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 Plaintiff Regional Builders, Inc. (Builders) appeals from 

an order granting respondents Brian and Karen Hughes (the 

Hugheses) petition to expunge a mechanics lien by Builders 
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against property owned by the Hugheses.  (Civ. Code,1 §§ 3144, 

3154.)  We find no error2 and shall affirm. 

BACKGROUND 

 The relevant facts are undisputed, and the timing of these 

events is central to the dispute. 

 On August 10, 2009, Builders filed a complaint against the 

Hugheses, alleging causes of action for breach of contract and 

common counts, and seeking damages of $230,000 for labor and 

materials supplied to the Hugheses for construction at their 

home.  Builders attached to the complaint a copy of its written 

contract with the Hugheses and, in addition to damages, 

interest, and attorney fees, prayed for “such relief as is fair, 

just and equitable[.]” 

 On October 2, 2009, Builders recorded a mechanics lien3 

against the Hugheses property in the amount of $117,435.20. 

                     

1  Further undesignated statutory references are to the Civil 
Code. 

2  We returned the Hugheses brief unfiled for noncompliance 
with certain rules of the California Rules of Court.  Despite 
our invitation to make corrections and resubmit the brief for 
filing, the Hugheses subsequently failed to file a brief.  Both 
parties appeared for oral argument, but we declined the 
Hugheses’ request to be heard.  (See California Rules of Court, 
rule 8.220(a)(2).) 

  “[W]e do not treat the failure to file a respondent’s brief 
as a ‘default’ (i.e., an admission of error) but examine the 
record, [appellants’] brief, and any oral argument by 
appellant[s] to see if [they] support[] any claims of error 
made by the appellant[s].  [Citations.]”  (In re Marriage of 
Riddle (2005) 125 Cal.App.4th 1075, 1078, fn. 1.) 
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 In March 2010, Builders sought leave to file an amended 

complaint to add a cause of action for foreclosure on its 

mechanics lien.  The Hugheses opposed the motion, arguing that 

the proposed cause of action for foreclosure on the mechanics 

lien was barred by section 3144, which requires an action to 

foreclose on a mechanics lien be filed no later than “90 days 

after” the lien was recorded.  The trial court granted the 

motion by Builders, but noted in its minute order that the 

Hugheses could challenge the amended complaint by demurrer and 

“may ultimately prevail” on their argument that the mechanics 

lien cause of action was barred by the statute of limitations. 

 Builders filed its amended complaint on March 18, 2010, 

adding a cause of action for foreclosure of its October 2009 

mechanics lien.4 

 The Hugheses then filed a petition to expunge the mechanics 

lien, which is the subject of the instant appeal, arguing that 

the lien by Builders was void as a matter of law because it 

failed to file “an action to foreclose the lien” within “90 days 

                                                                  

3  “Mechanics lien” has also been spelled both “mechanic’s lien” 
(see T.O. IX, LLC v. Superior Court (2008) 165 Cal.App.4th 140, 
144) and “mechanics’ lien” (see Connolly Development, Inc. v. 
Superior Court of Merced County (1976) 17 Cal.3d 803, 811).  We 
follow the Legislature which, in its recent recodification of 
the applicable statutes, dropped the apostrophe.  (See § 8000 
et. seq.; Stats. 2010, ch. 697, § 20; see 4 Witkin, Summary of 
Cal. Law (2008 & 2011 supp.) Sec. Trans. in Real Prop., § 31B, 
p. 125.) 

4  At some point, the Hugheses cross-complained against Builders; 
the cross-complaint is not in the record. 
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after the recording of the claim of lien,” as required by 

section 3144. 

 Builders argued in opposition, as it now does on appeal, 

that:  (1) the original complaint’s omnibus prayer for “fair, 

just and equitable” relief implicitly included enforcement of a 

mechanics lien; (2) the foreclosure cause of action in the 

amended complaint was timely because it “related back” to the 

original complaint; and, (3) the presence of a foreclosure claim 

in the amended complaint precluded the Hugheses’ petition.  

