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 Defendant Christopher J. Bynum appeals from two judgments of convictions for 

possessing methamphetamine (Health & Saf. Code, § 11377, subd. (a)) and possessing 

methamphetamine for sale (Health & Safe. Code, § 11378), plus an admission to a related 

sentence enhancement (Pen. Code, § 12022.1).  At sentencing, the court imposed an 

aggregate term of four years in county jail and certain financial penalties, but did not 

impose a restitution fine under Penal Code section 1202.4, subdivision (b) (§ 1202.4(b)).  

Nevertheless, the court’s minute orders of the sentencing hearing reflect the imposition of 

a section 1202.4(b) restitution fine of $1,120 in each case, for a total of $2,240.  On 

appeal, defendant argues the clerk had no authority to include a section 1202.4(b) 

restitution fine in the minute orders because the trial judge did not orally impose the 

restitution fine at sentencing.  He asks us to remand the matter to allow the trial court to 

set the amount of the section 1202.4(b) restitution fines.  The Attorney General argues 

defendant forfeited the claim he asserts on appeal, and in all events, the judgment should 

be affirmed because the trial court adopted the restitution fines as recommended in the 

probation report and defendant was on notice that the court might impose the 
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recommended restitution fines at sentencing.  We conclude defendant has not forfeited 

his right to challenge the clerk’s inclusion of a section 1202.4(b) restitution fine in the 

minute orders.  We also conclude the clerk was not authorized to include a section 

1202.4(b) restitution fine in the minute orders and the appropriate remedy in this case is 

to strike from the court’s March 17, 2014 minute orders the section 1202.4(b) restitution 

fine and remand the matter to the trial court with a direction to consider whether to 

impose section 1202.4(b) restitution fines.   

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

 As part of an agreement to resolve two informations, defendant pleaded no contest 

to one count of possessing methamphetamine on April 16, 2013 (Health & Saf. Code, 

§ 11377, subd. (a)) and one count of possessing methamphetamine for sale on 

October 30, 2013 (Health & Safe. Code, § 11378).  As to a related bail sentence 

enhancement allegation (Pen. Code, § 12022.1), the court took judicial notice that at the 

time defendant possessed methamphetamine for sale he had been released from custody 

on his own recognizance on the earlier charge of possession of methamphetamine.  The 

court incorporated into the record as if set forth in full defendant’s plea agreement, which 

included his admission to the bail sentence enhancement allegation.   

 Before sentencing, the probation department filed two identical probation reports 

(one as to each information), noting, in pertinent part:  “The following is recommended:  

[¶] The defendant will pay a criminal laboratory analysis fee in the sum of $100.00, 

($50.00, per case) plus a penalty assessment of $310.00, ($155.00 per case) pursuant to 

Section 11372.5 of the California Health and Safety Code. [¶] The defendant will pay a 

drug program fee of $300.00, ($150.00) per case, plus a penalty assessment fee of 

$930.00 ($465.00 per case), pursuant to Section 11372.7 of the California Health and 

Safety Code. [¶] . . . [¶] The defendant shall pay a Criminal Conviction assessment of 

$60.00, ($30.00 per case) pursuant to Government Code Section 70373. [¶] The 

defendant will pay a restitution fine in the sum of $1,120.00, pursuant to Penal Code 

Section 1202.4(b). [¶] The defendant will pay a Court Operations assessment of $80.00, 

($40.00 per case) pursuant to Penal Code Section 1465.8. [¶] The defendant will pay a 
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Criminal Justice Administrative Fee of $90.00 pursuant to Government Code Section 

29550(c).”   

 At the beginning of the sentencing hearing held on March 17, 2014, the trial judge 

commented he had read and considered “the probation report,” and the parties’ counsel 

stipulated the probation report could be received as evidence at the hearing.  After 

argument by counsel, the trial judge imposed sentence.  He found that although defendant 

was not requesting a probationary term, probation would be denied because of 

defendant’s numerous prior convictions and prior poor performance on probation.  The 

trial judge then set forth his reasons for imposing an aggregate term of four years to be 

served in county jail.  He also imposed certain financial penalties as follows:  “The 

defendant is ordered to pay a criminal laboratory analysis fee of $100, that’s $50 per 

case, plus penalty assessment of 310, 155 per case, under . . . Section 11372.5 of the 

Health and Safety Code . . . . [¶] What about the drug program fee? On the drug program 

fee the Court is required to . . . only impose it if there’s an ability to pay.  I’m looking at 

page 11.[
1
]  Well, he has an income or had an income of $600 a month.  I find he has no 

ability to pay the drug program fee, so I’m not imposing it.  That’s at Health and Safety 

Code Section 11372.7. [¶] . . . Pay a criminal conviction assessment of $60, $30 per case, 

under Government Code Section 70373. [¶] A restitution fine under Penal Code Section 

1202.4(b).  Court operation assessment of $80, 40 per case, Penal Code Section 1465.8.  

