Need more help?

Call Victim Witness Assistance at **1-800-777-9229**

They will help you get money for medical bills, lost wages, and counseling for you and your children. They can also get you food, clothing, a place to stay, transportation, and someone to be with you in court.

Need more information?

- Go to: www.courtinfo.ca.gov/selfhelp
- Call the National Domestic Violence Hotline (24 hours):

1-800-799-7233 TDD: 1-800-787-3224

It's free and private.

They can help you in more than 100 languages.

For help in your area, contact:

Produced by:

Judicial Council of California Administrative Office of the Courts Center for Families, Children & the Courts 455 Golden Gate Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102-3660

www.courtinfo.ca.gov/programs/cfcc

Brochure funded by the California Department of Health Services, Interagency Agreement No. 99-86072

Criminal-Victim
English
Use with CR-160 01-03 Rev. 01/01/03

Criminal Protective Order

How does a Criminal Protective Order help me?



What is a "Criminal Protective Order"?

It is a court order that protects you from the defendant in a criminal case.

How does it protect me?

If you or your children were witnesses or victims of violence, the defendant must not:

- contact or go near you or the children *or*
- have a gun

How long does it last?

Look at the bottom of form CR–160, #7.
This is the date your order ends.

What about \ my children?

The Criminal
Protective Order is
not for custody,
visitation, or child
support. You can
ask for these things
in family court.

NAME OF OR	
NAME OF COURT AND DISTRICT, BRANCH, OR DIVISION, IF ANY:	
	FOR COURT USE ONLY
	Sur OSE OWLY
	1
PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA	
DEFENDANT:	7
PROTECTIVE OPPOS	1
PROTECTIVE ORDER IN CRIMINAL PROCEEDING (CLETS) (Penal Code, §§ 136.2 and 1203.097(a)(2)) ORDER PENDING TRIAL	1
ORDER POOR	CASE NUMBER:
POMESTIC WAS TO THE PROPERTY OF THE PROPERTY O	
THIS ORDER TAKES PRECEDENTS	
THIS ORDER TAKES PRECEDENCE OVER ANY CONFLICTIN PERSON TO BE RESTRAINED (Complete name): Sex: M F Ht.: Wt.:	G COURT OPPER
The delendant is a poper of Half Color:	JOSHI ORDER
	Age: Date of Birth:
by items	ient.
	D
GOOD CAUSE APPEARING, THE COURT ORDERS 3. The above-named defendant	Hoom:
The above-named defendant a. must not annow harms a street of the street of t	ce of the restraining order is required.
a. must not annoy, horass, strike, threaten, sexually assault, batter, stalk, destroy personal peace of the protected persons named below. b. must surrender to local law enforcement or sell to a licensed gun dealer any firearn immediate possession or control within (1) 24 hours after issuance of this order (if restrained person in a service).	property of, or otherwise disturb the
(3) 48 hours after service of this order (if restrained person is present at hea	ring)
(2) 45 hours after issuance of this order (if restrained person is present at hea other (specify): The restrained person shall give	earing)
c. must not attempt to or actually prevent or dissuade any victim or witness from attending a he must not attempt to or actually prevent or dissuade any victim or witness from attending a he must have no personal, telephonic, or written contact with the protected news.	this order within 72 hours of
d. must have no personal, telephonic, or written contact with the protected persons named for must have no contact with the protected persons named below through a third party expense.	earing or testifying or making
g	d helow
must have no personal, must have no contact with the protected persons and attending a hearing or testifying or making a must have no contact with the protected persons named below. If you have not come within may have peaceful contact with the protected persons named below. If you have not come within any have peaceful contact with the protected persons named below. Only court-ordered visitation as stated in the attack.	
(d) (a) Invanile Safe exchange of	
may have peaceful contact with the protected a	r in case no
h	Change of shill
4. The protected person may record any prohibited as a first order.	led, as an exemption to the "no
	'estrained
	diffed person.
7. This order expires on (specify date): If no date is listed this.	
or or expires on (specify date): If no date is listed, this order expires three years from the date of issuance. Date:	
Form Adopted for Mandatory Use Judicial Council of California CRI-161 (2016)	
Addition Control Cellifor Use PROTECTIVE ORDER IN CRIMINAL PROCEEDING (CLETS) Penal Code, §\$ 136.2 and 1203.097(a)(2) (Distribution: original to file; 1 copy to each for protected one re-	
Form 4	
1 copy to prosecutor; 1 c	Opy to law enforcement)
	·

What if the defendant doesn't obey the order?

He or she can be arrested and charged with a crime.

What if I don't want the order?

Tell the District Attorney (D.A.) and the judge. But the judge may issue the order anyway.

Can I agree with the defendant to cancel the order?

No. Only the judge can change or cancel the order.

Is the order valid outside of California?

Yes. The order is valid all over the United States, including U.S. territories and Indian lands. If you leave California, contact your new state's court or local police department. Ask them how they will enforce your order.

What if I don't have a green card?

The order is valid whether you have a green card or not.

How can I find out when the defendant gets out of jail?

Tell the police or the D.A. that you want to know when the defendant gets out of jail. Call your local probation department or sheriff and ask when the defendant will get out.

Should I call 911?

Call 911 if you are in danger or afraid, or if the defendant violated a restraining order. When the police come, tell them what happened. Tell them about any restraining orders, injuries, threats, and weapons, and if there were witnesses.

What will the police do?

They will investigate and write an "incident report." You can get a free copy from the police department.

Can I get more legal protection?

Yes. Ask for a Civil Restraining Order in family court. The judge can order the defendant to:

- stay away from you, your children, relatives, or others who live with you
- not contact you
- move out of your house

- follow child custody, visitation, and child support orders
- pay certain bills
- go to counseling

Will the police make an arrest?

If the police think a crime was committed, they can make an arrest. If they think the defendant violated a protective order, they must arrest him or her. If they do not make an arrest, you can ask the DA to file criminal charges instead.

What if I was raped?

Call the police. Don't wash yourself or your clothing until after the police come. Sexual assault is a crime, even if the defendant is your spouse or someone you know.

Can I sue the defendant?

Yes. You can sue for medical costs, lost wages, or other costs related to the abuse. Go to family court for help. You can also sue for money. Talk to a lawyer.