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________________________ 

 In this wage and hour class action, the issue presented is whether California’s 

minimum wage law requires an employer that compensates its automotive service 

technicians on a “piece-rate” basis for repair work must also pay those technicians a 

separate hourly minimum wage for time spent during their work shifts waiting for 

vehicles to repair or performing other non-repair tasks directed by the employer.  The 

employer contends it was not required to pay the technicians a separate hourly minimum 

wage for such time because it ensured that a technician’s total compensation for a pay 

period never fell below what the employer refers to as the “minimum wage floor” -- the 

total number of hours the technician was at work during the pay period (including hours 

spent waiting for repair work or performing non-repair tasks), multiplied by the 

applicable minimum wage rate.  The employer did so by supplementing a technician’s 

pay, if necessary, to cover any shortfall between the technician’s piece-rate wages and the 

minimum wage floor. 

 The trial court concluded that the employer’s method of compensation violated the  

minimum wage law because California law does not allow an employer to avoid paying 

its employees for all hours worked by averaging total compensation over total hours 

worked in a given pay period.  The trial court cited Armenta v. Osmose, Inc. (2005) 135 

Cal.App.4th 314 (Armenta), as support for its ruling. 

 We too find the court’s reasoning in Armenta to be persuasive.  Applying that 

reasoning here, we conclude that class members were entitled to separate hourly 

compensation for time spent waiting for repair work or performing other non-repair tasks 

directed by the employer during their work shifts, as well as penalties under Labor Code 

section 203, subdivision (a).  We therefore affirm the judgment. 
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BACKGROUND 

The parties 

 Defendant and appellant Downtown LA Motors, LP doing business as Downtown 

LA Motors Mercedes Benz is an automobile dealership that sells and services Mercedes-

Benz automobiles.  Defendant Shammas Automotive Holdings, Inc. is its owner.  Those 

entities are referred to collectively as DTLA. 

 Plaintiffs are a class of 108 automotive service technicians who worked for DTLA 

between April 2002 and June 2008. 

DTLA’s compensation system 

 DTLA compensates its service technicians on a piece-rate basis, which differs 

from an hourly wage method in that technicians are paid primarily on the basis of repair 

tasks completed.  Under DTLA’s piece-rate system, technicians are paid a flat rate 

ranging from $17 to $32, depending on the technician’s experience, for each “flag hour” 

a technician accrues.  Flag hours are assigned by Mercedes-Benz to every task that a 

technician performs on a Mercedes-Benz automobile and are intended to correspond to 

the actual amount of time a technician would need to perform the task.  A DTLA 

technician who completes a repair task accrues the number of flag hours that Mercedes-

Benz assigns to that task, regardless of how long the technician actually took to complete 

it.  DTLA technicians accrue flag hours only when working on a repair order. 

 DTLA calculates its technicians’ pay for an 80-hour pay period by multiplying 

flag hours accrued during that pay period by the technician’s applicable flat rate.  For 

example, a technician with a flat rate of $26 who accrued 150 flag hours in a pay period 

would earn 150 x $26 or $3,900. 

 In addition to tracking a technician’s flag hours, DTLA also keeps track of all the 

time a technician spends at the work site whether or not the technician is working on a 

repair order.  At the end of each pay period, DTLA calculates how much each technician 

would earn if paid an amount equal to his total recorded hours “on the clock” multiplied 

by the applicable minimum wage.  DTLA refers to this amount as the “minimum wage 
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floor.”  If a technician’s flat rate/flag hour pay falls short of the minimum wage floor, 

DTLA supplements the technician’s pay in the amount of the shortfall.1 

Plaintiffs’ experience 

 Plaintiffs worked eight-hour shifts.  During their shifts, plaintiffs were required to 

remain at DTLA’s place of business and had to obtain permission to leave during a shift 

if they were not working on a repair order.  Plaintiffs were also required to clock in when 

they arrived for work, clock in and out for lunch, and clock out at the end of their shift. 

 Plaintiffs regularly did not have repair work to do because there were not enough 

vehicles to service.  When this occurred, plaintiffs had to remain at work, and those who 

asked to leave early were told that they needed to stay because customers might come in.  

Plaintiffs accrued no flag hours during time spent waiting for cars to repair.  While 

waiting for repair work, plaintiffs were expected to perform various non-repair tasks, 

including obtaining parts, cleaning their work stations, attending meetings, traveling to 

other locations to pick up and return cars, reviewing service bulletins, and participating in 

on-line training.  They accrued no flag hours while performing these non-repair tasks. 

