Liaisons from the Council Named to Trial Courts and AOC

for release

Contact: Philip Carrizosa, 415-865-8044

February 28, 2012

Chief Justice Appoints Liaisons to Trial Courts and AOC Divisions

Will Increase Communication, Transparency and Accountability

justice miller
Justice Douglas P. Miller, Executive and Planning Committee Chair.

SAN FRANCISCO—Justice Douglas P. Miller, chair of the Judicial Council’s Executive and Planning Committee, announced today that Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye has assigned liaisons from the council to each of the state’s 58 trial courts as well as to each of the 12 divisions of the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC).

“These new programs will further the council’s efforts to increase communication and transparency and promote accountability,” Justice Miller said. “The liaisons will create an opportunity for direct access by the trial courts to the Judicial Council and familiarize council members more directly with how the AOC supports and implements council policy.”

The liaisons were recommended by the council last June during a planning meeting in which other governance initiatives were discussed. The recommendation on liaison appointments was approved by the Executive and Planning Committee after surveying council members about their preferences for assignments.

Other governance changes in the last year include increased judicial oversight of priority programs, including court facilities and the California Court Case Management System. In addition the Judicial Council adopted policies last August that have made council meetings more open and accessible.

“Last year, the Chief Justice asked the council to take a fresh and thorough look at how the council operates and governs,” Justice Miller said. “Assigning council liaisons to the trial courts and to AOC divisions is just another step in improving communication and accountability. We will continue to make any changes we think are good for the public and the judicial branch.”

The liaison assignments run for the remainder of this Judicial Council term, which ends September 14, 2012.