

EXECUTIVE AND PLANNING COMMITTEE JUDICIAL COUNCIL TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE RULES AND PROJECTS COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

IN-PERSON MEETING, JULY 25, 2013 SEQUOIA ROOM | 12:50 p.m.-1:30 p.m.

Committee members present: Hon. Harry E. Hull, Jr. (Chair, RUPRO), Hon. Douglas P. Miller (Chair, Executive and Planning), Hon. James E. Herman (Chair, Technology Committee), Hon. Judith Ashmann-Gerst, Hon. Stephen H. Baker, Mr. Alan Carlson, Ms. Angela J. Davis, Hon. Emilie H. Elias, Hon. Sherrill A. Ellsworth, Mr. James P. Fox, Hon. Teri L. Jackson, Hon. Morris D. Jacobson, Hon. Ira R. Kaufman, Hon. Brian L. McCabe, Hon. Mary Ann O'Malley, Hon. David Rosenberg, Hon. Kenneth K. So, Hon. Charles D. Wachob, and Mr. David H. Yamasaki.

Committee members absent: Hon. Laurie M. Earl, Ms. Edith R. Matthai, Hon. Robert J. Moss, and Mr. Mark P. Robinson, Jr.

AOC staff present: Ms. Deborah Brown, Ms. Roma Cheadle, Mr. Curt Child, Ms. Jessica Craven, Ms. Camilla Kieliger, Hon. Steven Jahr, Ms. Susan McMullan, Ms. Jody Patel, Mr. Curt Soderlund, and Ms. Nancy Spero.

Guests attending: Mr. Mark G. Bonino, Hon. Dean T. Stout, and Ms. Charlene Ynson.

1. JUDICIAL ADMINISTRATION: RULES FOR ADVISORY GROUPS

ACTION: The Rules and Projects Committee reviewed and approved the proposal for circulation.

2. JUDICIAL ADMINISTRATION: RULE DEVELOPMENT PROCESS & NOMINATIONS SOLICITATION FOR ACCESS AND FAIRNESS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

ACTION: The Executive and Planning Committee, the Judicial Council Technology Committee, and the Rules and Projects Committee considered options for implementing the process for the rule revision and membership transition for the Access and Fairness Advisory Committee and approved option 3, i.e. that they will: Recommend to the Judicial Council by the February 2014 council meeting an amended rule for the Access and Fairness Advisory Committee. In addition they directed the AOC to conduct solicitations for all positions on the new committee during the regular nominations cycle (April through June 2014) with appointments by August 1, 2014, and requested the chair of the Access and Fairness Advisory Committee to submit a memorandum to the Executive and Planning Committee by August 12, 2013, making recommendations on interim appointments with regard to the nominations that were submitted during April through June 2013.

Approved by the Executive and Planning Committee on November 21, 2013. Approved by the Rules and Projects Committee on October 7, 2013.



EXECUTIVE AND PLANNING COMMITTEE

MEETING MINUTES | OCTOBER 10, 2013 CONFERENCE CALL | 12:15 TO 2:00 P.M.

Committee Members Present:	Justice Douglas P. Miller; Judges Stephen H. Baker, David De Alba, Teri L. Jackson, Mary Ann O'Malley, and David M. Rubin; Commissioner Sue Alexander; Mr. James P. Fox and Mr. David H. Yamasaki
COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT:	Judge Brian C. Walsh and Mr. Mark P. Robinson, Jr.
AOC STAFF PRESENT:	Mr. Cliff Alumno, Ms. Dianne Bolotte, Ms. Deborah C. Brown, Ms. Nancy Carlisle, Mr. Steven Chang, Mr. Curtis L. Child, Ms. Jessica Craven, Mr. Douglas Denton, Ms. Cristina Foti, Ms. Susan McMullan, Ms. Diane Nunn, Mr. Patrick O'Donnell, and Mr. Zlatko Theodorovic
COMMITTEE STAFF:	Ms. Jody Patel and Ms. Nancy E. Spero

COMMITTEE AND ACTION ITEMS

1. MINUTES

The committee reviewed the draft minutes of its September 26, 2013, meeting. *Action*: The committee approved the September 26, 2013, meeting minutes.

2. AGENDA SETTING FOR THE OCTOBER 24-25, 2013, JUDICIAL COUNCIL MEETING

The committee continued to review available draft reports for the Judicial Council meetings in October.

Action: The committee further set the agenda for the council meeting in October.