The instant lawsuit 

 Plaintiffs filed the instant action against DTLA claiming that DTLA violated 

California law by failing to pay technicians a minimum wage during their waiting time -- 

periods of time they were on the clock, but waiting for repair orders or performing other 

non-repair tasks.  Plaintiffs also claimed that technicians terminated from employment 

during the class period were entitled to penalties under Labor Code section 203, 

subdivision (a) because DTLA had failed to pay these technicians all the wages they were 

due upon their termination. 

 The trial court denied cross-motions for summary adjudication filed by the parties 

as to whether DTLA technicians were entitled to a separate hourly pay for waiting time in 

                                                                                                                                                  
1  DTLA also compensates technicians for overtime by taking into account all the 
time at the work site, including time not spent on a repair order. 
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addition to their flag hour pay and minimum wage floor supplement, and the matter 

proceeded to a bench trial. 

 The parties presented documentary evidence as well as testimony by class 

members and expert witnesses regarding the amount of waiting time experienced by class 

members.  Both parties also presented expert testimony as to the amount per pay period 

that class members either were or were not underpaid. 

 The trial court issued a proposed statement of decision, to which DTLA objected.  

After hearing argument on those objections, the trial court issued a final statement of 

decision on June 20, 2011. 

 The trial court ruled in favor of plaintiffs, concluding that California law requires 

class members to be paid for their waiting time between work on repair orders.  The trial 

court found the testimony of plaintiffs’ expert to be “credible,” and adopted that expert’s 

conclusions that plaintiffs experienced waiting time of 1.85 hours per day on average, 

that the average amount of unpaid compensation for waiting time per plaintiff was $27.76 

per day, and that in total, plaintiffs lost the amount of $553,653 in uncompensated time 

during the class period.  The trial court determined that the value of the class’s waiting 

time, including interest, was $1,555,078 and awarded that sum to plaintiffs.  The trial 

court also awarded plaintiffs penalties in the amount of $237,840 under Labor Code 

section 203, subdivision (a) for DTLA’s willful failure to pay all wages owed them at the 

time their employment was terminated. 

 This appeal followed. 

DISCUSSION 

I.  Applicable Legal Principles and Standard of Review 

 California’s minimum wage requirements are set forth in wage orders promulgated 

by the Industrial Welfare Commission (IWC), the agency formerly authorized to regulate 

working conditions in California.  (Martinez v. Combs (2010) 49 Cal.4th 35, 54-55.)  

Although the IWC was defunded in 2004, its wage orders remain in effect.  (Soderstedt v. 

CBIZ Southern California, LLC (2011) 197 Cal.App.4th 133, 145, fn. 1.) 
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 Wage orders are quasi-legislative regulations and are construed in accordance with 

the ordinary principles of statutory interpretation.  (Aleman v. Airtouch Cellular (2012) 

209 Cal.App.4th 556, 568 (Aleman).)  Under those principles, our analysis begins by 

ascertaining the legislative intent underlying the wage order “so that we may adopt the 

construction that best effectuates the purpose of the law.  [Citation.]”  (Hassan v. Mercy 

American River Hospital (2003) 31 Cal.4th 709, 715.)  To do so, we first examine the 

words of the wage order as the best indication of legislative intent.  (Brinker Restaurant 

Corp. v. Superior Court (2012) 53 Cal.4th 1004, 1026 (Brinker).)  Those words should be 

given their ordinary and usual meaning and should be construed in their statutory context.  

(Ibid.)  Judicial construction that renders any part of the wage order meaningless or 

inoperative should be avoided.  (Ibid.) 

 If the language of the wage order is clear, it is applied without further inquiry.  

(Aleman, supra, 209 Cal.App.4th at p. 568.)  If the language can be interpreted to have 

more than one reasonable meaning, a court may consider “‘a variety of extrinsic aids, 

including the ostensible objects to be achieved, the evils to be remedied, the legislative 

history, public policy, contemporaneous administrative construction, and the statutory 

scheme of which the statute is a part.’  [Citation.]”  (Id. at pp. 568-569.) 

 “State wage and hour laws ‘reflect the strong public policy favoring protection of 

workers’ general welfare and “society’s interest in a stable job market.”  [Citations.]’  

[Citations.]”  (Cash v. Winn (2012) 205 Cal.App.4th 1285, 1297 (Cash).)  They are 

therefore liberally construed in favor of protecting workers.  As our Supreme Court has 

stated, “‘[I]n light of the remedial nature of the legislative enactments authorizing the 

regulation of wages, hours and working conditions for the protection and benefit of 

employees, the statutory provisions are to be liberally construed with an eye to promoting 

such protection.’  [Citations.]”  (Brinker, supra, 53 Cal.4th at pp. 1026-1027; see also 

Murphy v. Kenneth Cole Productions, Inc. (2007) 40 Cal.4th 1094, 1103 [given the 

Legislature’s remedial purpose, “statutes governing conditions of employment are to be 

construed broadly in favor of protecting employees”].) 
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 A reviewing court determines the meaning of a wage order de novo.  (Combs v. 

