

FAMILY AND JUVENILE LAW ADVISORY COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF OPEN MEETING

November 14, 2022 4:30 - 5:30 p.m.

Advisory Body Members Present: Hon. Stephanie E. Hulsey, Hon. Charles F. Adams, Hon. Craig E. Arthur, Hon. Bunmi O. Awoniyi, Hon. Brett Bianco, Hon. John P. Bianco, Hon. Tari L. Cody, Ms. Mary Majich Davis, Hon. Ana L. España, Ms. Katherine Fogarty, Hon. Suzan M. Gill, Ms. Leslie Heimov, Ms. Rose Klein, Ms. Selis Koker, Mr. Jonathan Laba, Hon. Frank J. Menetrez, Hon. Laura H. Miller, Ms. Sherry Peterson, Ms. Melissa J. Poulos, Hon. Lawrence P. Riff, Ms. Shannon Sullivan,

Hon. B. Scott Thomsen, Hon. Monica F. Wiley.

Advisory Body Members Absent: Hon. Amy M. Pellman, Hon. Suzanne Gazzaniga, Hon. Jennifer Lee Giuliani, Mx. Cody Hernandez, Ms. Diane Iglesias, Ms. Sharon Lawrence, Mr. Brian J. Richart, Hon. Lawrence P. Riff, Ms. Cheryl Scott, Ms. Nancy E. Smith, Hon.

Nannette J. Stomberg, Hon. Rubèn A. Villalobos.

Others Present:

Ms. Charlene Depner, Ms. Diana Glick, Ms. Audrey Fancy, Ms. Anne Hadreas,

Mr. John Henzl, Hon. Maria Hernandez, Ms. Frances Ho, Ms. Andi

Liebenbaum, Ms. Anna Maves, Ms. Amanda Morris, Ms. Marci Reichbach, Ms.

Gabrielle Selden, Mr. Greg Tanaka, Mr. Don Will.

OPEN MEETING

Call to Order and Roll Call

The chair called the meeting to order at 4:30 p.m. and took roll call.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

Item 1

Firearm Relinquishment Grant Program Recommendations (Action Required)

After consideration and vote, the committee recommended that the Judicial Council approve the allocation and distribution of \$18,884,010 to seven superior courts to fund new or expanded Firearm Relinquishment programs for Fiscal Years 2022–2025. The committee also recommended that the Judicial Council delegate authority to the Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee to distribute and reallocate any unspent funding from these grant awards to any of the awarded courts, based on the same criteria established during the application period.

Hon. Charles Adams, Hon. Brett Bianco, Hon. Tari Cody, Hon. Ana España, Ms. Rose Klein, Hon. Laura Miller, and Hon. Monica Wiley abstained from voting.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 5:06 p.m.

Approved by the advisory body on March 13, 2023.