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What is a “Criminal Protective Order”?

i i iminal case.
It is a court order issued in a crimina

Criminal Protective @rcler

Need more information? do:
* Go to: www.courtinfo.ca.qov/ What does the order do?

selfhelp It orders you to:

« Call the National Domestlc)‘ + not contact or go
Violence Hotline (24 hours): near the protected

iminal
1-800-799-7233 A Crl'mll:)rder perssn :na dgun
TDD: 1-800-787-3224 Protective . ot hay

It's free and private. was issued What if 1 violate
They can help you in more than ag ainst me. the order?

100 languages. The police can arrest
you. You can go to

FOR COURT UsE ongy

PEOPLE oF THE STATE oF CALIFORNIA
vs.

DEFENDANT-

CASE NUMBER,

[ ORDER PENDING TRIAL MODIFICATION

ORDER POST-TRIAL DOMESsTIC VIOLENCE CASE
PROBATION CONDITION (Pen. Coge, § 13700)

THIS ORDER TAKES PRECEDENCE OVER ANY CONFLICTING COURT ORDER

PERSON 10 BE RESTRAINED (Complete name):
Sex: IMm [ F Hl.:\ Wt.:\ Hair Color:\ Eye Color:\ Race:\ Age:___ Date of Binhi\
D The defendant js a peace officer with

Department.

1. This Proceeding was heard

For help in your area, contact:

on (date): at (time): in Dept.: Room:
L ‘l by judicial officer (name):
J al . 2. Defendant was personally present at the court hearing, and no additiona) Proof of service of the restraining orger is required,

Goop CAUSE APPEAHING, THE COURT ORDERsS
3. The above-nameq defendant
a. must not annoy, harass, strike, threaten, Sexually assault, batter, stalk, destroy personal Property of, or otherwise disturb the
Peace of the Protected Persons nameq below.
b. must Surrender to local law enforcement orsellto licensed gun dealer any firearm Owned or Subject to his or her
immediate Possession or control within
1) D 24 hours after issuance of this order (if restraineq Person js Present at hearing)
&) 48 hours afte Service of thig order (if restraineq person is not Present at hearing)
@) 7 other (specify):

The restraineq Person shall file 5 receipt with the court showing c€ompliance with this order within 72 hours of
receiving this order.

C. must not attempt to o actually prevent or dissuade any victim or Wwitness from attending 5 hearing or testifying or making a

report to any law enforcement agency or Pperson,

d. Must have no Ppersonal, telephonic, or written contact with the Pprotected Persons nameq below,

e. must have no contact with the Protected Persons nameq below through a third Party, except an attorney of record.

f. in w.

g.

How long does

i t?
————— rECTIVE it las
C’K/mwg'Le g?e Look at the bottom
: of form CR-160,
#7. This is the date

the order ends.

Must not come with

Produced by:

ici il of California
Judicial Council 0 P
inistrative Office 0 "

égtrthlgrl for Families, Children & the Cou

Avenue
455 Golden Gate _
San Francisco, CA 94102-3660

www.courtinfo.ca.gov/programs/cfcc

6. Other orders including stay-away orders from specific locations:

7. This order expires on (specify date):
It no date is listed, this order expires three years from the date of Issuance.
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Can the protected person
and 1 agree to cancel
the order?

No. Only the judge can change or
cancel the order.

What if the protected
person contacts me?

No matter what, you have to
follow the court order. The order
does not affect what the protected
person can do. It only affects what
you can do.

Is the order valid outside
of California?

Yes. The order is valid all over the
United States, including U.S.
territories and Indian lands.
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Warning:

If you also have a family law case, see a lawyer.
Anything you say in that case can be used against
you in the criminal case. Tell the family law
judge that you also have a criminal case.

What about my children?

The Criminal Protective Order is
not for custody, visitation, or child
support. You can ask for these
things in family court.

Will the police
arrest me?

1f the police think you have
committed a crime, they can
arrest you. 1f they think you have
violated a protective order, they
must arrest you.

What happens if 1 am
arrested?

You will be “arraigned.” You will
stand in front of a judge. The
judge will tell you what the
charges are. 1f you are in jail, this
happens within 48-72 hours. If
you are not in jail, it can take
several weeks.

Do I need a lawyer?

Yes. If you do not have enough
money to hire a lawyer, the court
will give you one at the
arraignment.

What if 1 don’t have a
green card?

The order is valid whether you
have a green card or not. If you
are worried about being deported,
talk to an immigration lawyer.

What if the protected
person wants to drop the
charges?

The City Attorney or District
Attorney (D.A.)-not the protected
person—decides if criminal charges
will be filed against you. They will
decide based on the facts in the
police report.
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