Skyriver Communications, Inc. (2008) 159 Cal.App.4th 1242, 1253.) 

II.  Wage Order No. 4 

 The wage order at issue in this case is Wage Order No. 4-2001,2 commonly known 

as Wage Order No. 4.  Subdivision 4(B) of that wage order provides as follows:  “Every 

employer shall pay to each employee, on the established payday for the period involved, 

not less than the applicable minimum wage for all hours worked in the payroll period, 

whether the remuneration is measured by time, piece, commission, or otherwise.”  (Cal. 

Code Regs., tit. 8, § 11040, subd. (4)(B).) 

 “Hours worked” is defined in subdivision 2(K) of the wage order as “the time 

during which an employee is subject to the control of an employer, and includes all the 

time the employee is suffered or permitted to work, whether or not required to do so.  

(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 8, § 11040, subd. (2)(K).) 

III.  The Parties’ Contentions 

 DTLA contends its method of compensating technicians complies with the plain 

language of Wage Order No. 4 because technicians are paid an amount “not less than” the 

amount they would have earned had they been paid the applicable hourly minimum wage 

for “all hours worked” during a given pay period.  DTLA argues that compliance may be 

achieved by supplementing a technician’s piece-rate wages in an amount necessary to 

cover any shortfall between those wages and the “minimum wage floor,” or the amount 

the technician would have earned if paid an hourly minimum wage for all hours “on the 

clock,” including waiting time, during a pay period. 

Plaintiffs and amicus California Employment Lawyers Association3 argue that the 

plain meaning of the term “all hours worked” is “each and every hour” worked and that 

                                                                                                                                                  
2  We refer to Wage Order No. 4-2001 hereinafter as “Wage Order No. 4” or simply 
“the wage order.” 
 
3  We granted applications for leave to file amicus curiae briefs on behalf of 
plaintiffs by the California Employment Lawyers Association, and on behalf of DTLA by 
the National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA), the California New Car Dealers 
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technicians should have been separately compensated, at the applicable minimum wage 

rate, for “each and every hour” of time spent waiting for repair work.  The trial court 

agreed with plaintiffs and cited Armenta as support for that interpretation. 

 DTLA argues that the trial court’s interpretation contravenes the plain language of 

the wage order, which does not distinguish between waiting time and productive time and 

does not require an employee paid on a piece-rate basis to be compensated separately for 

waiting time.  DTLA and its amici contend that such interpretation undermines the piece-

rate compensation system, which is intended to reward technicians for performing repair 

tasks efficiently.  DTLA and its amici further contend Armenta does not and should not 

apply to piece-rate compensation systems such as the one at issue here and that the trial 

court erred by awarding plaintiffs penalties under Labor Code section 203. 

IV.  Armenta 

 In Armenta, Division Six of the Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District 

construed the same language in the same wage order that is at issue here and concluded 

that it “expresses the intent to ensure that employees be compensated at the minimum 

wage for each hour worked.”  (Armenta, supra, 135 Cal.App.4th at p. 323, italics added.)  

The court in Armenta further concluded that the employer’s method of averaging 

employees’ hours worked in a given pay period in order to compute its minimum wage 

obligations violated the minimum wage law. 

 The plaintiffs in Armenta were employed by a company that maintained utility 

poles in rural or remote locations.  The company provided the employees with a truck 

that carried the tools and equipment needed to perform the work in the field, and 

employees were required to travel in the truck from a central meeting place to the various 

job sites.  (Armenta, supra, 135 Cal.App.4th at p. 317.)  Employees’ time was considered 

“productive” if directly related to maintaining utility poles in the field and 

“nonproductive” if spent performing other tasks such as traveling to and from a job site, 

                                                                                                                                                  
Association, the Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers, and the California Automotive 
Business Coalition. 
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loading or maintaining vehicles, and attending safety meetings.  (Ibid.)  Employees were 

only paid for “productive” time. 

 The employer argued that its compensation system did not violate state minimum 

wage laws because under the terms of the employees’ collective bargaining agreement, it  

paid hourly wages substantially higher than the applicable minimum wage and total 

employee compensation exceeded the product of total hours worked (both paid and 

unpaid) and the minimum wage, resulting in an average hourly rate that was higher than 

the applicable minimum wage.  (Armenta, supra, 135 Cal.App.4th at p. 319.)  The court 

in Armenta ruled that the employer had violated the minimum wage law by not 

compensating employees for travel time and for time spent on daily paperwork.  (Id. at p. 

