

# JUDICIAL COUNCIL'S CODE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE SECTION 367.9 WORKING GROUP (367.9 WORKING GROUP)

# RECORD OF VOTE BY EMAIL TO APPROVE MINUTES

September 8, 2022

Working Group Members Emailed:

Hon. Marsha F. Slough (Chair), Ms. Dorothy Alther, Ms. Laura Arnold, Mr. Saul Bercovitch, Hon. Rupert Byrdsong, Ms. Sherri Carter, Ms. Salena Copeland, Ms. Carolyn Dasher, Mr. Peter Sterling Doody, Hon. Danielle Douglas, Mr. Oliver Dunlap, Mr. Michael Fermin, Mr. Kevin Harrigan, Ms. Leslie Heimov, Ms. Janet Hudec, Ms. Lynn Martinez, Ms. Alyson Messenger, Hon. Ann Moorman, Ms. Gretchen Nelson, Mr. Tyler Nguyen, Mr. Darrel Parker, Mr. Craig Peters, Ms. Aimee Skochko, Hon. Theodore Zayner

Working Group Members Absent:

Ms. Robin Sunkees

#### OPEN MEETING

### **Background of Vote by Email**

On September 8, 2022, the 367.9 Working Group conducted its last meeting. As there will be no further meetings, the group will be approving the minutes via email.

#### ACTION ITEM

**Action:** The 367.9 Working Group will vote to approve the minutes via email.



# JUDICIAL COUNCIL'S CODE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE SECTION 367.9 Working Group (367.9 Working Group)

# MINUTES OF OPEN MEETING

September 8, 2022 2:00 - 6:30 p.m. Via Bluejeans

Working Group **Members Present:** 

Hon. Marsha F. Slough (Chair), Ms. Dorothy Alther, Ms. Laura Arnold, Mr. Saul Bercovitch, Hon. Rupert Byrdsong, Ms. Sherri Carter, Ms. Salena Copeland, Ms. Carolyn Dasher, Mr. Peter Sterling Doody, Hon. Danielle Douglas, Mr. Oliver Dunlap, Mr. Michael Fermin, Mr. Kevin Harrigan, Ms. Leslie Heimov, Ms. Janet Hudec, Ms. Lynn Martinez, Ms. Alyson Messenger, Hon. Ann Moorman, Ms. Gretchen Nelson, Mr. Tyler Nguyen, Mr. Darrel Parker, Mr. Craig Peters, Ms. Aimee Skochko, Hon. Theodore Zayner

Working Group Members Absent:

Ms. Robin Sunkees

Others Present: Mr. Nicholas Armstrong, Mr. Chris Belloli, Ms. Deirdre Benedict, Mr. Noah Bishop, Ms. Michelle Brooke, Mr. Joseph Carozza, Ms. Shelley Curran, Mr. Eric Dang, Ms. Marcella Eggleton, Ms. Yvonne Fenner, Mr. Cyrus Ip, Mr. Cory Jasperson, Mr. David Kukesh, Ms. Andi Liebenbaum, Ms. Brandie Pilapil, Ms. Leah Rose-Goodwin, Mr. David Scott, Ms. Laura Speed, Mr. Elijah Thompson, Mr. Rodney Trevino

#### OPEN MEETING

#### Call to Order and Roll Call

#### **Approval of Minutes**

Approve minutes of the August 25, 2022, 367.9 Working Group Meeting.

Note: Ms. Robin Sunkees was unable to attend the meeting and delegated Ms. Yvonne Fenner from the Court Reporters Board of California to attend and vote in her absence.

# DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS (ITEMS 1-2)

Item 1: Member Findings on Remote Proceedings in Criminal Case Types

Presenter: Ms. Carolyn Dasher, SEIU California

Update: Ms. Dasher provided information from a survey conducted with California Court Reporters Association (CCRA), Service Employees International Union (SEIU), and Los Angeles CCRA regarding these groups' experiences and recommendations in remote court proceedings in California trial courts.

#### **Item 2: Member Recommendations**

Update:

Working Group members reviewed, discussed, and voted on the group's draft recommendations to finalize them for inclusion in the report to the Legislature. Some recommendations were modified during the discussion and all votes were tallied and will be included in the final report.

#### **A** D J O U R N M E N T

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 6:35 p.m.

Approved by the Working Group on October 3, 2022.