

COURT FACILITIES ADVISORY COMMITTEE: COURTHOUSE COST REDUCTION SUBCOMMITTEE MEETING

MINUTES OF OPEN MEETING

October 22, 2015 1:30–3:00 PM

WebEx/Teleconference

Subcommittee Hon. Jeffrey W. Johnson, Chair

Members Present: Hon. Donald Cole Byrd

Hon. Keith D. Davis

Ms. Melissa Fowler-Bradley Hon. William F. Highberger Hon. Steven E. Jahr (Ret.) Hon. Gary R. Orozco Mr. Thomas J. Warwick, Jr.

Subcommittee Mr. Stephen Castellanos, FAIA

Members Absent: Mr. Kevin Stinson

Others Present: The following Judicial Council staff/others were present:

Ms. Natalie Daniel, Capital Program Mr. Ed Ellestad, Office of Security

Ms. S. Pearl Freeman, AIA, Capital Program Ms. Angela Guzman, Capital Program Mr. Clifford Ham, Capital Program Mr. Chris Magnusson, Capital Program

Mr. Patrick McGrath, Real Estate and Facilities Management

Ms. Kristine Metzker, Capital Program Ms. Deepika Padam, Capital Program

Mr. Gerald Pfab, Real Estate and Facilities Management

Ms. Kelly Quinn, Capital Program

Mr. Curt Soderlund, Chief Administrative Officer

Ms. Rhonda Williams, Capital Program

Hon. René Auguste Chouteau, Judge, Superior Court of Sonoma County

Hon. Gary Nadler, Judge, Superior Court of Sonoma County

Mr. José Octavio Guillén, Court Executive Officer, Superior Court of

Sonoma County

Ms. Cindia Martinez, Deputy Court Executive Officer, Superior Court of Sonoma County

Mr. Michael Palladino, Partner, Richard Meier & Partners Architects

Mr. Jim Crawford, Partner, Richard Meier & Partners Architects

Mr. Bruce McKinley, MEP Engineer, ARUP

Ms. Diana Nishi, Structural Engineer, Englekirk

Mr. Rick Lloyd, Cost Estimator, Basis

OPEN MEETING

Call to Order, Roll Call, and Approval of Meeting Minutes

The chair called the meeting to order at 1:30 PM, and roll was taken. The subcommittee voted unanimously (with the abstention of all members absent from the September 2015 meeting, and the exceptions of Hon. William F. Highberger, as an Ex-Officio, non-voting member, and of the members who were absent as shown above) to approve the minutes from its meeting held on September 25, 2015.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEM

Item 1

Sonoma County-New Santa Rosa Criminal Courthouse: 100 Percent Schematic Design Review

Ms. Deepika Padam, Judicial Council Project Manager, introduced the project team for the New Santa Rosa Criminal Courthouse: Hon. René Auguste Chouteau, Judge, Hon. Gary Nadler, Judge, Mr. José Octavio Guillén, Court Executive Officer, and Ms. Cindia Martinez, Deputy Court Executive Officer, from the Superior Court of Sonoma County; Mr. Michael Palladino and Mr. Jim Crawford, Partners from Richard Meier & Partners Architects; Mr. Bruce McKinley, MEP Engineer, from ARUP; Ms. Diana Nishi, Structural Engineer, from Englekirk; and Mr. Ed Ellestad, Security Manager, and Mr. Chris Magnusson, Senior Facilities Planner, from the Judicial Council.

Respectively, Ms. Deepika Padam, Mr. Chris Magnusson, Mr. Michael Palladino, Hon. Gary Nadler, Mr. Ed Ellestad, Mr. Bruce McKinley, and Ms. Diana Nishi presented the project's 100 percent schematic design plans and drawings consistent with the PowerPoint slides included in the project materials that were posted on line for public viewing in advance of the meeting.

Judge Highberger asked about the omission of an enclosure for roof-top mechanical equipment. Justice Johnson commented that an enclosure for this equipment is preferable, should staff find the funds for its cost within the project's soft costs. The project team will report back on this item at the time it presents the project's 50 percent Design Development plans to the subcommittee.

Action: The subcommittee—with the exception of Hon. William F. Highberger, as an Ex-Officio, non-voting member, and of the members who were absent as shown above—voted unanimously on the following motions:

1. The 100 percent schematic design report be accepted—confirming the project is within budget, scope and schedule—and the project team move forward into design development of the preliminary plans phase.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:30 PM.

Approved by the subcommittee on March 3, 2016.