320.) 

 As support for its ruling, the Armenta court cited a January 29, 2002 opinion letter 

issued by the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE)4 as persuasive reasoning 

why, under California law, the employees were entitled to compensation for all hours 

worked.  (Armenta, supra, 135 Cal.App.4th at pp. 319-320.)  In the opinion letter, the 

DLSE acknowledged that the minimum wage law is “susceptible”  to two “divergent” 

interpretations, as espoused by the parties in Armenta and by the respective parties in the 

instant case:  “‘“1) that the obligation to pay minimum wages attaches to each and every 

separate hour worked during the payroll period, and that payment must be made for all 

such hours on the established payday, or 2) that the obligation to pay minimum wages for 

the total number of hours worked in the pay period is determined ‘backwards’ from the 

date that any payment is due, without considering any hour (or part of any hour) in 

isolation.”’”  (Ibid.)  The DLSE endorsed the former interpretation, requiring payment of 

the minimum wage for “each and every separate hour worked.”  (Ibid.)  The DLSE noted 

that although federal courts had consistently applied the latter interpretation, significant 

                                                                                                                                                  
4  The DLSE is the state agency empowered to enforce California’s wage and hour 
laws, including IWC wage orders.  (Lab. Code, §§ 21, 61, 95, 98-98.7, 1193.5; Tidewater 
Marine Western, Inc. v. Bradshaw (1996) 14 Cal.4th 557, 561-562 (Tidewater).) 
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differences between federal and California labor laws required a different approach in 

California.  (Ibid.) 

 The court in Armenta agreed with the DLSE, and distinguished federal case 

authority applying an averaging formula to assess minimum wage violations.  Among the 

cases distinguished was a California federal district court decision, Medrano v. D’Arrigo 

Bros. Co. (N.D.Cal. 2004) 336 F.Supp.2d 1053 (Medrano), in which agricultural workers 

who were compensated on a piece-rate basis brought a class action against their employer 

seeking recovery of minimum wages due for travel time to the fields.  The federal district 

court in Medrano held that the employer complied with the minimum wage requirements 

so long as a worker was paid no less than the sum the worker would have been paid 

during the pay period had the employer paid the minimum wage multiplied by total hours 

worked, including waiting and travel time.  (Armenta, supra, 135 Cal.App.4th at p. 322.)  

The court in Armenta found federal authorities such as Medrano to be “of little 

assistance” in construing California laws and regulations that differed substantially in 

both language and intent from federal minimum wage laws.  (Armenta, at p. 323.)  The 

Armenta court then undertook a comprehensive analysis of Wage Order No. 4 and 

concluded that “[t]he averaging method utilized by the federal courts for assessing a 

violation of the federal minimum wage law does not apply here.”  (Ibid.) 

 The Armenta court focused first on the language of the wage order, noting that it 

“differ[ed] significantly” from the Federal Labor Standards Act.  (Armenta, supra, 135 

Cal.App.4th at p. 323.)  For example, subdivision 4(B) of Wage Order No. 4 requires 

payment of the minimum wage for “all hours worked” whereas the federal statute 

“requires payment of minimum wage to employees who ‘in any work week’ are engaged 

in commerce.”  (Armenta, at p. 323, italics added.)  The federal language referring to 

payment “in any work week,” the Armenta court reasoned, allows an employer to average 

an employee’s total pay over an entire “work week.”  In contrast, the California wage 

order’s emphasis on “hours worked” reflected “the intent to ensure that employees be 

compensated at the minimum wage for each hour worked.”  (Ibid., italics added.) 
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 After parsing through the regulatory language, the Armenta court next considered 

the wage order in the context of the statutory framework as a whole.  The court noted that 

Labor Code sections 221, 222, and 223 require an employer to pay all employee hours at 

either the statutory or agreed rate and prohibit an employer from using any part of that 

rate as a credit against its minimum wage obligation.5  (Armenta, supra, 135 Cal.app.4th 

at p. 323.)  The court concluded that allowing the employer to average its employees’ 

compensation over their total hours worked “contravenes these code sections” by 

effectively reducing the employees’ contractual rate of compensation.  (Ibid.) 

 The court then compared California’s minimum wage rate with the federal rate 

and found California law to be more protective of minimum wage employees.  On that 

basis, the court found “a clear legislative intent to protect the minimum wage rights of 

California employees to a greater extent than federally.”  (Armenta, supra, 135 

Cal.App.4th at p. 324.) 

