Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Award Banner

2017 Judicial Council Distinguished Service Awards

2017 Judicial Council Distinguished Service Award Recipients (Left-Right) with Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye (Center): Bet Tzedek Legal Services, Judge Terry Friedman (Ret.) and Jessie Kornberg accepting; Judge Mark Juhas, Superior Court of Los Angeles County; Snorri Ogata, Superior Court of Los Angeles County; Justice Jeffrey Johnson, Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District; and Judge Erica Yew, Superior Court of Santa Clara County (see news release).

The Distinguished Service Award is the highest award presented by the Judicial Council of California. The award honors California judicial branch members; federal, state, or local justice partners; or individuals for their extraordinary dedication, outstanding leadership, and significant contributions to advancing the council's strategic goals for the judicial branch:

  • Access, fairness, and diversity;
  • Independence and accountability;
  • Modernization of management and administration;
  • Quality of justice and service to the public;
  • Education for branchwide professional excellence;
  • Branchwide infrastructure for service excellence; and
  • Adequate, stable and predictable funding for a fully functioning branch.

​The nomination period for the 2018 Distinguished Service Award will open in April 2018. For a list of past recipients, visit Distinguished Service Award recipients 1993–2016.

Note: Current Judicial Council members are not eligible to receive the Distinguished Service Award.

© 2018 Judicial Council of California