

# EXECUTIVE AND PLANNING COMMITTEE

# MINUTES OF OPEN MEETING WITH CLOSED SESSION

Thursday, August 24, 2017 12:10 to 1:10 p.m. Teleconference

Present:

Committee Members Justice Douglas P. Miller (Chair); Judge Marla O. Anderson, (Vice Chair); Presiding Judge Daniel J. Buckley; Judges Samuel K. Feng, Gary Nadler,

and David M. Rubin; and Mr. Richard D. Feldstein

Committee Members

Hon. Harry E. Hull, Jr., Presiding Judge Jeffrey B. Barton, and Ms. Donna D.

Absent: Melby

Other Attendees: Hon. Dennis M. Perluss

Present:

Committee Staff Ms. Jody Patel and Ms. Amber Barnett

Staff Present: Ms. Vickie Akers, Ms. Heather Anderson, Ms. Suzanne Blihovde, Ms. Mary

Bustamante, Ms. Deborah Brown, Ms. Eunice Calvert-Banks, Ms. Christine Cleary, Ms. Roma Cheadle, Mr. Mike Courtney, Ms. Natalie Daniel, Mr. Douglas Denton, Ms. Charlene Depner, Mr. Robert Downs, Ms. Kerry Doyle, Mr. Edward Ellestad, Ms. Audrey Fancy, Ms. Sarah Fleischer-Ihn, Ms. Lucy Fogarty, Mr. Jay Fraser, Ms. Ann Gilmour, Ms. Angela Guzman, Mr. Bruce Greenlee, Ms. Eve Hershcopf, Ms. Bonnie Hough, Mr. Cory Jasperson, Mr. Mark Johnson, Mr. Doug Kauffroath, Mr. Greg Keil, Ms. Jennifer Kim, Ms. Shelly La Botte, Ms. Olivia Lawrence, Ms. Yolanda Leung, Ms. Andi Liebenbaum, Ms. Maria Lira, Ms. Rose Livingston, Ms. Tara Lundstrom, Mr. Chris Magnusson, Mr. Charles Martel, Ms. Anne Marx, Ms. Anna Maves, Ms. Susan McMullan, Mr. Grant Parks, Mr. Daniel Richardson, Ms. Anne Ronan, Ms. Leah Rose-Goodwin, Ms. Robin Seeley, Mr. Brian Simeroth, Ms. Christy Simons, Mr. Jagandeep Singh, Mr. David Smith, Ms. Laura Speed, Ms. Elizabeth Tam, Mr. Zlatko Theodorovic, Ms. Kyanna Williams, Mr. Catrayel Wood, Ms. Josely Yangco-Fronda, and Ms. Carrie Zoller

### OPENING MEETING

# Call to Order and Roll Call

The chair called the meeting to order at 12:10 p.m. and committee staff took roll call.

### **Approval of Minutes**

The committee voted to approve the following minutes:

- July 6, 2017, Executive and Planning Committee open meeting with closed session
- July 13, 2017, Executive and Planning Committee action by e-mail

- July 20, 2017, Executive and Planning Committee closed meeting
- August 18, 2017, Executive and Planning Committee closed meeting

### DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

#### Item 1

Subordinate Judicial Officer Exception - Request from the Superior Court of Los Angeles County (Action Required)

Review request from the Superior Court of Los Angeles County for an exception to the conversion of two vacant subordinate judicial officer positions to judgeships.

Action: The committee voted to approve the request from the Superior Court of Los Angeles County for an exception to the conversion of two vacant subordinate judicial officer positions to judgeships.

#### Item 2

## Request to Amend Annual Agenda (Action Required)

Review request from the Tribal Court-State Court Forum to approve amendment to its 2017 Annual Agenda.

Action: The committee approved the request from the Tribal Court-State Court Forum to amend their 2017 Annual Agenda to add "Item 8H. (iii) Review the recommendations in the California ICWA Compliance Task Force Report to the California Attorney General's Bureau of Children's Justice 2017 and make recommendations for legislative and rules and forms revisions and other implementation steps as appropriate."

## Item 3

Agenda Setting for the September 14-15 Judicial Council Meeting (Action Required) Review draft reports and set the agenda for the Judicial Council meeting in September.

Action: The committee reviewed draft reports and set the agenda for the Judicial Council meeting in September.

## **A** D J O U R N M E N T

There being no further open meeting business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:40 p.m.

## CLOSED SESSION

## Item 1

Pursuant to California Rules of Court, rule 10.75(d)(1)

# **Advisory Body Nominations Discussion**

Review nominations for an advisory body and develop recommendations to be submitted to the Chief Justice.

Action: The committee developed recommendations for submission to the Chief Justice.

Adjourned closed session at 1:00 p.m.

Approved by the advisory body on October 26, 2017.