 Finally, the court in Armenta considered “the policies underlying California’s 

minimum wage law and regulations” which “reflect a strong public policy in favor of full 

payment of wages for all hours worked.”  (Armenta, supra, 135 Cal.App.4th at p. 324.)  

Given that public policy, the court concluded that a method of “averaging all hours 

worked ‘in any work week’ to compute an employer’s minimum wage obligation under 

California law is inappropriate.”  (Ibid.)  The court in Armenta held that use of such an 

averaging method to determine an employer’s minimum wage obligation violates 

                                                                                                                                                  
5  Labor Code section 221 provides:  “It shall be unlawful for any employer to 
collect or receive from an employee any part of wages theretofore paid by said employer 
to said employee.”  Labor Code section 222 provides:  “It shall be unlawful, in case of 
any wage agreement arrived at through collective bargaining, either willfully or 
unlawfully or with intent to defraud an employee, a competitor, or any other person, to 
withhold from said employee any part of the wage agreed upon.”  And Labor Code 
section 223 provides:  “Where any statute or contract requires an employer to maintain 
the designated wage scale, it shall be unlawful to secretly pay a lower wage while 
purporting to pay the wage designated by statute or by contract.” 
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California law and that “[t]he minimum wage standard applies to each hour worked by 

[the employees] for which they were not paid.”  (Ibid.) 

V.  Armenta’s Applicability to the Instant Case 

 A.  The plain language of Wage Order No. 4 covers piece-rate compensation 

 The court in Armenta construed Wage Order No. 4 to preclude an employer from 

averaging an employee’s compensation over the total number of hours worked to 

determine compliance with minimum wage obligations.  The principal argument 

advanced by DTLA and its amici is that Armenta concerned only hourly employees and 

the Armenta court’s construction of Wage Order No. 4 should not be applied to workers 

who are compensated on a piece-rate basis.  But this argument requires a construction 

that is contrary to the plain language of the wage order. 

 By its terms, Wage Order No. 4 does not allow any variance in its application 

based on the manner of compensation.  Subdivision 1 of the wage order states that subject 

to exceptions that are not applicable here:  “This order shall apply to all persons 

employed in professional, technical, clerical, mechanical, and similar occupations 

whether paid on a time, piece rate, commission, or other basis.”  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 8, 

§ 11040, subd. 1, italics added.)  Subdivision 4(B) similarly requires uniform application 

of the minimum wage requirements regardless of how an employee is paid:  “Every 

employer shall pay to each employee, on the established payday for the period involved, 

not less than the applicable minimum wage for all hours worked in the payroll period, 

whether the remuneration is measured by time, piece, commission, or otherwise.”  (Cal. 

Code Regs., tit. 8, § 11040, subd. (4)(B), italics added.)  That DTLA compensated its 

technicians on a piece-rate basis is not a valid ground for varying either the application or 

interpretation of the wage order. 

 B.  Federal courts have applied Armenta to piece-rate workers 

 DTLA’s attempt to limit Armenta to hourly workers has been rejected by federal 

district courts applying California’s minimum wage law.  (See, e.g., Cardenas v. McLane 

Foodservices, Inc. (C.D.Cal. 2011) 796 F.Supp.2d 1246 (Cardenas); Carillo v. Schneider 

Logistics, Inc. (C.D.Cal. 2011) 823 F.Supp.2d 1040.)  Of these federal cases, Cardenas is 
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instructive as it involved truck drivers who were paid on a piece-rate basis and who 

claimed their employer failed to compensate them for time spent each day waiting for 

customers and performing pre- and post-shift duties such as conducting vehicle 

inspections and safety checks and picking up keys and manifests.  (Cardenas, supra, 796 

F.Supp.2d at p. 1249.)  The employer argued that it paid the truck drivers substantially 

more than the minimum wage for all their working hours and that Armenta should not 

apply because that case did not involve a piece-rate compensation system.  The Cardenas 

court rejected this distinction, stating:  “Though Armenta did not involve a piece-rate 

formula, and involved an employer who violated an explicit agreement, those distinctions 

do not detract from the decision’s holding that ‘[t]he averaging method used by the 

federal courts for assessing a violation of minimum wage law does not apply’ to 

California law-based claims.”  (Cardenas, supra, at p. 1252.)  The Cardenas court then 

held that “a piece-rate formula that does not compensate directly for all time worked does 

not comply with California Labor Codes, even if, averaged out, it would pay at least 

minimum wage for all hours worked.”  (Ibid.) 

 Like the court in Cardenas, we find the court’s reasoning in Armenta to be equally 

applicable to employees compensated on a piece-rate basis. 

