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Executive Summary 
The Appellate Advisory Committee recommends amending the rule relating to filing civil 
appeals in the Courts of Appeal to relieve the Court of Appeal clerk of responsibility for mailing 
the appellant notice of requirement to file the Civil Case Information Statement (form APP-004) 
and a copy of that form, and instead to require that the appellant file this form within 15 days 
after the superior court mails the required notification of the filing of the notice of appeal. This 
change is intended to provide cost savings and efficiencies for the Courts of Appeal by reducing 
staff time spent on copying form APP-004 and mailing appellants these copies of the form and 
notice to file the form.  

Recommendation 
The Appellate Advisory Committee recommends that the Judicial Council amend rule 8.100, 
effective January 1, 2014, to replace the current requirement that the Court of Appeal clerk mail 
the appellant notice of the requirement to file the Civil Case Information Statement (form APP-
004) and a copy of the form with a requirement that the appellant file the form within 15 days 
after the superior court mails the required notification of the filing of the notice of appeal.  
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The text of the proposed rule is attached at page 5. 

Previous Council Action 
The predecessor to rule 8.100(g), regarding the filing of the Civil Case Information Statement, 
was adopted by the Judicial Council effective January 1, 2003. This provision has not been 
substantively modified since its adoption.  

Rationale for Recommendation 
Rule 8.100 of the California Rules of Court addresses the filing of a notice of appeal in an 
unlimited civil case. Subdivision (g) of this rule addresses requirements relating to the appellant 
completing and filing the Civil Case Information Statement (form APP-004) which provides the 
Court of Appeal with important information to help it in processing appeals. Typically, when a 
party is required to complete and file a Judicial Council form, the Rules of Court will so indicate 
and will set a deadline for the filing. The party is then responsible for obtaining a copy of the 
Judicial Council form from the California Courts website, a law library, a court, or some other 
source and timely filing the completed form. 
 
In contrast, unlike any other appellate rule of which the committee is aware, rule 8.100(g)(1) 
currently requires that the clerk of the Court of Appeal mail appellants a copy of form APP-004 
and notify them of the deadline for submitting the completed form. This requirement imposes 
atypical copying, mailing, and staff costs on the Court of Appeal.  
 
This proposal would eliminate the requirement that the clerk mail the appellant a notice of the 
deadline for submitting form APP-004 and a copy of the form. Instead, rule 8.100(g) would be 
amended to require that the appellant file this form within 15 days after the superior court mails 
the required notification of the filing of the notice of appeal. The committee’s view is that 
sending the appellant this notice and a copy of the form is unnecessary. As with other forms that 
must be completed by a party, the appellant can obtain APP-004 from the California Courts 
website, a law library, a court, or some other source and file it by the deadline set in the rule. 
Eliminating this requirement would save the Court of Appeal the copying, postage, and staff 
costs associated with mailing this form to the appellant.  

Comments, Alternatives Considered, and Policy Implications 

Comments 
The proposal that was circulated for public comment would have eliminated only the 
requirement that the clerk mail appellants a copy of form APP-004, but would have retained the 
requirement that the clerk notify appellants of their obligation to file the form. This proposal was 
circulated for public comment between April 19 and June 19, 2013, as part of the regular spring 
2013 comment cycle. Ten individuals or organizations submitted comments on this proposal. Six 
commentators agreed with the proposal and four did not indicate a position on the proposal. The 
full text of the comments received and the committee responses are set out in the attached 
comment chart at pages 5–11. 
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Three of the commentators that did not indicate a position on the proposal, including the 
California Appellate Court Clerks Association suggested that the requirement that the clerk 
notify appellants of their obligation to file form APP-004 also be eliminated. These 
commentators suggested notifying the appellant of the deadline to file form APP-004 is 
unnecessary and that eliminating the obligation to send this notice would result in greater savings 
to the court. Based on these comments, the committee revised the proposal to replace the 
requirement that the clerk mail the appellant notice and a copy of form APP-004 with a 
requirement that the appellant file form APP-004 within 15 days after the superior court mails 
the required notification of the filing of the notice of appeal. 
 
