Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Award Banner

DSAs on table with flag on stageThe nomination period for the Distinguished Service Award is now open. The Chief Justice of California invites you to submit your nominations today. The submission deadline is Monday, May 29, 2017.

The Distinguished Service Award is the highest award presented by the Judicial Council of California.  The award honors California judicial branch members; federal, state, or local justice partners; or individuals for their extraordinary dedication, outstanding leadership, and significant contributions to advancing the council's strategic goals for the judicial branch:

  • Access, fairness, and diversity;
  • Independence and accountability;
  • Modernization of management and administration;
  • Quality of justice and service to the public;
  • Education for branchwide professional excellence;
  • Branchwide infrastructure for service excellence; and
  • Adequate, stable and predictable funding for a fully functioning branch.

Submit Nomination Button

You may also download the nomination form and e-mail your submissions to Distinguished.Service@jud.ca.gov, or mail them to: Judicial Council and Trial Court Leadership, at 455 Golden Gate Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94102-3688.

Note: Current Judicial Council members are not eligible to receive the Distinguished Service Award.

2017 award recipients will be announced in July. To see past recipients, visit Distinguished Service Award recipients 1993–2016.

Site Map | Careers | Contact Us | Accessibility | Public Access to Records | Terms of Use | Privacy | Newsroom