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* (Pursuant to Cal. Const., art. VI, § 21.)



This appeal arises from the dissolution of the marriage of Kyonghee Kim (wife)
and Joseph Kim (husband). Both parties represent themselves in this appeal.

Wife attempts to appeal the judgment of dissolution entered and served by the
clerk of the court on April 12, 2013. However, wife did not file her notice of appeal
until August 14, 2013, a date beyond the 60-day jurisdictional time limit under the
California Rules of Court, rule 8.104, subdivision (a)(1)(A)." Although wife filed
a motion to vacate the judgment, she failed to file that motion within the jurisdictional
15-day time period provided by Code of Civil Procedure, section 663a,? which rendered
her motion invalid. Because an invalid motion to vacate does not extend the time to
appeal under California Rules of Court, rule 8.108, subdivision (c), this appeal is
untimely. Accordingly, we dismiss the appeal.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND?

Wife is the petitioner in the marital dissolution action. It appears a contested
proceeding took place on February 19, 2013, in which both parties represented
themselves. On March 29, 2013, the court ordered husband to pay child and spousal
support arrears to wife in the sum of $4,419.20, plus interest. On April 12, 2013, the
court entered a judgment of marital dissolution, confirming marital status terminated on
that date. The court awarded sole legal and physical custody of the couple’s two
children to wife. The judgment also included awards of child support and spousal
support payable to wife. The clerk of the court served notice of entry of the judgment
on April 12, 2013.

On May 17, 2013, wife filed a motion to vacate the judgment, which motion the

court heard and denied on July 16, 2013.* Wife filed her notice of appeal on August 14,

. All rule references are to the California Rules of Court.

2 All code section references are to the Code of Civil Procedure.

: The record provided by the appellant tells us little about the proceedings below.
We therefore summarize only the pertinent facts necessary to determine whether we
have jurisdiction to hear the appeal.



2013. We subsequently issued a letter pursuant to Government Code, section 68081,
asking the parties to address the validity of wife’s motion to vacate the judgment and
the timeliness of the appeal.
DISCUSSION
1. Wife Filed Her Notice of Appeal More Than 60 Days After Service
of Notice of Entry of Judgment

It is well established that compliance with the time for filing a notice of appeal is
mandatory and jurisdictional. (Conservatorship of Townsend (2014) 231 Cal.App.4th
691, 700 (Townsend).) A notice of appeal must be filed within 60 days after service of
a notice of entry of judgment or a file-stamped copy of the judgment by either the
superior court clerk or by a party. (Rule 8.104, subd. (a)(1)(A).) When a notice of
appeal “has not in fact been filed within the relevant jurisdictional period—and when
applicable rules of construction and interpretation fail to require that it be deemed in law
to have been so filed—the appellate court, absent statutory authorization to extend the
jurisdictional period, lacks all power to consider the appeal on its merits and must
dismiss, on its own motion if necessary, without regard to considerations of estoppel or
excuse.” (Hollister Convalescent Hosp., Inc. v. Rico (1975) 15 Cal.3d 660, 674.) An
untimely appeal is an “absolute bar” to appellate jurisdiction. (Delmonico v. Laidlaw
Waste Systems, Inc. (1992) 5 Cal.App.4th 81, 83; Townsend, supra, 231 Cal.App.4th at
p. 701.)

Here, the record includes the notice of entry of the judgment, signed by the clerk
of the court, indicating the court served the notice of entry to both parties on April 12,
2013. Wife’s contention that notice of entry was not mailed to her until May 4, 2013, is
unsupported by the record. The clerk’s certificate of mailing, dated April 12, 2013,
conclusively establishes the date that the 60-day time to appeal begins to run.

(Advisory Com. com., subd. (a), Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.104.) Moreover, Mr. Kim

4 . . . .
We have augmented the record on our own motion to include wife’s motion to

vacate and the July 16, 2013 minute order. (Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.155,
subd. (a)(1)(A).)



confirmed at oral argument that he received the notice of entry of judgment by mail
within a few days after service. Accordingly, under rule 8.104, subdivision (a)(1)(A),
the time to appeal expired on June 11, 2013. Wife filed her notice of appeal on
August 14, 2013, outside the 60-day period. Thus, the appeal is untimely unless the
time to appeal is extended.

2. Wife’s Invalid Motion to Vacate Did Not Extend the Time to

File an Appeal

The 60-day period to file a notice of appeal is extended if, within that time
period, any party serves and files a “valid notice of intention to move—or a valid
motion—to vacate the judgment.” (Rule 8.108, subd. (c); see Payne v. Rader (2008)
167 Cal.App.4th 1569, 1573-1574.) As we recently observed, « ‘the word “valid”
means only that the motion, election, request, or notice complies with all procedural
requirements; it does not mean that the motion, election, request, or notice must also be
substantively meritorious.” ” (Townsend, supra, 231 Cal.App.4th at p. 701.)

The procedural requirements for a valid motion to vacate are set forth in
sections 663 and 663a. A party intending to make such a motion must file and serve
a notice of intention to move to vacate, designating the grounds, within the statutory
time limits. (8 663a, subd. (a).) The time period to file a motion to vacate is
jurisdictional and cannot be extended due to mistake, inadvertence, surprise, or
excusable neglect. (Advanced Building Maintenance v. State Comp. Ins. Fund (1996)
49 Cal.App.4th 1388, 1392-1395; Townsend, supra, 231 Cal.App.4th at p. 702.)

Here, as previously noted, the clerk of the court served notice of entry of the
judgment on April 12, 2013. Therefore, under section 663a, subd. (a)(2), wife was
required to file a notice of intent to move to vacate, or the motion itself, within 15 days
of the clerk’s mailing, or no later than April 29, 2013. (8§ 12a [extending deadlines
falling on a holiday or weekend to the following weekday], 663a, subd. (a)(2) [15-day
time limit].) Wife filed her notice of intent together with her motion to vacate the
judgment on May 17, 2013, after the jurisdictional time, rendering her motion invalid.

Because the motion to vacate was invalid, neither the motion, nor the trial court’s



subsequent ruling on the motion, triggered the provisions of rule 8.108(c), which
operate to extend the time to appeal. (See, e.g., Payne v. Rader (2008) 167 Cal.App.4th
1569, 1573-1574 [trial court’s denial of an invalid motion to vacate had no effect on
appellate court jurisdiction].) Accordingly, wife’s notice of appeal was untimely.
DISPOSITION
The appeal is dismissed. Each side to bear their own costs.
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