JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF CALIFORNIA Minutes of the Special Session Educational/Informational Meeting–May 7, 2012 By Teleconference

CLOSED SESSION (RULE 10.6(A)) EDUCATIONAL/INFORMATIONAL MEETING

The special session educational/informational meeting of the Judicial Council, conducted by teleconference, commenced at 12:30 p.m.

Judicial Council members present: Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye; Justices Judith Ashmann-Gerst, Marvin R. Baxter, and Harry E. Hull, Jr.; Judges Stephen H. Baker, Emilie H. Elias, James E. Herman, Teri L. Jackson, Ira R. Kaufman, Mary Ann O'Malley, Kenneth K. So, David S. Wesley, and Erica R. Yew; and Ms. Angela J. Davis, Ms. Miriam Aroni Krinsky, Ms. Edith R. Matthai, and Mr. Mark P. Robinson, Jr.; advisory members: Judges David F. De Alba, Terry B. Friedman (Ret.), Robert James Moss, David Rosenberg, and David M. Rubin; and Court Executive Officers Alan Carlson, Kim Turner, and David H. Yamasaki.

Absent: Justice Douglas P. Miller, Senator Noreen Evans, Assembly Member Mike Feuer, Commissioner Sue Alexander, and Mr. Frederick K. Ohlrich.

AOC staff and others present: Mr. Peter Allen, Ms. Deborah C. Brown, Mr. Curtis L. Child, Ms. Beth Jay, Ms. Jody Patel, Ms. Mary M. Roberts, Mr. Curt Soderlund, Ms. Nancy E. Spero, and Mr. Zlatko Theodorovic.

Ms. Jody Patel, Interim Administrative Director of the Courts, informed the Judicial Council members of disappointing new state revenue figures and the expectation that the Governor's May Revision of the proposed state budget for fiscal year 2012–2013, due May 14, 2012, will contain additional cuts to judicial branch funding, as well as to other state government entities.

The members discussed this prospect and the need to consider the issue at an open public council meeting, to be scheduled as soon as possible after May 14. The council took no action at this meeting.

The council took no action in this special session. The meeting was adjourned at 1:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jody Patel

Interim Administrative Director of the Courts and Secretary to the Judicial Council