Branch Awards

Awards Presented by Chief Justice

Award for Exemplary Service and Leadership
Honors an individual or organization deserving of special recognition by the highest judicial officer of the state, the Chief Justice, for outstanding service to the judicial branch. Award recipients are selected by the Chief Justice and are typically presented on Law Day in May.

Civic Learning Awards
Spotlights school-based efforts that engage students in civic learning. Award recipients serve as models that can be replicated in other schools. The award is co-sponsored by Chief Justice Tani Cantil-Sakauye and California State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond.

Judicial Council Awards

Distinguished Service Awards
Presented annually to individuals and organizations for their extraordinary contributions to California's court system. They are presented annually as the council's highest honor.

Partnership Awards

Aranda Access to Justice Award

Since 1993, the California Commission on Access to Justice has presented the Benjamin Aranda III Access to Justice Award in consultation with the Judicial Council, the State Bar, and the California Judges Association. This award honors one California trial judge, appellate court justice, or commissioner who deserves recognition for his or her efforts to improve access to our judicial system for low- and moderate-income persons.