Two commentators expressed concerns about potential negative impacts if copies of form APP-
004 are not sent to self-represented litigants, including a potential increase in defaults for failure 
to timely file this form. The committee notes that the proposed amendments to rule 8.100 do not 
prevent a Court of Appeal from mailing form APP-004 to a self-represented litigant on request. 
The committee’s view, however, is that the rule should not require this to be the standard 
procedure in all cases for self-represented litigants. Many such litigants have ready access to the 
internet and can therefore access this form at virtually no cost to themselves or the court. If a 
self-represented litigant, or any other litigant, does not timely file this form, the court will send 
the litigant notice of this default and the litigant will have an opportunity to cure the default 
before any sanctions are imposed. While these proposed amendment may result in a court issuing 
more such default notices, because the initial notification of the obligation to file form APP-004 
will be eliminated, the overall number of notices sent by the court, and thus court costs, should 
be reduced. 
 
Other alternatives considered 
The committee considered not recommending any change to rule 8.100 but concluded that 
amending this rule would reduce costs for the Courts of Appeal, thereby making it preferable to 
propose these amendments.  

Implementation Requirements, Costs, and Operational Impacts 

This proposal should not impose significant implementation burdens on the superior courts or 
Courts of Appeal and should provide significant cost savings for the Courts of Appeal. 

Relevant Strategic Plan Goals and Operational Plan Objectives 
This proposal will further the Judicial Council’s Strategic Plan Goal: III. Modernization of 
management and administration and Operational Plan Objective: 5. Develop and implement 
effective trial and appellate case management rules, procedures, techniques, and practices to 
promote the fair, timely, consistent, and efficient processing of all types of cases. 

Attachments 
1. Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.100 at page 4 
2. Comment chart at pages 5–11 
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Rule 8.100 of the California Rules of Court is amended, effective January 1, 2014, to read: 
 
Rule 8.100.  Filing the appeal  1 
 2 
(a)–(d) * * * 3 
 4 
(e) Superior court clerk’s duties 5 
 6 

(1) The superior court clerk must promptly mail a notification of the filing of the notice 7 
of appeal to the attorney of record for each party, to any unrepresented party, and to 8 
the reviewing court clerk. 9 

 10 
(2) – (6) * * * 11 

  12 
(f) * * *  13 
 14 
(g) Civil case information statement 15 
 16 

(1) On receiving notice of the filing of a notice of appeal under (e)(1), the reviewing 17 
court clerk must promptly mail the appellant a copy of the Civil Case Information 18 
Statement (form APP-004) and a notice that the statement must be filed within 10  19 
days. 20 

 21 
(2)(1) Within 10 15 days after the superior court clerk mails the notice notification of the 22 

filing of the notice of appeal required by (e)(1), the appellant must serve and file in 23 
the reviewing court a completed Civil Case Information Statement (form APP-004), 24 
attaching a copy of the judgment or appealed order that shows the date it was 25 
entered.  26 

 27 
(3)(2) If the appellant fails to timely file a case information statement under (2)(1), the 28 

reviewing court clerk must notify the appellant by mail that the appellant must file 29 
the statement within 15 days after the clerk’s notice is mailed and that if the 30 
appellant fails to comply, the court may either impose monetary sanctions or dismiss 31 
the appeal. If the appellant fails to file the statement as specified in the notice, the 32 
court may impose the sanctions specified in the notice. 33 

 34 



SPR13-03 
Appellate Procedure: Civil Case Information Statement. Amend Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.100 
All comments are verbatim unless indicated by an asterisk (*). 
 

