- California Legislature
- California Department of Social Services - Children and Family Services Division
- California Department of Child Support Services
This section includes resources and program information in the areas of Family and Juvenile law. It also includes conference materials and a comprehensive list of publications produced by the Center for Families, Children and the Courts (CFCC).
Court Programs and Practices for Working with Reentry
April 21, 2014 San Francisco
Register now for this opportunity to discuss with experienced faculty issues relating to violations of parole, mandatory supervision, and post-release community supervision. Teams of three from existing or new reentry courts are encouraged to attend. Others interested in establishing such a court or who are involved with PRCS, Mandatory Supervision, and Revocation Courts/Hearings may also attend. Registration closes Apr 11. Contact: CrimJusticeOffice@jud.ca.gov, 415-865-8994. More
Community Justice Summit 2014: International Summit
April 22-24, 2014 San Francisco
The Center for Court Innovation, in partnership with the U.S. Department of Justice's Bureau of Justice Assistance and the AOC, will host a conference for judges and criminal justice and social service partners working together to implement evidence-based practices addressing addiction, mental health, homelessness, recidivism and reentry issues among high risk or hard to reach populations. Registration closes Apr 11 Contact: CrimJusticeOffice@jud.ca.gov, 415-865-8994. More
Ending the Criminalization of Homelessness: The Role of Courts, Lawyers and Advocates
April 25, 2014 San Francisco
In conjunction with the Community Justice Summit, the ABA’s Commission on Homelessness and Poverty will offer a California Homelessness Summit. Registration closes Apr 11. Contact Yolanda Leung, 415-865-8075, or Karen Moen, 415-865-4220. More
The Juvenile Dependency Court and You – A Guide for Parents
This guide describes the dependency court process in California. It also includes the story of one parent who went through the dependency system and her advice to you on how to get your children back home. Printable versions in black and white and color are available. The Guide to Dependency Court has more information on what happens to juvenile custody orders when your case is over.
Juvenile Dependency Mediation Resources
Pursuant to California Rule of Court 5.518, dependency mediators must complete at least 40 hours of initial dependency mediation training before or within 12 months of starting dependency mediation work and receive 12 hours of continuing education each year. This curriculum has been developed specifically for training juvenile dependency mediators. It covers the subject areas referenced in the rule of court and contains training plans, power points, handouts and other references. A companion resource is the Juvenile Dependency Mediation: Permanency Toolkit which is a short video that highlights the multiple benefits of juvenile dependency mediation. It includes interviews with both California and nationwide judges, attorneys, mediators and other professionals, and it provides the viewer with snapshots of the mediation process. More resources can be found on the Juvenile Dependency page.