and (2) less restrictive
alternatives were ineffective or have been determined to be inadequate or inappropriate	
6. Judicial officer (name): granted this order on	(date): at (time):
7. Officer has a reasonable cause to believe that the grounds set forth in item 5, above, e	vist (state supporting facts and dates)
specify weapons—number, type and location):	xist (state supporting facts and dates,
C	and discount of the state of th
8. Firearms (including parts) were observed reported physically se Ammunition (including magazines) was observed reported physically se	arched for seized. sically searched for seized.
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California th	-
r debiare ariasi perianty or perjury ariasi and arias or the etate or camerina an	at the fologoling to true and correct.
By: (PRINT NAME OF LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER) (SIGN	ATURE OF LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER)
Agency: Telephone No:	Badge No:
Address:	
PROOF OF SERVICE	
9. I personally delivered copies of this Order to the restrained person name in item 1.	
Date of service: Time of service: Address:	
10. At the time of service, I was at least 18 years of age.	
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoin	ng is true and correct.
Date:	
(TYPE OR PRINT NAME OF SERVER/LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER)	(SIGNATURE OF SERVER)

GUN VIOLENCE EMERGENCY PROTECTIVE ORDER WARNINGS AND INFORMATION

TO THE RESTRAINED PERSON: You are prohibited from owning, possessing, purchasing, receiving, or attempting to purchase or receive a firearm (gun), a firearm part (a receiver, frame, or any item that may be used as or easily turned into a receiver or frame), ammunition, or a magazine. (Pen. Code, §§ 16531 & 18125 et seq.) A violation of this order is a misdemeanor punishable by a \$1,000 fine or imprisonment for six months or both. (Pen. Code, §§ 19 & 18205.)

Within 24 hours of receipt of this order, you must turn in all items listed above to a law enforcement agency or sell them to or store them with a licensed firearms dealer until the expiration of this order. (Pen. Code, § 18125 et seq.) A receipt proving surrender, sale, or storage must be filed with the court within 48 hours of receipt of this order, or on the next court business day if the 48-hour period ends on a day when the court is closed. You must also file the receipt with the law enforcement agency that served you with this Order. You may use form GV-800, Receipt for Firearms, Firearm Parts, Ammunition, and Magazines.

This Gun Violence Emergency Protective Order is effective when made. It will last until the date and time in item 3 on the front. The court will hold a hearing within 21 days to determine if a longer-term order should be issued. If the date and time are not stated in item 4 on the front, you will get a notice with the date and time of the hearing in the mail at the residential address listed on page 1 of this form. If you would like to respond to this order in writing you must use form GV-020, Response to Gun Violence Emergency Protective Order. A longer-term restraining order may be requested from the court.

If you violate this order, you will also be prohibited from having in your custody or control, owning, purchasing, possessing, or receiving, or attempting to purchase or receive, a firearm (gun), firearm part (a receiver, frame, or any item that may be used as or easily turned into a receiver or frame), ammunition, or magazine for an additional five-year period, to begin on the expiration of the existing gun violence restraining order. (Pen. Code, §§ 16531 & 18205.)

This protective order must be enforced by all law enforcement officers in the state of California who are aware of it or shown a copy of it. The terms and conditions of this order remain enforceable regardless of the acts or any agreement of the parties; it may be changed only by order of the court.

A LA PERSONA RESTRINGIDA: Tiene prohibido ser dueño de, o poseer, comprar, recibir, o tratar de comprar o recibir un arma de fuego, un componente de armas de fuego (un receptor o armadura, o cualquier artículo que puede ser usado como receptor o armadura o fácilmente convertido en receptor o armadura), municiones o cargadores. (Cód. Penal, §§ 16531 & 18125 y siguientes). Una violación de esta orden es un delito menor que está sujeta a una multa de \$1000 o encarcelamiento de seis meses o ambos. (Cód. Penal, §§ 19 & 18205.)

Dentro de las 24 horas de recibir esta orden, tiene que entregar todos los artículos indicados arriba a una agencia del orden público o venderlos a un comerciante de armas autorizado, o almacenarlos con el mismo hasta el vencimiento de esta orden. (Cód. Penal, § 18125 y siguientes). Se tiene que presentar a la corte una prueba de haberlos entregado, vendido, o almacenado dentro de las 48 horas de recibir esta orden, o el próximo día hábil, si el periodo de 48 horas termina un día en que está cerrada la corte. También tiene que presentar el recibo a la agencia del orden público que le entregó esta Orden. Se puede usar el formulario GV-800, *Recibo por armas de fuego, componentes de armas de fuego, munciones, y cargadores*.

Esta orden de protección de emergencia de armas de fuego entra en vigencia en el momento en que se emite. Durará hasta la fecha y hora indicadas en el punto 3 de la primera página. Se realizará una audiencia dentro de 21 días para determinar si es necesario emitir una orden que dure por más tiempo. Si la fecha y la hora no se indican en el punto 4 de la primera página, recibirá un aviso con la fecha y la hora de la audiencia por correo a la dirección residencial indicada en la primera página. Si desea responder a esta orden por escrito, tiene que usar el formulario GV-020, *Respuesta a la orden de protección de emergencia de armas de fuego*. Se puede solicitar a la corte una orden de restricción a más largo plazo.

Si contraviene esta orden de restricción, se le prohibirá tener en su posesión o control, comprar, poseer o recibir, o tratar de comprar o recibir un arma de fuego, un componente de armas de fuego (un receptor o armadura, o cualquier artículo que puede ser usado como receptor o armadura o fácilmente convertido en receptor o armadura), municiones o cargadores por otro periodo de cinco años más, comenzando a partir del vencimiento de la orden de restricción de armas de fuego existente. (Cód. Penal, §§ 16531 & 18205.)

Todo agente del orden público del estado de California que tenga conocimiento de la orden o a quien se le muestre una copia de la misma tiene que hacer cumplir esta orden de protección. Los términos y condiciones de esta orden se podrán hacer cumplir independientemente de las acciones de las partes; solo la corte podrá cambiar esta orden.

To law enforcement: The Gun Violence Emergency Protective Order must be served on the restrained person by the officer if the restrained person can reasonably be located. Ask the restrained person if he or she has any firearms, firearm parts, ammunition, or magazines in his or her possession or under his or her custody or control. A copy must be filed with the court as soon as practicable, but not later than three court days, after issuance, so a hearing can be set, if one was not already scheduled. If the court did not give you a hearing date when issuing the order (to put in item 4 on the front), the court will set a hearing within 21 days and will provide you with notice of the hearing. Also, the officer must have the order entered into the computer database system for protective and restraining orders maintained by the Department of Justice.

The provisions in this temporary Gun Violence Emergency Protective Order do not affect those of any other protective or restraining order in effect, including a criminal protective order. The provisions in another existing protective order remain in effect.