 Positions:  A = Agree; AM = Agree if modified; N = Do not agree; NI = Not indicated. 5 

 Commentator Position Comment Committee Response 
1.  Appellate Court Committee 

San Diego County Bar Association 
By: Rupa G. Singh, Chair 
 

NI While we commend the Judicial Council's 
efforts to provide cost savings and increase 
efficiencies in the Court of Appeal, we are 
concerned that the proposal to eliminate mailing 
of the Civil Case Information Statement (Form 
APP-004) to appellants will negatively impact 
pro se parties with limited resources who may 
find it difficult to obtain the required form. 
Accordingly, we suggest that the rule be 
modified to require that the Civil Case 
Information Statement be mailed when a pro se 
party of such limited means is involved. 
 

The committee appreciates the commentators 
concerns and notes that the proposed amendments 
to rule 8.100 do not prevent a Court of Appeal 
from mailing form APP-004 to a self-represented 
litigant on request. The committee’s view, 
however, is that the rule should not require this to 
be the standard procedure in all cases for self-
represented litigants or litigants with fee waivers. 
Many such litigants have ready access to the 
internet and can therefore access this form at 
virtually no cost to themselves or the court. 

2.  California Academy of Appellate 
Lawyers 
By: Robert A. Olson, President 
Los Angeles, California 
 

NI This proposal would allow the appellate clerk to 
omit a copy of the Civil Case Information 
Statement when mailing the required notice to 
the appellant, under rule 8.100(g)(l), that the 
Statement is due and must be filed. The laudable 
goal is cost savings. But it is not obvious the 
savings would be significant. The notice itself 
still must be mailed under rule 8.l00(g)(1), even 
as amended. The Statement that currently 
accompanies the notice is usually just one page. 
Particularly for pro se litigants or those of 
limited financial means, the process is 
simplified by including a copy of the Statement 
with the notice as occurs now. In any event, the 
Courts of Appeal have been asked to weigh in 
on this proposal. Because its primary objective 
is cost savings, the courts are best positioned to 
assess whether the anticipated savings and 
administrative simplicity are worth making the 
proposed change. The Academy observes that a 
greater cost savings would likely be produced 

Based on this and other comments, the committee 
has revised the proposal to eliminate the current 
requirement that the clerk mail the appellant 
notice of the requirement to file the Civil Case 
Information Statement and instead require that the 
appellant file the statement within 15 days after 
superior court mails the required notification of 
the filing of the notice of appeal. The committee 
notes that the proposed amendments to rule 8.100 
do not prevent a Court of Appeal from mailing 
form APP-004 to a self-represented litigant on 
request. The committee’s view, however, is that 
the rule should not require this to be the standard 
procedure in all cases for self-represented litigants 
or litigants with fee waivers. Many such litigants 
have ready access to the internet and can therefore 
access this form at virtually no cost to themselves 
or the court. 
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 Commentator Position Comment Committee Response 
by eliminating rule 8.l00(g)(l) entirely, thereby 
relieving the clerk of the burden of mailing any 
notice. In whatever forum they practice, lawyers 
(and pro se litigants) are expected to be aware of 
pertinent court rules. Rule 8.1 00(g)(2) already 
advises that the appellant is required to file a 
Civil Case Information Statement in a civil 
appeal. Compelling the clerk to mail a notice to 
the appellant, essentially advising that a court 
rule exists and must be followed, seems an 
ineffective, if not wasteful, use of court 
resources. 
 

3.  California Association of Appellate 
Court Clerks 
By: Charlene Ynson, President 
Fresno, California 

NI While we do not oppose the proposed amended 
change to Rule 8.100(g) we believe there is a 
much better alternative.  
 
