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IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

THIRD APPELLATE DISTRICT 

(Sacramento) 

---- 
 
 
THE PEOPLE, 
 
  Plaintiff and Respondent, 
 
 v. 
 
TYCE RENARD JACKSON, 
 
  Defendant and Appellant. 
 

C067788 
 

(Super. Ct. No. 
10F06311) 

 
 

 In exchange for a stipulated sentence, defendant Tyce 

Renard Jackson pleaded no contest to spousal battery and 

admitted a prior “strike” conviction. 

 On appeal, defendant first contends the trial court erred 

in ordering him to pay a main jail booking fee of $287.78 and a 

main jail classification fee of $59.23 because there is 

insufficient evidence to support a finding he had the ability to 

pay jail booking and classification fees.  Under Government Code 

section 29550.2, subdivision (a), “Any person booked into a 

county jail pursuant to any arrest . . . is subject to a 
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criminal justice administration fee for administration costs 

incurred in conjunction with the arresting and booking if the 

person is convicted of any criminal offense relating to the 

arrest and booking.  The fee which the county is entitled to 

recover pursuant to this subdivision shall not exceed the actual 

administrative costs, as defined in subdivision (c) . . . .  If 

the person has the ability to pay, a judgment of conviction 

shall contain an order for payment of the amount of the criminal 

justice administration fee by the convicted person, and 

execution shall be issued on the order in the same manner as a 

judgment in a civil action . . . .”  Subdivision (c) of the same 

section authorizes fees for booking and classification while in 

jail. 

 Defendant claims that since the statute is predicated on a 

defendant’s ability to pay and there was no evidence before the 

trial court that he had such ability, the fees were improperly 

imposed.  The People respond that defendant forfeited this issue 

by not objecting in the trial court to payment of the jail fees. 

 We find the People’s argument persuasive.  This court has 

previously held that if a defendant does not object in the trial 

court to the imposition of a fee or fine, the issue is 

forfeited.  (People v. Crittle (2007) 154 Cal.App.4th 368, 371 

[crime prevention fine—Pen. Code, § 1202.5, subd. (a)]; 

People v. Hodges (1999) 70 Cal.App.4th 1348, 1357 [jail booking 

fee—Gov. Code, § 29550.2]; People v. Gibson (1994) 

27 Cal.App.4th 1466, 1467, 1468-1469 (Gibson) [restitution fine—

Gov. Code, former § 13967, subd. (a).)  We have applied the 
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forfeiture rule even when the defendant claims on appeal that 

there is not sufficient evidence to support the imposition of 

the fine or fee.  (Gibson, supra, 27 Cal.App.4th at pp. 1467-

1469.) 

 The Sixth Appellate District, however, has concluded that 

appeals challenging the imposition of fines and fees based on 

claims of insufficient evidence “do not require assertion in the 

court below to be preserved on appeal.”  (People v. Pacheco 

(2010) 187 Cal.App.4th 1392, 1397, citing People v. Viray (2005) 

134 Cal.App.4th 1186, 1217.)  This holding created a conflict 

between Pacheco and the cases cited above.  The California 

Supreme Court will likely soon resolve the conflict.  (See 

People v. McCullough (2011) 193 Cal.App.4th 864, review granted 

on June 29, 2011, S192513.) 

 Until the California Supreme Court issues further guidance, 

we continue to adhere to our holding in Gibson, supra, 

27 Cal.App.4th 1466, i.e., that a failure to object to a fee or 

fine in the trial court forfeits the issue, even where the 

statute contemplates a judicial finding of ability to pay and 

the defendant challenges the sufficiency of the evidence to 

support such a finding.  (Id. at pp. 1467, 1468-1469.)  “As a 

matter of fairness to the trial court, a defendant should not be 

permitted to assert for the first time on appeal a procedural 

defect in imposition of a restitution fine, i.e., the trial 

court’s alleged failure to consider defendant’s ability to pay 

the fine.  [Citation.]  Rather, a defendant must make a timely 

objection in the trial court in order to give that court an 
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opportunity to correct the error; failure to object should 

preclude reversal of the order on appeal.”  (Id. at p. 1468.)  

Not applying forfeiture principles in such cases not only 

encourages attorney gamesmanship, but depletes judicial 

resources and wastes taxpayer money.  (See id. at pp. 1468-

1469.)  Accordingly, we conclude that defendant’s failure to 

raise the issue of his ability to pay the main jail 

classification fee and main jail booking fee in the trial court 

precludes review for the first time on appeal. 

 Defendant also asks that we order the trial court to amend 

the abstract of judgment to reflect that, at sentencing, 

defendant was ordered to pay restitution fines of $200 each 

pursuant to Penal Code sections 1202.4 and 1202.45; the abstract 

of judgment incorrectly indicates that defendant is obligated to 

pay restitution fines of $1,200 under those sections.  The 

People agree that the abstract should be amended as defendant 

suggests, and asks that it be further amended to reflect the 

court’s pronouncement at sentencing that no victim restitution 

was ordered, and its imposition of a main jail booking fee of 

$287.78, a main jail classification fee of $59.23, and a court 

facility fee of $30. 

 We agree with the parties’ respective requests for 

amendment of the abstract of judgment to eliminate the 

discrepancies between the oral pronouncement of judgment and 

the abstract of judgment.  (See People v. Zachary (2007) 

147 Cal.App.4th 380, 385-386.) 
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DISPOSITION 

 The judgment is affirmed.  The trial court shall correct 

the abstract of judgment to delete any reference to victim 

restitution and to reflect the trial court’s imposition of the 

following fees:  (1) $200 restitution fines pursuant to Penal 

Code sections 1202.4, subdivision (b) and 1202.45; (2) a main 

jail booking fee of $287.78 (Gov. Code, § 29550.2); (3) a main 

jail classification fee of $59.23 (Gov. Code, § 29550.2); and 

(4) a court facility fee of $30 (Gov. Code, § 70373).  

Thereafter, the court shall send a certified copy of the 

corrected abstract of judgment to the Department of Corrections 

and Rehabilitation. 
 
 
 
           RAYE           , P. J. 
 
 
 
We concur: 
 
 
 
          MAURO          , J. 
 
 
 
          HOCH           , J. 


