Aranda Access to Justice Awards

2019 Aranda Award Winner

Judge Carol Brosnahan

Judge Carol S. Brosnahan

The Superior Court of California, County of Alameda

The Judicial Council, the California Lawyers Association, and the California Judges Association announces the recipient of the 2019 Aranda Award as Judge Carol S. Brosnahan.

Click to find additional information on the 2019 Aranda Award recipient.

The award is cosponsored by the Judicial Council, the California Lawyers Association, and the California Judges Association. Presented for the first time in 1999, the Aranda Award honors a judicial officer who has demonstrated a long-term commitment to improving access to our courts and who has significantly improved access for low- and moderate-income Californians. The Aranda Award is named in honor of the late Judge Benjamin Aranda III, who was known for his tireless efforts promoting fairness and access in the courts.

Award Criteria

Criteria to be used in the selection of the award recipient include one or more of the following:

  • Demonstrated dedication to improving access to our judicial system for low- and moderate-income Californians
  • Demonstrated commitment to increasing the involvement of volunteer attorneys in the representation of the indigent
  • Successful establishment of a model system for providing assistance to self-represented litigants
  • Successful establishment of a model cooperative effort with local legal services programs or bar associations designed to improve available representation for low- or moderate-income litigants
  • Other significant activities demonstrating a long-term commitment

Past Recipients

Year Recipient
2016 Hon. Julia Kelety and Hon. Colleen Toy White
2015 Hon. Garry Ichikawa
2014 Hon. Sue Alexander
2013 Hon. James R. Lambden (Ret.)
2012 Hon. Juan Ulloa
2011 Hon. Maria Rivera
2011* William C. Vickrey
2010 Hon. Laurie Zelon
2009 Hon. Gordon Baranco
2008 Hon. Francisco F. Firmat
2007 Hon. Kathleen O’Leary
2006 Hon. Donna M. Petre
2005 Hon. Aviva K. Bobb
2004 Hon. Earl Johnson, Jr
2003 Hon. Kenneth M. Kawaichi
2002 Hon. Donna J. Hitchens
2001 Hon. Charles W. Campbell, Jr.
2000 Hon. Veronica S. McBeth
1999 Hon. Judith McConnell

*2011 Special Benjamin Aranda III Award Recipient
This list is also posted at the State Bar website.