3. JUDICIAL COUNCIL DELEGATIONS TO THE ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTOR OF THE COURTS

The committee reviewed proposed recommendations to the council for the October meeting that terminate, maintain, or modify specific delegations of authority that the council has issued to the Administrative Director of the Courts since 1998.

Action: Approved, as revised by the committee, the proposed recommendations to the council regarding specific Judicial Council delegations of authority issued to the Administrative Director.

Approved by the committee on November 21, 2013.



EXECUTIVE AND PLANNING COMMITTEE

MEETING MINUTES | OCTOBER 16 AND 17, 2013 E-MAIL DELIBERATION

Committee Members Who Participated:	Justice Douglas P. Miller; Judges Stephen H. Baker, David De Alba, Teri L. Jackson, Mary Ann O'Malley, and David M. Rubin; Commissioner Sue Alexander; Mr. James P. Fox, Mr. Mark P. Robinson, Jr. and Mr. David H. Yamasaki
Committee Member Who Did Not Participate:	Judge Brian C. Walsh
COMMITTEE STAFF:	Ms. Jody Patel and Ms. Nancy E. Spero

COMMITTEE AND ACTION ITEMS

AGENDA SETTING FOR THE OCTOBER 24-25, 2013, JUDICIAL COUNCIL MEETING

The committee continued to review available draft reports for the Judicial Council meetings in October.

Action: The committee further set the agenda for the council meeting in October.

Approved by the committee on November 21, 2013.



EXECUTIVE AND PLANNING COMMITTEE

MEETING MINUTES | OCTOBER 22, 2013 E-MAIL DELIBERATION

Committee Members Who Voted to Approve These Minutes:	Justice Douglas P. Miller; Judges Stephen H. Baker, David De Alba, Teri L. Jackson, and David M. Rubin; Mr. James P. Fox and Mr. Mark P. Robinson, Jr.
Committee Member Who Abstained From Voting: [*]	Commissioner Sue Alexander
Committee Members Who Did Not Vote:*	Judges Mary Ann O'Malley and Brian C. Walsh; Mr. David H. Yamasaki
OTHER COUNCIL MEMBERS VOTED TO APPROVE THESE MINUTES:	Justice Harry E. Hull, Jr.; Judges Sherrill A. Ellsworth, Brian L. McCabe, Kenneth K. So, and Charles D. Wachob
COMMITTEE STAFF:	Ms. Jody Patel and Ms. Nancy E. Spero

COMMITTEE AND ACTION ITEMS

MINUTES

The committee reviewed the draft minutes of its meeting held on September 27, 2013. *Action*: The committee approved the September 27, 2013, meeting minutes.

Approved by the committee on November 21, 2013.

^{*}These four members did not attend the September 27, 2013, E&P meeting.



POLICY COORDINATION AND LIAISON COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

ОСТОВЕК 24, 2013 12:00р.м. | САТАLINA А/В ROOM

COMMITTEE MEMBERS	Hon. Kenneth K. So, Chair; Hon. James R. Brandlin, Vice-Chair; Hon.
Present:	Stephen H. Baker; Hon. Marvin R. Baxter; Hon. Sherrill A. Ellsworth;
	Hon. Robert A. Glusman; Hon. James E. Herman; Hon. David Rosenberg;
	Mr. Mark G. Bonino; Mr. James P. Fox
OTHERS PRESENT:	Mr. Frank A. McGuire, Member, Judicial Council
AOC STAFF PRESENT:	Ann Gilmour and Jennifer Walter
COMMITTEE STAFF:	Cory Jasperson, Laura Speed, Daniel Pone, Sharon Reilly, Alan Herzfeld,
	Andi Liebenbaum, and Yvette Casillas-Sarcos

COMMITTEE ACTION ITEMS

1. APPROVE PAST MINUTES

N/A

ACTIONS ON BEHALF OF JUDICIAL COUNCIL

2. CONSENT ITEM

PROPOSAL FOR JUDICIAL COUNCIL-SPONSORED LEGISLATION

 a) <u>2013 Judicial Council Legislative Policy Summary</u> Sets forth concise council policy guidelines regarding court-related legislative proposals.
Action: Approved for submission to the Judicial Council.

3. DISCUSSION ITEM

PROPOSAL FOR JUDICIAL COUNCIL-SPONSORED LEGISLATION

 a) <u>Tribal Access to Confidential Juvenile Court Files</u> Addresses the issue of tribal access to confidential juvenile court files involving tribal children. Ensures tribal access to juvenile court files involving tribal children consistent with the mandates of existing and federal and state law. *Action: Recommend Judicial Council sponsorship.*

Approved by the committee on November 14, 2013