 C.  Aleman does not compel a different result 

 DTLA contends that our decision in Aleman supports its position that an employer 

may satisfy its minimum wage obligations by ensuring that an employee’s overall wages 

reach a certain threshold amount.  Aleman is inapposite.  That case concerned split shift 

workers and the subdivision of Wage Order No. 4 applicable to such workers 

(subdivision 4(C), rather than 4(B), the subdivision applicable here).  Our decision in 

Aleman did not address the Armenta court’s interpretation of subdivision 4(B) of the 

wage order, nor did it validate the interpretation advanced by DTLA. 

 D.  The absence of a collective bargaining agreement is not a valid basis for 

distinguishing Armenta 

 DTLA argues that the Armenta court’s interpretation of Wage Order No. 4 should 

not apply here because the court’s reasoning was premised in part on Labor Code 
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sections 221, 222, and 223, which are inapposite to the instant facts.  Those statutory 

provisions do not apply, DTLA maintains, because it did not collect or receive any 

previously paid wages from its employees, it does not have a collective bargaining 

agreement or any other agreement setting a wage rate higher than the minimum hourly 

wage, and it did not secretly pay a lower amount than promised to its technicians. 

 Labor Code sections 221, 222, and 223 govern an employer’s obligation to pay 

“wages,” a term that is defined to include piece-rate compensation as well as hourly pay.6  

Averaging piece-rate wages over total hours worked results in underpayment of 

employee wages required “by contract” under Labor Code section 223, as well as an 

improper collection of wages paid to an employee under Labor Code section 221, as 

illustrated by the following example:  a technician who works four piece-rate hours in a 

day at a rate of $20 per hour and who leaves the job site when that work is finished has 

earned $80 for four hours of work.  A second technician who works the same piece-rate 

hours at the same rate but who remains at the job site for an additional four hours waiting 

for customers also earns $80 for the day; however, averaging his piece-rate wages over 

the eight-hour work day results in an average pay rate of $10 per hour, a 50 percent 

discount from his promised $20 per hour piece-rate.  The second technician forfeits to the 

employer the pay promised “by statute” under Labor section 223 because if his piece-rate 

pay is allocated only to piece-rate hours, he is not paid at all for his nonproductive hours. 

 The DLSE applied this same analysis in the January 29, 2002 opinion letter that 

the court in Armenta found persuasive: 

“[A]ll hours for which the employees are entitled to an amount equal 
or greater than the minimum wage pursuant to the provisions of the CBA 
[collective bargaining agreement] or other contract must be compensated 
precisely in accordance with the provisions of the CBA or contract; and all 
other hours (or parts of hours) which the CBA or contract explicitly states 

                                                                                                                                                  
6  Labor Code section 200 provides in part:  “As used in this article:  [¶] (a) ‘Wages’ 
includes all amounts for labor performed by employees of every description, whether the 
amount is fixed or ascertained by the standard of time, task, piece, commission basis, or 
other method of calculation.” 
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will be paid at less than the minimum age, but which constituted ‘hours 
worked’ under state law, must be compensated at the minimum wage.  
Averaging of all wages paid under a CBA or other contract, within a 
particular pay period, in order to determine whether the employer complied 
with its minimum wage obligations is not permitted under these 
circumstances, for to do so would result in the employer paying the 
employees less than the contract rate for those activities which the CBA or 
contract requires payment of a specified amount equal to or greater than the 
minimum wage, in violation of Labor Code [sections] 221-223.” 

 
(Cal. Div. of Labor Standards, “Hours of Work” for Public Transit Employees 

Required to Start and End Their Shifts at Different Locations” (Jan. 29, 2002), 

p. 11.)7  The foregoing analysis is not limited to collective bargaining agreements, 

as DTLA suggests.  It applies whenever an employer and employee have agreed 

that certain work will be compensated at a rate that exceeds the minimum wage 

and other work time will be compensated at a lower rate.  (Ibid.) 