Criminal justice administrative fee of $90, Government Code 29550 (c).”  In the 

March 17, 2014, sentencing minute order prepared for each case, the clerk reported under 

the title “Financial Obligations,” “Restitution Fine of $1,120.00 is imposed per PC 

1202.4(b). [¶] Lab Fee of $50.00 plus a penalty assessment of $155.00 is imposed per HS 

11372.5 in each case. [¶] Court Operation Assessment of:  $40.00 is imposed per PC 

1465.8, in each case. [¶] Criminal Justice Administrative Fee of $90.00 is imposed per 

                                              
1
 In each probation department report, at page 11, the probation department officer 

indicated defendant’s financial status.   
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GC29550(c). [¶] Criminal Conviction Assessment of $30.00, per GC70[3]73, in each 

case.”   

DISCUSSION 

 On appeal defendant argues, and we agree, that the minute orders from the 

sentencing hearing of March 17, 2014, inaccurately reflect that the trial judge imposed 

section 1202.4(b) restitution fines in both cases.  (People v. Zackery (2007) 147 

Cal.App.4th 380 (Zackery).)  As explained by the court in Zackery:  “ ‘With certain 

exceptions not applicable here [citations] judgment and sentence in felony cases may be 

imposed only in the presence of the accused.’  [Citation.]  Thus, [Penal Code] section 

1193 provides in pertinent part, ‘Judgment upon persons convicted of commission of 

crime shall be pronounced as follows:  [¶] (a) If the conviction is for a felony, the 

defendant shall be personally present when judgment is pronounced against him or her, 

unless [certain exceptions apply] . . . .’  ([Pen. Code,] § 1193.) [¶] ‘ “Rendition of 

judgment is an oral pronouncement.  [Citation.]” ’ [¶] ‘A judgment includes a fine.  A 

restitution fine is a fine.’ ”  (Zackery, supra, at pp. 386-387.)  “The clerk cannot 

supplement the judgment the court actually pronounced by adding a provision to the 

minute order . . . . [Citation.]  [Instead,] the clerk’s minutes must accurately reflect what 

occurred at the hearing.”  (Id. at pp. 387-388.)  Thus, in this case, the minute orders of the 

March 17, 2014 sentencing hearing must be amended by striking the references to a 

$1,120 restitution fine pursuant to section 1202.4(b).   

 In her responsive brief, the Attorney General does not address the merits of 

defendant’s appellate claim or the applicability of Zackery, supra, 147 Cal.App.4th 380.   

She presses only one argument, that defendant’s claim is forfeited by his failure to raise 

the issue at the sentencing proceeding.  We disagree.  Unlike the factual situations in the 

cases cited by the Attorney General, we are not here concerned with a challenge to a trial 

court’s imposition of a specific sum imposed as either a restitution fine (People v. Nelson 

(2011) 51 Cal.4th 198, 227; People v. Gibson (1994) 27 Cal.App.4th 1466, 1468-1469), 

or victim restitution (People v. Garcia (2010) 185 Cal.App.4th 1203, 1218).  Here, we 
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are concerned with a court’s minute orders that inaccurately reflect that the trial judge 

imposed restitution fines during the sentencing proceeding. 

 We also see no merit to the Attorney General’s argument that we may affirm 

because the record shows the trial court adopted the restitution fines recommended in the 

probation report and defendant was on notice that the court might impose the 

recommended restitution fines.  Section 1202.4(b) provides the trial court must impose a 

restitution fine “unless it finds compelling and extraordinary reasons for not doing so, and 

states those reasons on the record.”  Here, it appears the trial court intended to rule on 

whether to impose a section 1202.4(b) restitution fine, but did not do so.  During its 

pronouncement of sentence the court sequentially referred to the financial penalties as 

they appeared in the probation report, and only mentioned “[a] restitution fine under 

Penal Code Section 1202.4(b),” without specifying any amount or stating its reasons for 

not imposing the fine.  The court did not otherwise state it was imposing a specific 

financial penalty because it was recommended in the probation department report.  And, 

indeed, in one instance the court struck the probation department’s recommended sum for 

the drug program fee after finding that defendant did not have the ability to pay it.  Thus, 

the record calls into question whether the court would have imposed section 1202.4(b) 

restitution fines and in what amounts.  Because we cannot ascertain with any certainty 

how the court intended to rule, we shall grant plaintiff’s request to remand with a 

direction to the trial court to hold a hearing to determine whether to impose section 

1202.4(b) restitution fines.  We express no opinion on how the court should exercise its 

discretionary authority on remand. 

DISPOSITION 

 The matter is remanded to the trial court with directions to (1) amend its minute 

orders of the March 17, 2014 sentencing hearing by striking the references to a $1,120 

restitution fine pursuant to Penal Code section 1202.4, subdivision (b); and (2) hold a 

hearing to determine whether to impose restitution fines pursuant to Penal Code section 

1202.4, subdivision (b).  In all other respects, the judgments are affirmed.   
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       _________________________ 

       Jenkins, J. 

 

 

We concur: 

 

 

_________________________ 

McGuiness, P. J. 

 

 

_________________________ 

Siggins, J. 