The proposed rule change eliminates the 
obligation of the Court of Appeal clerk to mail 
to appellant a copy of the Case Information 
Statement (form APP-004) (hereafter, CIS) and 
extends the period for compliance from 10 to 15 
days. Though the intent of the proposed rule 
change is to provide costs savings and 
efficiencies for the court of appeal by reducing 
the number of default notices to be issued, it 
accomplishes little in this regard. The proposed 
rule change saves the court of appeal the cost of 
printing a two page CIS.  The number of default 
notices is not reduced, nor the number of 
mailings or steps required. Postage and handling 
costs are unchanged.   
• Under the current rule, on receipt of a notice 

of appeal, the appellate court clerk issues a 

Based on this and other comments, the committee 
has revised the proposal to eliminate the current 
requirement that the clerk mail the appellant 
notice of the requirement to file the Civil Case 
Information Statement and instead require that the 
appellant file the statement within 15 days after 
superior court mails the required notification of 
the filing of the notice of appeal. 
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 Commentator Position Comment Committee Response 
notice directing appellant to serve and file a 
CIS, attaching to it a copy of the judgment 
or order appealed from that shows the date 
it was entered.  

• Should appellant fail to submit a CIS, the 
clerk issues a default notice. 

• A second default notice is issued if 
appellant files a deficient CIS or one 
without the requisite appealable order or 
judgment. 

 
Our recommendation is to amend California 
Rules of Court, rule8.100(g) to: 
• Require appellant to submit a CIS to the 

Court of Appeal with the requisite 
attachment within 10 days for the filing of 
the Notice of Appeal. 

• If the CIS was not timely filed or the CIS 
was not accompanied by a copy of the 
judgment or order showing the date it was 
entered, the appellate court clerk would 
issue a default notice. 

• The default notice would advise appellant 
that the CIS with attached copy of the 
judgment or order appealed from that shows 
the date it was entered was not filed within 
the time provided by rule or that the CIS 
had been received without the requisite 
judgment or order that shows the date it was 
entered. The default notice would warn 
appellant that failure to cure the default 
within 15 days of date of notice could result 
in monetary sanctions or dismissal of the 
appeal.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The committee concluded that the mailing of the 
notification of the filing of the notice of appeal 
would be a better trigger for the deadline for filing 
form APP-004 because it is this notice that alerts 
the Court of Appeal that an appeal has been filed 
and should be entered into the court’s case 
management system. In addition, the committee 
concluded that it would be preferable to give the 
appellant 15, rather than 10 days, from the mailing 
of this notice to account for mailing time and 
reduce the number of cases in which a default 
notice is unnecessarily issued when the completed 
form APP-004 has already been mailed to the 
court. 
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• No subsequent default notices would issue.   
 
This alternative proposal sets the notice of 
appeal filing date as the trigger date for the 
service and filing of the CIS. Thus, the CIS due 
date would be established in a manner 
consistent with the manner in which the due 
dates for fees and designation of the record are 
set.  The court of appeal would no longer be 
required to issue an initial notice setting the due 
date, thereby saving the costs of postage and 
handling entirely.  For those appeals in which 
appellants failed to properly serve and file the 
CIS, the appellate court clerk would issue a 
one-time default notice that specifies in detail 
the obligation of the appellant with respect to 
filing the CIS.  The elimination of a second 
default would be a cost saving and efficiency 
gain. 
 
In response to the request for specific 
comments: 
 
Does the proposal reasonably achieve the stated 
purpose?  No, while we believe our suggested 
changes do achieve the stated purpose.  

 
Would this proposal have an impact on public’s 
access to the courts? If a positive impact, please 
describe. If a negative impact, what changes 
might lessen the impact?  We believe it would 
simplify matters for the public by arranging all 
the items to be filed by the appellant into the 
same time frame, i.e. within 10 days of the 
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filing of the appeal.  

 
Should the references in this rule to the court 
mailing notices be modified to allow for other 
methods of notification, such as through 
electronic service, when it is permitted?  Yes, 
alternative methods of notification are desired.   

 
The advisory committee also seeks comments 
from courts on the following cost and 
implementation matters:  
 
Would the proposal provide costs savings? If so, 
please quantify. If not, what changes might be 
made that would provide savings, or greater 
savings?  No significant savings as proposed. 
Significant savings would be realized with our 
proposed amendment.  
 
