

JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF CALIFORNIA

455 Golden Gate Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102-3688 Tel 415-865-4200 TDD 415-865-4272 Fax 415-865-4205 www.courts.ca.gov

HON. TANI G. CANTIL-SAKAUYE Chief Justice of California Chair of the Judicial Council

HON. MARSHA G. SLOUGH Chair, Executive and Planning Committee

HON. DAVID M. RUBIN Chair, Judicial Branch Budget Committee Chair, Litigation Management Committee

HON. MARLA O. ANDERSON Chair, Legislation Committee

HON. HARRY E. HULL, JR. Chair, Rules Committee

HON. KYLE S. BRODIE Chair, Technology Committee

Hon. Richard Bloom Hon. C. Todd Bottke Hon. Stacy Boulware Eurie Hon. Kevin C. Brazile Hon. Jonathan B. Conklin Hon. Carol A. Corrigan Hon. Samuel K. Feng Hon. Brad R. Hill Ms. Rachel W. Hill

Ms. Rachel W. Hill Hon. Harold W. Hopp Hon. Hannah-Beth Jackson Mr. Patrick M. Kelly Hon. Dalila Corral Lyons

Ms. Gretchen Nelson Mr. Maxwell V. Pritt

ADVISORY MEMBERS Hon. Thomas A. Delaney

Ms. Nancy CS Eberhardt Ms. Rebecca Fleming

Hon. Carin T. Fujisaki

Mr. Kevin Harrigan Hon. Joyce D. Hinrichs

Mr. Shawn C. Landry Hon. Glenn Mondo

Hon. Ann C. Moorman

MR. MARTIN HOSHINO Administrative Director Judicial Council December 31, 2020

Mr. Aaron Silva Chief Deputy Legislative Counsel State Capitol, Room 3021 Sacramento, California 95814

Ms. Erika Contreras Secretary of the Senate State Capitol, Room 400 Sacramento, California 95814

Ms. Sue Parker Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California 95814

Re: 2019–20 Court Facilities Trust Fund Expenditures, as required under Government Code section 70352(c)

Dear Mr. Silva, Ms. Contreras, and Ms. Parker:

Pursuant to Government Code section 70352(c), the Judicial Council is submitting the report on the actual expenditures of the Court Facilities Trust Fund for fiscal year 2019–20.

Government Code section 70352(b) states, "Money deposited in [the Court Facilities Trust Fund] and appropriated by the Legislature shall be administered by the Judicial Council for the operation, repair, and maintenance of court facilities and other purposes provided by statute." In 2019–20, the fund expended \$125.3 million for the purposes shown in the table below.

Mr. Aaron Silva Ms. Erika Contreras Ms. Sue Parker December 31, 2020 Page 2

Court Facilities Trust Fund Expenditures in 2019–20

Type of Expenditures	Total	
Insurance	1,183,409	
Communication	223,302	
Rent	10,084,625	
Routine Maintenance	60,616,190	
Utilities	52,880,055	
Other Items of Expense	323,696	
Total Expenditures	\$125,311,277	

No. of Court			No. of Court		
Superior	Facilities	2019–20	Superior	Facilities	2019–20
Court	Incurring	Expenditures	Court	Incurring	Expenditures
	Expenses			Expenses	
Alameda	9	4,767,976	Orange	10	8,220,282
Alpine*	0	-	Placer	4	1,417,040
Amador	1	313,311	Plumas	5	53,059
Butte	4	982,463	Riverside	14	3,986,268
Calaveras	1	326,322	Sacramento	9	7,813,593
Colusa	2	53,807	San Benito	1	394,397
Contra Costa	13	2,573,546	San Bernardino	16	5,617,526
Del Norte	2	146,372	San Diego	18	10,817,640
El Dorado	5	512,527	San Francisco	4	3,586,162
Fresno	8	3,516,080	San Joaquin	8	2,466,205
Glenn	2	201,172	San Luis Obispo	5	539,625
Humboldt	1	410,967	San Mateo	4	1,766,723
Imperial	4	338,392	Santa Barbara	14	1,342,425
Inyo	3	193,353	Santa Clara	10	4,975,359
Kern	17	1,894,885	Santa Cruz	6	842,738
Kings	2	1,013,616	Shasta	6	577,947
Lake	2	219,038	Sierra	1	15,401
Lassen	1	385,585	Siskiyou	2	383,269
Los Angeles	68	36,021,193	Solano	4	2,417,631
Madera	3	915,049	Sonoma	5	1,400,290
Marin*	0	-	Stanislaus	8	1,333,771
Mariposa*	0	-	Sutter	2	986,098
Mendocino	3	226,967	Tehama	2	422,976
Merced	4	847,377	Trinity*	1	15,195
Modoc	1	135,618	Tulare	8	3,182,601
Mono	2	190,784	Tuolumne*	0	-
Monterey	7	1,415,869	Ventura	3	931,773
Napa	3	642,381	Yolo	4	1,122,291
Nevada	3	303,114	Yuba	1	135,228
			Totals	346	\$125,311,277

^{*}Judicial Council is not financially responsible for facilities in this county. However, security equipment was provided to the Trinity court.

Mr. Aaron Silva Ms. Erika Contreras Ms. Sue Parker December 31, 2020 Page 3

Reports from previous fiscal years can be found on the California Courts website, "Legislative Reports" webpage at www.courts.ca.gov/7466.htm.

If you have any questions related to this report, please contact Zlatko Theodorovic, Budget Services Deputy Director at 916-263-1397 or zlatko.theodorovic@jud.ca.gov.

Sincerely,

Martin Hoshino

Administrative Director

Judicial Council

Mr. Aaron Silva Ms. Erika Contreras Ms. Sue Parker December 31, 2020 Page 4

Council

MH/ZT/lc

Eric Dang, Policy Consultant, Office of Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins Amy Alley, Policy Advisor, Office of Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins Alf Brandt, Senior Counsel, Office of Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon Gabrielle Zeps, Policy Consultant, Office of Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon Anita Lee, Principal Fiscal and Policy Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Gabriel Petek, Legislative Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Jessie Romine, Budget Analyst, Department of Finance Margie Estrada, Chief Counsel, Senate Judiciary Committee Mary Kennedy, Chief Counsel, Senate Public Safety Committee Christopher Francis, Consultant, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee Shaun Naidu, Consultant, Senate Appropriations Committee Hans Hemann, Principal Consultant, Joint Legislative Budget Committee Eric Csizmar, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Morgan Branch, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Matt Osterli, Consultant, Senate Republican Fiscal Office Alison Merrilees, Chief Counsel, Assembly Judiciary Committee Gregory Pagan, Chief Counsel, Assembly Public Safety Committee Jennifer Kim, Consultant, Assembly Budget Committee Jay Dickenson, Chief Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee Kimberly Horiuchi, Principal Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee Lyndsay Mitchell, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Gary Olson, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Daryl Thomas, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Amy Leach, Minute Clerk, Office of Assembly Chief Clerk Cory T. Jasperson, Director, Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council Zlatko Theodorovic, Deputy Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Fran Mueller, Deputy Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Yvette Casillas-Sarcos, Administrative Coordinator, Governmental Affairs, Judicial