JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF CALIFORNIA Minutes of the Special Session Business Meeting—February 9, 2012 By Teleconference

CLOSED SESSION (RULE 10.6(B))—PERSONNEL MATTER

The special session business meeting of the council, conducted by teleconference, commenced at 12:30 p.m.

Judicial Council members present: Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye; Justices Judith Ashmann-Gerst, Marvin R. Baxter, Harry E. Hull, Jr., and Douglas P. Miller; Judges Stephen H. Baker, Emilie H. Elias, James E. Herman, Teri L. Jackson, Ira R. Kaufman, Mary Ann O'Malley, Kenneth K. So, Sharon J. Waters, David S. Wesley, Erica R. Yew; Ms. Angela J. Davis, Ms. Miriam Aroni Krinsky, and Ms. Edith R. Matthai; **advisory members:** Judges David F. De Alba, Terry B. Friedman (Ret.), Robert James Moss, David Rosenberg, and David M. Rubin; Commissioner Sue Alexander; Court Executive Officers Alan Carlson, Kim Turner, and David H. Yamasaki; and Mr. Frederick K. Ohlrich.

Absent: Senator Noreen Evans, Assembly Member Mike Feuer, and Mr. Mark P. Robinson, Jr.

Appointment of Interim Administrative Director of the Courts

Judicial Council action

The Judicial Council approved unanimously the appointment of Ms. Jody Patel as Interim Administrative Director of the Courts, effective February 14, 2012, succeeding Mr. Ronald G. Overholt, who resigned his position as Interim Administrative Director of the Courts on February 9, 2012. As Interim Administrative Director of the Courts, Ms. Patel will exercise the full scope of authority of the Administrative Director of the Courts until the next Administrative Director of the Courts is appointed.

The council also received an update from its search committee as the national search for the Administrative Director of the Courts continues.

There being no further public business, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 1:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye Chief Justice of California and Chair, Judicial Council of California

JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF CALIFORNIA Minutes of the Special Session Business Meeting—February 9, 2012 By Teleconference

CLOSED SESSION (RULE 10.6(B))—PERSONNEL MATTER

The special session business meeting of the council, conducted by teleconference, commenced at 12:30 p.m.

Judicial Council members present: Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye; Justices Judith Ashmann-Gerst, Marvin R. Baxter, Harry E. Hull, Jr., and Douglas P. Miller; Judges Stephen H. Baker, Emilie H. Elias, James E. Herman, Teri L. Jackson, Ira R. Kaufman, Mary Ann O'Malley, Kenneth K. So, Sharon J. Waters, David S. Wesley, Erica R. Yew; Ms. Angela J. Davis, Ms. Miriam Aroni Krinsky, and Ms. Edith R. Matthai; **advisory members:** Judges David F. De Alba, Terry B. Friedman (Ret.), Robert James Moss, David Rosenberg, and David M. Rubin; Commissioner Sue Alexander; Court Executive Officers Alan Carlson, Kim Turner, and David H. Yamasaki; and Mr. Frederick K. Ohlrich.

Absent: Senator Noreen Evans, Assembly Member Mike Feuer, and Mr. Mark P. Robinson, Jr.

Appointment of Interim Administrative Director of the Courts

Judicial Council action

The Judicial Council approved unanimously the appointment of Ms. Jody Patel as Interim Administrative Director of the Courts, effective February 14, 2012, succeeding Mr. Ronald G. Overholt, who resigned his position as Interim Administrative Director of the Courts on February 9, 2012. As Interim Administrative Director of the Courts, Ms. Patel will exercise the full scope of authority of the Administrative Director of the Courts until the next Administrative Director of the Courts is appointed.

The council also received an update from its search committee as the national search for the Administrative Director of the Courts continues.

There being no further public business, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 1:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

t. Celo -

Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye Chief Justice of California and Chair, Judicial Council of California

Judicial Council Meeting Minutes

February 9, 2012