What would the implementation requirements 
be for courts? For example, training staff 
(please identify position and expected hours of 
training), revising processes and procedures 
(please describe), changing docket codes in case 
management systems, or modifying case 
management systems. Minimal impact. 

 
Would two months from Judicial Council 
approval of this proposal until its effective date 
provide sufficient time for implementation? Yes 

 
If this proposal would be cumbersome or 
difficult to implement in a court of your size, 
what changes would allow the proposal to be 
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implemented more easily or simply in a court of 
your size? See our proposed change above. 
 

4.  Committee on Appellate Courts 
State Bar of California 
By: Kira Klatchko, Acting Chair 2012-
2013 
San Francisco, California 
 

A The Committee supports this proposal. 
 

The committee notes the commentator’s support 
for the proposal; no response required. 

5.  Court of Appeal 
Fourth District, Division One 
By: Hon. Judith McConnell, Presiding 
Justice 
San Diego, California 
 

A We agree with the amendment of rule 
8.100(g)(1) and (2) to extend the period for 
filing a Civil Case Information Statement 
(CCIS) from 10 to 15 days. We are uncertain 
whether the proposed change eliminating the 
requirement that the court of appeal mail a copy 
of the CCIS form along with the notice provided 
under rule 8.100(g)(1) will in fact result in cost 
savings; if the court does not mail this one-page 
CCIS form with the notice, the result may be 
more defaults in filing the CCIS, particularly by 
pro per applicants, which will result in the need 
to issue more default notices and may result in 
more calls to the clerk’s office. 
 

Based other comments, the committee has revised 
the proposal to eliminate the current requirement 
that the clerk mail the appellant notice of the 
requirement to file the Civil Case Information 
Statement and instead require that the appellant 
file the statement within 15 days after superior 
court mails the required notification of the filing 
of the notice of appeal. The committee concluded 
that this approach is more consistent with other 
rules and is more likely to reduce court costs. The 
committee acknowledges that the court may be 
required to issue some default notices, but the 
overall number of notices sent by the court should 
be reduced. 

6.  Laurie Hepler, Chair 
Appellate Practice Group 
Carroll, Burdick & McDonough LLP 
San Francisco, California 
 

A These common-sense changes are overdue -- 
thank you. 

The committee notes the commentator’s support 
for the proposal; no response required. 

7.  Orange County Bar Association 
Wayne R. Gross, President 
Newport Beach, California 
 
 

A No comment The committee notes the commentator’s support 
for the proposal; no response required. 
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8.  Mark Schaeffer 

Certified Specialist, Appellate Law 
Sherman Oaks, California 

NI Regarding SPR13-03 Appellate Procedure: 
Civil Case Information Statement.  Since the 
goal of many of the proposed rules is to save 
government money, requiring the appellate 
court to notify the appellant to file the civil case 
information statement should be eliminated, not 
required.  The rule should simply require the 
appellant to file the civil case information 
statement within 10 or 15 days of the filing of 
the notice of appeal.  Appellants have similar 
other deadlines, e.g., designating the record, that 
do not require a court to tell the appellants what 
to do.  So, there is no point in a rule requiring 
the appellate court to tell the appellant to file the 
civil case information statement. 
 

Based on this and other comments, the committee 
has revised the proposal to eliminate the current 
requirement that the clerk mail the appellant 
notice of the requirement to file the Civil Case 
Information Statement and instead require that the 
appellant file the statement within 15 days after 
superior court mails the required notification of 
the filing of the notice of appeal. 

9.  Superior Court of Los Angeles County 
 

A No comment The committee notes the commentator’s support 
for the proposal; no response required. 
 

10.  Superior Court of San Diego County 
By: Mike Roddy, Executive Officer 
 

A No additional comments. 
 

The committee notes the commentator’s support 
for the proposal; no response required. 
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