 E.  The Armenta court’s interpretation is not inconsistent with California’s 

method for calculating overtime for piece-rate employees 

 DTLA’s amici argue that the Armenta court’s prohibition against averaging should 

not be applied to piece-rate workers because doing so would conflict with statutorily 

authorized methods for calculating overtime for such workers.  They cite Labor Code 

section 510 and section 49.2.1.2 of the DLSE “Enforcement Policies and Interpretations 

Manual (Revised)” (DLSE Manual), as support for the position that piece-rate pay alone 

fully compensates employees for all hours worked and as authorization for averaging an 

                                                                                                                                                  
7  NADA cites pre-2002 DLSE interpretive bulletins that allowed averaging piece-
rate pay over total hours worked to determine compliance with minimum wage 
obligations as “historical guidance” on the issue and as support for such averaging now.  
Interpretive policies contained in earlier DLSE manuals have no persuasive value and are 
entitled to no deference (Tidewater, supra, 14 Cal.4th at p. 572; Cash, supra, 205 
Cal.App.4th at p. 1302), especially if they conflict with a subsequently issued DLSE 
opinion letter that reasonably interprets a wage order.  (See Cash, at p. 1302.)  Equally 
unpersuasive is DTLA’s reliance on IWC proceedings in 1951 concerning proposed 
amendments to a different wage order applicable to piece-rate agricultural workers. 
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employee’s piece-rate compensation over total hours worked when assessing compliance 

with minimum wage requirements. 

 Neither Labor Code section 510 nor section 49.2.1.2 of the DLSE Manual 

validates the type of averaging DTLA and its amici advocate.  Labor Code section 510 

requires employees to be paid not less than one and one-half times their “regular rate of 

pay” for all hours worked in excess of eight in a day or 40 in a work week.  The “regular 

rate of pay” in a piece-rate system is calculated by dividing the employee’s “total 

earnings” for the week, or in the alternative, to pay one and one-half times the 

employee’s piece-rate for all overtime hours.  (DLSE Manual, § 49.2.1.2.)8  Neither 

Labor Code section 510 nor the DLSE Manual limits “total earnings” to piece-rate 

compensation only.  Rather, section 49.1.2.3 of the DLSE Manual, which specifies what 

must be included in calculating the “regular rate of pay,” states that “[a]ny sum paid for 

hours worked must, of course, be included in the calculation.”  That calculation 

accordingly may include both piece-rate pay and waiting time pay.  Paying plaintiffs for 

their waiting time, as the trial court required here, is not inconsistent with the method 

specified in the DLSE Manual for calculating overtime. 

 The DLSE method for calculating overtime for piece-rate workers does not 

determine whether the piece-rate alone lawfully compensates an employee for all hours 

worked.  That method does not specify what amounts must be included in an employee’s 

“total earnings.”  The trial court in this case concluded that such earnings, for purposes of 

                                                                                                                                                  
8  Section 49.2.1.2 of the DLSE Manual provides in relevant part:  “Either of the 
following two methods can be used to determine the regular rate for purposes of 
computing overtime compensation:  [¶]  1.  Compute the regular rate by dividing the total 
earnings for the week, including earnings during overtime hours, by the total hours 
worked during the week, including the overtime hours.  For each overtime hour worked, 
the employee is entitled to an additional one-half the regular rate for hours requiring time 
and one-half and to an additional full rate for hours requiring double time.  This is the 
most commonly used method of calculation.  [¶]  2.  Using the piece or commission rate 
as the regular rate and paying one and one-half times this rate for production during 
overtime hours.  This method is rarely used.” 
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determining compliance with minimum wage requirements, should include not less than 

the minimum wage for waiting time hours not compensated by the piece-rate. 

 F.  DLSE enforcement policies do not support DTLA’s position 

 DTLA and its amici next claim that the DLSE’s enforcement policies state that a 

piece-rate employer need not pay an employee for non-productive time unless the 

employer affirmatively directs the employee to perform non-piece-rate work.  They argue 

that because plaintiffs were not idle as a result of DTLA’s direction, DTLA was not 

required to compensate plaintiffs for the time they spent waiting for vehicles to repair.  

They cite the following sections of the DLSE Manual as support for this position: 

“47.7  All Hours Must Be Compensated Regardless of Method Used in 
Computation.  DLSE has opined that employees must be paid at least the 
minimum wage for all hours they are employed.  Consequently, if, as a 
result of the directions of the employer, the compensation received by piece 
rate or commissioned workers is reduced because they are precluded, by 
such directions of the employer, from earning either commissions or piece 
rate compensation during a period of time, the employee must be paid at 
least the minimum wage (or contract hourly rate if one exists) for the period 
of time the employee’s opportunity to earn commissions or piece rate.” 
 
“47.7.1  As an example, if piece rate workers are required to attend a 
meeting during which, of course, they would not be able to earn 
compensation at the piece rate, the employer would be required to pay those 
workers at least the minimum wage (or the contract hourly wage, if one 
exists) during such period.  (For discussion of the legal rationale underlying 
this enforcement policy, see [Opinion Letter] 2002.01.29).” 

