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       HOW TO REQUEST TO CHANGE YOUR JUDGE
This information is not intended to provide legal advice.  For legal advice, please consult with an attorney.  For more information, go to http://www.lasuperiorcourt.org or visit the Los Angeles Law Library, located at 301 West 1st St., Los Angeles, CA 90012.
       There Are Two Ways to Request to Disqualify a Judge:
1. Peremptory Challenge    (See Code of Civil Procedure § 170.6)
· In a family law case, you may automatically disqualify ONE judge without proving prejudice or bias.
a. If you have a temporary judge (commissioner or judge pro tem), you can refuse to sign a stipulation for the temporary judge at your courtroom.
· If your peremptory challenge is granted, a new judge will be assigned.  
· If your peremptory challenge is denied, the judge will remain on your case.
· To raise a challenge, file an Affidavit of Prejudice Peremptory Challenge to Judicial Officer (form LACIV 015).  A copy is available at http://www.lasuperiorcourt.org/forms/pdf/LACIV015.pdf.  If you choose to draft your own affidavit, it must include specific language listed in the code cited above.
· If your judge is known at least 10 days before the hearing date, you must make your motion at least 5 days before that date.  To avoid missing the deadline, file your motion as soon as your trial judge is assigned.
· If you are assigned a different judge for trial, make a motion as soon as the new judge is assigned.
· Have a copy of the affidavit served on the other party no later than 5 days after making the motion.
2.  Challenge for Cause    (See Code of Civil Procedure § 170.1- § 170.5)
· A judge may also be challenged for cause under CCP §170.1.  
· This type of motion is less likely to be granted because specific grounds and proof are required, i.e., conflict of interest, bias, financial interest, personal knowledge of facts, and relationship to a party or attorney.  
· If your challenge is denied, the judge will will remain on your case.
· To raise a challenge, file a written declaration, using pleading paper, that sets forth the grounds for disqualification.  
a.   A copy of pleading paper (form MC-030/031) is available at http://www.courts.ca.gov/forms.htm.
· The challenge must be raised with the clerk at your assigned department "at the earliest practicable opportunity" after discovering grounds for disqualification, or else it is waived.  Have a copy served on the other party/attorney, and a copy personally served on the judge or clerk.
           → You may not bring a peremptory challenge or a challenge for cause after orders have already been made in your case!
  Other Methods:
Complaint for Judicial Misconduct    (See California Code of Judicial Ethics)
· Judicial misconduct involves conduct in violation of the California Code of Judicial Ethics.  Examples: improper demeanor, failure to disqualify when the law requires, receipt of information about a case outside the presence of one party, abuse of contempt or sanctions, delay in decision-making.
· An error in a judge's decision or ruling, by itself, is not misconduct.  An appeal may be the only remedy for such an error, or there may be no remedy.  The commission will investigate the complaint and, if appropriate, impose discipline. The commission does not have the authority to change a judge's decision, issue new orders, grant a new trial, or disqualify a judge from a case.
· Complaints must be in writing. You may use the commission's complaint form or write a letter to the commission.
· The Commission on Judicial Performance is located at 455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 14400  San Francisco, California 94102.  For more information, visit the commission’s website at http://cjp.ca.gov/.  
Appeal Process    (See California Rules of Court § 8.800-8.843 and 8.880-8.891)
· If a judge has made an order in your case that you believe was made in error, and that the error was harmful, you may request an appeal with the appellate division of the superior court.
· An appeal is NOT a new trial.  The appellate division will review the record of what happened at court to see if certain kinds of legal errors were made.  If legal errors were made, the orders could potentially be overturned.
· For information about the appeal process, speak to an attorney, go to the county law library, or visit www.courts.ca.gov/.  
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