

TRIAL COURT BUDGET ADVISORY COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF OPEN MEETING

February 7, 2024 11:00 a.m.

Action by E-mail Between Meetings

Advisory Body Members Present: Judges: Hon. Jonathan B. Conklin (Chair), Hon. Judith C. Clark, Hon. Kimberly A. Gaab, Hon. Wendy G. Getty, Hon. Maria D. Hernandez, Hon. David C. Kalemkarian, Hon. Patricia L. Kelly, Hon. Erick L. Larsh, Hon. Michael J.

Reinhart, Hon. Michael A. Sachs, and Hon. Kevin M. Seibert.

Executive Officers: Ms. Rebecca Fleming (Vice Chair), Ms. Stephanie Cameron, Mr. Chad Finke, Mr. James Kim, Mr. Shawn Landry, Ms. Krista LeVier, Mr. Brandon E. Riley, Mr. Chris Ruhl, Mr. Lee Seale, Mr. David W.

Slayton, Mr. Neal Taniguchi, and Mr. David H. Yamasaki.

Advisory Body Members Absent:

Others Present: Ms. Rose Lane

OPEN MEETING

Vote

Voting was opened at 11:02 a.m.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS (ITEM 1)

Item 1

Finalize the budget change proposal (BCP) concepts from the trial courts for consideration in the 2025–26 budget development process.

Action: The Trial Court Budget Advisory Committee voted to finalize and prioritize the top five 2025–26 BCP concepts for the trial courts from the list of funding priorities reported by the courts. There was a tie for the fifth-place funding priority, which resulted in six concepts moving forward for consideration by the Judicial Branch Budget Committee at its March 13, 2024 meeting as follows:

- 1. Inflationary Adjustment (Consumer Price Index)
- 2. New and Deferred Facility Maintenance Funding (including modifications, upgrades, and deferred maintenance)
- 3. Self Help Funding
- 4. Equity Funding (Statewide Average)

- 5. Increased Court Security Funding
- 6. Funding for Courthouse Construction (including courthouses not managed by the Judicial Council and associated security measures)

A D J O U R N M E N T

Voting closed at 5:00 p.m.

Approved by the advisory body on March 27, 2024.