 The trial court rejected Builders arguments, and granted 

the Hugheses’ petition to expunge the mechanics lien.  It 

reasoned that the foreclosure cause of action in the amended 

complaint could not relate back to the original complaint 

because Builders did not record the lien until after it filed 

the original complaint, and the amended complaint could not 

revive a lien which had been rendered “null and void” by virtue 

of the passage of more than 90 days.  (§ 3144, subd. (b).)  This 

appeal followed. 

DISCUSSION 

I 

Mechanics Liens and Standard of Review 

 “Mechanics, persons furnishing materials, artisans, and 

laborers of every class, shall have a lien upon the property 

upon which they have bestowed labor or furnished material for 

the value of such labor done and material furnished; and the 

Legislature shall provide, by law, for the speedy and efficient 

enforcement of such liens.”  (Cal. Const., art. XIV, § 3; see 
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Connolly Development, Inc. v. Superior Court, supra, 17 Cal.3d 

at p. 808.) 

 As the mechanics lien is the only creditors’ remedy 

stemming from constitutional command, our courts “‘have 

uniformly classified the mechanics’ lien laws as remedial 

legislation, to be liberally construed for the protection of 

laborers and materialmen.’  [Citation.]”  (Coast Central Credit 

Union v. Superior Court (1989) 209 Cal.App.3d 703, 708 (Coast 

Central.)  But the constitutional provision “‘“is not self-

executing, and is inoperative except as supplemented by 

legislation.”’”  (Coast Central, supra, 209 Cal.App.3d at p. 

709.)  Thus, the Legislature has the power “‘“reasonably to 

regulate and to provide for the exercise of the right, the 

manner of its exercise, the time when it attached, and the time 

within which and the persons against whom it could be 

enforced.”’”  (Coast Central, supra, at p. 709; see § 3082 et 

seq.)5   

 The mechanics lien statutes at issue in this case are 

sections 3144 and 3154.  We review the trial court’s 

construction and application of these statutes de novo, as the 

decisive facts are undisputed.  (City of San Jose v. 

International Assn. of Firefighters, Local 230 (2009) 

                     

5  The existing mechanics lien law was repealed and replaced in 
2010, effective July 1, 2012.  (See § 8000 et. seq.; Stats. 
2010, ch. 697, § 20; see 4 Witkin, Summary of Cal. Law (10th ed. 
& 2011 supp.) Sec. Trans. in Real Prop., § 31A, supp. pp. 122-
123.) 
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178 Cal.App.4th 408, 424 [questions of statutory interpretation 

are subject to de novo review].) 

 Generally, doubts concerning the meaning of the mechanics 

lien statutes are resolved in favor of the claimant.  (T.O. IX, 

LLC v. Superior Court, supra, 165 Cal.App.4th at p. 146.)  This 

does not mean, however, that lien laws are to be “applied 

blindly without regard to the rights of property owners.”  

(Baker v. Hubbard (1980) 101 Cal.App.3d 226, 233.)  Rather, 

courts have also recognized that the mechanics lien laws are 

intended to protect both the owner whose title is clouded by a 

lien and the lien claimant.  Thus, courts must balance the 

interests of both parties.  (Borchers Bros. v. Buckeye Incubator 

Co. (1963) 59 Cal.2d 234, 238-239.) 

II 

Section 3144 and the 90-Day Requirement 

 Section 3144 states that “[n]o [mechanics’] lien . . . 

binds any property for a longer period of time than 90 days 

after the recording of the claim of lien, unless within that 

time an action to foreclose the lien is commenced[.]”  (§ 3144, 

subd. (a).)  If the lien claimant then “fails to commence an 

action to foreclose the lien within the time limitation provided 

in this section, the lien automatically shall be null and void 

and of no further force and effect.”  (§ 3144, subd. (b).) 

 It is undisputed that more than 90 days had elapsed since 

Builders recorded its mechanics lien by the time it amended its 

complaint to add a cause of action for foreclosure on the 

mechanics lien.  The consequence of failure to commence an 
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action to foreclose on a mechanics lien within 90 days after the 

lien was recorded is stated in subdivision (b) of section 3144:  

if an action to foreclose the lien is not commenced “within the 

time limitation provided in this section,” the lien is 

automatically null and void.  (§ 3144, subd. (b).)  The only 

“time limitation provided in this section” is the 90-day period 

that begins to run “after the recording of the claim of lien[.]”  

