

TRIAL COURT BUDGET ADVISORY COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF OPEN MEETING

January 24, 2020 11:00 a.m.

Action by E-mail Between Meetings

Advisory Body Members Present:

Judges: Hon. Jonathan B. Conklin (Chair), Hon. Jeffrey B. Barton, Hon. Daniel J. Buckley, Hon. Mark A. Cope, Hon. Jill C. Fannin, Hon. Kimberly A. Gaab, Hon. Joyce D. Hinrichs, Hon. Patricia L. Kelly, Hon. Charles Margines, Hon. Deborah A. Ryan, and Hon. B. Scott Thomsen.

Executive Officers: Ms. Rebecca Fleming (Vice Chair), Ms. Kim Bartleson, Ms. Sherri Carter, Ms. Nancy Eberhardt, Mr. Chad Finke, Mr. Shawn Landry, Mr. Michael D. Planet, Mr. Chris Ruhl, Mr. Neal Taniguchi, Ms. Kim Turner, and Mr.

David Yamasaki.

Advisory Body

Mr. Brian Taylor

Members Absent:

Others Present: Ms. Brandy Sanborn

OPEN MEETING

Vote

Voting was opened at 11:12 a.m.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS (ITEM 1)

Item 1

Review a recommendation for 1) Reallocation of funding for the AB 1058 Child Support Commissioner and Family Law Facilitator Program for the remainder of fiscal year 2019-20, and the allocation of funding for the Child Support Commissioner and Family Law Facilitator Program for 2020-21; and 2) The approach for a midyear reallocation of Model Self-Help Pilot Grant funds for 2019-20 from the Model Self-Help Technology project to the four remaining projects/court participants as a result of the fifth court's inability to continue participation.

Action: The Trial Court Budget Advisory Committee (TCBAC) unanimously approved 1) The recommended reallocation of funding for the AB 1058 Child Support Commissioner and Family Law Facilitator Program for the remainder of 2019-20 as well as the approach on allocation of funding for 2020-21, subject to the Budget Act, for consideration by the Judicial Council; and 2) The approach for the \$191,400 midyear reallocation for 2019-

20 from the Model Self-Help Technology project for consideration by the Judicial Council with an informational report to follow on the final reallocation to both the TCBAC and the council.

ADJOURNMENT

Voting closed at 5:00 p.m.

Approved by the advisory body on April 30, 2020