Traffic Advisory Committee

Makes recommendations to the council for improving the administration of justice in the area of traffic procedure, practice, and case management and in other areas as stated in the fish and game, boating, forestry, public utilities, parks and recreation, and business licensing bail schedules.

Date Established: 1995


October 14, 2014 Meeting (Closed)
9:30 a.m.

October 28, 2014 Meeting (Closed)
12:00 p.m.

November 7, 2014 Meeting (Closed)
12:00 p.m.

2014 Traffic Advisory Committee Meetings

The thirteen-member advisory committee is comprised of superior court judicial officers; court administrators; a criminal defense attorney, a representative of the Department of Motor Vehicles, the California Highway Patrol, and the California Office of Traffic Safety, and advisory staff from the Administrative Office of the Courts and reports directly to the Judicial Council. Members are appointed by the Chief Justice for a three-year term. The current membership term runs until November 1, 2014.

Download the Committee Roster
  • Hon. Mark S. Borrell, Chair, Judge of the Superior Court of Ventura County
  • Hon. Kim Baskett, Commissioner of the Superior Court of Santa Cruz County
  • Mr. Gregory S. Blair, Senior Administrator of the Superior Court of Los Angeles County
  • Hon. Kenneth N. Brody, Commissioner of the Superior Court of Sacramento County
  • Assistant Chief Avery Browne, California Highway Patrol
  • Mr. Craig Collins, Branch Chief, California Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Hon. Gail Dekreon, Judge of the Superior Court of San Francisco County
  • Hon. David V. Herriford, Judge of the Superior Court of Los Angeles County
  • Ms. Linda A. Iannelli, Attorney, Iannelli & Associates
  • Hon. James P. Madden, Commissioner of the Superior Court of Santa Clara County
  • Hon. J. Kent O’Mara, Referee of the Superior Court of Yolo County
  • Ms. Stephanie Sarracco-Reed, Assistant Director-Operations, Superior Court of San Diego County
  • Ms. Leslie Witten-Rood, Court Operations Manager, California Office of Traffic Safety
The Traffic Advisory Committee was created in 1995 and works toward improving the administration of justice in the adjudication of traffic and bail-forfeitable offenses; identifies policy issues and recommends rules and model procedures that will make the handling of traffic and bail-forfeitable offenses more consistent statewide.  


The mission of the Traffic Advisory Committee is to:

  • Ensure fairness and justice in traffic court;
  • Promote traffic safety awareness and adherence to traffic laws;
  • Increase public understanding of, access to, and ease in the handling of traffic citations;
  • Minimize the number of court contacts required to adjudicate traffic infraction citations;
  • Increase the efficiency and cost-effectiveness of traffic citation processing; and
  • Increase statewide standardization and uniformity in the administration and adjudication of traffic matters.

Current Activities
On a continuing basis, the Traffic Advisory Committee:

  • Prepares and disseminates annual Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedules;
  • Analyzes legislative proposals relating to traffic;
  • Develops and revises traffic-related rules and forms, circulates them as proposals for comment, and assesses responses to the proposals;
  • Designs, circulates for comment, and presents to the Judicial Council revisions to the Notice to Appear citation form for infractions and misdemeanors;
  • Creates materials on traffic-related issues for court personnel to use in community outreach; and
  • Considers proposals about traffic issues from members of the public, court management staff, the Legislature, law enforcement officials, and staff members of other agencies.

Contact Information

Criminal Justice Services
Operations & Programs

Site Map | Careers | Contact Us | Accessibility | Public Access to Records | Terms of Use | Privacy