 
 The record shows that the time plaintiffs spent during their work shifts performing 

non-piece-rate tasks were at DTLA’s direction.  Plaintiffs were not allowed to leave 

DTLA’s premises while waiting for vehicles to repair but were expected to perform 

various non-repair tasks such as cleaning their work areas, obtaining parts, participating 

in on-line training, and reviewing service bulletins.  All of these tasks were “at the 

direction of the employer.”  Time spent waiting for vehicles to repair was also “at the 

direction of the employer” because DTLA required plaintiffs to remain at work even if 

there were no vehicles to repair. 
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 G.  DTLA’s remaining arguments do not compel a reversal of the judgment 

 DTLA’s amici argue that the prohibition against averaging compensation across 

all work hours should not apply to piece-rate compensation systems because piece-rate 

employees can increase their regular rate of pay by working longer hours.  The 

presumption that plaintiffs in this case could maximize their income by performing piece-

rate work throughout the day is belied by the record, which shows that plaintiffs spent a 

significant amount of time doing other work or waiting for customers.  The trial court 

credited evidence that plaintiffs spent, on average, four-tenths of an hour each day 

waiting for cars to repair during the period from April 2002 to July 2008 and nearly two 

hours per day waiting for cars to repair in later time periods. 

 DTLA and its amici argue that affirming the judgment in this case will require 

piece-rate employers to pay additional hourly wages for every mandatory rest break, will 

have far-reaching negative consequences on all incentive compensation systems in 

California, including commission payment plans, and will open the floodgates to 

litigation challenging incentive-based compensation systems.  The instant case concerns 

minimum wage obligations for time spent by a piece-rate employee waiting for vehicles 

to repair and performing non-piece-rate tasks directed by the employer.  The trial court 

did not address, and we do not consider, any obligation with respect to mandatory rest 

breaks.  The instant case concerns only automotive service technicians compensated on a 

piece-rate basis.  We do not address or consider employees who are compensated under 

commission payment plans or any other incentive-based compensation systems. 

 Affirming the judgment in the instant case will not, as DTLA claims, undermine 

its technicians’ ability and incentive to earn more than the minimum wage.  Under 

DTLA’s flag hour system, technicians earn significantly more by working on cars than 

waiting for vehicles to repair.  They will still have the financial incentive to accrue flag 

hours in order to increase their earnings. 

VI.  Penalties Under Labor Code Section 203 

 Penalties under Labor Code section 203 are properly awarded when an employer 

“willfully fails to pay” an employee all wages owed at the times specified in Labor Code 
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section 201, for discharged employees, and in Labor Code section 202, for employees 

who quit.  (Lab. Code, § 203, subd. (a).)  “‘[T]o be at fault within the meaning of [section 

203], the employer’s refusal to pay need not be based on a deliberate evil purpose to 

defraud workmen of wages which the employer knows to be due.  As used in section 203, 

“willful” merely means that the employer intentionally failed or refused to perform an act 

which was required to be done.’  [Citation.]  A good faith belief in a legal defense will 

preclude a finding of willfulness.  [Citation.]”  (Armenta, supra, 135 Cal.App.4th at p. 

325.)  A trial court’s finding of willfulness under Labor Code section 203 is reviewed for 

substantial evidence.  (Amaral v. Cintas Corp. No. 2 (2008) 163 Cal.App.4th 1157, 

1201.) 

 DTLA challenges the $237,840 in waiting time penalties awarded under Labor 

Code section 203 as improper because the award conflicted with the trial court’s finding, 

made in connection with its denial of plaintiffs’ claim for liquidated damages, “that 

DTLA’s actions were taken in good faith and with a reasonable basis for believing the 

actions were not in violation of the law.”  DTLA did not object to the portion of the trial 

court’s statement of decision regarding penalties under  Labor Code section 203.  Absent 

such an objection, we make all implied findings necessary to support the trial court’s 

penalty award.  (In re Marriage of Arceneaux (1990) 51 Cal.3d 1130, 1133.) 

 There is substantial evidence in the record to support an implied finding of 

willfulness.  Although DTLA stated that its policy was to supplement its technicians’ pay 

when flag hour compensation fell below the minimum wage floor, there was evidence 

that DTLA did not always follow this policy.  DTLA’s expert witness testified that he 

reviewed technicians’ pay records and found instances when DTLA failed to cover 

shortfalls between piece-rate wages and the minimum wage floor.  DTLA’s failure to do 

so was a sufficient basis for the imposition of penalties under Labor Code section 203.  

The trial court accordingly did not err by awarding such penalties. 
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DISPOSITION 

 The judgment is affirmed.  Plaintiffs are awarded their costs on appeal. 

 NOT TO BE PUBLISHED IN THE OFFICIAL REPORTS. 
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