(§ 3144, subd. (a).)  Because Builders failed to commence an 

action to foreclose the mechanics lien within that period, its 

mechanics lien was automatically rendered “null and void.”  (See 

Solit v. Tokai Bank (1999) 68 Cal.App.4th 1435, 1443 (Solit).)   

 Builders contends the statute permits an action to 

foreclose on a mechanics lien to “be filed prior to the 

mechanic’s lien being recorded” (italics added) so long as 

“the action ripens” within 90 days of the recording.  It claims 

the original complaint can fairly be categorized as such an 

action.  We disagree with both contentions. 

 First, we note that a prayer for all “just and equitable” 

relief available under a breach of contract cause of action, 

without more, cannot fairly be read to constitute a cause of 

action to foreclose a mechanics lien that did not yet exist.  

Nor did the parties’ agreement that Builders “may record 

mechanics liens and sue . . . in court to foreclose the lien” 

(CT 10) put the Hugheses on notice that Builders intended to 

record a lien, let alone that it would do so successfully.  (See 

Halbert’s Lumber, Inc. v. Burdett (1988) 202 Cal.App.3d Supp. 
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14, 17 [the “right to a mechanic[s] lien depends upon strict 

compliance” with the applicable statutes].)  

 Further, the plain meaning of the statute precludes 

Builders interpretation that the 90-day period somehow applies 

to a time period other than that between the recording of the 

lien and the filing of the foreclosure action.  Section 3144, 

subdivision (a) states that a mechanics lien cannot bind the 

subject property “longer . . . than 90 days after the recording 

of the claim of lien unless within that time an action to 

foreclose is commenced[.]”  The 90-day period thus begins by its 

own terms to run only “after the recording of the lien[,]” not 

before, as Builders suggests.  The phrase “within that time” in 

the same sentence clearly refers to the time period identified 

in the preceding clause of the same sentence, that is, “90 days 

after the recording of the claim of lien[.]”  The lien survives 

past 90 days after it is recorded only if “an action to 

foreclose the lien is commenced” within 90 days after the lien 

was recorded.  Otherwise, it becomes null and void. 

III 

Section 3154 

 Our interpretation of the 90-day requirement contained 

within section 3144 is supported by section 3154, which provides 

that a property owner can obtain a recordable decree, so that 

the title records reflect that a specific lien has, by operation 

of section 3144, automatically become “null and void and of no 

further force and effect.”  (Solit, supra, 68 Cal.App.4th at p. 

1443.)   
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 “Under section 3154, after expiration of the 90-day period 

within which a foreclosure action must be commenced after a lien 

is recorded, if no action has been commenced to enforce such 

lien, and if the claimant is unable or unwilling to execute a 

release of the lien or cannot with reasonable diligence be 

found, then the owner of the property or the owner of any 

interest therein may petition the court for a decree to release 

the property from the lien.”  (Solit, supra, 68 Cal.App.4th at 

p. 1443.)  Section 3154 thus provides an “expedited procedure” 

by which “a judgment in favor of the petitioner results in a 

decree which, when recorded, will mean that the property 

described in the decree ‘shall be released from the lien’.”6  

                     

6  Section 3154 provides in material part:  “(a) At any time 
after the expiration of the time period specified by Section 
3144 with regard to the period during which property is bound by 
a lien after recordation of a claim of lien, where no action has 
been brought to enforce that lien, the owner of the property or 
the owner of any interest therein may petition the proper court 
for a decree to release the property from the lien.  

 “(b) The petition shall be verified and shall allege all of the 
following: 

 “(1) The date of recordation of the claim of lien. 

 “(2) The legal description of the property affected by the 
claim of lien. 

 “(3) That no action to foreclose the lien is pending, or 
that no extension of credit has been recorded, and that the time 
period during which suit can be brought to foreclose the lien 
has expired. 

