

JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF CALIFORNIA

455 Golden Gate Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102-3688 Tel 415-865-4200 TDD 415-865-4272 Fax 415-865-4205 www.courts.ca.gov

HON. TANI G. CANTIL-SAKAUYE Chief Justice of California Chair of the Judicial Council

HON. MARSHA G. SLOUGH Chair, Executive and Planning Committee

HON. DAVID M. RUBIN Chair, Judicial Branch Budget Committee Chair, Litigation Management Committee

HON. MARLA O. ANDERSON Chair, Legislation Committee

HON. HARRY E. HULL, JR. Chair, Rules Committee

HON. KYLE S. BRODIE Chair, Technology Committee

Hon. Richard Bloom
Hon. C. Todd Bottke
Hon. Stacy Boulware Eurie
Hon. Kevin C. Brazile
Hon. Jonathan B. Conklin
Hon. Carol A. Corrigan
Hon. Samuel K. Feng
Mr. David D. Fu
Hon. Brad R. Hill
Ms. Rachel W. Hill
Hon. Harold W. Hopp
Hon. Dalila Corral Lyons
Ms. Gretchen Nelson

Mr. Maxwell V. Pritt

Hon. Thomas J. Umberg

ADVISORY MEMBERS
Hon. Rupert A. Byrdsong
Ms. Rebecca J. Fleming
Hon. Carin T. Fujisaki
Mr. Kevin Harrigan
Mr. Shawn C. Landry
Hon. Glenn Mondo
Hon. Ann C. Moorman
Hon. Theodore C. Zayner

MR. MARTIN HOSHINO Administrative Director Judicial Council October 1, 2021

Ms. Cara L. Jenkins Legislative Counsel State Capitol, Room 3021 Sacramento, California 95814

Ms. Erika Contreras Secretary of the Senate State Capitol, Room 400 Sacramento, California 95814

Ms. Sue Parker Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California 95814

Ms. Keely Bosler Director, Department of Finance State Capitol, Room 1145 Sacramento, California 95814

Re: Report of Allocation of the State-Level Reserve in the Trial Court Trust Fund in 2020–21, as required under Government Code section 68502.5(c)(2)(C)

Dear Ms. Jenkins, Ms. Contreras, Ms. Parker, and Ms. Bosler:

Pursuant to the requirements of Government Code section 68502.5(c)(2)(C), the Judicial Council is submitting this report on the requests and allocations of the state-level reserve in the Trial Court Trust Fund (TCTF).

Government Code section 68502.5(c)(2)(B) requires that the Judicial Council set aside funds in the TCTF that it can allocate to the trial courts for unforeseen emergencies, unanticipated expenses for existing

programs, or unavoidable funding shortfalls. The trial courts submitted no requests to the Judicial Council in 2020–21; therefore, no data is reported.

If you have any questions related to this report, please contact Ms. Fran Mueller, Deputy Director, Judicial Council Budget Services, at 916-263-5771.

Sincerely,

Martin Hoshino

Administrative Director

Judicial Council

MH/CW

cc: Eric Dang, Policy Consultant, Office of Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins Amy Alley, Policy Advisor, Office of Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins Alf Brandt, Senior Counsel, Office of Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon Gabrielle Zeps, Policy Consultant, Office of Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon Anita Lee, Principal Fiscal and Policy Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Gabriel Petek, Legislative Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Jessie Romine, Budget Analyst, Department of Finance Margie Estrada, Chief Counsel, Senate Judiciary Committee Mary Kennedy, Chief Counsel, Senate Public Safety Committee Christopher Francis, Consultant, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee Shaun Naidu, Consultant, Senate Appropriations Committee Hans Hemann, Principal Consultant, Joint Legislative Budget Committee Eric Csizmar, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Morgan Branch, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Matt Osterli, Consultant, Senate Republican Fiscal Office Alison Merrilees, Chief Counsel, Assembly Judiciary Committee Gregory Pagan, Chief Counsel, Assembly Public Safety Committee Jennifer Kim, Consultant, Assembly Budget Committee Jay Dickenson, Chief Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee Kimberly Horiuchi, Principal Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee Lyndsay Mitchell, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Gary Olson, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Daryl Thomas, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Amy Leach, Minute Clerk, Office of Assembly Chief Clerk Cory T. Jasperson, Director, Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council Fran Mueller, Deputy Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Zlatko Theodorovic, Deputy Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Brandy Olivera, Manager, Budget Services, Judicial Council Michele Allan, Supervisor, Budget Services, Judicial Council Jenniffer Herman, Administrative Coordinator, Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council