## JUDICIAL COUNCIL MEETING Administrative Office of the Courts San Francisco, California January 30, 2002 1:30 p.m.–3:45 p.m.

## AGENDA

1:30–2:00 p.m.	Public Comment Related to Trial Court Budget Issues [Subject to requests]
2:00–2:20 p.m.	Overview of the Governor's Proposed 2002–2003 Budget Ms. Betty T. Yee, Chief Deputy Director California State Department of Finance On January 28, 2002 we were notified that, due to unforeseen circumstances, Ms. Yee would be unable to appear in person. [Presentation to be made by telephone]
2:20–2:25 p.m.	Approval of Minutes of December 18, 2001 [Minutes to be distributed]
2:25–2:30 p.m.	Judicial Council Committee Presentations Executive and Planning Committee Hon. Richard D. Huffman, Chair Policy Coordination and Liaison Committee Hon. Marvin R. Baxter, Chair Rules and Projects Committee Hon. Ronald B. Robie, Chair [Council Committee Reports Tab]
2:30–2:35 p.m.	Judicial Council Court Visit Reports (see court visit memo, on green paper, following the agenda) Mr. Alan Slater, Team Leader

## Consent Agenda (Tab 1-2)

(If you wish to request that any item be moved from the Consent Agenda to the Discussion Agenda, please notify Dennis Blanchard at (415) 865–7455 at least 48 hours before the meeting.)

Item 1	Drug Court Partnership Act Report (Action Required)
Item 1	Drug Court Partnership Act Report (Action Required)

Staff: Ms. Nancy Taylor

	AOC staff recommends that the council approve the report as drafted by members of the Collaborative Justice Courts Advisory Committee and AOC and ADP staff.	
Item 2	Authorize Modification of Purpose for Which Funds Appropriated to the Trial Court Transactional Assistance Program May be Used (Action Required)	
	Staff: Ms. Deborah Brown	
	AOC staff recommends that the purposes for which funds appropriated to the Trial Court Transactional Assistance Program may be used be expanded to include legal assistance to the trial courts on issues affecting judicial administration.	
Discussion Agenda (Tabs 3–5)		
<b>Item 3</b> 2:35–2:55 p.m.	Fiscal Year 2000–2001 Annual Trial Court Expenditures (Quarterly Financial Statements) and Annual Allocations from the Trial Court Trust Fund (TCTF), Trial Court Improvement Fund (TCIF), and Judicial Administration Efficiency and Modernization Fund (Mod Fund) (No Action Required)	
	AOC staff is providing Fiscal Year 2000-01 reports on Trial Court Expenditures (Quarterly Financial Statements) and Annual Allocations from the Trial Court Trust Fund, Trial Court Improvement Fund (TCIF) and the Judicial Administration Efficiency and Modernization Fund (Mod Fund).	
	Presentation (10 minutes)	
	Speaker: Ms. Christine Hansen Discussion/Council Action (10 minutes)	
<b>Item 4</b> 2:55–3:15 p.m.	Trial Court Improvement Fund (TCIF) and Judicial Administration Efficiency and Modernization Fund (Mod Fund) Guidelines (Action Required)	
	AOC staff recommend that the Judicial Council approve TCIF and Mod Fund guidelines effective February 1, 2002, pursuant to Government Code Sections 77209 (g) and 77213 (b), respectively. It is also recommended that the council delegate authority to the Administrative Director of the Courts or designee to approve TCIF and Mod Fund allocations that comply with the guidelines on an as needed basis.	

Presentation (10 minutes) Speaker: Ms. Christine Hansen Discussion/Council Action (10 minutes)

<b>Item 5</b> 3:15–3:45 p.m.	Follow-up on the Recommendations of the Task Force on Court Facilities (No Action Required)
	Three initiatives will be reviewed: Trial Court Facilities Legislation Working Group; Master Plans for Trial Courts; and Facility Design Guidelines.
	Presentation (15 minutes)
	Speakers: Hon. Daniel J. Kremer
	Mr. Robert Lloyd
	Mr. Robert Emerson
	Discussion/Council Action (15 minutes)
	<b>Circulating Orders Approved Since Last Business Meeting</b> [Circulating Order Tab]
	Judicial Council Appointment Orders Since Last Business Meeting
	[Appointment Order Tab]
	Executive Session following the close of the business meeting
	Presentation of confidential litigation report.
	Speaker: Mr. Michael Bergeisen
	Legislative report.
	Speaker: Mr. Ray LeBov