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Following a contested jurisdiction hearing, the juvenile court found that the minor
0. A. committed robbery and two counts of attempted robbery. At the disposition
hearing, the juvenile court adjudged the minor a ward of the court, set a maximum term
of confinement of six years four months, and placed the minor on probation with 120
days in juvenile hall. Among the probation conditions was that the minor pay a $100
general fund fine.

On appeal, the minor contends there was insufficient evidence of the minor’s

ability to pay the general fund fine and its attendant penalty assessment. We affirm.




We dispense with the facts of the minor’s offenses, as they are unnecessary to
resolve this appeal.

When a minor is adjudged a ward of the juvenile court, the court may order the
minor to pay a fine of up to $250 to “the county treasury if the court finds the minor has
the financial ability to pay the fine, or to participate in uncompensated work programs.”
(Welf. & Inst. Code, 8§ 731, subd. (a)(1).)

This court has previously held that if a defendant does not object in the trial court
to the imposition of a fee or fine, the issue is forfeited. (People v. Crittle (2007)

154 Cal.App.4th 368, 371 [crime prevention fine -- Pen. Code, § 1202.5, subd. (a)];
People v. Hodges (1999) 70 Cal.App.4th 1348, 1357 [jail booking fee -- Gov. Code,

8§ 29550.2]; People v. Gibson (1994) 27 Cal.App.4th 1466, 1467, 1468-1469 [restitution
fine -- Gov. Code, former § 13967, subd. (a)].) We have applied the forfeiture rule even
when the defendant claims on appeal that there is not sufficient evidence to support the
imposition of the fine or fee. (Gibson, at pp. 1467-1469.)

The Sixth Appellate District, however, has concluded that appeals challenging the
imposition of fines and fees based on claims of insufficient evidence “do not require
assertion in the court below to be preserved on appeal.” (People v. Pacheco (2010)

187 Cal.App.4th 1392, 1397, citing People v. Viray (2005) 134 Cal.App.4th 1186, 1217.)
This holding created a conflict between Pacheco and the cases cited above. The
California Supreme Court has agreed to resolve the conflict. (See People v. McCullough
(2011) 193 Cal.App.4th 864, review granted June 29, 2011, S192513, will be argued on
Feb. 6, 2013.)

Until the California Supreme Court issues further guidance, we continue to adhere
to our holding in People v. Gibson, supra, 27 Cal.App.4th at page1466, that a failure to
object to a fee or fine in the trial court forfeits the issue, even where the statute
contemplates a judicial finding of ability to pay and the defendant challenges the

sufficiency of the evidence to support such a finding. (Id. at pp. 1467, 1468-1469.) “As



a matter of fairness to the trial court, a defendant should not be permitted to assert for the
first time on appeal a procedural defect in imposition of a restitution fine, i.e., the trial
court’s alleged failure to consider defendant’s ability to pay the fine. [Citation.] Rather,
a defendant must make a timely objection in the trial court in order to give that court an
opportunity to correct the error; failure to object should preclude reversal of the order on
appeal. [Citations.]” (lId. at p. 1468.)

Accordingly, we conclude that the minor’s failure to object to the general fund
fine forfeits his contentions regarding the fine and its attendant assessment.

DISPOSITION

The judgment is affirmed.
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