

JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF CALIFORNIA

455 Golden Gate Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102-3688 Tel 415-865-4200 TDD 415-865-4272 Fax 415-865-4205 www.courts.ca.gov

HON. TANI G. CANTIL-SAKAUYE Chief Justice of California Chair of the Judicial Council

HON. MARSHA G. SLOUGH Chair, Executive and Planning Committee

HON. DAVID M. RUBIN Chair, Judicial Branch Budget Committee Chair, Litigation Management Committee

HON. MARLA O. ANDERSON Chair, Legislation Committee

HON. CARIN T. FUJISAKI Chair, Rules Committee

HON. KYLE S. BRODIE Chair, Technology Committee

Hon. Maria Lucy Armendariz
Hon. Richard Bloom
Hon. C. Todd Bottke
Hon. Kevin C. Brazile
Hon. Jonathan B. Conklin
Hon. Carol A. Corrigan
Hon. Samuel K. Feng
Mr. David D. Fu
Hon. Brad R. Hill
Ms. Rachel W. Hill
Hon. Havold W. Hopp
Hon. Ann C. Moorman
Ms. Gretchen Nelson
Mr. Maxwell V. Pritt
Hon. Thomas I. Umberg

ADVISORY MEMBERS Hon. Judith K. Dulcich Ms. Rebecca J. Fleming Mr. Shawn C. Landry Hon. Kimberly Merrifield Hon. Glenn Mondo Hon. David Rosenberg Mr. David H. Yamasaki

MR. MARTIN HOSHINO Administrative Director Judicial Council December 31, 2022

Ms. Cara L. Jenkins Legislative Counsel 1021 O Street, Suite 3210 Sacramento, California 95814

Ms. Erika Contreras Secretary of the Senate State Capitol, Room 307 Sacramento, California 95814

Ms. Sue Parker Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 319 Sacramento, California 95814

Re: Report on Allocation of Funding in 2021–22 for Support of New Judgeships Authorized in 2007–08

Dear Ms. Jenkins, Ms. Contreras, and Ms. Parker:

Pursuant to provision 11 of item 0250-101-0932 of the Budget Act of 2007 (Stats. 2007, ch. 171), the Judicial Council is submitting the annual *Report on Allocation of Funding in 2021–22 for Support of New Judgeships Authorized in 2007–08*. This report details the continuous allocations of funding for support of new judgeships authorized in 2007–08 until all judgeships are appointed and new staff hired.

For 2021–22, a total of \$28.5 million was allocated in support of new judgeships: \$28 million for operations costs from the Trial Court Trust Fund for 54 courts, and \$452,000 for facilities costs from the Court Facilities Trust Fund for two courts (Solano and Sonoma). Of the 50 judgeships authorized by Assembly Bill 159 (Stats. 2007, ch. 722), a total of 27 have been funded as of 2021–22.

Ms. Cara L. Jenkins Ms. Erika Contreras Ms. Sue Parker December 31, 2022 Page 2

The table below displays the 2021–22 allocation of the ongoing funding for operations and facilities costs by individual court.

2021–22 Allocation of Funding for New Judgeships				
Court	Operations	Facilities	Total	
Alameda	\$505,395	\$-	\$505,395	
Amador	263,027	ı	263,027	
Butte	145,897		145,897	
Calaveras	165,875	-	165,875	
Contra Costa	311,892	-	311,892	
Del Norte	30,041	-	30,041	
El Dorado	45,552	-	45,552	
Fresno	460,556	-	460,556	
Glenn	79,723	-	79,723	
Humboldt	45,173	-	45,173	
Imperial	63,930	-	63,930	
Inyo	99,673	-	99,673	
Kern	454,007	-	454,007	
Kings	81,791	-	81,791	
Lake	72,791	-	72,791	
Lassen	3,240	-	3,240	
Los Angeles	9,128,098	-	9,128,098	
Madera	101,359	-	101,359	
Marin	79,591	-	79,591	
Mariposa	66,974	-	66,974	
Mendocino	41,180	-	41,180	
Merced	167,066	-	167,066	
Modoc	43,086	-	43,086	
Mono	91,769	-	91,769	
Monterey	165,333	-	165,333	
Napa	49,967	-	49,967	
Nevada	35,468	-	35,468	
Orange	939,461	-	939,461	
Placer	233,140	-	233,140	
Plumas	133,971	-	133,971	
Riverside	2,820,885	-	2,820,885	
Sacramento	4,382,675	-	4,382,675	
San Benito	139,337	-	139,337	
San Bernardino	1,308,422	-	1,308,422	
San Diego	904,547	-	904,547	
San Joaquin	928,675	-	928,675	
San Luis Obispo	140,333	-	140,333	

Ms. Cara L. Jenkins Ms. Erika Contreras Ms. Sue Parker December 31, 2022 Page 3

2021–22 Allocation of Funding for New Judgeships				
Court	Operations	Facilities	Total	
San Mateo	239,105	1	239,105	
Santa Barbara	165,265	ı	165,265	
Santa Clara	472,591	-	472,591	
Santa Cruz	98,978	-	98,978	
Shasta	172,448	-	172,448	
Siskiyou	19,049	-	19,049	
Solano	199,837	185,909	385,746	
Sonoma	194,161	266,091	460,252	
Stanislaus	255,589	-	255,589	
Sutter	143,936	-	143,936	
Tehama	28,297	-	28,297	
Trinity	8,503	-	8,503	
Tulare	209,911	-	209,911	
Tuolumne	25,334	-	25,334	
Ventura	863,195	-	863,195	
Yolo	207,324	-	207,324	
Yuba	1,462	-	1,462	
Total	\$28,034,885	452,000	\$28,486,885	

If you have any questions related to this report, please contact Mr. Zlatko Theodorovic, Director, Judicial Council Budget Services, at 916-263-1397 or at zlatko.theodorovic@jud.ca.gov.

Sincerely,

Martin Hoshino

Administrative Director

Judicial Council

Ms. Cara L. Jenkins Ms. Erika Contreras Ms. Sue Parker December 31, 2022 Page 4

MH/OT

Eric Dang, Policy Consultant, Office of Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins cc: Alf Brandt, General Counsel, Office of Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon Shaun Naidu, Policy Consultant, Office of Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon Anita Lee, Principal Fiscal and Policy Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Gabriel Petek, Legislative Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Jessie Romine, Budget Analyst, Department of Finance Margie Estrada, Chief Counsel, Senate Judiciary Committee Mary Kennedy, Chief Counsel, Senate Public Safety Committee Nora Brackbill, Consultant, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee Matthew Fleming, Consultant, Senate Appropriations Committee Hans Hemann, Principal Consultant, Joint Legislative Budget Committee Eric Csizmar, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Matt Osterli, Consultant, Senate Republican Fiscal Office Morgan Branch, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Alison Merrilees, Chief Counsel, Assembly Judiciary Committee Sandy Uribe, Chief Counsel, Assembly Public Safety Committee Jennifer Kim, Consultant, Assembly Budget Committee Jay Dickenson, Chief Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee Kimberly Horiuchi, Principal Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee Lyndsay Mitchell, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Gary Olson, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Daryl Thomas, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Amy Leach, Minute Clerk, Office of Assembly Chief Clerk Cory T. Jasperson, Director, Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council Zlatko Theodorovic, Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Fran Mueller, Deputy Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Brandy Olivera, Manager, Budget Services, Judicial Council Jenniffer Herman, Administrative Coordinator, Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council