Chief Justice Names Six New Members to Judicial Council

for release

Contact: <a href="">Teresa Ruano</a>, 415-865-7740

May 30, 2014

Chief Justice Names Six New Members to Judicial Council

Terms Begin September 15

Judicial Council Seal

SAN FRANCISCO—Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye today announced the appointment of six new Judicial Council members whose three-year terms will begin September 15. 

“I am grateful that these judicial leaders, all of whom have contributed much to the council’s advisory committees, are willing to take on the tremendous effort involved in providing access to justice,” said the Chief Justice. “I believe the council is making great strides in moving the judicial branch forward amid many challenges, but much work remains ahead of us. I welcome the energy and talent of our new members and deeply thank our dedicated and talented outgoing members.” 

The new appointments include three voting members: Monterey Superior Court Presiding Judge Marla O. Anderson, Ventura Superior Court Presiding Judge Brian J. Back, and San Luis Obispo Superior Court Assistant Presiding Judge Martin J. Tangeman. This is the first time in more than 40 years that voting members have been appointed from Monterey and San Luis Obispo Counties.

Three new non-voting advisory members include Judge Daniel J. Buckley, of Los Angeles Superior Court, Commissioner David E. Gunn, of Butte Superior Court, and Court Executive Officer Richard D. Feldstein, of Napa Superior Court.

The new members will replace outgoing council members whose terms end in September: Judge Stephen H. Baker of the Shasta Superior Court, Judge Teri L. Jackson of the San Francisco Superior Court, Judge Mary Ann O’Malley of the Contra Costa Superior Court, Commissioner Sue Alexander of the Alameda Superior Court, and Santa Clara Superior Court Executive Officer David Yamasaki.

“The new council members will bring diverse viewpoints and deep experience to the work of the council,” said Appellate Justice Douglas P. Miller, who chairs the council’s Executive and Planning Committee, which reviews nominations to the council and its advisory committees. “The Chief seeks geographic diversity—these appointees come from courts of all sizes in our very diverse state. All have served admirably on the council’s advisory committees, so they understand the demands of this added leadership role beyond their day jobs. The Chief appoints those who bring a broad perspective on access to justice, ensuring that the council and its advisory committees serve the public’s interest throughout the state.”

According to the state Constitution, the Chief Justice chairs the Judicial Council and appoints one other Supreme Court justice, three justices from the courts of appeal, 10 trial court judges, two nonvoting court administrators, “and any other nonvoting members as determined by the voting membership of the council.” Members serve three years, and new council members begin serving in September. The State Bar’s governing body appoints four members, and the state Senate and Assembly each appoint one member. Last week, the council voted to add one advisory member; with these appointments, the council will have 12 advisory members.