Chief Justice Names Supreme Court Clerk/Administrator to Judicial Council

for release

Contact: <a href="">Teresa Ruano</a>, 415-865-7740

September 27, 2013

Chief Justice Names Supreme Court Clerk/Administrator to Judicial Council

Frank A. McGuire will replace Appellate Clerk Charlene Ynson

Frank A. Mcquire
Mr. Frank A. McGuire

SAN FRANCISCO—Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye today announced that Frank A. McGuire, Court Administrator and Clerk of the California Supreme Court, will assume the Judicial Council seat vacated by Charlene Ynson, Court Administrator and Clerk of the Fifth District Court of Appeal. Ynson, who was recently appointed to the Judicial Council for a three-year term beginning September 15, 2013, stepped down to attend to pressing family medical issues.

“I completely understand and support Charlene’s decision,” said the Chief Justice. “Frank is an ideal substitute for her. He became our Clerk/Administrator fifteen months ago and has proven to be a fast learner and a very quick study. He will bring that quality—and a fresh perspective—to the Judicial Council.”

Mr. McGuire will join two other new members appointed by the Chief Justice, San Diego Superior Court Judge David M. Rubin and Inyo Superior Court Presiding Judge Dean T. Stout. Their three-year terms were announced in June and began on September 15, 2013. Butte Superior Court Judge Robert A. Glusman will serve a one-year term as an advisory member, based on his election as President of the California Judges Association.  Santa Clara Superior Court Presiding Judge Brian Walsh will also serve a one-year term as an advisory member, based on his selection as chair of the Trial Court Presiding Judges Advisory Committee.
Before assuming his current role as court administrator of the Supreme Court, Mr. McGuire served as managing attorney of the Court of Appeal, First Appellate District, for nearly a decade. He previously served as both a writ attorney and divisional attorney in Division Three of the First Appellate District. Before joining Division Three, Mr. McGuire was of counsel to the appellate department of the Oakland law firm of Crosby, Heafey, Roach & May, P.C. (now Reed Smith).

Mr. McGuire has also served as an attorney on the chambers staffs of California Supreme Court Justice Janice Rogers Brown (1996–1999) and Justices Robert L. Dossee and John E. Benson of the First Appellate District (1991–1996). He was an associate with Morrison & Foerster LLP (1987–1991) and served as law clerk to Judge Cynthia Holcomb Hall of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit (1986–1987). He is a 1986 graduate of Stanford Law School.

According to the state Constitution, the Chief Justice chairs the Judicial Council and appoints one other Supreme Court justice, three justices from the courts of appeal, 10 trial court judges, two nonvoting court administrators, “and any other nonvoting members as determined by the voting membership of the council.” Members serve three years, and new council members begin serving in September. The State Bar’s governing body appoints four members, and the state Senate and Assembly each appoint one member. The council currently has 11 advisory members.