 “(4) That the lien claimant is unable or unwilling to 
execute a release of the lien or cannot with reasonable 
diligence be found. 
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(Solit, supra, at p. 1443.)  See also Koudmani v. Ogle 

Enterprises, Inc. (1996) 47 Cal.App.4th 1650, 1657-1658 [“the 

tangible lien created by the timely recordation of a claim of 

lien becomes null and void if no foreclosure action is commenced 

within 90 days after recordation”]; see also Automatic Sprinkler 

Corp. v. Southern Cal. Edison Co. (1989) 216 Cal.App.3d 627, 

630.)   

 Treatises agree, explaining that “[i]n order to perfect the 

mechanics’ lien the claimant must file a complaint to foreclose 

the lien in the proper court within 90 days after the claim of 

lien is recorded.”  (10 Miller & Starr, Cal. Real Estate (3d ed. 

2001) § 28:65, p. 207; see also 1 Marsh, Cal. Mechanics’ Lien 

                                                                  

 “(5) That the owner of the property or interest in the 
property has not filed for relief under any law governing 
bankruptcy, and that there exists no other restraint to prevent 
the lien claimant from filing to foreclose the lien. A certified 
copy of the claim of lien shall be attached to the petition.  
The petition shall be deemed controverted by the lien claimant. 

“[¶] . . . [¶]  

 “(f) In the event judgment is rendered in favor of the 
petitioner, the decree shall indicate all of the following: 

 “(1) The date the lien was recorded. 

 “(2) The county and city, if any, in which the lien was 
recorded. 

 “(3) The book and page of the place in the official records 
where the lien is recorded. 

 “(4) The legal description of the property affected. Upon 
the recordation of a certified copy of the decree, the property 
described in the decree shall be released from the lien. . . .” 
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Law (6th ed. Lexis Nexis Matthew Bender 2010) § 4.40, pp. 4-57 

[“At the time of recordation, it should be specifically 

requested that the recorded instrument be returned in due 

course, and also the Recorder’s serial number should be obtained 

for ready reference in the meantime.  Then, immediately, the 

case must be calendared for filing complaint to foreclose within 

90 days following the date of recordation of the notice and 

claim of lien.  This filing time is mandatory . . . .”]; Cal. 

Mechanic's Liens and Related Construction Remedies (Cont.Ed.Bar 

3d ed. 2005) § 3.49, p. 154.1 [“A recorded mechanics’ lien is 

released by operation of law if the claimant does not bring a 

lien foreclosure action within 90 days after the lien was 

recorded”]; see also 4 Witkin, Summary of Cal. Law, supra, Sec. 

Trans. in Real Prop., § 29, pp. 822-823.) 

IV 

Relation Back Doctrine 

 Builders also argues the foreclosure action contained in 

its amended complaint, filed well after 90 days had elapsed from 

the lien’s recording, should be considered timely because it 

“relates back” to the original complaint.  We are not persuaded.  

 An amended complaint is considered a new action for 

purposes of a statute of limitations only if the claims do not 

“relate back” to an earlier, timely filed complaint.  Under the 

relation-back doctrine, an amendment relates back to the 

original complaint if the amendment:  (1) rests on the same 

general set of facts; (2) involves the same injury; and (3) 

refers to the same instrumentality.  (Pointe San Diego 



 

12 

Residential Community, L.P. v. Procopio, Cory, Hargreaves & 

Savitch, LLP (2011) 195 Cal.App.4th 265, 276 (Pointe) and cases 

cited therein.)  However, the doctrine will not apply if the 

“‘the plaintiff seeks by amendment to recover upon a set of 

facts entirely unrelated to those pleaded in the original 

complaint.’  [Citation.]”  (Pointe, supra, 195 Cal.App.4th at p. 

277.) 

 In determining whether the amended complaint alleges facts 

that are sufficiently similar to those alleged in the original 

complaint, the critical inquiry is whether the defendant had 

adequate notice of the claim based on the original pleading.  

