Jury Selection Work Group

The Supreme Court of California's Jury Selection Work Group will study whether modifications or additional measures are needed to guard against impermissible discrimination in jury selection. Read the group's charge.

The work group includes 11 judges and justices that reflect the diversity of the judicial branch throughout the state. They are:

  • Justice Kathleen E. O'Leary (Chair)
  • Justice Kathryn Werdegar
  • Justice Teri L. Jackson
  • Justice Dorothy C. Kim
  • Justice William Murray, Jr.
  • Justice Rosendo Peña, Jr.
  • Judge Kevin Brazile
  • Judge Laurie Earl
  • Judge Jackson Lucky
  • Judge Lauren Thomasson
  • Judge Robert Trentacosta

Five others will join the work group in an advisory capacity. They are:

  • Michael Canzoneri, supervising deputy attorney general, Office of the California Attorney General
  • Cliff Gardner, criminal defense attorney specializing in post-conviction representation and lecturer at Berkeley Law
  • Mary McComb, State Public Defender
  • Nancy O’Malley, Alameda County District Attorney
  • Jose H. Varela, Marin County Public Defender

Invitation to Comment

The work group has posed several questions for public comment. The deadline for comments is June 4, 2021. Please note that comments received will become part of the public record.

Invitation to Comment