(Pointe, supra, 195 Cal.App.4th at p. 277.)  “The policy behind 

statutes of limitations is to put defendants on notice of the 

need to defend against a claim in time to prepare a fair defense 

on the merits.  This policy is satisfied when recovery under an 

amended complaint is sought on the same basic set of facts as 

the original pleading.  [Citations.]”  (Pointe, supra, at p. 

277; see also Benfield v. Mocatta Metals Corp. (2d Cir. 1994) 26 

F.3d 19, 23 [finding that for relation-back doctrine to apply, 

“there must be a sufficient commonality” of alleged acts of 

wrongdoing to preclude a claim of “unfair surprise”].)   

 The original complaint contains no mention of an extant 

mechanics lien.  Indeed, it is undisputed that the lien did not 

yet exist.  Nor do we agree that the cause of action for breach 

of contract was sufficient to place the Hugheses on notice that 

a “foreclosure was included” merely because a mechanics lien is 

among the possible enumerated remedies for breach identified in 
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the contract.  Indeed, the statutory scheme contemplates that 

the recording of a mechanics lien itself will give the property 

owner both notice of the amount claimed by the mechanic and of 

the existence of a lien on the property to secure payment.  

(See, inter alia, § 3084.)  As the necessary predicate to a 

foreclosure action--a valid lien, properly recorded--did not 

exist when the original complaint was filed, we cannot say that 

the original complaint gave notice that a foreclosure action was 

among the contemplated consequences of Builders prevailing on 

its breach of contract claim. 

 Although we agree that courts have held that the relation-

back doctrine applied in some mechanics lien cases, these cases 

are distinguishable.  (See Sobeck & Associates, Inc. v. B & R 

Investments No. 24 (1999) 215 Cal.App.3d 861, 867 [doctrine 

applied to allow a plaintiff to amend its complaint under the 

fictitious names statute and substitute a named defendant in 

place of a previously designated Doe defendant]; Wachovia Bank 

v. Lifetime Industries, Inc. (2006) 145 Cal.App.4th 1039, 1050-

1051 [doctrine applied to relate the lien back to the date the 

first labor or material was furnished for the work or 

improvement, therefore an interest in the property acquired 

after work has begun but before the claim of lien is recorded is 

subject to the lien]; see also Tesco Controls, Inc. v. Monterey 

Mechanical Co., (2004) 124 Cal.App.4th 780, 793 [“The relation-

back doctrine feature of mechanics’ liens is of particular 

importance to construction lenders.  Lenders who have made loans 

after the commencement of work on a jobsite have found their 
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loans subordinate to mechanics’ liens arising out of work 

performed or material delivered after trust deeds securing those 

loans were recorded because some work was performed or materials 

delivered before recordation.  [Citations.]  Accordingly, 

lenders typically require releases of existing lien rights 

before they will make progress payments on construction 

loans”].)  These cases are not at all analogous to the facts 

presented here. 

V 

Pending Lien 

 Finally, we reject Builders contention that the Hugheses’ 

petition to expunge the lien was defective because section 3154 

requires the petitioner applicant to aver (among other things) 

that “no action to foreclose the lien is pending” (§ 3154, subd. 

(b)(3)).  Although Builders claims that at the time the petition 

was filed, the amended complaint to foreclose the lien was 

pending, the lien was already null and void.   

 As we have explained, the mechanics lien recorded by 

Builders automatically became null and void 90 days after it was 

filed, as no action to foreclose upon the lien was commenced 

during that period.  When the Hugheses thereafter petitioned to 

expunge the lien, there was no lien, thus no valid claim of 

foreclosure.  To construe section 3154 otherwise would render 

inoperative section 3144, subdivision (b), which voids any lien 

upon which a timely foreclosure action has not been filed.  (See 

Schmitt v. Tri Counties Bank (1999) 70 Cal.App.4th 1234, 1242.) 



 

15 

DISPOSITION 

 The orders of the trial court are affirmed.  The Hugheses 

shall recover their costs on appeal.  (Cal. Rules of Court, rule 

8.278(a)(2).) 
 
 
 
         DUARTE              , J. 
 
 
 
We concur: 
 
 
 
        RAYE                 , P. J. 
 
 
 
        ROBIE                , J. 

 


